Rent Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction for Xbox
view large frontback

Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
7.9

2005 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ultimate Destruction

posted by scallywag (THE DALLES, OR) Apr 13, 2006

Member since May 2004

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Outstanding game play! One of the best out there. The ability to destroy just about ANYTHING is just awesome, and the fact that you are playing as the Hulk throughout the whole game is cool. In fact, the only time you see Bruce Banner at all is in the cut scenes.
Starts out good and just gets better and better with the power-ups you can purchase by earning smash points. The more you smash, the more you earn and the more powerful moves and abilities you can purchase from the buy menu.
Even if you don't complete the missions its still fun just to smash up everything is sight. The free roam capability lets you go anywhere in the city you want to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Toastman (WINNEBAGO, NE) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a very good game with a good story line. It is awsome being able to destroy any thing though the part when you have to do certian things at certian times is anoying though. It is a challenging game for peaple that don't understand free roam but overall it is simple destroy everything in sight an you will get far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GTA meetsTHE HULK- ON ROIDS!

posted by SuperRay (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now this is a superhero game! From the way hulk thunders around town to all the different moves and upgrades you get as the game progresses, Ultimate destruction is the first superheo game I've played where I've actually felt like the charcter in the game. Comic book game makers take note- this is how you make a video game. This game has such an epic scope and battles and even cooler they got Bryan Hitch and Paul Jenkins (of marvel comic book fame) to do the story and art. This game is not only worth a rent but also a buy. You also get to unlock different shorts from diff countries and alternate hulk personas. Joe fix it is my personal fav. RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hulk play GTA!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes, Hulk: Ultimate Destruction takes a page from the GTA handbook with an open-ended version of New York. Luckily, it makes for one of the best super hero games of 2005. Due to it's destructive and interactive elements, it has more to offer than the similar Ultimate Spider-Man. There's something devilishly entertaining about picking up a bus, crushing it into a shield and then riding it like a surfboard (only way to travel). Or turning a sedan into fists of twisted metal (that's why you buy liability insurance). The story is okay, not too engaging, but moves things along. Sound and graphics are better than average, but not great. The whole game is maybe 10 hours long, although the game does give you the option to restart at a higher difficulty with all your upgrades. The worth of taking a second trip through the game is debatable though. Overall, it's a good GTA clone that brings some new things to the table. Most important, it's fun. A little aggravating and repetitive, but fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible Hulk

posted by Bubbabooie (MOCANAQUA, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

AWESOME! One of the best superhero games I`ve ever played and just a few small glitches. It also has cool moves for you to buy with points you earn, like Shockwave Smash and Air Slam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Me want to smash... this game!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Are you people serious?! Giving this game such high ratings?! A 10 means; TEN=BEST FLAWLESS VIDEO GAME, PERFECT IN EVERY WAY. This video game is not flawless and far from perfect. Its the same exact missions over and over and over!! You see the score of this game is a 7.9, meaning all the other people that rated this game like me are afraid to write a review because they don't want to see '0 o 20 people found this review helpful'. But I'm a top 10 reviewer (and could care less) I'll tell it like it is; This game is just plain redundant. The first 2 levels are creative, but once you've played one level, you've played them all. Because they are all exactly the same!!! Pick something up and smash it or survive without losing all energy, over and over ad-nauseum! If you're reading this I'm telling you the truth, everyone that rated this game high is just an Incredible Hulk fan gushing because their favorite comic hero got a game. This game is far from a 10 and just ok at best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hulk

posted by theused68 (MINCO, OK) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!

I've played better super hero games, but I think that this is way, WAY funner than any of those!

My favorite part of this game is definitely when u get to surf on your shield, and go "bowling"

The only problem that i have with this game is, the farther u progress, the more enemy's there are on free-roam..... i like it better when there isn't as many cops and hulkbusters to fight...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game for smashing and burning time.

posted by Rainingric (LA PORTE, IN) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

The Hulk has been treated quite well lately.

The new movie was surprisingly good, and almost perfectly followed the story of this game, with Blonsky, the Abomination, and several other aspects, and it's easy to see why.

The game focuses mainly on destruction, weren't it already being obvious FROM THE FREAKING TITLE! But yes, most of the game is spent destroye=ing all in your path, tied toghether with a fairly good plot. Sure some aspects are hard to follow, like the hole hulk-mind-fixer thingy. But in general, it strings the events down nicely.

The gameplay has a nice variety, but you'll notice several problems early on.

For starters, the upgrade system isn't really good. Most moves you'll buy will never be used because the button combonations are attrocious. One move has you pressing both the X and B buttons. Go and pick up an Xbox controller, and just look at how challenging that is. And you'll never remember all the combonations if you tried. The only time you'll use these attacks is when Your button mashing and you suddenly do it out of nowhere, and sadly, you'll never be able to duplicate it.

The graphics are okay for Xbox, but sometimes they feel out dated, even by Xbox standards.

The missions gradually progress in difficulty by throwing in more enemies and robots. But sometimes you'll die because there's just too many enemies to worry about. Like you'll get air-juggled by rockets from missle launchers that fire simultaeniously, and thereforre not giving you time to recover.

In short, the Hulk: Ultimate destruction does have alot to offer, but I reccomend just screwing around rather than playing the story, you'll have much more fun that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST CBG GAME EVER! 'Nuff said

posted by Matt1975 (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) May 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I think this is the best comic book game ever, which many people will disagree and mostlikely say it's Batman: Arkham Asylum; which is a fantastic game, but c'mon this is the Hulk we're talking about! The graphics are good for an older generation game, but it's the gameplay and amount of chaos and destruction one can cause in the game that makes it so fantastic for me. When I first bought the game and started playing it, I noticed I was saying to myself; "now I know what it's like to be the Hulk" Leaping around on the free roam maps destroying buildings and cars, the authentic sound of metal bending and breaking, the immense size the enemies become as you progress through the game, and the re-playability.... I've owned the game for 5 years now and still play it for the destruction and adrenaline pumping action. Some of the abilities that you buy in the game are borderline mouth watering, catching a ride on a helicopter in mid-flight and headbutting it until it explodes, crash lands, OR kicking it into another enemy nearby. This game is TONS of fun and a must play or have for any fan of the Hulk or comic books. If you are disappointed with the game then you need your head examined!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ultimate destruction [xbox]

posted by thomaston (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game is amazing this a definite rent or buy. very hard and challenging, and some outstanding graphics. sound and music is ok and story is brilliant. get this game NOW NOW NOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HULK...CRAZY

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Are you all crazy giving this game 9, 8,and even tens.A nine means; 9=excellent8 means;very good and do you know what 10 mean it means perfect i rad most of these revies i thought its crazy, i think only one person has sense and thats clipped a least i think thats his name. Any way i got it what two years ago. i think think hulk should too the movies.its the same thing hulk1 hulk2
and hulk3.Your either protecting, destroying,retrieving,and killing basicly HULK DO SAMETHING.HULK CRAZY.THIS game is weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

incredible hulk game

posted by coolman121 (MANITOWOC, WI) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

its ok but gets boring after awhile but realy fun =D =C

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

you know, you'd think this would be a good game...

posted by punk25 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

i just din't like this game, i wanted it to be good and i tryed and tryed but i just couldn't stand it, after you play around in the city for 5 minutes u should alreaddy know what the rest of the game will be, i just hated it. i only got to the third chapter in the story mission and just gave up. i mean you think, hulk, destruction, and free roaming would be hella fun but, it just gets stail and repetitive. ya the new moves u can buy are not worth what ever truoble you went though, plus the controls are way to comlicated, you'll lose interest after you get the munchese. no depth and no original stuff, just play destroy all humins

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Well, this game was great!
Fanatastic graphics, great story, and fun gameplay.
The down was that the controls were kinda hard to master, along with all of the moves you needed to lear. Other than that, this game blew my mind.
A definite rent, plus even a possible buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

...That...is...AWESOME!!!- ...

posted by sysarugame (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game is very well made. I thought it was gonna be a Spiderman clone, and in a lot of ways, it is, but hulk takes everything that was good about that one, and ups the ante. Additionally, there is just something about smashing stuff that we as humans find entrancing (maybe its an unconscious holdover from infancy, who knows?). All I know is that the game, like the hulk, is unstoppable. I am not even done playing it yet, and here I am writing a review. And, when I am done, I am gonna play it over, and over again. There are so many things to do, and so many ways to do them. I mean, I just bought the ball and chain move, and now, its like a new hulk game altogether. In fact, the only problem I had with it was that the stats section was lacking, especially after seeing a good one in Spiderman 2. Other than that, I welcome any ememy who thinks they can stand up to my (...that...is...AWESOME) power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Frustrating but fun.

posted by n3il13 (VINTON, VA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

First off I loved the game, go around and smash things...great to do after work. I guess my main hang up was they tossed to many timed type missions in. Or escorts and defends. One or two of those are fine, but all of that on top of a boss fight at the same time becomes more fun that frustrating. Over all a great game, but at times was tedious. If you like the hulk or even just comics then I would give this a spin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hulkamania's Running Wild On You

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) May 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

This game is a free roam action game. There is a lot of freedom in this game, you can do missions or just go all over New York causing mass destruction. The way you upgrade Hulk is you destroy stuff and get smash points. You then use these smash points to purchase upgrades. I liked to just roam around and wreck everything in my path. The graphics weren't exactly top notch but They were OK. The boss battles were fun and there were always bad guys to fight. The story was cool and the controls were smooth. Really the only problems were the graphics and sometimes the camera angles seemed a little possessed. This is a fun game and a definite must play. I give it an 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

son loves it

posted by pogoland (DOWAGIAC, MI) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

my son loves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

........Loading

posted by Viking (VAN NUYS, CA) Oct 11, 2006

Member since May 2004

- a serious amount of fun that really takes hack and slash to a higher level
- love the ability to learn new moves throughout the game
- really enjoyed the freedom to fly around destroying everything in sight.
- however: too many loading screens and meaningless cut scenes. A very jarring experience. Games need solid directors, not 50 different producers running around like headless chickens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by bottkiller (SOUTHLAKE, TX) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game is just plain fun. it has kind of a Grand Theft Auto feeling to it. It will make you want to play till the end. Its not very long or hard though i recommend that you only rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice....

posted by Koriok (WEATHERFORD, TX) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

I'm not usually a big fan of superhero games, in fact, i hate almost everyone i have ever played;
but something about ultimate destruction just hits home. Whenever you play the game you actually do feel like your controlling the hulk,
Running across buildings, throwing tanks a mile away, using a tree as a baseball bat. When the game says you can destroy just about everything, it ain't lying, you can even knock down a skyscraper with enough time and effort. If you like big boss battle's and chaotic, destructive gameplay, give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Hulk is nothing but The Hulk

posted by Jebidiah (FAIRFAX, VA) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

In the game "Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction" you get nothing but that... ultimate destruction. so you get exactly what you expect. it is a great game if you just want to slam into things, and destroy them. but one thing i do have against it, is that the controls are really hard to get used to. but once you get the hang of it, its a lot of fun. a must play for just about anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Smashing Make Hulk Happy

posted by guyperson (HERCULES, CA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Understand that this game is all about destroying, smashing, killing, demolishing, and more demolishing. This is all you do in this game, but it's hecksa fun. Rampaging through town and turning anything you can pick up is a weapon, and Hulk can pick up nearly anything, so , yeah, you get the point.

You'd never think smashing would be so fun. This is one of the best comic book games and will be fun even after you beat it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is the best ever Hulk game in existance.

posted by Tricked (DAYTON, OH) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game lets you be the hulk and destroy everything. Awsome! It is really good but I would not buy it just for the fact that once you beat it, it just gets boring. Running around the city also becomes tiring since there is not much going on when not on a mission.

But you can rip cars in half!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Hulk destorys my bordom!

posted by stone01ap (GASTON, NC) May 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

Its like The Hulk meets GTA except instead of stealing cars to drive he steals them to destory. The mini games are cool too. Who would ever thought to Hulk play golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse