Rent Imagine: Teacher for DS
view large frontback

Imagine: Teacher

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by HMVirginia (NORTON, OH) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that this game is fun. My little sister loves to play it, and keeps saying that she wants to be a teacher when she grows up. There is some storyline, which consists of a rival teacher trying to get you kicked out and you acting like an angel teacher, just continuing with her lessons. The mini-games are so-so, and are easy for kids to play. It might've been more enjoyable if there were more things to do in the mini-games. My teacher sometimes types up custom tests and quizzes for us when her lesson plans aren't good. That would be a good idea. But, on the whole, they could've dona a bit better. Don't be too excited when you buy it, though - it is SO easy to beat. Just rent it here instead of going out and spending $20 on a game that took me a day and a half to beat. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game for everyone

posted by allisean05 (SOMERVILLE, MA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My two daughters 11 and 9, play teacher all the time at home. You can constantly hear them telling their "kids" what the lesson plan is for the day and what "homework" they will have. With that said I figured this game would be something they might like to try.
Well, they tried it and they liked it. They play this game constantly and now even have my oldest daughters friend hooked on the game.
It starts off very easy but as it progresses it gets harder. You start off with 4 students and has you do well the game progresses to add more students to your class and to help them excel. There is a time when you are "reading" to the class that kids start to get disruptive and you have to let them know to not talk.
The only draw back my kids did not like is that you could not use your own name. You have to play with the name of April who is the main charater in the game.
Other than that, I think the game's homework is getting done before the real homework does.
Bottom line: This is a fun game, easy to use and a great way to show them a little bit of what the teacher's life is like.
That is it for me and I am out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My daughter gets to live out her dream job!

posted by hfrench (DANA POINT, CA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game! My 7-year-old wants to be a teacher when she grows up, and plays teacher all the time in her room..now she gets to take it to her DSi too! I love that there is an educational component to the game..she has to grade papers and do math problems, etc. Am going to have trouble giving this one up!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Game For Kids

posted by GamerSarah (MOREHEAD, KY) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun and educational game for children. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone older than 10 or 11. It does get very repetitive. Some of the more advanced mini-games may be to hard for younger children 6 and under. If you are an adult and have to get this game you will be entertained but aprox. 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cute

posted by CFAM52 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

My 5 yr. old loves this. OK- my child can read and do math which pretty much you have to know how to do in order to play with minimal parental involvement. You get to pick your lesson plan and go through mini games and check the kids work (which is where the math, reading, spelling, etc. are necessary). Very cute. Again, a lot of reading though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by jwaldeck (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

it is a great game. i can not stop playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good idea 4 kids-too repetitive for older players!

posted by Manna1 (NAPLES, FL) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The general idea of the game is good... it would probably be good for young elementary age kids (1-3rd grade) - above that, it's too repetitive & a bit frustrating. As a teacher, I like the educational aspect of it. But, without instructions, some parts of it can be a little frustrating. For example, I didn't realize that the "Disorder" at the top when I I touching and rubbing items on the book was something I needed to click on - I first thought it meant that I touched the items out of order (since I lost a ribbon). It was only when I touched it out of frustration that I realized I was supposed to identify a disruptive student. However, the calibration can be off slightly and it will register the wrong choice (even when you made a right one). This is also frustrating! But, the overall premise of the game is good...so, if it's somehing you are interested in, it might be worth a rental to see for yourself. But, I wouldn't rush out and purchase it! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by cbeal5 (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

all she can say about that game is, wow. she loves it. she quotes,"i love this game, i feel like a real teacher."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's a joke...

posted by AmyinCincy (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Seriously - this game is not worth renting. The idea is great, but the execution is horrible. There needs to be skill levels for all ages. Instead, it's the same thing over and over. It's boring. My kids packed it up to return the same day we received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

awesome

posted by tommigirl (EVERETT, WA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

even though i did not get a chance to play this game before i think it will be a great game because i always wanted to be a teacher and i am only in fourth grade so im guessing it will be a fun game which some people it is awful i read lots of previews about and i think it is going to be the best game ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Imagine Teacher

posted by annecy6 (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2008

I really liked this game but when you are having trouble it is very hard to find an instruction manual for help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »