Rent Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs for PS3
view large frontback

Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.4

796 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Better than what I thought...even for a kids game

posted by 3Djunkie84 (ERIE, PA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for the purpose of racking up some trophies, but I actually enjoyed playing this game. It is only going to take you one play session to get through it, but the short time it lasted I had fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ice Age is good family fun

posted by wrencrest (TAMPA, FL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game for my wife and child. This game could be fun for the kids to play as it is easy, yet has some decent challenges that cna be replayed for those that are older/better gamers.

Overall a great game for the family and fun while it lasts for a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth a rent

posted by matzuzaka1 (WOBURN, MA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

now i dont have it yet because gamefly doesnt have enough dmn copies so i got to wait. but i played the demo and its amazing. good graphics. i heard there were trophies. and you can play as 6 favorite charachters. im going for a real enjoyment when i get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun game

posted by jeremy16p (PORT PENN, DE) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

My son is 3 years old, and although he wasn't able to do a lot on this game, we had a lot of fun doing the multiplayer games and he was able to do some of the stuff in the single player game. Some of the levels seemed a bit long, but because of the amount of fun we had, I am giving this game a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ICE AGE DAWN OF DINOSAURS

posted by STREGA123 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game is a good game for children but not very long, I played the game for about 4 hrs and was done. Children may take longer. Its a fairly easy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Childrens' Game

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I loved how this game has various gameplay styles. It does them well enough but not perfectly. A jack of all trades and master of none, sorta speak. I love how it can turn from fast paced 2D to slow paced 3D platforming. It even has 2.5D gameplay. Graphics are good enough for this era. No disappointment there. The story is cool, weaving around the story of the film. The controls are spot on if you ask me with no contact sensitivity issues I could find. The mini games this game has are just the same stuff you've already played with a timer. It could have been better but its a throw away and does not really hurt the overall game experience. This game is also a really nice and quick platinum trophy. You can do it in under 12 hours easily. Recommended for children just starting their gaming days or for veteran platinum hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lost

posted by mw3bestgameever (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

how can i buy it or say i lost it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ice Age-Dawn of the Dinosaurs:Take 1

posted by Ray_Kat (MCPHERSON, KS) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

My wife and I originally ordered the game to revue it for our grandchildren. We ended up playing the game to the end within forty-eight hours. My oldest grandchild, which is five, tried the game and seemed to enjoy it. We would recommend this game for any kid, even the older kids at heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Perfect for young kids

posted by Aphrodaisy (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I really enjoy the Ice Age movies and this video game's graphics look just like the movie. Sid is the character you control but every two actions there is a pause to further explain the storyline. As an adult that loves kid games, this one was too slow for my liking. The pacing is like watching Dora the Explorer or Sesame Street. Maybe even a little slower, so it seems like it would be a very fun game for a younger child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing Kids Game

posted by shibutani (APO, AP) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I have to start out by saying that as many people that rented this game I assume they were going simply for the trophies. That was my sole intention for renting this game with hopes of blowing through it as fast as I could and mailing it back just as fast.

I was able to go through it relatively easy and only got caught up on a few challenges toward the end.

While playing through the game I was really surprised at all of the different gaming elements that this game includes. From the standard 3D platforming to side scrolling, side scrolling shooting like a R-Type game, 3D Flying shooting like Star Fox, etc. I think it was interested how so many different elements were included into one game. At no point did it feel repetitive or like a chore to play the game. I think that for a game focused obviously for kids that this is actually a very fun game to play through.

I am by no means saying that this is the next game that should be in your GameQ. I am however saying that for children this is great and for those looking for an easy platinum and a good game this is one to play. It doesn't take much time and it is not a chore by any stretch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Goalminer (BROOKLINE, MA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

One of the best kid's games out there. Although the Multiplayer option was a bit off, the controls were tremendous compared to most games in this genre, the graphics/sound FX were equally great, and the storyline was perfect for the 6-12 age group. The side quests weren't that challenging for anyone that was trying to get the platinum, as I let him plow through the storyline, while I took over to beat the clock in the sidequests, which generally give you a second to spare.

All in all, highly recommended.

Goalminer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Kids Game For Adults

posted by SkyWho (FORT MYERS, FL) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Ice Age was supprisingly fun. The game offers variety as you switch between characters with different gameplay. If you have not seen the movie then the story will lose you, but this did not bother me since the actuall gameplay was so good. Trophy Hunters will love this game since it is a very quick and easy Platinum. GameFly wins again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game - lots of fun for fans of the movie

posted by Huntress (ALISO VIEJO, CA) May 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

My 5 year old grandson beat this game and he loved every moment of it! The final level is not that easy, and he finished it in about 10 mins. Not bad for a five year old gamer.

I highly recommend this game for kids and even adults who think they can take on the Ice Age characters. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ice Age : Dawn Of The Dinosaurs

posted by SL52384 (WOLFEBORO, NH) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game was created with kids in mind, and as a kid game it has more then enough collectibles, challenges, and mini-games to entertain most of them. While graphically not as good as the more mature titles for the ps3, its responsive controls and mini-game-style gameplay are sure to be a hit with any young fan of the movie.
I will say that some of the later levels and challenges can be frustrating as they consist of timed jumps, overwhelming amounts of enemies, and a respawn system that isn't very forgiving. The timed-challenges are ridiculously set so as though you need to barrel-through with such agility its unlikely that you'll be able to.

Over-all its great for the the kiddies, albeit a-little tough towards the end/challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For what is tries to be, it does it very well.

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

When I judge a game, I base it on what the game is trying to be. This game is not trying to be God of War, it is not trying to be Call of Duty.

It is a game intended for a younger audience that uses the Ice Age license, and it does this very, very well.

Having previously played Up! and a few other movie games I expected to blow through this game in one night. I did. The game has a few different types of levels. Some are 3rd person, some are side scrolling (think 2D Mario), two flying levels, and some involve you moving Sid the sloth back and forth to evade obstacles as you're being chased by a dinosaur.

I rented this game for the platinum trophy, and I got it in under 6 hours. I played the story once, had to go back to grab two Crystals (there are three per level, and more to be bought in the 'store').

There are also 5 or more 'time-trial' levels that will have you pulling your hair out in frustration. These are based off of some of the levels you'll play through the story mode. To get all of the trophies you'll need to complete some of the egg rolling (think super monkey ball) and the Scrat levels (think Mario) in under a certain time. To beat the time you'll need almost a perfect run through that for me, although frustrating, was a fun challenge.

The game is great for kids, the story missions are easy, yet can be challenging in a good way. For those of you going for an easy platinum, the game doesn't 'roll over' and will make you earn those last few trophies.

This game was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »