Rent Ice Age 2: The Meltdown for Wii
view large frontback

Ice Age 2: The Meltdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GBA, GC, DS, PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
6.2

303 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Been There Done That

posted by Jabesmcgee (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy running around collecting various items and doing a lot of platforming, this might be the game for you.

I've enjoyed platforming titles like Pitfall, Aladdin, Kingdom Hearts, and a slew of other titles, however, this one rubbed me the wrong way. The wii-mote was a pain to use every time you wanted to attack, often times using it felt more like flailing then a precise motion.

Unless you're hard up for some platforming action, I'd just go ahead and skip this title all together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Like Shrek but a bit of a camera issue

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked it and it is pretty fun, the cut scenes, bowling, sliding. Worth the rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Takes advantage of the new Wii graphics..

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

We rented this assuming it would be a pure kiddie game with weak graphics. Not only does it look great (seems much better than a gamecube game), it is really addictive. It is certainly not super challenging, but that makes you want to play more and continue the story. I would certainly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by Ntherbrk (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall this was a really great game. Makes great use of both of the controllers. So far one of the better games I have played for the wii. The only complaint I have is that some of the missions arent very clear on what you have to do to proceed so its takes a little while to play some of the missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ice Age 2: The Meltdown

posted by eborchardt (MADISON, WI) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty fun. It provided me about 9 hours of playtime before I beat it. The controls are fairly intuitive and the first level is basically a tutorial on the game. There is enough variety in the levels that it isn't too repetitive.

Needless to say, after beating the game, the fun factor drops to about a 1, making this a great game to rent instead of buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game but only got half way through it

posted by fahtmah (ANDERSON, SC) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The game is fun but half way through it the game stopped working. How annoying is that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Family Game

posted by Lostcheese (MELROSE, WI) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

My family loves playing this game together. It had something for everyone. Fun graphics, cute storyline, easy to follow plot line, just enough challenge for the more experienced gamers in the family. It is a very quick game, the first time we played we finished in less than a week. We loved it so much we purchased it and still play it through on a regular basis. Recommend for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game for kids 6 and up

posted by scooter478 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

our kids are 6 and 9 both of them love this game, but there were a few spots in the game that are a little difficult to negotiate. all and all it's a fun game and kids to adult will enjoy playing it. the graphics are excellent the camera view can get a little squirley but all you have is use the throw button to center your view. great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

AWFUL!

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is the worst! Don' get it period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ice age

posted by winkyjrp (GARY, IN) May 7, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

didnt like it.....at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ice age

posted by garbear (GUILFORD, CT) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Meltdown Premise

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 3, 2007

Member since May 2007

Pros:
Pretty sharp visuals at 480p. Simple puzzle solving linear gameplay. Easy menu interface. Children friendly with very small levels.

Cons:
One player. Some variety, but mostly you are a pre-historic squirrel tracking down acorns which can be extremely repetitive. Moving camera angle: this sometimes made it difficult to see where you needed to go for your next objective. You cannot kill off most baddies, just stun them which can be tedious. With so many action movements, for a children's game, it may be difficult to remember for them.

My younger brother and I did not have as much fun playing IA2 as much as Open Season. The meltdown premise of you (being a pre-historic squirrel) tracking down acorns was not very fun. Even though we got to play mini games within the levels, overall it was too repetitive and we did not care to finish the game. We did not detect any mini-games, either, which gave this game a score of 4=weak. I don't believe this game is worth a rent or a buy. However, if you rent this game then don't forget to check out Open Season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so much...

posted by HeatherR (LITITZ, PA) May 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

The game itself is great, I've liked it for a while. It's just that the Wii version seemed like one of those "bad port" games, and it didn't really add anything to the version I already had (PS2).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »