Rent IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey for PS3
view large frontback

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

1076 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, with some flaws.

posted by Cadmium04V (ARLINGTON, VA) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

30 out of 30 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, I really enjoyed this game. The flying, graphics, and audio are all pure first rate. Even the voice acting (particularly during cut-scenes) is top notch. The planes are all pretty realistic, and the damage shown during battle adds to the excitement. My only gripe with the game is the way it handles mission critical elements... Its really quite difficult to pick out your mission target on the mini-map, better yet to target it on your main play screen. This leads to (in some battles) flying around killing fighters, bombers, etc.. while not being able to figure out what the heck you're supposed to be killing... Then you'll get a mission failure for taking too long... Its not a huge thing, but it adds just enough frustration to make me send this game back within a couple of days. HOWEVER, my friend who is really into flying games (plays everything on hyper realistic difficulty) LOVED this game and thinks its the best thing since sliced bread. To each his own...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great flight game

posted by Fenrir07 (VIENNA, OH) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I give this game an 8.5 rating.
IL-2 Sturmovik is one of the better if not the best combat flight game on the PS3 right now I think. It has plenty of models to choose from, both allied and axis. You unlock new airplanes as your progress in the game, though some you can only unlock by achieving certain conditions found only in the online play. The graphics, even through a standard definition TV are amazing to see and watching your airplane get chewed up by enemy fire adds a nice sense of realism. There was plenty of attention to detail paid to the cockpit designs. Unfortunately you only get this view with the allied planes. Arcade mode is obviously for more general gamers. You can breeze through the campaign mood quite quickly on this difficulty setting. Realistic adds more realistic flight characteristics including the ability to stall out and enter into a spin. You have to handle your plane with more care on this setting. Simulator I found the most interesting since they remove your radar and plane IDs. For a game that originated as a combat flight simulator, they did a great job of converting it to the consoles.
I do have some complaints. I felt that many of the missions were too short, particularly in the main campaign. Some of the requirements to unlock the higher end aircraft and weapons online seemed very fairly daunting and it would have been nice to have a had a more casual way of unlocking these aircraft. The training option is nice but I think they should have allowed you to set up scenarios where you had to attack ground targets and even allow an option to add wingmen to your flight. I think the only other thing I was wishing for was to possess a flight stick for this game just to help with the simulator mode. If your into flight games like the Ace Combat series, I would highly encourage you to check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great flyer...

posted by Sutherland (ELK CREEK, VA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This is the first flight game for the PS3 that I have really enjoyed. Tom Clancy's HAWX was ok but not for me. Birds of Prey delivers a much more satisfying experience all the way around.
The graphics are top notch and the controls, though not perfect, are good enough. Gameplay is fairly straightforward with your standard flying game missions of escort, strike, and air superiority.
Where this game rocks is in the details. Planes act like real aircraft even on Arcade setting. Things like climb, dive, and roll rate have a relationship with your aircraft that you will notice in various degrees depending on what difficulty you are on. When you are pouring machine gun fire into your enemy, you see the flashes of bullets impacting their plane, watch smoke and flame come out of the engine compartment, and watch them roll over and make the long slow trip towards the ground. It is a very satisfying experience!
My only complaint is that the control scheme for the wireless controller cannot be changed and if it's not to your liking, oh well deal. A flight stick would probably be the thing to really enrich the experience (especially on realistic and simulator mode) but if you don't have one or you are to cheap to buy one, you can get by with a regular controller.

If you enjoy flying games, give Birds of Prey a try. If you love WWII flying games just go out and buy it. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by venturingboy99 (CULLMAN, AL) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has to be to most gripping, high action aviation fighter there is. But, the controls to the plane may be difficult for a lot of people. If you like war history or just WW2 you will like this game. You can fight in the Battle of Britain and other famous air combat battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not All That Bad

posted by dudewithastick (AUSTELL, GA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been looking for a flight sim like this for a long time. I wanted a game that was realistic(somewhat), but still fun to play. And I am happy to say, this is that game.
One feature i like is the ability to switch entire gameplay styles. There is a mode for people looking for a hard-core flight sim (Simulator mode), one for players who just want a fun to play flight combat game, without the difficulty of the realism (Arcade mode), or a mode for players (like me) who just want an in-the-middle experience.
There is also a large variety of fighters, bombers, or ground-attack planes, each with different armaments, and a variety of missions, for each players preferred gameplay style.
Overall, this is a great game worthy of your time. I know people have given this game bad ratings, but that's just because they are fresh from Call of Duty and don't like this type of game because its not Call of Duty. Believe me, this is a great game that you should definitely take the time to play. It is worth it.
(Oh, one more thing. It says I joined the month i am writing this, but I joined a year ago. Just to clear up some misconception.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it!!

posted by range48 (MOUNT STERLING, OH) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm going to start off saying that I am a huge fan of flying sims and this game simply tops my list...very fun if I didn't know any better I would think that I am a WWII pilot. Controls are very realistic, graphics are amazing I highly recommend renting this or even better buying it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good game. worth renting

posted by sanfermin (ALPHARETTA, GA) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this was a pretty good game after i got used to the controls. i havent played any of the flyer games before, so it took me a couple of weeks of infrequent play to get good. i only used the normal controller, not stick and pedals. if you have a lot of time, you can get good and kill, kill, KILL!!!! bombing the ground targets was cool and the missons had exciting moments. the landscape was decent. overall, a better than average game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great to watch... kinda repetative

posted by timeshare (KISSIMMEE, FL) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a blast for the first hour or so. But after that.... it just drones on and on.... and on.... and on......on and on.... and on.... and on.....on and on.... and on.... and on.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

too much and not enough

posted by adamzgamez (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

my opinion of this game is simple, its average. there are issues so easy to resolve its dissapointing to have to play through them. for example the aircraft all have titles above them in the first available mode (arcade mode), this makes it so you are not flying after some awesome wwII aircraft, instead you are chasing large red titles all over the sky. you can certainly make a game out of it but id rather chase down an actual aircraft. in defense of that statement one may say "theres other modes that dont have the titles in the sky", but those modes have their own issues, like planes dont want to stay in the sky, call it simulation if you want, but i believe planes want to stay in the sky(thats why they have wings), not fall out of it every time i change direction. the game was fun, but it was fun like going to the beach on a very cold windy day. it couldve been so much more enjoyable, and the controls are so bad of a lay out that i am led to believe they never actually played the game before they released it. after all this recalling of the games pros and cons i think my overall opinion is very dissappointed. play it if you want a new flying game, it will pass the time, but dont expect to feel like you just played the best flying game ever. i would suggest any other flyng game ive played including older generation games like ps2's ace combat 4,5 & 0
, or sky oddyssey or ps3's blazing angels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by XxVirtualShadow (RENTON, WA) Apr 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Im an avid fan of gaijins warthunder for pc and playing this just gives the same experience on the consoles. this goes in tie with my love for WWII aviation and being able to fly pretty much every plane from the luftwaffe to the British Royal navy to the USAAF and the the russian airforce

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Console Flight Hands Down!

posted by TOMMYV723 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I can believe this only has a GF rating of 5?? Would someone like to tell me the name of a better console flight Sim? Oh wait that's right there isn't one!! The only game that comes close is "Birds of Steel". Which by the way is my second favorite console flight game. But back to "IL2 -Birds of Prey" which is the console version of "Wings of Prey" for the PC. So,if you have played "Wings of Prey" on your PC. This is the same game just a FYI. I would totally recommend this game. If you want the closest experience to a PC Sim you will get on a console!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gotta get used to it

posted by dadthegameguy (HAINES CITY, FL) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I like the audio during the cut scenes and the overall story portion, but I am not a huge realist flight control guy. In this game you have to control the pitch and yaw and rudders and throttle and all the while trying to figure out how to tell your wingman to get the dirtbag, that is shooting your plane up, off your tail. The stick that controls your turning also controls your throttle so just when you think you got your enemy right where you want him, you stall or just fly right past him. I just want to turn the plane with one stick and blow the enemy out of the sky. The p.i.p. of your target is great and the graphics are pretty good. Targeting is a little troublesome at times. Once you get the hang of the controls it is all in all a pretty good play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great adaptation

posted by CCM10 (ANDERSON, IN) May 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I played the pc version and thought it was difficult yet fun and this had some difficulty and was extremely fun to me so great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

poor Y axis

posted by Wrongway60 (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game had very poor y axis. also you don't get to choose your plane on the missions. So frustrated, as soon as my next game arrives i'll send this one back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IL2 STURMOVIK

posted by robersok (RICE, TX) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Please don't waste your time with this game. It is the worst ever flying game. You can't control the aircraft hardly and can't change the game settings. Everything is on arcade only. I thought when I first started the game, the people that did Blazing Angels did this one, but they didn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Sure , while the Missions are fairly short , and all , It is a pretty fun game to play. My only complaint is why cant I choose which plane I want to fly against the enemy , when Ive accumulated them? If ive gotten ten allied planes , let me loadout and fly the plane of MY choice to the target. Other than that I am pleased with the game and it has a good number of missions so it doesnt last a day , as typical of shooting /war games these days. If you like flying and want a game that lasts a bit longer than one day to beat it RENT THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth renting

posted by racemy442 (DUBLIN, GA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

After playing games like "Blazing Angels 2: Secret Missions of WWII", this game is a joke. It's not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good flight simulator as far as flight sims go!!

posted by basicmed1 (ROCKFORD, MI) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I thought this game had potential ....I found that the controllers were kinda touchy....but the dog fights were really cool....plus I liked the realistic of the game...overall it was a alight game....I wouldn't buy it....but its excellent to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun demo

posted by WILL114 (SANTA FE, NM) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Fun demo but the gameQ says I have it at home yet it hasn't arrived yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

il-2 sturmovik birds of prey

posted by markcalnan (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game was alright, but like most WWII games it was pretty slow going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

um

posted by ssetth (OMAHA, NE) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

yea Didnt play this game yet because i rented it from Hollywood video it didnt load the game so i scared to rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good For What It Is

posted by Batey40 (ANNISTON, AL) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This is a pretty good WW2 air combat game. I really enjoyed it. Even though the game is a bit repeditive its really not bad at all. The air combat is a bit challenging at times and other than my plane seemed to get stuck during turns every once in a while I have to say its a good game for what it is. If you enjoy this period in history and love the WW2 planes as I do then I say give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Nice Sim

posted by wubloodkin (McKnightstown, PA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is a great flying/dogfight game. The visuals, and graphics are un-matched, while the dogfighting was intense, and really make you have to focus to down other fighters. The controls were good, and not too hard to figure out, but even once you get the hang of it, its no walk in the park. I enjoyed this game very much, and highly reccomend it to any die hard arial combat fanatic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

blazing angles is better

posted by tuma1701 (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I love flight sims, ones set in WWII are usually the best, but this game was kind of weak, the controls really sucked, the planes are slow to respond to what you want them to do. On top of that, the dog fights where kind of boring, I think the thing I had the most fun doing in this game is crashing into houses, when you re-spawn the house you crashed into is still on fire, so you can crash into another one and make it look like a whole town is on fire, that's how bad this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GREAT GAME BUT CONTROLING ISSUES AND CAMERA ISSUES

posted by steelers86 (NORWALK, CT) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

THIS A GREAT GAME JUST THE ONLY DOWNFALL TO IT IS THAT THE CAMERA ANGLE WHEN FLYING STINKS IT SHIFTS AROUND WHEN YOU ARE IN COMBAT AND YOU COULD CRASH ALSO THE CONTROLLER BUTTONS ARE TRICKY IN COMBAT WITH MUTIPLE PLANES IT CAN EASILY GET HARD WHEN YOU ARE GOING TO DROP A BOMB ON A WARSHIP AND THE WARSHIP GOES AND BLOWS YOU AWAY WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO DROP BOBMS GREAT GAME WOULD RECOMMEND RENTING IT NOT BUYING IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse