Rent ICO and Shadow of the Colossus Collection for PS3
view large frontback

ICO and Shadow of the Colossus Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2872 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interactive Art

posted by MOMOKILLA (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Team ICO have long been regarded as the best developer making the case for games as art. Their use of ambiance, music, relationships, and puzzle design are all top notch. However, their best tool, is their unique ability to elicit a strong emotional response from the player.

ICO and Shadow of the Colossus, call forth those type of emotional response one would normally associate with other media and art forms. Both games are extremely well designed, and suffer from a bit of a slow start.

All in all, these are games like, L.A. Noire, and Heavy Rain, that all gamers must experience. These collection gives us the chance to relive them, or if you were foolish enough to let both this games pass you by when they originally released, like me, then this is your chance to experience something moving, artful and stylish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HD Shadow of the Colossus, Ico, is a win-win!

posted by Shadow_Satey (OGDEN, UT) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Shadow of the Colossus was a game that won many fans over to Team Ico's collection of arts-full masterpieces. ICO, it's predecessor, was hardly heard of in the gaming community, except those who could find it. Now, both are here in a remastered edition of both Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, complete with Trophies.

I bought the game, seeing as how GameFly refused to send me the number 1 game on my GameQ, and have experienced nastalgia and awe at the detail presented in this HD remaster. The level of detail is extraordinary compared to its release almost ten, or so, years ago. The gameplay hasn't changed, but the visuals and framerate itself lend itself some credibility. I watched 60fps, a giant colossi crashing down his hammer on the ground below, and watched particles and shaking camera influence my character's decision to try a different tactic when approaching the beast.

For first timers, Ico and Shadow is a win-win. Even for those veterans, like myself, the trophies are extraoridinarily easy, and it adds to a variety of shooters in my PS3 collection. Get this game while you can, it was sold out everywhere I went!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two Excellent Stories Told Through Gaming

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Two great games that many people missed out on, HD-ified and on one disc. How is that not awesome?

Ico looks a little dated and takes a certain mood to appreciate the quiet, slow immersion. It's truly great when you give in.

Shadow of the Collosus is just great. It may seem of putting at first, but here's my experience with the game:

I first played SotC on PS2, years after it first came out. I didn't know anything about it, except people said it was good, so, I finally checked it out.
At first, I didn't like it, I couldn't figure out where it go and I felt a little lost. But then someone said "Beat your first Collosus before giving up."
So, I put the game on again and said "forget exploring, lets just do this" and held up my sword, followed the light on horseback and there it was, my first Collosus.
I went ahead, battled it and when it was over. I was HOOKED. And man, this game had that "life changing" effect. I was so immersed, and shaken to my very core with how this story unfolded before me.

This is one of the best stories ever told and it's not a book. But, unlike a movie, it still has this sense of imagination and interpretation I've NEVER encountered in any other game, and I've played everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More for those with the memories

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Sep 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

20 out of 30 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never played all of ICO or Shadow of the Colossus when they were first on the PS2. I found the controls to be a bit clumsy, the camera angle unfavorable, and the pacing a bit slow. At the time I was more into faster paced games, and these just weren't my cup of tea. Now they've been remastered in HD and released in a collection for the PS3. My gaming tastes have broadened, so I thought this would be a good way to go back and see what all the fans of these games were raving about. And- They still aren't my cup of tea. ICO in particular, being one huge escort mission, frustrated me. Having to stop and call Yorda constantly to follow me and then not having her climb when I needed her to just really became more irritating than fun. Shadow of the Colossus fared better- I found the story to be more engaging, and it controlled better, but the camera was a problem for me, especially when trying to take down one of the massive Colossi. Both games do look fantastic though- the environments are huge and well detailed, and the animations, while showing their age, still look good. Even though I didn't end up loving this, I'd still say for people who've never played these games to at least give them a try. For those who have fond memories, this is definitely a purchase. Others are better off renting first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Videogame Masterpiece

posted by Shrimpman (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest videogames ever made. There is nothing else like it and it is amazingly fun and engaging. If you want a cookie cutter FPS and just wanna shoot things, then steer clear and stick to the shooter garbage you play while drinking gallons of Mt. Dew and devouring gas station hot dogs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like a fine wine

posted by Game_Reviewer (ALHAMBRA, CA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best media experiences, movies, games, etc. I have ever experienced. This game should be placed in the dictionary next to the words "Epic" and "Greatest". I have heard of some people not enjoying this game. I guess it all depends on your frame of reference, and what you consider to be "good". For many people who have an appreciation for the arts. I would find it hard to believe that you wouldn't think this game is amazing.

But even for people who only dig mainstream, and have very little cultural enrichment. I still don't see how you are not impressed by the massive size of these Collosi, and the epic struggle that ensues when taking them down, coupled with that fantastic score. I just really don't see whats not to like.

I like Call of Duty and Halo as much as the next guy. But if I had to choose a candidate for a game that best represents what is possible for all video games. It would be SOTC. It is quite simply a masterpiece of design.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word: Epic

posted by MrFeaRZ (New York, NY) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Shadow of the Colossus was my favorite PS2 game and its HD release on PS3 is one of the happiest moments of my gaming life. I never played Ico, nor do i have any interest in it, so this review is for SOTC.

Epic. Just epic. The entire game has 16 enemies. I'll never forget the feeling of seeing that first Colossi. It was something like, "Holy Shhhh, i have to kill THAT??" Then after watching tiny Wander climb up his calf, up his back, and finally get to the head, a strange feeling started to creep up inside me: sympathy.

You see, the Colossus dont attack you until you attack them. They dont want to be bothered. They're pretty much minding their Colossi business until they feel your arrow in their face. This is actually kind of saddening. After you take down the first few you start to sympathize with these monsters. And thats what makes this game incredible. Not only does it please your senses, but it also tugs at your emotions in a way that very few games can.

Shadow of the Colossus is a masterpiece and a must for any gamers collection. One day im sure they'll release it for PS4, and i'll buy it again. Though i'm sure by that time in technology i'll be able to smell the Colossus breath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but a little overrated.

posted by Princ3_0f_Th3_D (DENVER, CO) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ico

Story - 8.5
Pro - Your typical boy saves girl with a couple of cool twists, which works for this game.
Cons - Too predictable and bland at times and really doesn't get interesting until the end

Gameplay - 7.5
Pros - Simple but effective with great brain teaser puzzles.
Cons - Combat can get frustrating at times

Graphics - 9.0
Pros - Great Art Design and Graphics for its time
Con - N/A

Addiction Level - 7.5
Pros - Love the complexity of puzzles in the game
Cons - Not enough gameplay or story elements to keep you playing for more

Total : 8.0

Shadow of the Colossus

Story: 8.5
Pros - Much like Ico the story really doesn't flesh until the end. Though the end is well worth it!
Cons - Like I said it takes to the end to really get going.

Gameplay: 8.0
Pros: Never has finding out how to kill something been this fun.
Cons: Steering the horse is awful and sometimes when climbing and jumping on to other ledges can be confusing. Also the camera can get pretty awful at times.

Graphics: 8.0
Pros: Love the art style
Cons: The flow of hair and detail of characters are not that incredible.

Addiction Level: 8.5
Pros: Once you kill your first Colossi you'll be stuck.
Cons: Killing some colossi are not as fun as others.

Total: 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Games

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ICO had a cool concept but nothing that great. It's pretty much a puzzle game, while escorting a girl out the entire time. Yorda, the girl, AI is pretty bad when youre trying to call you instead of holding her hand, and she follows at the wrong times, as well as standing on wrong things. The game had a couple very frustrating puzzles that took me a half hour just to figure out I had to do a certain thing.
Shadow of Collosus, in my opinion, was much better than ICO, but it got boring throughout the middle of the game. The concept is so cool, and the collosus' art is amazing, but you have to slay 16 collosi, but when you reach 8, you kind of get bored with the boss fights. Also, the final collosus fight is absolutely frustrating and took me an hour to beat him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 of the Best

posted by ubnjoshed (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just finished both of these games and They are fantastic. There is a reason they have both received countless praises from the fans. Simply put if you have never played these games you owe society the privledge of experiencing the greatness gaming once achieved

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by rpullan23 (LYMAN, SC) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

After hearing about how great these games were I thought I would give them a shot. I didn't really care for Ico I thought it was pretty boring dragging some girl around in a castle and solving puzzles plus trying to get her to climb ledges was a pain. Shadow of the Colossus was quite good though, fighting the colossi and finding their weak points on their bodies. Trying to control the camera and directing the horse was a bit bothersome. I think people who have never played these games, like me, would pass on this but the hardcore fanbase would love these re-releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beyond baffled how this gets the ratings it does

posted by OneEyeRed (PALISADES PARK, NJ) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I have tried desperately to want to like both of these titles. Ico was not bad but I finally got bored and tired with it. I was really looking forward to all the hype on SoC but my joy was soon diminished by wonky camera controls. between the horse and colosi and having to constantly rotate camera and try to reset and adjust over and over my frustration did me in. Mind you, I have been an avid gamer for over 35 years so I don't complain lightly.

There seemed to be a lot to want to like in SoC but how it rated the way it did back in the PS2 day and now has me baffled. Sadly, I give this a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely terrible. controls are a BAD JOKE

posted by TopShotta1 (DENVER, CO) Nov 1, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game before playing it. I thought it was a sprawling epic of crazy proportions. Unfortunately, I found it IMPOSSIBLE to like with the outdated graphics and interface used in both games.

These were both amazing when they first came out, because the whole game focuses on the "wander" dynamic. But let's just be honest here. Wandering through a desert is a pain in real life, and it's an even bigger pain in a video game. The entire premise gets very old very quick with graphics that are ten years old and controls that don't work right.

One of the most frusterating, and least controllable aspects of 'Shadow' was the horse..........which you need to use to get to any stage of the game. The horse controls are so terrible I almost destroyed my HDTV by sending a flying dualshock controller straight through the television set. The stupid horse NEVER stops when you tell it to. Instead of stopping behind a beast, i'd end up riding below it and getting killed, because the horse absolutely refuses to stop when you tell it to.

In closing, I can see no redeeming factors what so ever that make this game even remotely playable. The only time these games were ever cool were right when they came out. Sony should literally be ashamed for putting a price tag of any kind on this, never mind 40 dollars. Shame on you, Sony.

Why did they even waste their time on this lame piece of you know what!? I think less of Sony as a company for how terrible this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So confusing

posted by the3Js (DURANT, OK) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is beautiful but it assumes that you know how to do everything right off the bat. We were left very confused as for what to do for most of it. There are no in game tutorials and, other than online guides it was pretty much just mashing buttons till you knew what to do. Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hmmm

posted by kittyblove (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

only for old fans..this game didnt impress me at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe great 10 years ago but controls are bad. NT

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like these games since I had heard both were great. Of the two, I played ICO more. In both cases, what made me quit were poor controls. Every game should have perfect controls. That is basic. If you can't do that I have no interest in playing the game.

The controls weren't broken and might have been OK 10 years ago but not today. If your going to update graphics and sound why not controls?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ico I wouldn't play

posted by MjAcosta (OPPELO, AR) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I could not figure out in the first one what I was suppose to do . I mean it did not explaining anything at all ... I got a girl down out of a cage , and after that I spent a hour confused to the next step . It could have been really fun , but it lacked letting you know what you were suppose too do . Was very frustrating . I aslo got it on the ps3 , and the camera you could not spin around where you wanted it . You were stuck looking on top of the little boy , so you almost had no idea where you were going ....I dont not think this is a game for you , if your looking for something fun .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

uh...

posted by Dustinebriated (TROY, MO) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 36 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

...I don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Overrated. "Cult follwing" type game.

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

From a gameplay perspective I thought Ico was terrible. The "abstract" appeal didnt work to me. Nothing made sense and even when I tried to use my imagination it still felt like a terrible story/gameplay experience. I could not finish Ico even though it was short because the platforming and story was just so frustrating.

Shadow of the Colossus I really didnt play a whole lot but I didnt dig the "only fight bosses" premise the game had.

Overall I givee it a 1/10. I cant recall a recent game in my memory that bored me quite so much. Ico is terrible and overrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor Camera Movement

posted by arpst0rm (SAN CARLOS, CA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I tend to get motion sick from first person shooters. I have been able to play many 3rd person games. Some more than others. Assassins Creed had the best camera control I have seen in a 3rd person game.

The camera control in this game was very poor. It responded to my movement too quickly and using the controller to look around moved SOOOOO fast it made me ill. Could not play the game for more than 5-10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

beginning of ICO.

posted by Blizane (ANAHEIM, CA) Nov 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I just played 20 minutes of ICO and wanted to fall asleep. I know I probably didn't give it enough of a chance but when a game doesn't have legs in the beginning I lose interest quickly. This review is only for the very beginning of ICO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i cant wait to play this game=)

posted by Aleximg2012 (DADE CITY, FL) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

i wanna try it before buying it lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Honestly not sure

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

Part of me really wants to like these games and yet the flaws make it so hard to really like them. These two games get lots of hype but I think that sets them up for disappointing results. I was hoping the remake would maybe fix any off-putting flaws but I don't think they changed anything except graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I don't see why these games are so loved

posted by MizoOfOz (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Apr 2009

I missed getting to play these two titles when they were originally on the PS2, and all I ever heard was how great they are. And visually, yes, they are awesome looking games. However, everything else about them is horrible. Bad controls. Horrific camera. And as for the story, most of the time, I had no idea what was going on.

I'll start with Ico. You play some kid with horns that gets locked in some castle. Why? No idea. The game doesn't explain. It was later explained to me by a friend that it's because he has horns... Um, okay. I guess that makes sense. Anyways, you try to leave and run into a girl that is prisoner in the castle. Why? No idea. She doesn't have horns. The game has no real dialogue to explain these things. The object of the game is to escape with the girl. Simple, yes, but a tried and true gameplay idea. The problem is the girl is so incompetent that she can't even walk without you holding her hand. And if you leave her for more than a few seconds to solve some puzzle, shadow monsters come out and drag her away while she just screams for help, offering no resistance at all. After an hour of this, I gave up on the game and moved onto...

Shadow of the Colossus. Once again, I had no idea what was going on. Some girl was dead? Asleep? And you go off and kill giants because of it. Thankfully, this time I didn't have to escort someone that was dumber than dirt. Instead, I had to deal with a hugely annoying camera and controls that made it very difficult to play. I gave up around the fifth giant monster.

Like I said, I have no idea why these games are so loved by so many people. They're some of the worst I have ever played, and I've played a lot of bad games. And everyone keeps waiting for the developers next game, The Last Guardian, which has been delayed many times. Based on these two games, I hope it never comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing's changed

posted by outsider161 (MUNDELEIN, IL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

It's a remake of fun games from PS2. Nothing has been improved upon, including the graphics. These games are just as good as they were on the PS2 (nothing more) and that's just fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse