Rent Hyperdimension Neptunia for PS3
view large frontback

Hyperdimension Neptunia

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1059 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Give it a chance, it gets better

posted by Cylanth (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

33 out of 35 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I can understand the negative reviews and low ratings this game is getting. It has a horrible first impression. Sloppy interface, clumsy controls, and a battle system that is very quirky. The story is bizarre and makes no sense. Characters that seem straight out of some adult anime. yeah, it has a lot going against it. So, why did I give it a 7? Because, once you understand the mechanics, and you enjoy the story for what its supposed to be (a PARODY), this came can be entertaining. This game is a parody on RPGs and video games, it actively makes fun of the industry, and once you get past the learning curve and get into the game, you will be laughing a lot at the puns. Give it more than 1 day, you will be surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great and unique

posted by Theo456 (BLOOMINGDALE, NJ) Jun 28, 2012

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i admit at the beginning it seemed pretty weird and not playable but im not one to jump to conclusions so i kept playing and its alot like those older kinds of games when you take turns doing attacks but in a newer fashion the dialogue was funny but serious at the same time and it basically brought me back to when i was still playing gamecube yu gi oh games great story and im planning on getting the next one soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hyperdimension neptunia

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a fun game to play. it is a turn based RPG. It is a funny story with alot of twists and turns. It displays a lands beautifully done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hyperdimension Neptunia

posted by Solbady (FOREST HILLS, NY) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hyperdimension Neptunia is a JRPG developed by Idea Factory, and published by SEGA. The game centers around a world called Gamindustri, which is divided into four landmasses: Planeptune, Lastation, Lowee, and Leanbox. Each landmass is different and similar in many ways, they each have a central city, they each have a Bascilicom (a place of worship), and a Goddess which is the "leader" of the landmass. The four goddess are Noire (Black Heart), Blanc (White Heart), Vert (Green Heart), and Neptune (Purple Heart).

This game has a lot of fan service, which is why this game is most appealing to the male audience. Each character and most of the monsters also have a unique design. The length of this game is substantial, and is on par with many other great RPGs, while the battles are quite easy to grasp, and the music isn't that all great this game hits the RPG franchise with a 1-up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Were you expecting a serious game?

posted by CaseyCash (BAYONNE, NJ) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Great JRPG

The bad reviews come from people who didnt know what they were getting into. Great humor, imaginative concept and interesting battle/combo system.

Average American renting this game out of nowhere rating:4

If you like manga, anime and jpop rating: 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's still fun-ish.

posted by Nagisaki (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ok I will admit the first hour of the game is prolly the worst start to a game I have seen. It's like straight out of a tacky anime, the music is slightly annoying and the battle system is clunky. As a fortuante person who understand Japanese as well as english the game is so much cooler in Japanese the dubbing is meh. Now, to the actual gameplay....

The story isn't bad and yes it is a parody of Video games and some of the rips are really funny like the characters flaunting around there stats to NPC's. The battle system is annoying to learn but fun and original in it's own right. If you can survive the first 2 hours of the game please do go on it is pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

C-O-M-E-D-Y

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) May 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

people that are rating this game are seeing it as if it is a serious normal game. no, no , no this is not a average game and it was never meant to be seen that way. play it for a few hours and you will love it. this game is more meant to be a interactive action comedy not a serious story game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Frankly Horrible

posted by Daisame (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game plays like something from a PS2. That would actually be high praise if it were not for its poorly conceived game play elements. Even with the PS2 graphics, the frame rate seems to chug in some places, noticeably trying to navigate the dungeon maps. One of the settings allows you to increase the camera panning speed. But even in the highest setting, it is painfully slow.

Then there is the combat system. Ugh... it is like watching paint dry. The pacing is slow and tedious. The camera is pulled way back and everything is spaced far apart, except when someone runs all the way up to do some strike, and then they fall all the way back. There is tons of tedious dialog that seems to be written for an entirely different audience. That combined with the frequent panty shots and other compromising positions, seems that this game was written primarily for the stereo-typical manga crowd and less as an actual game.

The whole experience is just tired and sophomoric. Serious gamers should stay far away. I am surprised that the average rating of this is so high. I could not stand more than a couple hours, which is saying a lot since about 90% of that time is spent forwarding through countless bubblegum dialog.

The battle system and inventory system is not clear at all. With a rental, not having the game manual handy makes a good tutorial very helpful. I have played plenty of JRPGs and this is by far the least intuitive. Most you can pick up and get the hang of rather quickly. Not this game. It was thoroughly confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe Once Upon a Time

posted by IndigoAK (FAIRBANKS, AK) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I might have enjoyed this game when I was younger. The story is completely off the wall and full of gaming industry references (one of the few aspects I enjoyed in the short time I spent with the game) and the static art is of typical quality for a Japanese visual novel type game (which means it's great, but not altogether standout either), but everything else is why I chose to send this game before I finished it. The framerate in dungeons and battles is capped at 15 or something similar so everything looks like it's in slow motion (and you can't change the speed the game renders at). The combo system is also really confusing. Basically, instead of normal attacks the game uses a combo system similar to the old PS1 game Legend of Legaia. Every button press adds to a combo. Different combos produce different attacks which you learn as you level up. This is a great system - except for the fact that there's no way to see a combo list in battle and since there's like 60 or 70 possible combos, it gets confusing really quicly. You also can't heal manually. Instead, your characters have to learn healing skills which will only acitivate a certain percentage of the time based on certain criteria. This ends up getting really frustrating after awhile because characters will end up not healing when you really need them to, even if you have their skill equiped and the percentage high. Exploration gameplay in this game is non-existent. Movement around the world outside of dungeons is entirely menu drive. You select a short blurb from one menu, which might play a scene, then you select a dungeon from another menu. There's also a menu for shopping. Needless to say, this game can get kind of boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What was the point of this?

posted by Prizzem (RANDOLPH, NJ) Feb 19, 2011

Member since May 2008

4 out of 25 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of Koei and Sega, but I have no idea what this is. The first 15 mins are just four girls talking to each other with some cut scene gameplay (WHICH IS AWFUL BTW) graphically this game is PS1 to PS2 quality. This is pretty much softcore manga with horrible graphics and boring gameplay. The character progression does look like it could be pretty deep. If you can put yourself through this whole disater of a title. The screenshots gave me hope of a kinda FFX combat feel with great visuals and a interesting story. I was mistaken and you will be also, feel free to waste a rent slot on this. You will be sending it back as fast as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Console wars victims are the players...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jul 31, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

What is it with games now days? People seem to think that flawed gameplay mechanics can be wrapped up in boobs, and some how escape all ridicule... Hyerdimension Neptunia is a game that comes short in so many ways.. First off, healing for a party should NEVER be left to chance... and it is good to have automatic healing only when it: 1. doesn't consume resources(unless it is voluntarily assigned by the player) 2. it doesn't require a enemy hit when there is a chance that it might fail.. In this game, skill points are assigned to the healing skills 1 to 100 which also represents the odds that the healing will actually be used.. For example if you have 50 points to first aid, then there is a 50% chance it will trigger when you get hit when your health runs low.. keep it mind that the enemy hit actually has to connect while your health is low... There is no real way to heal if your character has only 1 HP left! Unless you have a group healing skill to trigger or you leave the dungeon! No, you can't heal outside of combat while in a dungeon! The shallow story is the least of this game's concerns. Never make a game where hunting a specific monster is timed, while at the same time making the encounters all random(yes, this game does this!)It is a bad idea trust me...Good graphics and sound quality though, but it doesn't cover all the faults.. Everyone has three kinds of attacks ranged, melee, and weapon type, but they are always available to use in battle with no real difference,(except that punching and kicking can do more damage than guns or swords, seriously) The battle options feel tacked on! The game might be more suitable to "naughty" fans since, " some photos" scenes are animated stills. Can you guess what is animated? Hint:(think womens melons)
"Advertising"-wink-can't cover the flaws of a game that seems to be rushed in all other aspects!! Our industry does not need half-baked flawed games like this. NIS has made many other good games, Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you dont already know it, you won't like it.

posted by Jay_H (CHICAGO, IL) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is pretty much a game that's exclusively for a small group of people that enjoy this genre of moneysucking, degenerate, pervish comedy styled gameplay. There is no excuse for a game that consists of slideshows. You are literally watching the storyboards with subtitles. If this game was free, it would receive a better rating. Unfortunately there are a group of people that are allowing these games to be sold for rediculous prices because they actually buy them. You have to be insane to like this game, literally insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no no no no.

posted by tyrial (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

graphics are playstation 2 level. moves clunky.
if you are an otaku who loves loli in 2-d and 3-d then rent this game.
but if you are looking for an RPG with decent graphics and a nice story its best to stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not too bad, but not too good

posted by FFCollector (EDGEWOOD, MD) Oct 16, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

The game starts out with a major spoiler. Then as your thrown into the game the tutorials aren't detailed and I had to go online to find a manual-like guide. The game spoils itself as you can unveil secret identities in the game before encountering a "who's that" event. I expected an RPG to have more towns to visit and more in depth areas. The dungeons are the only areas you can run around, and the scenes are in 2-D with repeating backgrounds. 99% of the NPCs are silhouettes so you have to remember them by voice or name IF they are given. As for the storyline it's actually good. There are several scenes which joke at other games, can't say what the are on here. The level-up system isn't bad, earn EXP and money from each battle. Each dungeon has hidden items and sometimes a special challenge monster. Timed challenges can be revisited and have no level cap. Your attack combos can be edited so you can select which move comes next in a four attack combo. Each character comes with unique abilities and varying stats making each character useful and not outweighing one-another. So pretty much if you like a dungeon RPG game which you fight monsters in a turn-style battle system with hardly any explanation on game mechanics and you don't mind MAJOR in-game spoilers or you want a quick trophy set then this is a game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright game

posted by deathwolf28 (PRICE, UT) Sep 20, 2014

Member since May 2011

It's an alright game , But It ain't my type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth it.

posted by RKOX13 (BEND, OR) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

I've noticed the low scores plaguing this game and other titles like it and wanted to write a review from the mind of someone who is interested in this type of game and knew what I was getting into when I started.

This game is a parody on videos and electronics and so going into this game you shouldn't expect a serious epic adventure. This game is meant for fun. The story is interesting even if you're like myself and don't "get" EVERY reference in it. From what I've played and researched online their are only female characters in this game aside from some unpictured male NPCs, so you may not love its lack of gender diversity.

They use a active image style from a lot of the storytelling portions, which is still pictures made to move slightly so it looks like the characters are breathing and alive instead of static. I personally believe that's a great way to tackle making a still picture storytelling game in todays high graphics world and I think it looks really good. There is also a decent amount of customizing to be done with each character.

It's a turn based RPG based on combo attacks selected with the triangle, square, circle, and X buttons. It can get a little tedious putting in the combos after a time but if you go into the combo menu's and customize the combos there are a lot of different combinations.

The game did freeze on me a few time when I, say, opened a chest and tried to switch skills before the animation was done. This can be very frustrating when you're a player like myself that doesn't always save after every little thing. No one want to do things over again because of a game glitch.

All these things together coupled with the fact that bonus missions and some other items come as free DLC, and its decent length, I gave the game a fairly decent rating.

Definitely worth a play for someone looking for a lighthearted and fun RPG to play. Just don't forget to save!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Couldn't play the game

posted by Geordanpetrotta (IDABEL, OK) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I couldn't play it and i can't rate it because of the fact that i couldn't play it and it had a few smudges on to so that could've been the reason of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game for anime and videogame enthusiasts

posted by aml50 (ACWORTH, GA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The point of this Game, ironically enough, is not the game play in my opinion. This story and righting seems like it comes from anime and is made up of videogame parodies, but its overall theme is RPG Turn-based combat. Oh and be warned, if you fall in love with characters easily, you will have to tear yourself away from this one, but the bland gameplay should help you do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you can stay awake.

posted by lucky_mac (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The actual game play and characters aren't bad and the story is good, but it takes for ever to get to the point with this game. The worst part is the beginning because it just drags on for a while, but if you can get through that then you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting, but had a couple major flaws...

posted by kaos42 (FESTUS, MO) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

I must admit, it seemed interesting, but a couple major flaws kept me from enjoying it more than I could have.

First, the reviewers who complained about the the camera distances during fights are right on. No other game has fights in which the combatants run that far and back between moves.

And second, and this is the deal killer for me, the text is too small to read unless you have a BIG HONKING SCREEN! I mean, my screen is 37 1/2 inches, which is big for an SD set, but I had major trouble reading any of the menus, tutorials, or commands!

SHEESH!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

funny

posted by dragonxsx (CHARLESTON, WV) Jun 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

if you like spoofs and funny anime type feel your love this game downside game flow is kinda slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The perfect game for a pervy 13-year-old.

posted by RandomGuy (IRVINE, CA) May 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2005

Are you looking for a game that's chock-full of painfully unfunny writing, sprites that are animated so that breast bouncing is a major feature of gameplay, and bland, uninteresting combat?

Well, then, this is the game for you. Idea Factory (makers of countless games that include a bare game system and tons of decently drawn 2D sprite characters suggested by their forum users) and Compile Heart (makers of... I dunno... Octomania?) join forces with one of NIS America's poorest localization jobs to date to bring you one of the most fan service-y, juvenile games ever published.

The backdrop for the game is that 3 game systems are fighting over control of "Gamindustri", and making fun of each others' breast sizes. (One character calls another "Thunder T-ts" literally 3 minutes into the game.) A 4th character, Neptune, gets ganged up on by the other systems and exiled.

Then she has to fight them all to get her world back to normal. Along the way she meets a vapid, large-breasted character named Compa (The personification for Compile Heart, her room is filled with Octomania references.) who helps you fight your way through boring dungeons with boring random battles. Even the initial battles against low level enemies will take 3-5 minutes, not because you're learning the system, but just to get through the attack, wait to get hit, attack, grind. You can skip the enemy's attack, and this is STILL far longer than I'm willing to wait for a battle to end.

To make matters worse, the game is glitchy as all get out, and lacking in polish. There are a myriad things in this game that you just wouldn't find in a game put out by people actually cared. Walking around in the dungeons is herky-jerky at best, menus are unintuitive... Avoid this one like the plague, it's an utter disgrace to video games in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An Awesome Game for a Very Specific Audience

posted by KoboldAsylum (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Alright. This is one of those games that you will either love or you will hate. The first thing I will bring up is that it if you don't like a lot of anime, you probably won't like this game. For one it references a lot of animes, and secondly it has an anime art style and many situations that only people who are used to a lot of anime would be able to tolerate the story enough to find the hidden value in this game. Now the reason I rate this game so highly is because for people who can get past the pervasive art style and narrative themes is because this game has tons of references to video games, the video game industry, and the game is even named after the Sega Neptune, a console that was canceled while still in the prototype stage. Also, this game breaks the fourth wall. A lot. If you come into this game expecting a serious JRPG, you will be sorely disappointed. You have to know what you are getting into before playing a game like this. The combat system is surprisingly in depth and the game isn't really broken in any amazing way. If you want a casual JRPG game that references the video game industry and don't mind some pretty pervasive moments and don't care if the game has a serious tone to it, then you will absolutely love this game. Other wise, you should pass on this game. It probably isn't your bag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you like this sort of thing...

posted by Travistech (OXFORD, MS) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

you'll know it, and you'll know that Hyperdimension Neptunia and its sequel are for you. If you like underage anime girls getting fondled by overzealous nurses, voice acting so mind-numbing you have to set it in Japanese to preserve some sense of culture, and the first major battle of the game apparently be somehow related to a character's chest, then you'll find this all well and good.(In short, if you watch Strike Witches "for the plot", you'll enjoy this.) However, for the lay JRPG fan and average gamer, this oversexed, insubstantial attempt at parody and caricature falls far short of what it could have been. Bland samey combat isn't salvaged by the nice-looking visual effects, and overall, the game is only really meant for the hardcore fans of this sort of thing. So, if games that sell on fanservice catch your eye, give this a go. Anyone else stay far away, lest your significant other catch you playing this embarrassment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes!Yes!Yes!

posted by burstshot23 (PERRY, MI) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I absolutely love this game!!! It is unlike any RPG that I have ever played. I love everything about this game: the cute anime girls, the hilarious dialogue, the BGM and the story. Definitely in my top favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse