Rent Hunted: The Demon's Forge for PS3
view large frontback

Hunted: The Demon's Forge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.1

1690 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a total failure...

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Aside from the design flaws and mundane gameplay, Hunted is interesting enough to want to play through only to find out how it ends. What could have been an epic open world experience, is nothing more than a linear hack 'n slash, where you fight your way from one end of the map to the other, with the occasional puzzle thrown in. It seems this game is best played in co-op mode, but you can also choose to play alone with the ability to switch between characters at certain points. You really don't have to, unless you want to experience a very minor difference in gameplay. One character is a she-elf, who is quick, handy with a bow. The other, a barbarian warrior, who relies mostly on sword and shield, and brute strength. Gameplay is very linear, you're basically on rails and can't stray to far off the path. A shame really as this could have been an awesome open world adventure. The fighting mechanics get stale real fast because you use the same combination of moves no matter what weapon you weild. Clearly the developers didn't bother to utilize different fighting moves for the different weapons you can pick up, which would have been cool. There is no real incentive to spend time searching every nook and cranny you can for secrets as they don't yield anything of real value, unless you're the type to have to find everything in the game. Little technical flaws like not being able to switch characters on the fly, predictable enemy A.I, lack of originality in enemy design, and the worst one is only being allowed to carry a set number of health potions. The graphics are pretty standard, voice acting is acceptable, and the soundtrack fits the mood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game But Way Over hyped.

posted by Suspect (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2004

38 out of 45 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

When I first popped in Hunted I have to admit that I wasn't Impressed at all. Part of the reason was because the developers over hyped the game describing it as a dungeon crawler. although it is indeed a dungeon crawler. the game itself lacks all the basics that RPG fans have come to expect out of a dungeon crawler. Enemies do not drop loot such as weapons and armor, there are no shops to buy items, and no inventory. This game is for all intents and purposes an action adventure game. although there are light RPG elements in the game such as the a skill tree which allows players to spend any found power crystals on spells, bow, and melee attacks. there is no traditional level gain system. the game awards the player with permanent character enhancements by the amount of melee kills, executions, and bow kills the player accumulates throughout the game. There are weapons and armor to be found but all the stellar equipment wont be obtainable until the second or third play through via new game plus. Fans of the Champions of Norath games will be familiar with this set up.

At first glance Hunted can be easily dismissed before the player finishes the tutorial/epilogue. The graphics are mediocre and the level design seems quite bland. After spending 9 hours on the game I have to say that Hunted becomes a very fun and addicting game once the player lets go of his or her hyped expectations of the game and accepts Hunted for what it really is. People will trash and downplay this game without giving it a fair shot simply because it is immediately noticeable that the game did not meet the players overly high expectations. But with 15-20 hours of game play, solid controls and game play, stellar online co-op, and the ability to add tons of replay value with the crucible/dungeon creator tool, players coming into Hunted with low expectations will see hunted for the wonderful co-op experience that it is.

I highly recommend Hunted as a rental to all who love local/ online CO-OP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by kayneandkaylee (Louisville, CO) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I would have to say I don't agree with the reviews about the game being sub-par...in fact my wife and I love the game even though its a bit dark for my tastes and I mean Gamma wise but overall its got great tactical game play. It forces you to work with your partner which is a great team building exercise for couples. So Beyond the incessant darkening of the screen even after you change the Gamma its not a bad game and its worth the Rent if not Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hunted a rental at best

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had higher hopes for "Hunted: The Demon's Forge". Sadly, those hopes didn't come to pass. The best thing I can say is that the voice acting is decent, and that the story is okay, if not familiar ground for the genre. This is more an action adventure game than an RPG, which is fine. When done well this works. This game is not broken, but nor is it anything to write home about. The graphics are more suited to the PS2 than this generation of consoles, and the controls are a bit on the clunky side. You can't switch between characters on the fly, there's no drop-in/drop-out ability in the co-op, and the AI is fair to awful (They'll be okay in combat, but if you need to be healed by your AI partner, you're in trouble). With all the much better fare coming out this summer, you can give this one a pass. It's a rental at best, and chances are you'll return it sooner rather than later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been good

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Playing this with a friend as a rental is probably the best way to go. AI will get in your way,and the camera defaults to the ceiling. You will die a lot getting use to the controls. Press the light attack most of the time. Use the spirit L3, and the extra items are in the opposite direction. Some of the side quests will be fudged because the partner AI will not follow orders. Basic club, sword, bow, hand axe weapon system. When the secondary weapon slot opens up by finding secret places off the beaten path, keep a weapon that carries a charge and use a weapon with high hit points that you like as your primary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by Ace18Ace18 (PLANT CITY, FL) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game sucks and that all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An MMO trying to be more than it is

posted by chocoboRum (GALVESTON, TX) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This is one of those weak games that sort of pad in the space in-between major releases. There are too many good games out there to remotely bother with this one. It feels like a 10 year old game, or a free MMO trying to play Gears of War and God of War at the same time. The controls are clunky and not responsive. The camera is bad. The animations and graphics are very poor, MMO-level or early PS2 poor with extremely generic designs taken from games like WoW. The mechanics are paper thin, generic stuff that other games have but at the most superficial level. It's very dumbed down and handheld. That wouldn't be a problem if it were a story-driven "experience" and less of a game. To bad it ain't. The audio is bad with sound mix issues and forgettable and prattling dialogue. The story is also like a long-winded MMO fetch quest, paper-thin as well and serve only to push you from one level to another. The characters are generic elf A and generic elf B plus generic human warrior C.

This is one of those below average games that try to straddle the line between passing and failing. A D student with no ambition. Don't waste your time. If you just want something where you can move around and hit stuff (getting stuck on the terrain along the way), and this one the only choice and happened to be free, I guess it is doable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bethseda BLOWS it again...

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying the production company Bethseda has 3 huge titles being released in 2011. (BRINK, HUNTED, OBLIVION) As a big fan of the company, I was estatic to see three big titles in the next 6 months. Long story short, Brink was a abomination of a first person shooter (Horrible) in any comparison to the halo series, call of duty, battlefield, etc. it failed miserably. On to the subject at hand, Hunted. How after making one of the best rpg/dungeon crawler series of all time (Oblivion) can you make such a worthless game as Hunted!? Graphics are fair, gameplay feels bulky (cant move around or turn around quickly) Even the way the story unfolded was boring and uneventful. I gave this game about 2 whole hours before i could not take any more boredom. Even the leveling system was weak. If it wasn't from a company who made obivion, maybe it would be a little better. And believe me, I wasn't expecting another oblivion, just a solid dungeon crawler I can play with a friend. Ok Bethseda... O FOR 2, one to go. If you blow Oblivion, Im done with you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 days of being hunted

posted by TheGuyGamer (WAIANAE, HI) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I only had a few problems. 1) a few foes would get stuck every now and again (though it was rare) 2) the shadow would be blocky. 3) the split screen is very small for my 40" screen.
The glitches was probably due to downloading in the background so i didnt consider that a problem with the game.
The shadows being blocky was actually not a big thing because the way the camera shots where and how the game was viewed for the gamer, lead my eyes away.
The 2 player split screen was bad although it does happen to alot of games. It is ok on my 70" tv.
OVERALL i want to go and buy this game for myself to keep. I love the menu and how the magic and abilities where set up. overall it was a smooth game-play from beginning to end, and i enjoyed the story line. Makes me want to play the next

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitchy Mc. Twitch Twitch

posted by Vagus_Deus (WESTPORT, KY) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I couldn't play five minutes into this game. There were so many problems with this game I had to keep reloading the game just so I could get through normal game play. So aggravating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Terrible, But Not Great Either

posted by MoodyPsycho (LA PLATA, MD) Jun 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

First I thought the story was decent, I got into the story while I was playing it, but the controls suck.....hard! Not being able to switch characters on the fly, relying on a stupid AI to revive you when he go wondering off, having the stupid AI dropping the better weapons you just got for a character. This is just some of the thing I can't stand about this game. I give you a 4, because I liked your story (the part of it I heard anyway), but I can't stand playing this anymore. I'm going to see if I can watch the movies for this on youtube, :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The gameplay was not what i expected it to be. The graphics were not as refined as I like. Also there was no way to smooth out the camera span I got sick watching it sorry this is not one to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not to shabby

posted by WesleyPipes (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

When i first put this game in I laughed at the menu cuz of how cheesey it looked but after playing fr a little bit it has kind of grown on me i woulddeff not buy this game but a renting it is a must

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hunted

posted by BLEVYBLEV (COPPERAS COVE, TX) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This wasn't a bad game. Just really wasn't thought out on how the game play should be. You can't really do much other then what your mission is. You can only do so many moves and carry so many different types of items. I had fun playing it. I didn't finish the game because it felt as if I was doing the same stuff over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really Bad

posted by riftgarret (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

E.T Whatever landfill you're in scoot over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Underrated

posted by Dunric (DULUTH, MN) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Not sure why people didn't like this game. I thought it was pretty fun, not overly tedious, and the puzzles were interesting but not overly difficult. Dialogue was pretty well written too, liked how the two characters interacted with the playful joking and such. Definitely worth a play through, I'd say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worthless

posted by Auraenat (GRAND FORKS, ND) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The game controls left me raising my eye brows constantly. Then it froze. I reset it several times and nothing. The disc was fine but nothing. Worthless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its an ok game for a rental and thats it....

posted by DirkWiggle (CLAYTON, GA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

Ok I played thru this game in its entirety and it can be very annoying at times, the graphics arent all the great, at times when parts of the screen blink out and sometimes you are standing over nothing. The sound at times has background buzzing like someones vibrator and sometimes is broken. Now for the AI partner, at times it gets in your way not letting you pass where you want, or just stops and doesnt continue to follow you like its on a smoke break. Oh and it steels the best shields from you also. Now for the main playable character there are times when I was using the female and her bow would not fire and yes there was arrows, the sword would work but not the bow function, restarting the last checkpoint or going to the next rememdy it, but was annoying when you needed for a secret area or something. Anyways thats it. I don't understand how some many of these games seem like they are an unfinished product that get sold, like having a car without the wheels. Thank the Gods for Gamefly rentals.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by GuitarBeast (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Hunted is a fun game combat wise, graphics are ok, but it seems like it could have gone farther with the technology we have. the buffering of cut scenes was slow, the dialogue seemed too cliche'. However the combat was a pro. the story is pretty good too, even if it isnt original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No

posted by snapfishes (ANCHORAGE, AK) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I was excited for a co-op styled game like this for the PS3. With all the near limitless abilities and possibilities of today's gaming industry this fell pretty flat.

Nothing made sense in the realm of a respectable game. I constantly found items I could not pick up.
Weapons in both classes came short when trading in for an 'upgrade'
A lot of the sequences were in my opinion unimaginative.
I am not saying that I am the most veteran of gamers, but I found so much that I had to do unnecessary and then overly simple.

Linear gameplay yes. I did not finish the entire game but that is because the repetitive nature of each level left me feel stale to the idea of finishing it. Crystals, gold and death crystals came to be frivolousness in that nothing could abate the bad gameplay.

How could this been? The enemies could of be hordes of larger tougher batches but then dispatched just as easily as the little bug creatures in the half hour tutorial.

Also dialog was part of the release from any mental self obligation to finish this. I felt I spent a fair amount questioning the banter between the characters. It did not feel alive, it was flat and planned.
Course the biggest part of the dialog issues was the use of certain phrases took me out of the immersion of the game's environment.

'Sniper fire!'

Sure it seems simple, but in a practicality is that what you can a marksmen archer? This is just one example and just things may seem small, but it could of kept me playing. Not looking up and trying to conclude in myself, 'Why am I still playing this.'

In the end there are enough flaws all around for me to call it a day on this game. Even if co-op was added to patch up the game marketability wise let me just say without it on the easiest setting it is ludicrously hard. This is because in single player your NPC counterpart is in a better sense invincible. While you sit on the ground nursing your wounds the NPC will mockingly run in circles never delivering.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hunted

posted by nickmelton78 (IDABEL, OK) Sep 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

a serious waste of time horrible gameplay and storyline was blah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hunted:the demon's forge

posted by killere (VANDALIA, OH) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I think that it lack's the essential graphics for today's standard.I just would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great co-op

posted by blackflag456 (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Aug 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

with all of the single player games these days, its refreshing to have a game u can sit down with a friend and enjoy. as the story goes on, upgrades gets better and better as the game goes on. the final boss was a little easier than i wouldve expected but overall i was satisfied with Bethesdas little experimental game. I would like to see more games like this. its a refreshing twist on FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Start, Bad ...

posted by TheRidg (MARIETTA, GA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Game provided good environments, solid two player and OK single player moments but became repetitive and the ending... well let's just say it was not worth the fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by Gamer1987 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

There is worse games by far. Saw all the bad reviews and almost didn't rent. But I'm glad I did the game is not setting any new record breaking new engine or graphics at all. To be truthful the graphics are not good at all but that's not always what it is about the story is weak but the game is alot of fun just a good hack-slash could have been better but a good renter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse