Rent How to Train Your Dragon for Wii
view large frontback

How to Train Your Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
6.6

616 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly interesting

posted by breath4sou (HOWARD, OH) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My nephews commented that this was a bit like World of Warcraft for kids. You run around collecting ingredients for food in the main town, talking to town folk to figure out your mission. You earn and train dragons in both battles and minigames. Some fights are harder than others which can frustrate younger ones. You must take care of your dragons health and sometimes retrieve them. You unlock customizable items that makes each dragon unique and have a full spectrum pallet to choose from to color the different parts. Over all this game kept my 12 year old nephew very interested for a long time. My 10 year old didn't enjoy how much he had to battle but liked the rest of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, But I Hate Training My Dragons.

posted by PizzaFreak (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, but as the title reads (that is if you CAN read it, JK) training stinks. Doing each session once is OK, but reapeating them 4 times is a ... shouldn't say it in case of kids reading. Bottom line, training stinks, and thats what you have to do to level up your stats. Train. PizzaFreak out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent cross-genre game

posted by Zalfrin (IOWA CITY, IA) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty fun cross-genre game, mixing elements of RPGs and fighting games into one. You get to level up your dragon through mini games and training in fighting and fire. Leveling up allows you to increase your dragons' abilities. In story mode, you can have up to 4 dragons in your stable. Each dragon type has different possible statistics, some excel at fighting while others excel at speed or fire.

My only real complaint is the mini games get monotonous. Finishing them all for one dragon isn't bad, but if you want to max out all four dragons, you'll find yourself getting bored. It would have been nice if the training at least was unique for each dragon, but while the moves are executed differently by each dragon, the training sessions end up being the same.

Story mode seems somewhat short, but due to all the training/mini games, it'll take you some time to complete. I'm at 55% after 7 hours.

This title is definitely worth a rent, perhaps worth a buy if you enjoy fighting games, as there is a versus mode in addition to the story mode. Overall, a pretty well done game, better than many that are on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game not made for little kids though

posted by juggalogmr (HEMET, CA) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rented this game for my 4 year old daughter[loved the movie], whom is particularly good at video games for her age. She had a hard time with this one though, and gave up rather frustrated soon, likely due to the controls and camera angles. I don't think this game was developed for the correct age genre it attracts, because I found it kinda addicting for myself, once I took over for her. There are lots of upgrades for all the different dragons in the movie, and mini-games that help upgrade to. All in All I liked it, but it's not made for little kids as I hoped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

childish but fun

posted by bigwinslow (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

just like every other movie inspired game its repetitive some times boring but fun for the most part. in story mode you customize up to four different dragons with over twenty feature options and three different color trim choices for each dragon. the battles can get difficult and at times needs some strategy to win. The six mini games are all worth playing at least twice until you've mastered it and move on. I finished the game 100% in about twelve hours so i say its worth the day or two rental to customize, battle, and train your dragon.

Player beware use new battery's for your wii controller the mini games and battles can get sensitive or not read the direction your swinging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game too perfectly titled

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It never fails. When they make a hit movie, they just have to make a third rate video game just to get more money from the audience.
How to Train Your Dragon, the Video Game, is part Street Fighter, part Nintendogs, and part basic adventure. In this game, you are given a dragon and have to train it to compete in a tournament.
But you have to keep the dragon healthy and happy by giving it stuff, stuff that you find all over town and the Wild Zone
Once your dragon is sort of powerful, you compete in the tournament and win it. Game over, right.
Not here. A second tournament opens up, but you have to train your dragon even more, get a second dragon and put it through the same repetitive training exercises as the first.
Oh, and you have to gather up twice as many items to keep them healthy and happy.
See where I’m going with this? The game can get tedious very quickly; you’ll be doing the same things over and over and over again. You will have to (eventually) get four dragons, put all four of them through the exact same training exercises, and go out wandering about gathering a vast amount of items for those dragons.
The fighting isn’t that fun either; it’s just a button mashing, Wiimote waving exercise. Breathing fire isn’t recommended because as you are getting a powerful blast, your opponent can either dodge the attack or hit you first (you can’t block and generate the fire blast at the same time.) The universal blocking can turn these fights bland and boring. Adding a second player in arcade mode doesn’t improve this game very much.
Sure, some of the five mini games are interesting, and you can make vast adjustments to your dragon’s appearance with different body parts with a vast array of colors to paint those body parts.
But the core game play will try your patience. How to Train Your Dragon, the Wii version needs some more adventure in it to kick it up a notch. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fiery mayhem

posted by frolfchamp (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

in this blits of claws and fire adventure game you play as hiccup or astrid in tournaments to unlock mayhem filled mini games.plus after every tournament victory that brat snotlout(that is his real name)plays some sinister trick to make you struggle in your efforts to win the thors'day thursday(the defeat of the red death).lastly you get to play as 5 dragons night fury,hideous zippleback,monstrous nightmare,gronckle and the deadly nadder but hey its your choice. but when you beat the game you get a dragon known as the legendary grapple grounder and that all im gonna' say,for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by Starcaster (VALENCIA, CA) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Didn't really have very high hopes for this game, but it is actually pretty good considering that it is based on a movie. My 9 year old nephew was really excited about this game. He found a few of the quests to be a little challenging, but he was able to figure them out fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

how to train your dragon

posted by darknesshine (BAYSIDE, NY) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I hate when i need to collect food, or medicine because too slow!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its not to bad

posted by jacob52 (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It is fun but it is also hard if you like chalinging games rent this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

how to train your dragon the game

posted by apaschal (west palm beach, fl) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

your going in mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Omg

posted by Kirby172772 (TUALATIN, OR) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I own the ds version of this game, and for me it was just awsome. I loved it, eventually you get to pick which dragon you use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not great but really close!

posted by Roy_Hitsugaya (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

While playing through the story things flowed smoothly... but they sorta lacked in needing to lvl or even how. you would think that experience would be gained after every level but no only while trianing or playing minigames... and it wasn't necesary. i beat the game with only a level 11 as my strongest and the oppenents dragons were in the 20's! the customization was cool but some options struck me as odd, plus the got repetative and there wasn't ever much difference between looks past the colour of the dragon. fighting was one on one mortal combat stile or classic arcade and wasn't bad, minigames were ok but there wasn't much difference between the dificulties. after the short story was done and all arcade dragons unlock story fightin almost halted if not for the training area and afterwards your only goal was to max your dragon and collect all the recipies for them. it got boring and was needlessly time consuming. its a great play asstounding visuals fun combat and minigames and great to play against friends but after a while it's overly repetative and drags on... Definatly a rent but not quite a buy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alot like Mortal Combat

posted by Eichstaedt (KENOSHA, WI) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

It's a good game if you're looking for a different type of fighting game. It has decent grafics and easy controlls. It just didn't have a wide range of substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DIDN'T GET TO PLAY

posted by larryd14 (NEWTON, MS) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

my son was excited about getting this game, but when he was about to play it it did not work and it almost messed up our wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not What I Expected

posted by rlazo914 (MURRIETA, CA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The flow of this game is bad. I really expected better. I'll be mailing it back tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »