Rent How to Train Your Dragon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

How to Train Your Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS3
GF Rating
5.7

894 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

How to Train...Something

posted by MHMason (RAPID CITY, SD) Apr 3, 2010

Member since May 2006

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I wish I could give game recommendations based on good ideas.

The concept of How to Train Your Dragon is a solid one: coddle and teach a fire-belching lizard in the hopes of turning it into a powerhouse for what are basically Nordic chicken fights. It's a lot like Pokemon -- minus the satisfying sense of accomplishment or character development that's kept it going so strong for over a decade.

I won't pretend to know what the plot of Dragon is so I can give you a synopsis, but my son seems to think it's safe to assume that the game takes place after the film. There is no coming of age story that thinly veils a theme of racial equality here; just straight up grinding in order to get your mount in tip-top shape for local schoolyard tournaments that put your recess dodgeball games to shame.

You go about "training" in a couple of ways. The first is by maintaining five status bars that have no bearing on anything other than your health. Your dragon raises his rest by, um, resting; everything else is a hunt and gather throughout the village for the various things that arbitrarily raise the rest of your stats. Once adventuring makes way for hoarding, the game got very boring. You can also go through a regime of what basically amounts to tutorials in order to earn the right to add combos and other special attacks to your move set to use during the tournaments.

When you finally sign up to prove your worth, you're introduced to what I'd like to call Soulcalibur...made by first year design students. There's a semblance of 3D dodging, parries, blocks and attacks; but none of it works well at all. It breaks the first rule of fighting games by not having a gratifying connection when you make hits. It all looks and feels like a bunch of flailing, which isn't helped by the egregious amount of clipping going on. Whether I approached it as a button-masher or as a strategic fighting savant, I had a hard time of it -- enough to turn me off permanently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i loved the game but...

posted by sonic12345 (CLIFTON, NJ) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i really wish the story, or even the game was longer. as soon i beat it 100% i felt like i didn't do anything for it. i would recommend this game, but only maybe for some cheap gamerscore or trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the worst game...

posted by Syaoran2 (RENSSELAER, NY) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

How to Train Your Dragon (the game) is pretty much all you can expect out of a game based on a movie in that it is #1 Very simple and the levels are linear. #2 The graphics are decent, but could be a lot better. Last but not least, #3 The story is sub-par.

Overall, I'd say it's a decent game to play if you're eithe really bored, or a very young kid (Probably between 5-10).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How to train your dragon

posted by AncientOne (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Initially very interesting to play due to all the customization options available for all your dragons. But the training, and challenges are very repetitive because you have to do them for all the dragons you unlock to level them up to tourney fighting status. Thus the game begins to get boring real fast.

To sum it all up, this game could have been a gem if production hadn't been rushed like most games are today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No more movie games

posted by InsaneWrld (OVERLAND PARK, KS) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Who else thinks that when an new Movie comes out, there shoudnt be an accompaning game?

They are rushed and are not very good at all.
If someone could tell me an actuall good movie game. Ill be satisfied.
These are the ones that suck

How to Train your ho
Iron Rod 2
Pocahontas (Sorry, Avatar)
Cars
Toy Story 3 (You know there will be one)
I'm going to stop before I start to ramble

Click yes if you agree.
Oh and don't get this game its rtardid (I cant put the correct spelling, i mean the opposite of rapid which is fast, rtardid by the way means slow and dumb, not mentally challenged people).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

graphics ahoy, arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr mw matey

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 49 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

even worse graphics than the ps3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So So

posted by DarkFeya (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The graphics where ok but the over all plot was lacking. My 8 year old was bored after 30 minutes of playing this. And did not pick it up after the first night. It felt repetitive with no real challenge or surprises. If the game designers would have put more effort into this game it could have been something. But I would only play this again if I was bored. And I would say the age for this game would be 5-10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dragon fail

posted by silver12 (PLANTATION, FL) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

its an ok game game even my kid didient like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great storyline

posted by LibelousWheat (GREER, SC) Aug 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I enjoyed this game, I rented it for my 7 year old, he liked the graphic story better than the game, such maybe the case with younger players, graphics were appropriate for his age and maturity level. I would recommend it for newer/younger players, he is a little ahead of the game so was quickly bored with the game itself.

all in all its a nice beginner game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow

posted by jalenjordan (ROLESVILLE, NC) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This was stupiud beacause u could nt fly and the loading took to long an when you are in battle it looks like a Ds screen. I didnt like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game is bad

posted by ZikNik (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game starts out cool and fun but also from the bat the load screens were just annoying and long and also you have to level each dragon 3 times between fights just to be at the level of other dragons added onto that is the fact that each training session only gives you 200 exp and you need 1000 for level 2 plus 1000 for any additional levels such as lvl 2 1000 lvl 3 2000 lvl 4 3000 and so on im not saying dont try it if you think youll like it by all means try it (its not like your paying for it lol)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nothing like I expected

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

The reason I got this is because I was looking for a quick 1000 and I had just seen the movie about a weak earlier and I enjoyed it. I expected this to be one of the better kids games for me since the story on the movie was really good. But the game is nothing at all whatsoever like the movie. The whole story line in general is different. Also you will spend more time training your dragons than anywhere which I found awfully boring. I'd stay clear of this game unless you are renting for someone under the age of about 10 or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How to Train Your Dragon

posted by pr3dator (HALLSVILLE, TX) Feb 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This Game Should Be Could How to Bor Your Kids Because This Game DOES NOT Live Up 2 Its Name.When I 1st Saw This My Jaw Dropped With Joy BUT When I Played This I Was Confused Of A FEW Thing The Story line and The Characters So I Hope U Let This Game B BANISED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Almost nothing to do with the film.

posted by Douglas (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

I picked up the game because my family had enjoyed the movie.

The game has virtually nothing to do with the film. It's as if the developers had been given nothing but the title and art assets and were told to go make a game... which was probably the case.

On top of that, the game just isn't very good. There are two core gameplay mechanics: dragon versus dragon duels, and minigames. There's really not much variety in either. The only way to get XP for your dragons is to participate in the duel training and the minigames, and to maximize your XP you need to repeat each training mission four times... for each of your four dragons. Likewise, you need to repeat the minigames on each of your four dragons. It gets extremely repetitive.

There isn't even any flight, outside of a single minigame. You don't get to interact with your dragons in any real way, except during the duels (training or tournament) and minigames.

Terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not really alot to do....

posted by Squeakyb12 (LEXINGTON, SC) Jan 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game was not that challenging to play. All you did was fight dragons it was too easy to play.Didnt take much to learn fights. We got bored within 30 minutes of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How to train your Dragon 7 year old girl loves it

posted by jwtbeast (MARTINSVILLE, IN) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

My 7 year old daughter is in love with this game, I don't think a real gamer will enjoy this but for a little girl who can dress up the dragons with different skin and horns its great, If the demographic was under 10 girls this is the game, for older kids and probably boys, forget it the game play is repetitive and lacking real user input.

I rated this a 10 because my girl plays it during her play time and only this, she loves the game,

If I rated it for a 12-16 year old boy I would give it a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

This game was fun the movie was funny.
Defenetly a rental but if you have kids maybe a buy.
Recomend rental unless you have kids.
Thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dragons (wish they were real)

posted by meep8980 (CLEBURNE, TX) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I thought this be mostly like the movie,but its not its about tornements,(sigh).You get a dragon right off the bat (thankfully you get up to 4 dragons).You can change the coulor of it change the appearence it really cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not challanging but fun!

posted by erieartist (RENO, NV) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is an easy feel good game. It is the video game's version of chiken soup for the soul! easy , looks cool, and you get to play around with highly customizable dragons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Monster Rancher, but with modern theme

posted by LuceCannon (TEMPLE, GA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

My kids really enjoyed the How to Train Your Dragon movie, so I rented this expecting a platforming game based on the movie. What we got was a modern Monster Rancher style game. I never sat and played it, but my eight-year-old son loved it.
It can be tedious, as Monster Rancher was, due to the micro-management nature of it, but it's a cute concept. It's possible that I'll buy it in the future when the price comes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing to really say

posted by PunkGamer7 (EVERETT, WA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

It's a fun game, though some of the fights are very difficult. You DO in fact get to create your own dragon from a model of the 6. You can change its color, wings, markings, etc. The game doesn't give much for you though. There are a good amount of questing, battles, and a few mini games, but after a while you may become bored, like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How to Train Your Dragon

posted by Billamus (CANTONMENT, FL) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

For a movie game this one was surprisingly entertaining. It had some exploration, street fighter, and RPG elements that will keep you interested. It is easy on achievements and not too bad on time. To complete the game entirely and gain all of the achievements will take around 22-25 hours. Just to beat the game will take about 15-19 for the average gamer. All in all it was a good game and worth a rental at the very least. My 7 year old daughter played this game on her own and beat it, so the skill level is not too high. Definitely a good rental and I would recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »