Rent How to Train Your Dragon for PS3
view large frontback

How to Train Your Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
5.9

816 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by TWIT4LIFE (SANTA MARIA, CA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the most part I play these pixar/dreamworks games for the trophies and I don't expect much from them. Most of the time, even if I enjoyed the movie, the game just disappoints. I'm happy to say that How to Train My Dragon was a fun exception to the rule.

The world feels real and as full as it was when I first encountered it in the movie. The graphics over all are very good, both in battle and when your running around.

The variety in the dragons is also well organized. Each type of dragon has its own specialty (speed, strength, fire, power, or endurance) and you also are able to change the look of your dragon drastically, to completely make it your own.

The game is made up of three basic areas. There is the town, where all the tournaments and main story quests begin, the training area where you train your dragon and earn exp in order to be a competitive champion, and lastly there is the wilds where you can complete dragon challenges and also fight in wild fights to earn legendary dragons.

The challenges are fun and also pretty challenging, but not to the point where you don't even want to do them. The only thing about the game that I didn't like was the training, which was very tedious and repetitive, especially because you would have to start from the beginning of he training with every new dragon. It was the most time consuming part of the game and not fun at all.

Overall, I strongly recommend this game as a fun and easy game, for when your getting tired of playing those frustratingly impossible games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How To Train Your Dragon

posted by theBFcL (RIVERTON, UT) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The overall game was fair. My 6 year old and I enjoyed it, the game takes place after the movie so hopefully you seen the movie before renting. If not. Doesn't matter it doesn't follow ANY of the movie story plot/line. Shame. Was fun and easy for my 6 year old to play we both enjoyed it. Graphics 6, Gameplay 5, Storyline 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

How To Train Your Dragon

posted by Deerwalker (SUNNYVALE, CA) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, the characters are the same, the voices are the same (or at least real close) so all in all I liked it. Simple to play, cute fun game. It can get a little boring though. Back and forth, collect plants and food, train your dragon, collect, train, collect, train. I know, that's the name but I was hoping for a bit more action and a little less running. If you liked the movie then you'll prolly like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not to bad

posted by coolfool21 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I saw the movie had to try the game I'd made a few tweaks but all in all not to bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad game, but I enjoyed it

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only bright side (besides the fact that I enjoy bad kiddie action/adventure games: it's one of my guilty pleasures) in this game is that it looks pretty good. I could imagine an animated movie looking like this game did. Since this is a Dreamworks game, maybe there was a movie behind it, but if there was, this game doesn't make me want to watch it.....

So, this game is all about using your dragons to fight other dragons in an arena. No flying in this arena. The fighting gets VERY repetitive. When you're not fighting, you're "training," which is fighting against a realtively non-aggressive dragon, so you can get new moves/combos. Since this is supposed to train your dragons, and not you, you need to do the same training again and again with each dragon.

Is there a story? If you call a 30-40 second cut scene where some village kid creates mischief, and then you returning the stolen item so the next tournament can continue a story, well you'll be happy with the story.

Difficulty in the game is a joke, but this is a game made for kids. They might have problems until they get to know the ins and outs of their dragons.

But, I did enjoy playing this game, that is until it was time to get the trophy in the game that requires you to play for 20 hours. That was the hardest one to get, since it meant I had to leave my PS3 on, without me playing it, for about 5 hours. I might have made it in a single save file, but the second playthrough (with the second choosable character) uses a different timer than the first. Since I got most of the trophies with the first playthrough, that file had 15 hours on it, whereas the second had about 4. In that 19 hours, the only things I didn't see were the ending credits that I quit, and cut scenes on the second play (since I also quit them).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How to Train your Dragon

posted by DAFDAF (SPARTA, MI) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game for a grand total of two hours. The best part of the game is the limited dragon customization. The game is extremely repetitive. I would be impressed if a child was kept interested by this game let alone had the patients to play it. My advice, don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Train your dragon to not be bored.

posted by sjbellos (NORRISTOWN, PA) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good for about 3 hours, then you will have exhausted all the material in the game. When you get your second dragon, the repititon starts getting to you, but by the third, you will have had it. Graphics are nice, but the game definitely lacks purpose. I would recommend for ages 4-7 years old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

simply

posted by coleyoley (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very repetative and slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

your own dragon

posted by balto1992 (TOLEDO, OH) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game u can create or make you own dragon type of dragon body parts eyes wings and more when i saw hiccup is going to kill toothless i realy feel sorry for toothless if i got a dragon i give it a fish and let it go and i will named it brave heart because he is so brave and a good heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ALSOME

posted by jetfire333 (DELAND, FL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

HOW TO TRAIN A DRAGON IS A FUN GAME BUT I BEAT THE GAME IN TWO DAYS ANTHE GAME IS REALLY GOOD I RECOMMOND IT ALL PEOPLE WHO PLAY DRAGON GAMES AND WHO LOVE TO PLAY DISNEY GAMES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wwe fan seanmoore

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jul 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

i want this Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disk was very damaged did not work

posted by LoneWolf44 (DALLAS, GA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

this is the 3rd unplayable game ive gotten from gamefly in 6 months

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wana see gameplay of it?BETTER?

posted by codplaya (POCATELLO, ID) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

type kool2250on utube i have a gamyplay of playing this game so ya its pretty fun but it doesnt really have a stroy so ya bye bye!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Weak battle system/good graphics/gameplay

posted by Goalminer (BROOKLINE, MA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The main gist of this game is explained in the title of the game, but it's how you get there that is kind of goofy. After you pick whether you want to be a little boy or girl, you then start the game on an island, where you talk to the folks, gather chickens, sheep, carrots, etc to feed your dragon.

Training your dragon to level up is done in a little cave, and it's step by step combo trainings against a AI that rarely fights back. More get unlocked as you win more tournaments. You also get alot of experience for playing the mini-games, such as ice sculpting, memory torch, etc. They are all relatively easy, and with practice should have no problem acing them. The mini games actually give you more experience in the end that the dragon training, which is kind of weird.

The meat and potatoes, the fights, are clunky. The battle system is a very weak one, and it's difficult to move around with ease. With that being said, once you have it down pat, and figured out, you should be able to ace these fights with ease. A combo of hard knocks and fire, rinse and repeat, and you have a win in the bank.

Another key to the game is the customization of the dragons, where when you level them up, you unlock more features to add to their appearance, and color palate. Kids would have a blast "creating" their own dragon.

And that's pretty much the game.

For graphics, I'd give this game a 7.
For gameplay, I'd give it a 6
For the battle system, I'd give it a 3

I'd recommend it for kids that enjoyed the movie, and for the general gameplay that involves the harvesting to heal the dragon. Should keep them involved for awhile.

Enjoy!

Goalminer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How to Train your Dragon

posted by bulletman7 (VINTON, LA) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

It was fun at first but it got boring doing the same thing over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Monotanous, good graphics

posted by Entropy0 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Well the game has plenty of possibility, but it's a grind fest instead. The world is quite small overall and the combat styles are very similar with all creature types. Training the dragon is just grinding through the same events over and over. Basically this game probably would be great for it's target audience, but for some crazy reason I rented the game and for me it was a mindless waste of time. I'm 32, so don't take my game rating as something that should apply to your 10 year old, but as an adult, pass this one by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

couldnt be more basic

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

The title is exactly what this game is... constantly training your 4 dragons to battle in 5 different tournaments. Easy enough for kids and trophy hunters, repetitive and boring enough to make you wish you didnt bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quite Possibly the Worst...

posted by senollen (CORALVILLE, IA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

...game I have ever played in my life. I can't think of any game I have played that is worse in just about every aspect.

Specifics:

Audio (1/10): Repetative, the same songs and WOW the same dialogue from every character every time you ever talk to them.

Visual(2/10): The graphics look like a good Ps2 game. Not a huge factor in game enjoyment, but can lose a players attention after a while.

Gameplay(1/10): There are 2 areas to go to. The Village, and the little wild area outside the village. Thats it. The rest is challenges (5 challenges, 3 difficulties for each) and training (about 12 different training sessions, all of which you must complete 4 times by doing the same thing). This is the most redundant thing I've ever done.

Replay Value(0): Literally. None.

I got this to earn the trophies. They were easy, but that has nothing to do with how good the game is.

--If you're getting it for trophies, be prepared to be the most bored you've ever been in your life, except for that time when you were 10 and you had to sit and listen to your grandparents visit with everyone at a family gathering for 8 hours straight about how life used to be during the Depression.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dragons

posted by CPTRileyga (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) May 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Fun game,I love dragons.And I collect them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »