Rent House of the Dead: Overkill for Wii
view large frontback

House of the Dead: Overkill

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

3414 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really A Lot of Fun

posted by Attilla (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a Zelda gamer. I like my games relatively simple and fun, and this game truly delivered. If you're looking for a way to enjoyably kill an hour or three, just sit down and blast away zombies. What's not to like?
I don't get all the negative reaction to the language. It was often funny, and certainly never offensive. Maybe I'm just more used to "foul language" than others. If I have any complaints they'd be that there's too much unnecessary dialogue and that you get through the game too quickly.
But overall, I truly enjoyed this game, which, I should note, I played with the Nyko Perfect Shot, which made it that much more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by mfranch87 (CUMMING, GA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting much from this game, but wound up being pleasantly surprised. The storyline & cut scenes were almost just as entertaining as the actual game play. While it was somewhat cheesy acting and voiceovers, it was still funny to watch at times. Keep in mind, it has EXTREMELY explicit language and/or song lyrics so this one is definitely not for the kiddies (especially since its on the Wii).

Gameplay was fun, but I pretty much beat the whole game in about 5 days. The key to having more fun with it is going back (after completing it) and earning more money in order to obtain & upgrade bigger and badder weapons. That is where some of the fun comes in later on & REALLY begins.

Overall, I'm glad I rented this one over actually buying it. A great rental title & definitely worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the First Great Wii Games of 2009

posted by Stabby (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Make sure you keep the kids away from this one, definitely for mature audiences only.

I'm not a big fan of House of the Dead games (or any light gun style game for that matter), but this one is amazing. The gameplay is thoroughly satisfying as you dismember mutant zombies in a cool stylistic "Grindhouse" setting. If you love B-movie horror shlock get this game immediately, you won't be disappointed.

There's lots of extras and challenges to keep you coming back as well, with plenty of new guns to buy and upgrade. The production values are top notch, great to see this sort of effort on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HOTD Overkill is fun but flawed

posted by GregBards (CULVER CITY, CA) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

House of the Dead Overkill is a hard game to love or hate. While it is no doubt a quality arcade shooter, there are a few setbacks that hold it from being as good as it can be.

The Pros: The gameplay and controls are tiptop. The graphics are not mind-blowing but for Wii, they should be considering above average. The levels are all similar but different enough to stay fresh as the game progresses. The weapon selection is excellent and the ability to purchase new weapons and weapon upgrades is a huge plus. The game's stat tracking is thorough and the hidden items in each level gives Overkill a lot of replay value.

The cons: For starters, the game is simply too easy. Even with just one player, there is not a single time from the opening credits to the final boss that I ever felt even remotely challenged. Even after you complete the main story mode and unlock the "director's cut", the game never reaches a level of proper difficulty. Also, for me, the inability to to skip through the background stories and in-game videos hinders gameplay. Overkill put a lot of time into trying to make the game feel like a B-movie but, quite frankly, it still feels like a lame video game story. Even if it wasn't, there's no excuse to force players to sit through back story.

The verdict: Despite being painfully easy and having an array of annoying quirks, Overkill is a good arcade shooter. It does not reinvent the genre by any means, but the gameplay is solid and the levels are fun enough to keep you coming back. This game is not worth a purchase but well worth a rental. If you're a fan of the genre, House of the Dead Overkill won't surprise you, but if you can look past its glaring flaws, you might just find yourself having a good time. At the very least, I can say that this is the most fun of all the House of the Dead games thus far for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great date game

posted by TREYTX (HOUSTON, TX) May 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I look for games on the Wii I can play with GF and are very simple as she cant play anything but this type of game. The game is fun and is only for adults there is nudity and lots and lots and lots of F bombs. But the story is funny and cool and its a great time you can finish it in a sitting but you will have to replay to get extra wepons.

Now this is not a hardcore gamer game at all, but if you bought a Wii are you really a hardcore gamer? If you are looking for a date game or if you got a Wii and want something more adult then this will work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great BOSS-battles from HOTD 2 & 3 missing

posted by dreview (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My favorite part of the HOTD games have been the very intense and creative boss battles. I liked the feeling of being on the edge of my seat with trigger ready whenever I had to face off against a boss. In this latest HOTD, the boss battles are ridiculously easy, monotonous, and uneventful. There's no tension, no sense that you might die, no real sense that anything eventful is going on. The rest of HOTD Overkill is great. Cool weapons, cool zombies. I wish the whole thing was harder, though, and more creative. In HOTD 3, zombies would come from the ceiling, from ducts, try to grab you from the side, acrobatic zombies would jupm off walls. HOTD Overkill is mostly zombies walking/running up to you on land by foot; just a lot of them, over and over. The way they explode when you shoot them is gratifying, but I miss the variety, creativity, and intensity of HOTD 2 & 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for those with fragile sensibilities.

posted by Precisi (MARQUETTE, MI) Apr 23, 2009

Member since May 2007

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

As a whole, I found this game to be quite enjoyable. I had read other reviews warning about the bad plot and vulgarity and I felt duly prepared to just enjoy the zombie shooter aspect of the game and ignore the story.

For the most part, that's what I did and a friend and I had a blast. It was a perfect shooter to put in for an evening with a buddy. The levels were different and fun, and the gameplay was everything I remembered from the arcade House of the Dead games. PLUS, you could buy/upgrade weapons, nice extra bonus there. The only complaint I have is that the calibration tool for your aim was horrible! Stay away from this! I screwed up the calibration on my controller and couldn't figure out a way to fix it. But anyway, lots of fun, interesting level design (for HotD), the music wasn't too bad either.

The story.. oh.. my. I thought I was prepared, and for the first half of the game I was! All the F-bombs and gore were acceptable pre-informed hazards. My friend and I were mocking the story and having a lot of fun not taking it seriously. Then.. then we got to the last level and subsequent boss fight. I'm just not how to put this into words. I could relate the level of vulgarity to episodes of South Park or Team America World Police, except take out any planned humor and just leave in the raunchy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Let's Think About This Realisticly.

posted by Hurley2293 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Overall, I have to say HOTD:Overkill was infact a good game. The game play was very simple and easy to just jump into right away. The game was a little bit short, and a few more levels would of been nice but there is a directors cut mode which is in all ways the same game just the levels are a bit longer, which can only keep you entertained for so long.

Now for the serious problem that a lot of players are having with this game. The volgarity. I'll admit it, there is a lot of f-bombs being dropped all over the place. But come on, lets's think about this in a real life situation. If you are just walking around with a shotgun strapped to your side and all of a sudden a horde of "mutants" showed up, are you seriously going to stop and sensor yourself? No.

So come on guys, lets give this game a little bit of a break and stop complaining about a few f-bombs every now and then. I am willing to bet anybody put in that situation would be cussing up a storm.

I highly recommend this game for any Wii fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A big change to an old series

posted by whop360 (FREEVILLE, NY) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

By starting off this is a great zombie shoot um up game with funny diologe and ok graphics. Its played out like an old cheesy horror movie,and with ALOT of F-bombs. The only thing i didnt like was that sometimes zombies would crowd eachother and would be almost impossible to shoot,and the game will lagg every once in a while.Also the game can sometimes get very dark, making it hard to see what you are shooting at. Over all this is a great re cap of the series and i hope it only gets better. A solid 9.5 out of 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but over too quickly

posted by pgalloway (VISALIA, CA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

By all accounts, Overkill is an excellent addition to the House of the Dead franchise. It's fun, funny, and certainly a great multiplayer experience. Unfortunately, the game itself is way too short (about three hours). There are a good number of things to unlock, but most of this is concept art and the like. The harder difficulty can be unlocked, but even it isn't very challenging. The game is certainly worth a rental, but I can't recommend anything beyond that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Grindhouse Fun

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game nails its goal of giving you that retro '70s low budget, cheesy writing horror flick feel. Pretty competent as a light-gun game with plenty of unlockables. The game came across as a little too easy - even on harder mode though. The graphics left a lot wanting though. Yes - it's supposed to look dark and low-res like a film, but there just wasn't much to look at making HOD 2 and 3 look better in comparison. Also, the environments are very "static" with almost no interactability. Modern light gun games show damage to the environment as you shoot it up. Here the most you can hope for is MAYBE a broken window.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game too dark and grainy

posted by flex317 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

By far the most profanity i seen in a game. Defiantly not for young ones.The reloading is a bit laggy, and the Zombies, were all but too simular. The old Sega arcade ports were much better, and ran much faster! Cool game, but not really a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great for two

posted by migs888 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There's not much to this one, but its still fun. You can improve your weapons, you can't control the motions of your character. It's very arcade like..... not one to own, but a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but gratuitous.

posted by Rychris (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, let me say - I did enjoy playing this game...when it lets you play. The story line is useless and drags on and on for what seems like an eternity. Not only that, but the gratuitous use of foul language is annoying after a while. I have no issues with cursing in general, but hearing the f-word every other word for no other reason than just saying it is obnoxious, in my opinion.

Outside of these things, the graphics are cool and the game play is fun - even a little creepy at times. I will say that the WII controls can be a little tough to grasp at first, as I think it probably works best with the gun add on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awful game.

posted by smokeyhaze (CARROLLTON, GA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth renting if you are over the age of 13, and/or you don't want to see glitchy gameplay and hear "reload" about ten thousand times in the game (even worse on two player) Me and my fiance started this game with low expectations, and we played it for around twenty minutes before it froze my brand new Wii, so i removed the vile thing and put it back into its package and back into the mailbox. good riddance bad game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

When perfect gameplay fails to save a game...

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

House of the Dead: Overkill wasn't handled by the usual Japanese developers, the project was handed to a western dev. Not only did they get down the game play, they did it better than Sega EVER has!
Not even the game's wonderfully polished graphics, and killer music helps.

None of that will save this game from itself. The game features swearing, a LOT of swearing. The character Isaac Washington, says "MOTHER F###A!" more times in 30 minutes than Samuel L Jackson does in his last four movies. After a while it stops being funny, and becomes annoying.

There are plot elements that are truly DISGUSTING, especially towards, and during the game's later stages. When I say disgusting, I'm not talking about gore...lets just leave it at that.

Those two things knock a game that was a potential 10, down to a 7.

Rent it, if you can stand the nasty plot content, than buy it. Otherwise just put it back into the Gamefly envelope, and into the mailbox. That's what I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

House of the Dead:Overkill, how it killed itself

posted by Tarrakas (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A great game play concept, intense first person shooting, and a story the will make you gouge out your own eyes. I loved the game play, but the ever agonizing story that cannot be skipped, followed by extremely chaotic writing, and that's not to mention about a total game play time of around four hours to completion; has earned this game a mere three. I rented this game and returned it the next day, meaning that my fifteen dollars per month have left me with nothing for a week. The agonizing dialog, followed by the second characters lack of any real dialect, leave the story of this game lacking anything material, and leaving you aggravated that you simply cannot skip past it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, bad language

posted by gameman853 (KAYSVILLE, UT) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

"How many times do I have to tell you, don't say the "Z" word!!" From the first sentence out of agent Washington's mouth, the F-word liters this otherwise great game. I'm not too easily offended but the first level alone has nearly 30 instances of the word. And the first line of agent Washington in the Papa's House of Pain level is, "Did I sleep with that (female dog synonym)?"
This is just a forewarning to anyone that can and will be offended at this game, definitely not for young children. That aside, the minigames are great four player action, and the shooting is what you would expect in this game. There is a storyline, but it's not that good. If they had cleaned up the language (because you can practically shovel it it's so deep) this would be an all around great shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it

posted by ZeReevuer (CHARLESTON, WV) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!! and its freaking HILARIOUS!!!! but i think its a little too short maybe a few more missions and I'd give it 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by LpsLost (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I love this game, i got it the day it came out, i should have got it from gamefly, but i like getting it asap, i love this game, fun lvs, fun 2 plays, guns! its the best house of the dead yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by BAGMAN (MEXIA, TX) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I DO A LOT OF GAMING, 360,PS3,DS,PSP,AND WII. OK THIS GAME SAYS THE "F" WORD 7 TIMES BEFORE YOU EVEN GET TO PLAY IT. CURSING ADDS NOTHING TO A GAME IT TAKES AWAY FROM IT. GRAPHICS ARE BAD. POINT SHOOT RELOAD, POINT SHOOT RELOAD. VERRY DISAPOINTED IN THIS TITLE. I SENT IT BACK THE SAME DAY I GOT IT. POOR ACTING JUST TERRIBLE. A WASTE OF A BLANK CD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't know why it's rated so high

posted by ACSmitty79 (DREXEL HILL, PA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game purely sucks. I dont particularly care for difficult games, but even this one is too easy for me. I think they were going for the Pulp Fiction/Quintin Tarantino thing and it missed. This game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

($&% (#$% %$$#$

posted by HillBilly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is the only game that froze up my Wii. Even after reading the parental rating on this game it has way to much foul language, more then a Rap song gone bad. Every 3rd word in this game is F%c(. So if you don't like foul language or potty mouths I don't recommend that you rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

House of the ugly Graphics

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I am sorry folks but this is one ugly Game. Graphics are like ps1 games are worse. At times the game is so dark you cant even see what the heck is going on. Voice Acting is awful. Then all the Bad words make this over kill on the bad words every 5 minns. Worse game for me 2009 good luck Gamer"s with this one the Wii Fanboys will score it 9.5. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just...."sigh"

posted by ReAcTiioNz (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 11, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 33 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

"Ok"........Simply the worst game ever made... "uh"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse