Rent House of the Dead: Overkill for Wii
view large frontback

House of the Dead: Overkill

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

3416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

overkill

posted by deedeefoxx (VILLA RICA, GA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

we got the game and actually could not play it at all the game did not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

language

posted by ryuuko (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The game itself is good. The actions in it, the point accumulations, saving innocent people. I liked all of that. But what I didn't like was all of the language that was in the game. I expected there to be quite a few words in the game, hence the label says "strong language". But it was actually "pervasive language". Practically every other word out of one of the characters was the F-word. That's too much. After playing for about a half hour I had to stop playing due to that fact.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

($&% (#$% %$$#$

posted by HillBilly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is the only game that froze up my Wii. Even after reading the parental rating on this game it has way to much foul language, more then a Rap song gone bad. Every 3rd word in this game is F%c(. So if you don't like foul language or potty mouths I don't recommend that you rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't know why it's rated so high

posted by ACSmitty79 (DREXEL HILL, PA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game purely sucks. I dont particularly care for difficult games, but even this one is too easy for me. I think they were going for the Pulp Fiction/Quintin Tarantino thing and it missed. This game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by BAGMAN (MEXIA, TX) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I DO A LOT OF GAMING, 360,PS3,DS,PSP,AND WII. OK THIS GAME SAYS THE "F" WORD 7 TIMES BEFORE YOU EVEN GET TO PLAY IT. CURSING ADDS NOTHING TO A GAME IT TAKES AWAY FROM IT. GRAPHICS ARE BAD. POINT SHOOT RELOAD, POINT SHOOT RELOAD. VERRY DISAPOINTED IN THIS TITLE. I SENT IT BACK THE SAME DAY I GOT IT. POOR ACTING JUST TERRIBLE. A WASTE OF A BLANK CD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just...."sigh"

posted by ReAcTiioNz (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 11, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 33 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

"Ok"........Simply the worst game ever made... "uh"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

gore fest

posted by owns6196 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is good for a couple days but you have no way to dodge or duck after a day or two it gets easy to beat and the boss fights I would lable as why bother, my 73 year old mother could beat this game and she doesn't like video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing...

posted by DrCupCake (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Thought it would be a better rail shooting game. Looks like they tried to steal some ideas from the movie Planet Terror. Which was nothing compared to it. Graphics suck. The dialogue is idiotic. Real waste of my time. So glad I didn't buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Arcade refrence

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

This game is just not really worth playing. This game just makes you remember thoe's really worthless first person shooting game u played at the arcade when u were a kid. Oh wait. This game also has a story line to. But it wasn't interesting to me at all. The game only had one hot chick. And no, you don't getta see her naked or even strip. The enemies on this game comes at you like flies to trash or whatever. AVERYWHERE you turn there are zomibes, zombies, ZOMBIES. But wait. they call them mutants. Anyways, the only GOOD thing about this worthless game, is unlimited ammo. The graphics are bad as like well, the 3D shoot em up games at the arcade. And to make it annoying to, kinda, is your in a very old xxx movie. BUT THERE'S NOT NUDITY , NO KINKY SCENE, nothing. Oh but wait to. U team up with this mad, angry black guy that constently drops the F bomb. Unless u love thoes old 3D first person shooting games like u see at the arcade,I would say do not rent or buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

abnormal amount of profanity

posted by kenni4two (METAIRIE, LA) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The game is filled with profanity from beginning to end...and is not recommended for play around kids or adults turned off by it. The viewing angles are done poorly and brightness, contrasts, etc...of game gets boring fast. Some swearing would be okay....but not every 2 sec, it loses its purpose....I'm sorry I just rate this game poorly, compared to other titles...that I found interesting...like ghost squad...and other sega light gun games...I would recommend..but not this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Barf. Skip it.

posted by deecaz (LOS GATOS, CA) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Ok, so I'm all for free speech and pushing the bounds of what's appropriate. Unfortunately, this one crossed the line on so many perverse levels. The humor is at best demented and the storyline is conspicuously absent. (Perhaps because the dialogue distracts by employing periodic interjections of, "f!") However, if you're feeling nostalgic for the days of 90's arcade shooters, I can maybe guarantee two hours of solid gameplay. The saving grace might be that you don't need to fuel it with quarters each time you die.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

House of the Brain Dead

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

How in the world did this game get decent reviews? I know it's a lightgun shooter and I'm sure for that this game stayed true to the original arcade. Aside from that though, the graphics stunk as well as the gameplay. I almost had no control in targeting special abilities such as slow down and health packs since the screen moved so darn fast. Oh, and what's with all the F Bombs. I mean, it's like developers use this word in games now as if the word was just introduced to the english languange. I am soooo sick of games like this!! House of the Dead: Overkill stinks like a dead corpse! Avoid!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Almost perfect...but not quite

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Apr 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

I loved almost every aspect of this game. The game play is fun, the graphics are great considering it's on the Wii, the guns are awesome, and its got great replay value with unlockables and the ability to add more zombies to each mission to change it up and make it more of a challenge.

The downsides are few, but enough to make me return the game after a few days. First the bosses are so easy that there is no way you can lose which is unfortunate as they didn't have to be. Second is the "plot" and cut scenes. I realize they were trying to be funny with this, but it comes off stupid and annoying. I'm 31 years old and I was offended by 90% of the pointless dialogue. And sadly they did not let you skip these scenes so I was forced to turn the sound off and wait for them to finish.

If the story was better and less offensive I would've given it a 9 or 10, I would have kept it, and recommended it to everyone I met. Maybe the next title they will smarten up...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

House of the Dead:Overkill, how it killed itself

posted by Tarrakas (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

A great game play concept, intense first person shooting, and a story the will make you gouge out your own eyes. I loved the game play, but the ever agonizing story that cannot be skipped, followed by extremely chaotic writing, and that's not to mention about a total game play time of around four hours to completion; has earned this game a mere three. I rented this game and returned it the next day, meaning that my fifteen dollars per month have left me with nothing for a week. The agonizing dialog, followed by the second characters lack of any real dialect, leave the story of this game lacking anything material, and leaving you aggravated that you simply cannot skip past it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Not That Great

posted by NatMac5 (POPLAR BLUFF, MO) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

While the overall game play was good I couldn't get past the cursing in this title. It seemed every other word in the cut scenes was MF or Sh and while i enjoyed the game and enjoyed playing the actual game the cut scenes really were a drag not to mention all of the sexual innuendo that the makers decided to throw in there. Surly Sega could have done a story that I would have been able to enjoy with friends and family without feeling embarrassed by what was being said and done in the cut scenes, which you have to watch until you beat the game. Overall this game was just not that great. Hopefully they can try again without the trashy storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD LANGUAGE

posted by RKEN38 (RIDGEVILLE, SC) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I can live with the gore and explicite vids but the language for this one would make a sailor blush.(and im an ex sailor) terrible language. I would not want my children playing it. I played the whole came with no sound so i didnt have to hear it.. if this is all these game manf got they can keep this one. as for the action fair graphics good. but you killed one zombie you killed them all.
i finished all game levels and got the hand cannon, mini gun ect in one day, still the same just a different sound...
go back the the gaming boards on this one. it
stinks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Awful game.

posted by smokeyhaze (CARROLLTON, GA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth renting if you are over the age of 13, and/or you don't want to see glitchy gameplay and hear "reload" about ten thousand times in the game (even worse on two player) Me and my fiance started this game with low expectations, and we played it for around twenty minutes before it froze my brand new Wii, so i removed the vile thing and put it back into its package and back into the mailbox. good riddance bad game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

House of the dead: Overkill

posted by CaseyJoe9 (OWASSO, OK) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

If there were two words to describe this game, it would be "mindless entertainment." The endless number of F-bombs shadow the dialogue as you are pulled through millions of zombies. It will take you about 3-4 hours to go through the mindless game. Being a simple guy who enjoys some good ol' fashion zombie killin, I secretly enjoyed the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok i guess

posted by pop0703 (WASHINGTON, DC) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

The game is good but it was really easy i beat it in a hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shoot 'em up!!

posted by grantos (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If you love shooting zombies then you're in the right place. This game takes the scene of a grindhouse/ B horror movie and gives you that classic arcade style shooter that you've come to love. I always enjoy the gory death of zombies and this game gives you plenty of that along with a raunchy story and commentary. The amount of gameplay isn't terribly long so you'll probably finish this game pretty quick, but it still was fun and entertaining. Definitely worth a rent. Remember though, this isn't for your kids!!! Also i'd recommend you have the Wii zapper as I can't imagine the experience being as good just using the remotes regularly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great for two

posted by migs888 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There's not much to this one, but its still fun. You can improve your weapons, you can't control the motions of your character. It's very arcade like..... not one to own, but a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Parents beware!

posted by bckid34 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

First off, let me say that the action of this game tops House of the Dead 2 and 3 Return. I really do like this game, but I must definitely point out one huuuuuge thing to parents.

THERE IS A TON OF SWEARING IN THIS GAME. I have no kids myself, but it was even offensive to me and I am a married, 30-year old lifelong gamer. If I did have kids, they would not be playing this game just based on the "R-ratedness". This could have been great without the language being so incredibly vulgar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun, but gratuitous.

posted by Rychris (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First, let me say - I did enjoy playing this game...when it lets you play. The story line is useless and drags on and on for what seems like an eternity. Not only that, but the gratuitous use of foul language is annoying after a while. I have no issues with cursing in general, but hearing the f-word every other word for no other reason than just saying it is obnoxious, in my opinion.

Outside of these things, the graphics are cool and the game play is fun - even a little creepy at times. I will say that the WII controls can be a little tough to grasp at first, as I think it probably works best with the gun add on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't bother

posted by summercruz (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This is one of the stupidest games.you would have to play this game at least 20 X's in order to upgrade all the weapons and with only 6-7 levels it gets old real fast. Oh and the mini games are stupid that do nothing for the main game. This game is just plain stupid and a wasited rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rated M is an understatement.

posted by Conman74 (OSWEGO, IL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

While the game play itself is fun, and the action is continuous, the cut scenes cannot be skipped and are quite painful. The cut scenes combine elements of the mildly amusing story and gratuitous cursing to slow down the otherwise fast game play and detract from the overall experience. The sexual overtones can be over looked as they do add a bit of humor, but the constant stream of f-bombs get tiresome very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse