Rent House of the Dead: Overkill Extended Cut for PS3
view large frontback

House of the Dead: Overkill Extended Cut

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining! but short

posted by jpauley (DALLAS, GA) May 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start off, the game is very short. It took just under 4 hrs to finish the game. It may take longer or shorter just depending on how your aiming is when it comes to the boss battles.

I was always a big fan of THOD games at the arcade although when the game finally came to console I was expecting alot more. I never watched any videos online regarding gameplay but I still had it in the back of my mind that it was going to be more like resident evil. Well, its not. Its a complete rail shooter just like the arcade. There is no auto aim and it is nearly impossible to collect all the items that are available.

The entire game is done with a grindhouse movie adaptation, which is pretty cool. If your not of fan of foul language then this game is definitely not for you. There is more "f" bombs and "mf" bombs that would make R. Lee Ermey from Full Metal Jacket blush at.

Overall the story mode game play keeps you entertained with a few side games you can play as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont look too far into it!!

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Cause its good for what it is Guns, Blood, & Babes. With grindhouse style filming and schtick toungue in cheek references will have you shooting the undead all night long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

House of the Bland

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jan 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Eh...

This game's just barely ok.

It went for the whole retro, cheesy, grindhouse, B-Movie feel, which isn't necessarily a bad direction. Except that the lack of 'seriousness' translates into the game itself...

The House of the Dead series has never been "great" and it's disappointing that when it finally comes to a powerhouse of a console like the PS3, it's not only a port, but a poor game on top of that.
I'd like to have imagined House of Dead's arrival to the "big show" would have been a reinvention of the series, with good graphics, good controls and something to make the series really "Good" but, that's not the case with this game.

I think the Move controls work well for the most part. It may actually be one of the 'better' HODs but, it's not that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sick Game S-I-C-K

posted by Inosuke_The_Don (EVANSVILLE, IN) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay well first off it's not a game for your little brats to play this game saya MFer more then any game ever for real,it's awesome.The gameplay is what you'd come to expect from house of the dead which I'm a huge fan of the HOTD arcade games so it was amazing for me to feel I was playing an arcade style FPS in my own home.The levels are fun and have good design there's an assortment of different guns you can purchase through cash piles you find in the game,grenades that blow the he double l out of zombies,and eventually you get a MINIGUN!!!! The bosses are INSANE for instance in the hospital level there's this boss called the screamer and she teleports at you basically and just straight up owns you with her voice,and scratches you up and stuff when she gets in close.I personally love this game it's an amazing feat to accomplish to keep me entertained for hours on end. I recommend if you haven't played this to give it a shot,and don't listen to the bad reviews on the game those people seem to have no idea what they're talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a Bad use of the move

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's fun and trashy, but the move controllers aim is not the best. We have the the official sony gun and then a knock off. The sony is def better for the game. It's fun but a short lived rental. More of a 5.5. Graphics work well with the theme of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by RULERofU (HEMET, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love all the house of the deads and this Overkill is the best of them all. If you like zombie arcade games you will totally love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not even worth a rental.

posted by neverx (MASON, MI) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Do not buy this game. Do not rent this game. You shouldn't even waste your time reading this review. The game control is worse than bad. Aiming is impossible. The dialog is worse.

Normally I will give a game at least 20 minutes. Not this one, however. Half way through the first scene I gave up and placed the game back in the mail. Considering there is a two week turnaround on games this is a big decision. I will usually give even mediocre games a few days but not this one.

The only reason I gave this game a one is because I could not figure out how to give it a negative score.

Save your time and sanity, stay away!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun way to spend a Saturday night.

posted by CJC7575 (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Once I stopped fighting the fact that Overkill is a rail game, it became a lot of fun. Bloody, fast paced, short, and full of really bad jokes, Overkill was a great way to spend a Saturday night. Beer and a friend to play it with are optional but strongly suggested.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

House of the dead overkill extended cut

posted by tails730 (FEASTERVILLE TREVOSE, PA) Jan 12, 2013

Member since May 2012

House of the dead overkill extended cut.

Overall I would say the crude humor in the game made me laugh, however the boss battles were sometimes frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As far as MOVE goes

posted by aimtrue345 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is by far the best MOVE game I have played, it's the best by far for two player shoot'em up. This best way to play is on a 3D t.v. not with the 3D mode that's with the game. I have a 49 inch 3D t.v with a 7.1 surrond sound turn off the lights crank the volume and let loose all of your frustations

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game for 2 player

posted by blackfrog1979 (WELLSTON, OK) Sep 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is extremly like the arcade game but harder. Excellant game for 2 player coop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

house of lame since i cant use bad words =]

posted by bloOcheEse831 (FORT STOCKTON, TX) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

absolutely horrible enough said and i dont recommend this game to anyone.. have a nice day =]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PS Move Shooting Fun (w/ sharpshooter)

posted by EMT646 (GREENFIELD, IN) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The wife and I are playing this joyful little game. Lots of expletive adult humor and disgusting b-side quality acting makes for a nice stress reliever when I get home.

The action is fast paced and with a properly calibrated sharpshooter/move combo, the "mutants" are easily kept up with-but that leaves the extra pick ups a little more challenging to grab if you're playing by yourself.

Grab a second person to enjoy this game with lots of hours of playtime available and needed to platinum trophy this peach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible...

posted by a_gamers_dream (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

This game sucks. It's just like playing it in the arcade. The cheesy graphics & horrible dialogue don't help it either. Not even worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not play unless you have PS Move

posted by Musik (GEORGETOWN, TX) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It was god awful trying to aim with an analog stick on the PS controller. The game was obviously designed for Move. I didn't care for the game all together. The aiming was so un-natural I just couldn't get into it. It's almost impossible to get a single headshot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game - 3D is OK, but not the best

posted by Mista2x (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 15, 2012

Member since May 2006

This is a fun pick up and play game that works best with 2 players and the PS Move (we also have 2 SharpShooter peripherals).

The game has a grindhouse feel with a lot of cheap and crude humor (that I enjoy). Even the theme playing on the title screen will have you saying "did they just say what I think they did?".

The game can easily be beat in one sitting with a few breaks. You will almost want to do that as the story and the "what's next" factor will have you picking up the controller wanting more. Even after the game is complete, you can play more and upgrade/purchase new weapons.

One thing that bothered me with the 3D was the light on the move controller. In order to have the best stereoscopic 3D, you need to cut out as much ambient lighting as possible. With the PS Move controllers lighting up like a glow stick in front of your face, this distracts from the 3D picture.

Overall it's been a great purchase and provided hours of entertainment especially when company comes over. This is my favorite of the House of the Dead series and other rail shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good arcade style shooter

posted by Sirmalek (READING, PA) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

Its pretty fun and there is a lot of humor in this game however I would not recommend even trying it unless you have the playstation move and at least 1 friend to play with.

Although its possible to use the controller you will struggle with targeting speed trying to hit all the bonus stuff on the screen along with keeping zombies off you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dreaful.

posted by BlueFlameBat (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The terrible aiming in this game kills whatever fun could be drawn from this game. I don't see how anyone who is not either a fanatic or being paid could rate this more than a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok game

posted by jdogg33 (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is ok, not worth 60 dollars, just a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

3d splatter fest!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

The 3d in this game, once you have it accustomed to the best settings, is one of the coolest features of 3d i have seen, unfortunately aiming is sometimes off due to the 3d, making the game frustrating at certain times!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been epic!

posted by monkeytime (ECLECTIC, AL) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

It's a retro cool game, no doubt! Plenty of shooting fun to get into. The neatest part is the design and work that went into the screen when it loads up the game.... lots of creative flow...
With all the wonderful design, I am at a loss at the lack of care for the language... disgusting music... and unnecessary nudity.. obvious they don't have kids, and need a date!
I kept TV on mute so my daughter and wife did not hear this useless sound that destroyed this awesome game..

There was no real purpose to the vulgarity... even some trashy games have a " reason".. not here. Not only people that curse and like nudity want to kill them freak"n Zombies!!! lol.. i mean, have a setting for that so we all can enjoy it.
So if you have kids and want to have " clean fun" ( i know, it has gore but that is zombie kind-ah stuff ).. then, .. DO NOT GET THIS GAME... really kinda sick stuff on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the house of the dead overkill

posted by aaaedwin13 (Brooklyn, NY) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

DONOT RENT THIS GAME IT IS THE WORSE GAME NOT EVEN 1 I GIVE IT A BIG O

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is soooooo cooooool yeah!!!!!!!

posted by jak5362005 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is so much fun and i like it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT RENT THIS FAILURE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

everything is so poorly done... and poorly executed... aiming is horrible.. load screens take too much time..graphics are PS1 level. the F bomb is used in every other word and that trick might work on an eight year old,, it could have been an awesome game. the concept is right on.. but the result is a waste of a blu ray disc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game + sharpshooter=awesome

posted by JRuiz87 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

at first i was iffy about this game, because most games ive played with the sharpshooter are really hard to use because of the calaberation and the cursor getting out of sync and stuff. but besides that, when i played this game it made me feel like i was at the arcade. im hoping that sony makes more arcade games like this (jurassic park) but this is the first one that i know of that is a arcade style shooter. and with the sharpshooter this game is great. id give it a perfect 10 but theres no cheat. but if you have the sharpshooter, you should reallly really give this a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse