Rent House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return for Wii
view large frontback

House of the Dead 2 & 3 Return

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

1773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hey, Sonic isnt the only great thing sega's done..

posted by NoMoreHero (STANLEY, NY) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

When you first pick up the Wii Remote for the first time a few things might pop in to your head, like what the wii remote could simulate for a wii game. things range from a steering wheel to a sword or a gun.

Sega's House of the dead 2 and 3 return dose a great job of using the wii remote as it was thought to be used: as a gun. the basic premise of this arcade shooter port is to get from point A to point B, blasting zombies along the way, saving civilians, and collecting treasures. House of the Dead 2 and 3 includes both House of the Dead... well 2 and 3,(House of the Dead 1 and 4 aren't included in this package, sorry classic fans ):)

Any way, this game is really great for Game Fly simply because it doesn't pack a full game behind it. House of the Dead is jam packed full of plenty of light-gun shooting action. This game is great for a pick up and play experience. This game stays true to the arcade version by not giving you an infinite number of lives, this may be annoying for some players, but it will satisfy most. The game even lets you change (or take off) the aiming device for the true arcade experience. Also, the sound effects are great from the game and coming out of the Wii remote, from blood curdling screams , to the deafening sound of gun fire, this game has its audio fun.

This game was fun, but not flawless. First off there is no save system, so you basically have to start every game anew every time you start a game. Second, the games do have its share of annoying bosses (i.e. Giant Sloth HoTD 3).

Over all, HoTD 2 and 3 return is a fun, pick up and play game. If your sick of stupid Wii gimmicks that justa aren't fun, I highly suggest picking this one up.

Game Play: 9
Graphics: 7
Sound: 8.5
Replay-Value: 9

Over All: 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The wii did the xbox version justice

posted by ninjakx (BILLERICA, MA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

House of the Dead 2 &3 was basically the Wii version of the xbox version. I am happy to see that they got the control schemes perfect with the Wii version. I was a little nervous after seeing Target terror and the horrible controls with that one. It met all my expectations and I still believe that House of the Dead III is the best one out of all of them. I hope next House of the Dead for the Wiii keeps these same standards.
A must rent for Lightgun lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One piece of advice...

posted by jfrd48 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I know this game is a throwback, but starting over at the beginning EVERY time you die just plain sucks.

Shooting zombies is fun though.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Set The Foundation For Rail Shooters!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Sega actually has something to brag about (they had Sonic until every remake is for the trash).

Anyway; I was never much of a Sega Fanboy or shooters but I always try all the games that come out. This is defintley the original and not enhanced; the sound is ok and the graphics (especially 2) is horrific.

I was going to send it back until I played 3 (worth the rental); it is sort of like Ghost Squad. Even though there is Umbrella Chroincles I suggest that you rent it because it is very fun. Metriod Prime 3 should have been mostly on rails because you can get lost with that map.

There is not much here but just simple fun gameplay and isn't that what this industry is about; the choice is yours but you won't regret it as much as you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Needs better resume

posted by decifal (BON AQUA, TN) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game is alright for when it was made.. But my god, they desperately needed to add a save feature, or at least a resume where you left off...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This Old House'

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This month sees the re-release of 2 of SEGA's most beloved lightgun games (House of the Dead 2- arcade/dreamcast only and House of the Dead 3 which was an arcade/xbox exclusive) all in one package. Most hardcore Dreamcast fans like myself remember HOTD 2 as a great edition to the Dreamcast library as Xbox Owners will have similar memories of HOTD 3 but these games haven't aged all that well graphically. The gameplay is still very tight for this type of game. Any gamer or Sega fan boy looking for a nostalgic ride down memory lane will find it here. Everyone else will problebly pass this up to play Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles as it's a true step forward for the on-rails shooting genre. But all lightgun type shooting games owe something to SEGA because games like House Of The Dead layed the foundation for all great lightgun shooters to build upon. So while this is a great history lesson from a company that has the right to brag about it's place as one of the greatest delevlopers/publishers of all time this game will only appeal to those people who remember SEGA fondly as i do. The rest of you will problebly see a substandard oldie not worth your time. The choice is yours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is what it is

posted by emwolf (SAVANNAH, GA) Mar 15, 2008

Member since May 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

HOTD 2 and 3 is an excellent rental for anyone wanting to relive the good ol' days of on rails zombie shooting. The game is a direct port of the Sega titles from a few years ago, so the dialogue in the game sucks, the graphics aren't great, and the music, well, it's just kinda there. No where near as satisfying an experience as RE: Umbrella Chronicles, HOTD still stands on its own merits. The way you reload your gun is the game is cool, as you don't have to shake your wiimote, but just point it away from the screen. The boss battles are pretty cool, too, as you have to employ just a little strategy. It would have been nice to see the whole trilogy released on this disc though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

brainblasting awsomness

posted by BADMYTHEROO (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game has a weird and interesting story line as you go through a zombie infested world and fight through monsters and different types of zombie attacks and strong and weak like catergories of different zombies it is a game that is mostly found in a arcade but now it seems they have made this a great wii arcade type of game but the one thing that u need to do is PLAY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shooting zombies rules

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received House of the Dead 2 3 return and was very excited to play. I wasted many quarters in the arcades playing this game and was excited to see it come to a home console. When I first started this game I was not disappointed because it is just like the arcade game following the same story lines. The graphics are not great but thats the way the orginal looked. There are many different modes in these games such as training modes which are mini games to hone your skills, boss levels which plays just the bosses and arcade mode which plays just like the arcade version. If you are a fan of the arcade verison or just great shooter games then I would recommend purchasing this game. I would not recommend purchasing this game for a kid because of the blood and violence. I hope there are many more great shooting games like this to come for the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Holds to original.

posted by coontafish (TAMPA, FL) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I have to say this being a re-release of the originals is pretty awesome! Its all the same; sounds, characters, game play, etc. If you liked the originals you should definately rent this as you will not be dissapointed! Also pretty awesome that you can be player 1 and 2 for dual action guns!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

it sucks

posted by sami_n_george8 (SMITHVILLE, TN) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the game is more like an arcarde game it even tells you to insert coins wen you lose. it sucks its nothing like it looks.i would not reccomend it at all.thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DISSAPOINTMENT

posted by dubhead5707 (SANDY, OR) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

game play was fun but all in all this game is not worth renting in my opinon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by NerdyninjaLove (MCDONOUGH, GA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

When I got it, the game kept messing up saying "an error has occurred" so I didn't get to kill many zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow

posted by sledgehawg (REDFORD, MI) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This was quite possibly the worst game I have ever played. The graphics were sub-par, gameplay was terrible. all in all, just a bad experience all around and I would suggest taking this game off of the roster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

where's the best one???

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

this is completely intolerable that house of the dead 1 is not included on this disc, no excuses, even if it had to be 2 discs, this bad decision making and corporate greed has to end.

AND WHY HAS HOUSE OF THE DEAD 4 STILL NOT BEEN LISTED FOR THE PLAYSTATION 3 WITH MOVE GUN SUPPORT ALSO FOR THAT MATTER???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Well...

posted by FleaGamer (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

It Was Fun. It has pretty good graphics. 2 Differnt games in one was really cool. The only thing that made it kinda sucky it was that every time you die, then you have to start all the way back at the begining. :) Over all it was great. If you like zombies & Shoting then this game is for you. - Flea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

review

posted by bbenh808 (OCEAN VIEW, HI) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

In my opinion it was o.k. but I played better zombie games for wii.
The graphics are not the best and the music is awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun game play, with flaws

posted by bugsycline (Front Royal, VA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I rented this game and two other shotting games at the same time. thi one was the best of the 3. the other two were Resident evil Umbrella and modern warfare.

what I liked. :

For a 10 year old game the graphics were great. very easy just turn it on and play railstyle shooting game play. sound was excellent. lot's of shooting zombies and very little changing of weapons, made it very fun to play. reloading your weapon very easy just swing the zapper gun.

what I don't like :

There is no way to save your progress in this game. If you die, you gotta start all the way from the start. and I mean all the way back the the games opening scene. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING? this caused the game play to become boring after a couple of hours, going over the same levels over and over again.

rent don't buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet game

posted by djquadx (LANCASTER, NY) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

very good gameplay graphics are low but cut it some slack its an arcade game on the wii but they could of made the guns realistic ([2]gun has 15 bullets per clip and [3] shotgun has to be pumped after each shot) other then that perfect i felt like i was at the arcade

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by dstntwnd (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

i recieved this game, played it for one hour, and returned it.

every time you die you must return to the very beginning of the game, terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good, Real Arcade Feel!!!

posted by moonhowl (WELLESLEY, MA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

After playing the arcade game yesterday at a movie theater, I wasn't expecting that much (I played 2). But I was pleasently surprised when I played this game at home, it really brings in the feeling of being at an arcade, escpecially when played with friend. In, my opinion, this is a very good game, but 3 is much better. Also, I have three tips. 1. Play this game at night in a dark room; it really helps the atmosphere. 2. GET 2 PIHRAHNA ZAPPERS RIGHT NOW!!! 3. You need the zapper or something similar to accomplish this, but cheat! Go into to player and duel wield for a much better game experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

House Of The Dead 2 & 3 Return

posted by ZombieKill (BARSTOW, CA) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I thought this game was excellent in gameplay and suspense.
If you are a lover of Zombie Shooters, then this game is right for you.
I rated this game a 10/10 because it is fast paced reacting and accuracy that keeps you on your toes in this Classic Zombie Shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just like arcade, but with less accuracy.

posted by F0ldsAtHom (SANTA MARIA, CA) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

The game is spot-on. The Wii mote accuracy is, pardon the pun, "hit and miss". No matter the placement of the sensor bar there always seemed to be a blind spot. Sometimes a point-blank shot to the far-right or left of the screen (aspect ratio 16:9 and 4:3) will jump the reticle to the opposite side of the screen.

I'd give the game a 9 just because it's darn near identical to the arcade when you turn on red blood. The added features (extend clip & extra credits) are also a nice feature.

Final word: maybe this wouldn't be as big a problem on a CRT, DLP, or Rear-projection type T.V.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i love this game

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

basically house of the dead 2 & 3 are arcade games and sega threw them together in a disc for the wii.

GRAPHICS-i am not going to talk about graphics, because this is an old arcade game and sega didint call it house of the dead 2 & 3 remake, they called it house of the dead 2 & 3 return. Sega just got the arcade version and threw it in a disc.

GAMEPLAY/CONTROLLS- They got the controlls just right/perfect, i must say that when i am blowing the heads of zombies using a wiimote it does feel very natural.

Overall rent it then buy it:) 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Old School Game

posted by Sassy907 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I remember playing this game in the arcade when I was a kid. It was nice to be able to play it again. I liked the games and how you are able to set certain settings. The main thing I didn't like, is that it would not let you pick up where you left off when you die. I got to the last chapter, almost beat the monster, and was killed. I eagerly played again thinking I would pick up where I left off, NOPE. Had to go through all of the levels again.
I would recommend this game to someone who misses the old days, and for someone who likes a little gore. You could possibly get bored quickly with this game, but I certainly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse