Rent Hour of Victory for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hour of Victory

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.3

1393 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hour of Victory

posted by kjgaucho (GOLETA, CA) May 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Considering this game was released last year, considering this game is for a next gen console, considering this game has requtable creators, this is one of the worst games i have ever played. i don't recommend this to anyone but die hard ww2 fans. honestly, unreal needs to take their name off this game because it is bad for their reputation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Easy Chevos Any Way

posted by TheColonel (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're not sure about this game because you're afraid it'll be garbage, well, your fears are not unfounded; it will be garbage. The aiming is awful, the re-loads take too long, and it takes forever for your health to regenerate (especially on the harder levels). The controls are awkward as well. The only positive thing I can say about this game is that it has easy chevos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hour of Shame

posted by park10xbox (GREER, SC) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have played many shooters on the 360 and i have to say this is one of the worst. typically what you expect to be bad: gameplay, graphics, music, control scheme, cover system, cover system, cover system, and cover system. no point in making an xbox original game for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow. This game is bad.

posted by goeagles1 (CRANBURY, NJ) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever since it came out, Hour of Victory has probably been the most criticized game ever to grace the Xbox 360. I love WW2 shooters, and I really wanted to see if this game really did deserve ones and F's. After playing it, I don't think it's that bad, but its close. Here's Pros and Con's (Hint: A lot of cons)

Pros (there aren't many)
-Some mindless shooting fun. I guess...
-Hilarious physics engine (bodies flop and bounce and spaz)
-Mildly interesting locations such as castles
-Generic, but effective music
Cons (expect a lot)
-Broken A.I.
-Terrible graphics
-Plenty of bugs
-Boring level design
-Inacurate hit detection
-Sniper Rifles are impossible to use
-Horrid tank controls
-Another WW2 shooter (sigh)...
-Gimmicky Stealth, Sniper, and Commando classes
-Framerate Problems
-Bland Story

As you can clearly see, this is not a good game. Only as much as rent it if you are the most obsessive WW2 shooter fan in the world. Believe me, I wanted to enjoy this game, but it was impossible to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A truly bad game

posted by Blankets (CABOT, AR) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played many of the shooters out there. From MOH: Frontline to Halo to whatever. But I honestly have to say that this is the worst shooter EVER!!! I'm a bit of an achievement freak on the 360, and this game has easy achievements, but i couldn't bare to sit through wave after wave of idiot soldiers. I left the game with many achievements still to gain. And there idea of trying to control the whole "play the way you want to" thing is stupid. I can't tell you how many times I couldn't perform a particular task cause I didn't have the right character. DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Excellent Graphics Weak Game play

posted by BottomLine (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hour of Victory-

Sceptically about the game due to the many "Medal of Honor" FPS titles and their success, the bar had been set high for all the WWII era throw back FPS games. Although the games graphics deliver, the controller and game play are meager at best. Sluggish is the word that best describes HOV's character movement and overall game play. I'd recommend this title to those who have stress to release, or time to kill. "Medal of Honor" is far more enjoyable to play, despite the repetitious us of missions,characters,weapo- ns, etc.....

Cheers,
The "BottomLine"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW is all i can say

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Thier was absolutley no point in making this game call of duty blows it out of the water and this just plain old sucks.this game really lacks the World War Two game type it is like a joke copy of call of duty dont waste your time renting this because it will be returned pretty fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste Of Time

posted by Spincrazy7 (CANADIAN, TX) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am not going to beat around the bush on this one. This game is TERRIBLE! I played shooters like this 8 or 9 years ago on the original Playstation. In this great era of graphics and physics it amazes me that companies still pump out Call Of Duty 1 clones.

There is nothing positive to say about this game. It is about as basic as they come for first person gameplay. I am just thankful it was a rental and not purchased at full price. I think I will just go back to playing Rainbow Six Vegas and wait for COD4 to come out. I just hope it isn't another COD2 clone like the last one.

Midway should be ashamed of this title!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by Costin (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I was expecting something a LOT better but when I played it I was absolutely disappointed. The graphics aren't great but the worst part is the game play. When an enemy is firing at you and you need to aim the gun at him it's like watching a snail move as the gun swings toward him. By that time you're probably dead. Xbox Live isn't any better still same bad graphics and game play. Stick with COD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This Is Horrible! Keep Playing Call Of Duty!

posted by Scorpion (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I played some of this game. Why only some, you may ask. I am not gonna lie, this is the worst, most dysfunctional game I have played since the god-awful Batman Dark Tomorrow came out a few years back. The graphics are not spectacular Unreal 3.0, they look like an old Xbox game. I love World War II, and I enjoy the history, and the games that follow it. This game does not, contrary to the countless game advertisements they issued out. The game play sucks as well, since the Nazis hardly even put up a fight, and your allies look like melted Ken dolls. The whole 'class' gimmick they shoved into the ads as well, is half-baked at the best. The only character that matters is Ross, since you can make some Jerries scream like in other WWII shooters. The Sniper and spy class hardly are worth mentioning. Did I mention bugs? I had to restart several times 'cause the glitchy game kept locking up! Do yourself a favor, if you love games, continue playing Call Of Duty 2 and or 3, and do not touch this trash with a ten foot pole.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak for a Week.

posted by Buffalo11 (LONGMONT, CO) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The only reason this game took me a week to beat was due to the very BORING and REPETATIVE campaign... Sure they made a nice effort with the different classes...but seriously the actions were very lame...i mean seriously.
The missions are either quick and effortless or long and boring... either way neither present much of a challenge.
Speaking of a challenge...the game gives you NO REASON WHAT SO EVER to want to play it on Hard or Veteran. No achievements, no reason to even bother. all of the levels give you an achievement for completion so there's no reason for the player to actually want to beat the levels other than for the achievements... which caused me to rush through it...

I liked 2 parts about the campaign... despite the lame storyline and pathetic attempt for different classes, the game did have a good physics engine, creating unique deaths and decent game play at times. the other thing i enjoyed was the fact that you lost every bullet that you still had in your clip when you reloaded. which made the game...more realistic i guess?...

It is a good game if your looking for easy achievements... so the campaign i'd have to give a 5.0 out of 10.0

Now the Multiplayer is absolutely horrible no matter how you look at it. It is so rediculously laggy that you can't even fire your gun 90% 0f the time...the maps are genearally huge and you can't even find someone to kill much less talk to... Every game you join is either boosters looking for easy achievements, or just too laggy to even enjoy.

The multiplayer gets a big goose egg from me.

0.0 out of 10.0

so it's only fair to average the 2...

My overall rating for Hour of Victory is 3.. I'll be nice and round up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible all around

posted by Saluki (NORTHBROOK, IL) Jul 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game just stinks.

The graphics look like they would have been great in 1995. The gameplay is boring, there is no rubmle feedback from the weapons. The story is unrealistic and boring

Stay away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Could it be worse, NAH!!!

posted by AggieOnFir (WIMBERLEY, TX) Jul 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

HoV is the worst WW2 game ever made, could that be more simple? The achievments are easy and who knows, you may love the game so i'd suggest a rent but honestly, IT STINKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worth A Rent (For Achievement Points Only).

posted by MattieD10 (RUTHERFORD, NJ) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This isn't a next-gen offering instead it's a lackluster game with terrible AI, lousy controls and a story that has been done 10x over.

Midway, next time you try and rip off the consumer by publishing such a terrible game at least make it look good and play decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A no-name entry into a monopolized market

posted by Phayd415 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Despite its awful reviews, this game shows a lot of depth beyond what you'd expect from a company that no one has heard of.

Compared to the incumbent champions; Call of Duty, Medal of Honor, and Brothers in Arms, this game falls short of the mark.

However this game does make a pretty good stab at the target. I has decent mission variety including vehicles, stealth missions, and multi-path levels that slightly change according to your character.

The level design is fairly decent, but some maps are abysmally short in length.

Overall, this game is decent from afar. "Smart" (but somewhat buggy) AI, good weapon sounds and bearable music, some semblance of a storyline...

It is when you pick up the controls that the cursing and frustration begins.

There's just something wrong with the aiming...I think it is the pressure sensitive analog stick which seems to have two levels of response: Too fast and Too slow. The auto-aiming feature negates strafing, meaning that if you try to side-step your reticle over a target, the auto-aim "corrects" your shot so that you are still missing your target by an inch.

I ended up playing the game without auto-aim and the sensitivity significantly increased, which made for plenty of embarrassing missed shots and the eventual abandonment of accuracy for spray n' pray.

Pros:
+ Somewhat smart AI: takes cover accordingly
+ Good weapon sounds
+ Decent mission variety
+ Call of Duty inspired action cut-scenes
+ At least attempts to capture COD feel with friendly AI soldiers
+ Levels play slightly different for each class
+ Something that resembles a storyline
+ Easy Achievements (500+ single-player on easy setting)

Cons:
- Bad aiming controls
- Short missions with no mid-point checkpoints (or very few missions broken up with load times).
- Buggy AI (can sometimes shoot you when not looking at you)
- Doesn't exploit the variation in class well enough (IMO)
- Storyline is fairly unrealistic
- Nobody online (not really the game's fault!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse WWII Game Ever

posted by jPoz63 (ANSONIA, CT) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The best part of this game is the sales receipt that you kept so you can return it, if you were foolish enough to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

awful

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

16 out of 25 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

just a awful game. i almost bought this game happy that i did not. the AI is awful. men die weird like they jump up float a bit and flop around weird, just dont look right fake

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please tell me......WHY WOULD MIDWAY SPONSOR THIS!

posted by irish93 (SAUGUS, MA) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i got this game i Hated it...The guns are like sticks with metal rings at the end of them and u MUST LOOK THRO THEM EVERY TIME YOU SHOOT!!!
Please WW2 fans if want a great game like this cept better....100x better please either replay a call of duty or wait for medal of honor:air borne.

P.S: Now i know why midway has such tiny text on the cover of the case.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Didn`t someone tell them about COD2???

posted by Hammer (NEWTON, IL) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I tried... tried to play this for about 1 1/2 hours as I moved it down in my Q but failed to cancel it. (What a waste!) This game play is poor, the graphics do not excite, and the shooting, the most important part of the game, are not worth the effort! Do not rent , buy , or look at this game as one might go blind in doing so!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I through up after playing this Game

posted by VideoGames (RAMONA, CA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

14 out of 33 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

i had to be Hospitalized this Game was so DANGEROUSLY BAD please Gamers STAY AWAY if you still wanna live i Guarantee this Game will Kill You and your Gaming Days will be over i just got released from the Hospital thanks to this Game so please DO NOT RENT or BUY or even LOOK at this Game

CAUTION: MAY KILL YOU INSTANTLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a catastrophe...

posted by hoss7071 (MOBILE, AL) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

What happened Midway? Good thing I rented this first. If I shelled out 60 bucks for this piece of $#!=, I would have to drown myself in a urinal, based on principal alone.

Stay away people, this game hurts!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Discrace to All WWII FPS or FPS in general

posted by xX360Xx (WEST ROXBURY, MA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ill never know why this game ever emerged on the shelves of game sellers anywhere. The title at first seems a little mediocer and from there it gets worse. Horrible AI combined with some cut corner graphics completes the experiance. Along with some underpowered and above all unrealistic weapons, your stuck bashing your enemies with your rifle which isnt hard seeing as they all have an IQ of about 2. With the games coming out around this game, you would think games of this quality wouldnt be made anymore, or sponsored by Midway, which has some great games out or coming out. Over all I think the quality of this game is an insult to the power of the 360 and the whole line of WWII FPS. This game doesnt even desirve being rented or let alone bought

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do NOT rent/buy this game!!

posted by HaloPr0 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games I have ever played. I almost bought this game and I am glad I didn't waste 60 dollars on this game. DO NOT I, REPEAT DO NOT BUY THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is for the best................... it STINKS!

posted by Codcrazy1 (LEHI, UT) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

1.graphics like some cheap playstation game u got from guy who thinks this game is better thean COD3 some people think this game is better than Halo 3 HAAA!!!!! HAAA!!!!!!

2.someone else has created games like this where u are a commando, sniper and what not called the entire COD games.

3.whats the point every other company has made pretty good WW2 games that have covered pretty much every thing from D-DAY, Normandy break out, kursk, stalingrad, african front and pacific front.

4.i think there is more oppertunity now that every one has covered every thing for example COD4 Modern combat is coming out this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

how could it all go so wrong...

posted by shadow94 (KNOXVILLE, IL) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is well lame the AI is so stupid they walk right past you without noticing you even if u are not hiding the graphics are not bad but they are not that great either achievements are incredibly easy to get it is also repetitive there is nothing new here except the are three character with special abilitys such as strength to move large objects long jump and stealth this is only a rent for achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse