Rent Hotel Dusk: Room 215 for DS
view large frontback

Hotel Dusk: Room 215

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1453 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing story, but overly frustrating at times.

posted by Conbus (NEWARK, NJ) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There were numerous times I felt like stopping and sending this game back. I am glad I didn't though, since the story in this title is more engaging than most games on the market.
The gameplay consists mostly of going around searching for items or people, following your leads. It is great fun to follow a lead all he way through- talk to the right person, then search and find the item, and solve a puzzle, using your logic to accomplish all of this.
Unfortunately, the game will send you for a loop, having you look for an item with pretty much NO idea of where it is, forcing you to investigate every single item in every room all over the hotel. This, coupled with the fact that you can't make the text go any faster causes some ridiculously difficult times. This happens in about every other chapter, save yourself the trouble and check GameFaqs when you have no idea what to do- it'll make the experience much more enjoyable, just don't do it for puzzles.
The story is what makes this such a great experience, so if you can be patient and bear through the genre's faults, you will be glad to have tried this title.
Be forewarned though, you MUST be a patient gamer to enjoy this game, and you need to have a lot of value for story. I had a great time with Hotel Dusk, but I know that many gamers won't. It is not for everyone, Phoenix Wright this is not, it's something deeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great storyline, clever dialogue

posted by teamloco (MESA, AZ) Feb 10, 2007

Member since May 2004

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I very much enjoyed this game.
I, unlike the other reviewers, never noticed the areas where you became stuck and it didn't tell you where to go.
If you pay close attention when it's time to advance the storyline either the dialogue or item descriptions or sometimes even common sense allow to you find the next place to go.
If anything the game is guilty of too much hand holding.
I only found myself stumped 3 times in the whole game and it never took long to rectify (of course I grew up a big fan of Macgyver so maybe that helps me in some of the puzzle/storyline solutions).
I actually completed the whole game without ever consulting a faq.

The script is very witty and I found myself laughing out loud many times at many of the characters remarks.
For some good laughs just go around the hotel examining items, some of the descriptions are a riot.
I liked the new inventive way it has you hold the DS (like a novel) although sometimes after long playing sessions your hand can kinda start to hurt.
On the other hand if you intend to play the entire game with the stylus it's actually easier on your hands than the horizontal way which is a pain on other stylus only games, in my opinion.
Most other games intended to be stylus only cause me to stop using the stylus and deal with the buttons and pad and this one I was able to use the stylus the entire game.

I liked the sketchy graphic novel style art, works extremely well with the setting and storyline.
This I easily count as one of my all time favorite games as many times I find myself losing interest in a games storyline about midway or 2/3 of the way through but this one held my attention each time I played all the way to the finish.

After I finish this review I am selecting the keep it button from the queue because not only does this game offer a new game + where you get new dialogue and other options not available in the first playthrough and multiple endings but it's also a game I feel proud to add to my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beyond exceptional, a true noir title for the DS.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

It is hard to review this game fairly without giving away too much, so I am going to keep this short and simple for those of you questioning if this is worth a rental. The answer is a big YES. Hotel Dusk is more or less a point and click type of adventure, with some puzzles added in for good measure. The story is dark and insanely entertaining, and the characters are so vivid they put Phoenix Wright to shame. I advise not reading into this title too much before renting it. Go into it knowing you are in store for a surreal experience almost unlike any other available on a videogame system, and you will be good to go. The art work is definately my absolute favorite part of this game. This is truly a graphic novel come to life, the character expressions are flawless and the 3d areas you explore are a bit PS-1-ish but this is the nintendo ds, and i (as you in all probability) have gotten a little used to it (the graphics are pretty much right on par with those in resident evil ds, as far as 3d is concerned) for ages 16 + (and thats being..pretty loose with the youngest age which you might find extreme satisfaction with the title) this is one of the best games on the market. I really like that the game is held sideways, much like brainage, as well because it really helps get you in the feel of "this is an interactive novel". And on an ending note, NOVEL is a great term to wrap up with because it is how most of this game is. This is pretty much the innovation of TRACE MEMORY, combined with the memorable characters of PHOENIX WRIGHT, and a graphic style that reminds me of MAX PAYNE, but does the whole "comic noir" bit exactly right. I might be the only person to do this, but for bang per buck this is beyond a perfect ten. A plus entertainment, at its finest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is a game for mystery lovers

posted by KliqHBK (FRANKFORD, MO) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is alright. It has a pretty solid story line, but if you dont like to read then this game is not for you. The characters often confront each other and their conservations get real lenghtly. If you mess up a conversation then you have to restart the whole conversation again. Two things I had a real problem with is #1 your actions don't really affect the outcome of the game. If you do something wrong you just get kicked out of the hotel and your forced to restart the part you were on. #2 you spend alot of time walking around; trying to find what to do next. That got really annoying. The puzzles in this game are pretty fun. Some are too easy. There are some pretty funny moments in the game, but not too many.

So is this game worth playing? I only suggest playing this game if you love to read and have the patcience to restart lengthy conversations if you mess up. This is also the game for mystery lovers. If you love to read mystery novels then PLAY THIS GAME! You will love if. If your not this kind of person then PLEASE dont waste your time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A classic adventure game

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This is a hard core adventure game that feels like it jumped out of the early 90's adventure-game heyday. You're in for an interesting story combined with very difficult puzzles. My review score is somewhat lowered because of the puzzles... I felt many of them were "cheaty" and I had to use a FAQ to solve them. You probably will, too. But if you keep a FAQ handy you'll probably enjoy this game.

The main distinguishing trick to this game (aside from its story setting) is that you hold the DS sideways for the entire game. This works surprisingly well, and seems to make it easier to see both screens at once. If you're right handed, you might end up holding the DS in such a way that your hand covers the speaker -- watch out for that.

The characters' art style is unique and pretty interesting. The 3D rendered world is very simplistic, but it gets the job done. Really, though, the only thing you're playing for is the story and the puzzles. I think the story gets better as the game goes on, while the puzzles get trickier.

It's natural to compare this game to Phoenix Wright. I think Phoenix Wright is much funnier (Hotel Dusk is not a funny game). Phoenix Wright also has much more reliable puzzle difficulty. Hotel Dusk, on the other hand, has a better story with a more interesting mystery. If you haven't played either of them, Phoenix Wright may be the better one to start with, as it's easier. But you may find that you like Dusk better in the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stylish and tedious, but not really 'fun'.

posted by pixelator (SAN RAFAEL, CA) May 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tedious doesn't even begin to Hotel Dusk - a game that's essentially 90% tapping through slow text conversation, 5% wandering around on a crude overhead iconic map and 5% solving puzzles made difficult by the stylus interface. Even simple procedures like opening or knocking on a door take are irritatingly time consuming. Navigating the hotel map with stylus or d-pad is ungainly and forces you to literally have to look at two screens at once, one that gives you the first person perspective and the other that you use the stylus on to guide your crude little marker arrow.

The visuals are stylish and evocative, although it wouldn't have killed them to hire some voice actors instead of dealing with a couple of slowly revealing lines of text at a time in a little box. Also, I'm 38. The developers apparently weren't around in the 70's, judging from dialogue and other details.

Big creative points for the open book/dual screen idea, but after that novelty wears off, you're left with working needlessly convoluted tasks like finding a particular size of wire because the key you (awkwardly) turned in the lock of your suitcase broke.

The stuff that goes wrong in the game seems like an exercise in Murphy's Law. Your money to pay the hotel owner is in that locked suitcase. You get delivered a box, but it's the wrong one, so you have to track down the right box. And watch out what you say in the game, because if you tell someone the wrong thing, your game could be over without you knowing it, allowing you to play for some time before being told 'oh, by the way, you lost the game when you did that - bye'. I find myself constrained by the interface and pacing of the story and interactions with other characters in the game - not a good thing.

I'm reminded by Cing's last effort, Trace Memory. Another sketchy-drawn, plodding storybook adventure that took forever to get rolling and handed you frustrating and out-of-place puzzles amidst lots of wandering and talking...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like Phoenix Wright with better graphics, less fun

posted by rasterbatr (COLLEGE PARK, MD) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

If you liked the Phoenix Wright games, love mystery and detective stories, and don't mind the frustration inherent to puzzle games like Myst, you'll love Hotel Dusk: Room 215. The environments and animations are immersive, but ironically the plot is on rails and the story is dark and humorless.

You move through a 3D environment interacting with objects, talking to people, and examining and sometimes taking evidence. Each character (including yours) is animated in a rotoscoped, 2D pencil-sketch style that constantly scintillates, similar to the "Take On Me" video by A-ha. The cutscenes are especially compelling and combine the 2D elements in 3D rendered scenes, again similar to the A-ha video.

You can write anything that seems relevant in your notebook and view or edit it later. Unfortunately your notebook only has three touchscreen-sized pages and your "pencil" draws lines three pixels thick, so it's hard to fit more than ten to twelve legible words on each page.

Unlike the Phoenix Wright games, the story does not depend at all on your choices. At each branch in a conversation, conflict, or physical act, you have only two choices and the plot goes in the same direction no matter which choice you make. In that sense it's like watching a movie you have to read that requires you to press Enter on your remote after every sentence and either Up or Down (it doesn't matter which) at every choice. Every few minutes you must wander around until you find the magic door, person, or item that lets the plot advance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hotel Dusk

posted by vegasbaby (LITTLE FALLS, NJ) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 41 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

This game seems to have a great concept of how you hold your ds, sideways, however this action is often covers the speakers on the DS itself.
The gameplay was more of a very slow role playing game then an action/ adventure. Overall game takes between 5-15 hours to complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by XzaePeezy15 (WAYCROSS, GA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

When I put the game in my Ds it didn't even work. Whats up with that. I even tried it in 2 diffrent Ds game systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Room 215

posted by OustoLogra (ONTARIO, CA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Before you even think about playing this game, be aware of what it is: it's basically a mystery book. You even hold the DS on it's side like a book! This game consists of reading, reading, reading, and more reading. So if you're not the biggest fan of games that are text heavy, stay clear. However, if you like the idea of having an interactive mystery book on your DS, then give this a try.

Almost all of the text comes from conversations between characters. You play as Kyle Hyde, and go around Hotel Dusk investigating and talking to the residents and workers. The character in this game are great. There's plenty of development for them all, so you may end up liking a character that you initially hated based on your first impression. The writing in this game is also great, and does a good job of keeping you interested. Full of clever lines too.

When you're not following leads and engaging in conversation, you'll be solving the game's puzzles. I guess you could call them mini games, they use the touch screen to solve, and are one of my favorite parts. Some examples of the puzzles in Hotel Dusk are picking locks, solving jigsaw puzzles, and rewinding a cassette tape with a pencil. Most of the puzzles are clever and fun to play.

Another thing to note, which is probably the first thing that everybody notices when they first see Hotel Dusk - is it's unique art style. All of the characters are in black and white, and have a sketchy art style to them. All of the characters are very expressive, and their animated sprite changes to fit what they're saying. The art design is one of the best aspects of this game.

And not to forget the story. At first it may seem like a generic story used in many games, but as you progress the many plot lines connect and turn into something huge, and the ending kept me on the edge of my seat. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who is patient enough to complete this somewhat slow, but very interesting and rewarding game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was sooo good there making a sequel in japan but america? Well the game is soo frusterating that i couldn't sleep tring to solve the problems! but the game was fantastic if our looking for a real long n tough detective game! Make sure ur ds is charged fully because whe you play this game, you-will-be-hooked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TO MUCH TALKING

posted by Kaylamarie (MIFFLIN, PA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game at first was alright, The first chapter I thought it talked a lot because it was the first chap. I played till chapter 6 and was just so bored with it. TO. MUCH. TALKING. The game has a few puzzles but is mostly talk talk talk talk and more TALK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ok?

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

this game is fun but to me the characters look depressing. and to me it takes forever to finish it. i like kyle hyde though. i give hotel dusk room 215 3 easy puzzles out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hotel Dusk Room 215

posted by Free21 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

I've always been a huge fan of mystery/rpg games and this game has made to the top ten of my list. The graphics are very interesting, like everything is sketched out, and you hold it vertically like a book! Very cool. The story is very unique, and constantly adding different characters. It's also filled with a ton of mini games that are super fun and test your mind. It's a great mystery that keeps you guessing til the very end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Thank you ma'am, may I have another

posted by gachzorge (CLATSKANIE, OR) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

The style of this game is brilliant, you hold it sideways, like you would a novel, and it is just like a novel. It is interesting, fun, and like nothing i've ever played. I want a sequel becuase of how intriging this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great

posted by Leaderm (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Hotel Dusk: Room 215 is a great game, any mystery lover would enjoy this type of game.

i would compare it to a few others that I've played
-Trace Memory
-Phoenix Wright games

If you enjoy mysteries then this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Well the reviews for this game seem to vary....

posted by Kalimahs (VALPARAISO, IN) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Well the reviews for this game seem to vary greatly, some loved it, some "liked" it. Unfortunately, I personally was not a fan. I tried very hard to enjoy it, but it was constantly fighting against me. I had high expectations for this title, but it let me down after seven hours of play. I love puzzles and trying to figure things out on my own for pure entertainment value, but this game just would not co-operate. I was stuck five times, something I am not used to, despite trying EVERYTHING! To be honest I gave up on this boring, not at all interesting, lack-luster title before the end. I rarely give up on games, but this one was just not worth my free time. In theory a great game, but in practice not very well executed. Rent before buying if you still want to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent game but long texts/not enough puzzles

posted by repent (PALM HARBOR, FL) Sep 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

If your looking for a game that will challenge your brain then this game might not be what you are looking for. The story starts off rather slow and you learn the plot more and more through a series of long winded conversations( about 75 percent of this game is reading text rather then doing anything). The puzzles are good but not very hard as long as you look around and use a little bit of logic. I did enjoy the puzzles but they were just too few and far between. All in all its a decent rental and if your a fan of the old choose your own adventure books this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid story, interesting game play

posted by Daelkin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I thought it was great that there was finally a game that changed how you hold the DS. It really felt like holding a little note pad. However, my hand got tired of holding the DS this way quicker than it would have if I was holding it the 'normal way'.

I wasn't able to finish the game due to a busy schedule, but from what I played, the graphics are pretty good (I really like the grainy hand-drawn look), the story was different and pretty good. The controls were great.

The few things I didn't like about it was that it was too linear and you kept having to go to these cut-scenes of the same exact flash back. I understand that he's reminiscing a lot...you don't have to throw it in my face every time I advance the story!!

Like I said, I wasn't able to complete it, but it was fun while I had the game. Overall, it's an excellent time killer and great way to use the DS. Fun, interesting and you actually have to think from time to time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SUPER LONG STORY..

posted by ghost82 (CRANDALL, GA) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game has pretty easy puzzles and an interesting story line. However, it is very long, lots and lots of reading. Don't rent if you don't like to read a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice game

posted by 799xz2 (ROSEVILLE, MI) Aug 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

I liked this game it's about time they brang
out a game like this. The graphics are good for the DS I like the game play it keeps you interested.
Also the story is great at least I think so.
Well this game is good it's a definite try
not a buy exactly. But ya know well till
my next review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A point and click adventure that is great!

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I myself, have never been into point and click adventure games but Hotel Dusk has been surprisingly fun.
To make this review short I'm gunna point out the pros and cons of the game.

Pros:
-Great story involving a shooting in NYC.
-Very believable characters from the old lady to the little girl.
-Great art style! (Just look at screen shots or videos you will see what I mean.)
-Amazing 3D graphics hold up well on the DS
-Smooth controls
-Set up like a novel which is great
-Being able to write notes in a notepad with the stylus is really cool!
-Interesting twists and turns that always leave me wanting to keep playing and find out more

Cons:
-Wondering the halls of the hotel can be quite boring some times
-Lots of reading (But the game is set up like a novel because you hold the DS like a book and because of the pencil like art style.)
-Not knowing what to do is frustrating
-Small areas restrict alot of exploration

So there you have it a fun mystery game that you can carry with you anywhere so pick this one up or rent it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hotel Dusk is Slow...

posted by RyanShinra (DAYTON, OH) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This is a game that I really wanted to enjoy, but ended up being too slow on the uptake.
The not-a-game game style, and extensive reading makes it a nice alternative to the typical genres. Moreover, the 70's setting is a fun throw-back (Pagers were really high tech back then) that makes this a unique game.
Sadly, I played the game for 2 hours, and I really couldn't get into it, so I put it back into the game-fly envelope. Contrasted to the most obvious title, Phoenix Wright, where that game tosses you in the deep-end and takes off with the afterburners, this game dips one toe in the water and considers starting the engine.
I'm sure it would be good if I spent 20 more hours on it, but I want my next gamefly game, now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Wife is Hooked

posted by LimpNinja (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I know there are others like me. You're married, but your wife is either a non-gamer or a sometimes-gamer. Luckily, my wife is getting more open to play other games besides mini-games.

As soon as she put Hotel Dusk in her DS, she was hooked. That, my friend, is why this game gets a 9. She now has something to play while I'm doing some Shadowrun or Halo 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hotel Dusk Room 215

posted by Ava247 (LEWISPORT, KY) Jun 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

It is a very good game. Its easy but hard at the same time. Really you got to figure out what to do or you can't go on its accutlly a little to hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse