Rent Hot Wheels: Beat That for Wii
view large frontback

Hot Wheels: Beat That

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.4

447 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kids Love This Game

posted by momof2 (ATLANTA, GA) May 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My two boys (ages 8 & 10) love this game. They really like trying to open the different levels and cars! It is very exciting and, after over 10 days, have not gotten tired of it. They have played it non-stop since we have received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by Mainter (TOLEDO, OH) May 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the hot wheels - beat that for the wii, i thought it was really entertaining and the graphics were pretty good as well, easy to handle controls and a lot of cars to choose from, Better Than Mario Cart

only complaint or criticism is that the sound could have been better it was just one solid engine when you were racing the whole field the creators could have taken a little more time on this to give it a 5.1 surround sound feel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You Know, For the Kids!

posted by pacsandman (SPENCER, IA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game, especially if your a fan of Hot Wheels. The controls were somewhat difficult but the game does have options for easier controls.
The tracks were exciting and the car selection was pretty cool. My son liked that some of the cars on the game looked like the ones he owns.
Worth a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so good...

posted by djrichards (QUARRYVILLE, PA) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My six year old son wanted to rent this game. We received it yesterday and it is already on the way back to Gamefly. It seemed very hard to steer, accelerate and manuever for a six year old... maybe older kids would like it. The graphics seemed pretty cool and the car choices were neat but the racing itself was very difficult for him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Hot Wheels

posted by lilman33 (FALMOUTH, KY) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I Would Recommend This game to anyone who loves hot wheels and likes racing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME IS AWSOME!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

With a few flaws.
Some "goals" are difficult to complete, and some tracks are difficult to see where you are going making it hard to steer.

This is a great one to rent but it gets old pretty fast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beat That? Can be done. But still good.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Hot Wheels has been a popular franchise to the younger kids. This game could have been a whole lot better than what it's displaying:

-Could have been 4 players. Why hold it to 2?

-Tracks are decent, but could have had more of a variety.

-Getting the settings straight on what you want to do on single and multiplayer could have been set up better for beginners to understand.

-Music loops get old fast.

Other than that, going through loops, corkscrews, and using weapons to attack your opponents makes it fun to try out. Younger fans of Hot Wheels will love the game, while the teen-adult players will question it some. The cars look neat. Overall, this is one of those games you should rent before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hot Wheels Beat That

posted by nelcea (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I liked this game. The kids are playing it all the free time that they have. know they are ready for dance dance rev. so we will be sending it back soon. The grafics on this game is really good. the contros are easy form them to guide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE CONTROLS

posted by gcashmoney (ARCATA, CA) May 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PLEASE DO NOT GET THIS GAME! the controls are stunningly bad i turn the wiimote 90 degrees and the car still wont turn much PLEASE DO NOT RENT THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hot Wheels, I can Beat that!!

posted by mjedy14611 (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hot Wheels Beat That! is a racing game set in the house of a young boy. You can go through different tracks that are set in different parts of the house but all the key elements of your Hot Wheels playsets are included. The graphics and details included are great but the level of difficulty could be upgraded. After playing the game for only a couple of hours we had unlocked almost all of the boards and completed many missions. Some boards were trickier than others but on the whole this game is better suited for the younger crowd. In closing I would like to say, I love my Wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame!

posted by Alexander1 (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is too easy I won every race no struggle. The cars are really lame unless your a Hot Wheels fan. The tracks were weird but way too easy to follow through. The controls were cool but that's the only good thing I have to say about this game. The graphics really lame, so what I'm suggesting is don't rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beat That Review

posted by laurichg (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is not aimed at serious driving game fans, but rather at younger kids (ages 6+) for whom other games are just too hard. It's not to say that the game is bad, because it's not. The graphics are decent and the track design is easy enough for kids but still a challenge for older players. You start out on the easy level and then work your way up. You start with a nice assortment of cars that all have different strengths and weaknesses, so it pays to look through them. As you beat areas you can unlock new races, tracks and cars. There are 4 total sets of tracks and three difficulty levels so to finish the game you'll have to beat each area three times. There is also a multi-player function if you're so inclined to race with your kids. If you're looking for the next great racing game, keep looking. If you want a fun game for your kids to play, give this one a spin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a breath of fresh wild air

posted by batlrangr8 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game AWESOME.
the controls can be a bit weird but ull get use to it and burn the track.
dont play this game alone. i did and i returned i guess i got so bored playing by myself. sad part is this game is only up to 2 players and no online. but still if u have some friends, get this and let the sparks of plastic cars fly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

controls way too hard

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I never could get the hang of this game. I wanted a car that had acceleration, speed and good handling. Sadly the first option of cars had none of these traits all wrapped into one package. I wanted to play the race part but somehow kept get eliminated but not sure why. I couldn't even finish the game. I gave up in frustration over it and I was on the easiest level. Play Mariocart if you want a fun racing game. Mariocart is a lot easier to control this one. I guess it's worth a rent to see if you can master the controls. I can't see how kids can control this one as an adult I had issues controlling it without crashing or the car going where I wanted it to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I won't be buying this

posted by judylouwho (BURTON, MI) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

My son did not care for game. Not enough cars or tracks unlocked to start with, and he said it was kind of boring. He is 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as Volocity X

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It's ok but I wouldn't buy it. Yes there are cars from the Acceleracers monies and highway 35 movies but the game just doesn't give you the same feeling as the older hot wheels games did.
The cources are repetitive and the missions are sometimes hard to understand. (And when you do understand them the courses are so jumbled up with different toys and stuff that you can't figure out were to go. The power ups are OK but are kind of hard to aim. And last the color is not the best it could be and the objects are sort of choppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hot Wheels: Beat That

posted by bldoug1 (SELLERS, SC) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Great game, we are having a blast playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good controls, Too simplistic, little originality

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

Hot Wheels has some decent graphics and nice responsive controls but that is pretty much where the good stuff ends.

The "racetrack as part of a house" (the tracks are all in rooms) has been done before many times and while there are some nice multi-level aspects brought in with ramps and stuff, it is not enough to raise the standard of what has gone before - sometimes a good few years ago.

Despite the stats of the cars to select from being quite different we found little actual difference in performance between many of the cars except perhaps in handling of corners - the supposed differences in acceleration and top speed aren't really there and the slight difference there may be is negated by the power-ups and boosts in the game.

Battle mode is just passable but at least you have the fun of trying blow up your buddies cars. The random weapons allocation can be frustrating and frequently unhelpful.

There really is little new here and unless you are mad crazy keen on racing games or play with some younger kids from time to time I can't really find any reason to rent or buy Hot Wheels - it really just gets old too fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Rental

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Fun environments
- Decent racing gameplay

Cons
- Not enough variety in environments
- Not enough variety in vehicles (not many differneces)
- Gameplay is too simple to justify the high price

a Rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »