Rent Hot Wheels: Beat That for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hot Wheels: Beat That

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, DS
GF Rating
4.9

713 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for what it is

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Oct 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a silly racer with weapons and loopy tracks, here is your game. The cars available are fantasy vehicles like you would find in a package of Hot Wheels cars in the store. The tracks are like giant versions of the toy tracks with parts of them running through bedrooms and such. The size of the world is giant compared to the little racing cars. The only thing added that is beyond the normal Hot Wheels universe is the power ups. Weapons and speed bursts are most common.

You have to play and do well to unlock more cars and tracks. If you aren't used to racing games, it can take a little while to get the hang of it.

Hot Wheels: Beat That may not be a buy, but it is a great rental. Just fast paced racing goodness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should have been on XBOX Live Arcade. Horrible.

posted by DankMojo (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Apr 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Good :

Not Much.. Basically the only driving game with a corkscrew and loop=de-loop. Not early enough to make up for the Bad.

The Bad :

Basically.. the whole game.
Only 4 Race Tracks.. ?!?
All the car physics are horrible and unpredictable.
Probably only a dozen cars to choose from, but they are all basically the same.
You have to play through the same 4 Tracks over 100 times a piece to finish the game.. which honestly becomes unbearable even the second time around.
This game will take you roughly 40 hours to get all the achievements.

Summary :

Basically, they seemed to have skipped the whole play testing step in game development. Patches of the environments aren't mapped well enough, which results in your car flipping, losing control whenever you encounter them.

The AI is so bad, the game has to compensate by rubber-banding your enemies behind you, just to make a challenge. Which is really cheap, considering you'll be so far ahead that you shouldn't have to worry, but within seconds, they pass you or cheese you with a Tesla weapon.

You'll notice that physics don't apply to enemy's either. Something that would normally stop you cold, has little or no effect on them.

Final Say :

This game should have been an XBOX Live Arcade game.. not something worth burning a CD for.

With so many different racers for the 360.. I guess the Kid Niche was left out.. This hardly makes any ripples or even comes near filling it.
Definitely Not a Buy.. and I'd even second guess Renting it. I rented it for achievements, but ended up more aggravated than anything.

I highly Suggest you pick something else, Esp if your choosing this for children. This was aggrivating enough for me to seriously want to throw my controller across the room. So I doubt children would exercise as much control as I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by cyberguy (WHITTIER, CA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Very addicting, good multiplayer mode. Graphics look great. Achievements are fairly easy to obtain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad!!! Worth a rental......

posted by ACustomer (JACKSON, MS) Jan 29, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not that bad, graphics aren't good, but gameplay is easy and good. If you have a little brother or sister, or kids, they would love this game....this game is great for little kids....if there was online play it would be better, but overall this game is good, not worth a buy, but worth a rental at least....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another Game Not worth Playing

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jan 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well here is Another so called Race Game that Has very Little to do with Racing. This is One Game that My Giving it a 1 was Being far to Generous. There is Absolutly nothing in thei "Game" that is any good, The Controls are bad at Best Half of the time the game seems to be steering the Car, Im trying to steer one way but the car Goes the Opposit way. I say this is Just Another Example of very very very very very very very Programming. They Want 20 dollars for this game Used? It isnt worth 20 cents Brand New This is One Game that Should have been thrown in the trash and the Person that Came up with the Idea Fired and Blackballed so they could never work in the Game Industry again Bottom Line if you like Racing Games Where You are Only in actual control of your car about a tenth of the time this game is for you otherwise dont rent this game and Maybe Activision will some day Make a good game but i doubt it they arent that Smart

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but hard

posted by dididothat (SIGNAL MOUNTAIN, TN) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

the racings fun but the challenge is the hot wheels goals!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a bad game

posted by Scott31815 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

So I got this game because I thought it would be a quick 1000 GP and easy achievements. It ended up being that and alot more! It's nice to have a break from RE5, Gears, X-Men and the other titles in that genre for awhile and just have some mindless fun! The only truely annoying thing is trying to win all 4 races in a tournament with the slowest, worst handling car available but thank goodness that didn't affect the achievements! Give this one a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring!!!!

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Mar 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

Oh my gosh, this game is horribly boring. I didn't even make it through all the levels of the first difficulty. Then you have to go back and replay the same races two more times at increasing difficulty. Like Trix, this might be a game for kids only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hot wheels: Beat that

posted by Casualplay (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I like driving games for what they are and try never to expect more. This title is simple to play and has an entry level gamer appeal; i.e. it is targeted for 6 to 9 year olds. I did enjoy the chaos you can implore, and it has a very good multiplayer appeal. But, actual game play for those that are looking for a racing game, ten minutes and you'll be bored. Steering is okay, stunts; easy once you get the feel of the game. Learning curve very low, but it is a kids game, all in all playable, not buyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »