Rent Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds for PS3
view large frontback

Hot Shots Golf: Out of Bounds

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

2279 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun for all ages- Family Friendly game

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics: Very clear excellent graphics, fun animations. The players are anime-like, an excellent game.

Controls: easy to learn, but timing is everything- You need great hand-eye co-ordination to hit your shots just right.

Strategy: it can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be, you can select from easy-shot or more advanced shots. You need to judge the best path for your skills, your ability to hit just the right amount of the shot, club selection, etc. (just like in real golf)

Sound: I cant judge sound since I'm deaf, but for deaf gamers, the game is pretty easy to understand, and everything is explained on screen (I hardly even needed to look at the game manual- downloadable .pdf)

There are indicators to show you the slope you are on, putting can be challenging.

Unlockable courses, online play, multi-player play are options offered. 3 modes- challenge, stroke play, or training.

I am seriously considering using the "Keep It" option on this game.

I would highly recommend this as a fun game for family or get-togethers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why Are People Comparing This To Tiger?

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

People never cease to amaze me in life. People on here are actually comparing this to the Tiger Woods series. Why??? This game is so far from it. Tiger's game is supposed to be more of a sim. How does that not register with so-called gamers on here giving this game low scores and obviously not having the intelligence to express why they hate this game so much. This game has a single, simple mission. To be fun for EVERYONE. It just so happens to be a VERY competent golf game as well. So please stop trashing games on this site if you don't like the genre.

The whole reason for having people give their own reviews here is to help others decide if they want to spend their time and money on a game. Not so idiots can give their lazy one liner reasons for why a games sucks having not played it more than fifteen minutes. I have played a demo of this game, quite a lot actually, and then borrowed it from a friend to give the game some real time. This is a really cool little game. I like the play mechanics. The quirky character design, and the courses. This is what they call in the industry a 'solid' title. If you were going to put this up against Tiger Woods, of course you would think it sucked because you obviously didn't do your homework on what to expect from this game.

If you are looking for a fun game to kill some time with just yourself, and possibly the people in the family, then this is your best bet on the PS3. Not only is it a great game in it's own right, it is a great game to play with your family. My wife is BY FAR a non-gamer, but, this is the ONLY game that made her pick up a controller on the PS3, and Tigers game is the ONLY game other than bejeweled she plays on the 360. She doesn't even LIKE sports. Go figure???

This game is a solid 9.0, and STILL has a lot of room for expansion and improvement. Not enough courses is my only real complaint about the game, but, DLC is one of the greatest advantages for this generation of consoles. Definitely a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game scores itself a birdie

posted by matters (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hotshots has always delivered a good golf game in recent years and Hotshot: out of bounds is a step up from the past games. The new advance controls are awesome are there really easy to get used to. The graphics are also sweet. There is also multi player
and a ton of unlockables that will keep you busy for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not bad, could be better

posted by fastbow (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played all of the Hot Shots golf games and each 1 has something different, but all pretty much the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good graphics, but...

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

way to drawn out, boring course repetition
bad control on the extra moves
should have supported analog stick also

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game overall...

posted by Dais7334 (NORFOLK, VA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games where you have to play in order to be good. You can't pick it up and be amazing just like that, or at least I didn't. Fun but then there are time where you feel like throwing your controller. I guess that's what kept me playing to this day. Overall a great game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect!!

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a very fun game. I've never played Hot Shots Golf before, so this was my first attempt at the series. Like I said this nearly perfect, with the only downfall being the somewhat limited customization/character controls. Other than that element its perfect on all other acounts.

If you were playing Tigers Woods while tripping on Acid you'd have Hot Shots, its pure genius. The controls are very percise and very easy to learn, Defenatly a one up over Tiger. The courses are absolutly beautiful. Very realist looking courses with very funny cartoon characters at the helm, make this sports game unique. Power Shots never get old and neither does ACEing a hole. The sounds can get a little annoying after several hours but nothing that bad.

I must commend Hot Shots on its controls, there some of the best I've ever used on a golf game. The whole swing scheme is great, and putting is very easy to learn and use. You'll be making 30 footers in no time.

Graphics 10
Sound 9
Gameplay 11 (can I do that?)
Animation 10
customize 8
funfactor 10

I highly recommend playing this game and possible buying it if you love golf games. The PS3 was needing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK but it should focus on being fun

posted by MoeTheDog (MELBOURNE, FL) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the graphics and swing system. It gives a good feel of playing golf, where I focus more on club selection and shot placement rather than working the shot meter.

However, it's too hard to unlock anything. I want to be able to play all the course in multiplayer. I don't want to spends hours in single player playing the same course over and over just so more are available in multiplayer.

The game tries too hard to make you play it rather than being fun so that you want to play it. After 3 rounds I'm pretty much done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy this dont jst sit there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by Rockbander (ATLANTA, GA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

okay we all know some pepol think golf suck it dosent in this game this is the extrme version of golf best courses

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sorry, but I expect more from PS3

posted by DSMTEXAS (MONTGOMERY, TX) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is not at all like some of the other golf sims I have played. It is very kiddie style in the graphics area (good, but childish), the ease of play is there but not challenging enough. and overall I expect more from a game I saw with a rating of 7+. Tiger Woods Golf is still one of the best for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a Hole in One

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

This is clap handz first attempt at hot shots golf on the ps3 and in my opionion this game falls a little short. This game reminds of the hot shots golf games on the ps2. The graphics are really good with the courses and characters look like watching an animated cartoon on tv. The controls are easy to pick up and play especially if you pick the traditional shot. The advanced shot controls are hard to get used having to hit the button to swing your club and then again to hit the ball. The gameplay is ok at first then gets boring when you realize you are doing the same things over and over. I would like to see the addition of real life courses and more matches where you are challenging other players. This game would also benefit from more club selection instead of having the clubs picked for you already. If you are a golf fan I would not recommend this game but go with a tiger woods game instead, cause you will become easily bored with lack of course selection and gameplay options in Hot Shots Golf Out of Bounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by coolreviewguy96 (SAHUARITA, AZ) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Hot Shots Gollf as a series is very fun, and it's a good game to play with family and friends. It's similiar as far as gameplay to the other games in the series but that's not really a bad thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

In Love

posted by InToXiCaTeD (MODESTO, CA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I been playing Hot Shots Golf since the first one released on the PSX. This game is amazing. It hasn't lost it's touch in gameplay or anything. There could be more characters in this game like from the 3rd & 4th series of this game but overall perfect golf game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun golf game for any age

posted by jojogino (nokomis, FL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

I personally think that this game was a very enjoyable game. There's a good variation of characters and you can unlock better clubs and balls. A good reminder of the old games that first came out for this title. The new advanced golfing style is a bit more of a challenge for the newcomers. All in all i found it fun and worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hot shots

posted by coop05 (SANTA, ID) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game looks fun and the graphics are nice, but the controls are way to hard. You don't have any control over hitting the ball, so if the controls ever change it would be a fun game to play!! Tiger Woods '10 is a way better game the controls are easy and you have a lot of courses to play! Check it out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hot shots golf out of bounds

posted by krazyangel (LEXINGTON, NC) May 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

it was my type of game. i like tiger woods golf. just not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lame game

posted by chuckyd964 (NICHOLASVILLE, KY) May 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

used to like series but nothings changed but thegraphics ,thats the problem you would think after so many years of being out they would add some new stuuff to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hot Shots Golf Out of Bounds

posted by jurgie (BAD AXE, MI) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

i Love the 1st four games of this series, but this is a serious let down. I am utterly disappointed with Clap Hanz gaming on this release. It doesn't even come close to being worthy of the Hot Shots name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A little slow for me

posted by Leila911 (DISCOVERY BAY, CA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I just don't think it grabbed my attention much. I only played for 2 days and stopped completed. It got boring fast and maybe I think golf in general is boring too. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing

posted by aphrodite3 (KILLEEN, TX) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

have had this for a mth or so...loving it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hot Shots

posted by bcrazy28 (BEAR, DE) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The game has good graphics. But I think it is more so for the kids!! If I were I kid I would like it more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hot shots

posted by Rebel108 (CORONA, NY) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

fun golf game not really a big fan of golf but this game def made it fun to play. 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hot Shots is Hot

posted by skoalter (NEWPORT, MN) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game puts the classic franchise into the next generation! the graphics are classic but up to tiger standards. the replay is always top and the downloadable characters are #1 you even get to download Kratos from God Of War! the only downfalls are that again there is no mini golf! when are they going to bring this back? and that the "Advanced Shot" is way to hard to get used to and when you do it seems like the same idea as the triple button push? why can't it be made like tiger woods? other than that this is a must have for any golf enthusiast or anyone that doesn't want to play Tiger but wants a good "party game"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Party Game and Easy Learning Curve

posted by TCellophan (MONMOUTH, OR) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game is really a blast when you have friends that like to video golf. Graphics are off the hook and the sound in 5.1 is sweet too. The game play is just what you would expect from a Hot Shots Golf game, and the next-gen really brings out some awesome new challenges with intelligent weather/club/ball dynamics. The only drawback is you have to put a considerable amount of single player time into this title to unlock new courses and characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hot Shot Out of Bounds

posted by phillyfan (WINSLOW, AZ) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

When i first saw this game it looked kinda cheesy. When i played it i found it addicting and fun. I dont know if anyone else had this problem maybe it was just me. But, i found it extremly diffcult to control the power on the shot/ One time you would hit the ball with full power and the wind coming toward you and the ball would go say 250yrds. Next time the wind would be blowing with you and you would hit the ball with full power and the same club and the ball would go 220yrds. The chipping and putting were accurate but the driving part was irrating because you didnt know if you should hit full power or not so most of the time i ended up using the full swing and occasionally over driving the ball. That was the only drawback. Gameplay is fun and addictive i liked the online play. It is a nice break from the traditional golf games out there and one that almost anyone can pick up and play. Sorry Wii experts you actually have to press buttons on this one. Good game over but would have gotten a 9 had the driving distance problem been fixed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse