Rent Hooked! Real Motion Fishing for Wii
view large frontback

Hooked! Real Motion Fishing

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.4

488 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Realistic Like it or Not

posted by hoot124 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After reading almost exclusively negative reviews to this game I rented it anyway. Alot of people said you couldn't catch fish. I caught about fifty averaging about 5pounds each. My 7 year old son caught one that was over 13 pounds and one that was an amazing 16 pounds plus! This game is realistic. You don't always catch fish when you really go fishing. That's why they call it fishing not catching! The game is the same way. You have to know a little about real fishing. You fish near cover, bridges, dead trees, docks, etc. not in open water. You must fish with the right bait at the right depth. Then add a measure of Patience! The game becomes very fun in tournament mode once u unlock some lures. Happy Fishing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not bad i guess

posted by mikcali (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

written as a total novice fisherman and a complete stranger to bass fishing altogether, i will say that as a non-fisherman i found the game mildly entertaining. kind of a veg-out game. admittedly not a fisherman, i can't really comment on how realistic the fishing is. i can say it is close to what i have experienced.....in general....(a little more line breaking and fish coming unhooked than i remember but..) and i think that there is a little science in "finding" the fish in this game, which makes it a bit more challenging, but then again, i have no idea how to find them for real so you can decide how to process that. i can say that the game play is relatively easy to understand and the actual act of fishing and landing the fish is kind of fun but even with the "tournament" mode, this game can get pretty boring. great rent, not a good buy. it's pretty repetitive and the music goes from bad to down right unbearable after a while. that sounds petty, i know but unless you are a closet, professional bass fisherman who is currently a couch potato, i think that they are the truly important points here. the game play is what you are going to ultimately have to live with.....fun for a while, then send it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great mindless game

posted by deblet76 (GARLAND, TX) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a great mindless game. The gameplay is extremely repetative and there are a few very frustrating areas where there just seem to be no fish. It is challanging to get the fish to the boat without breaking the line. My sportman husband who hates video games played it for weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

don't waste your time!

posted by bwoodman (Taylor, MI) Nov 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Very easy to cast but every other aspect of the game was pretty LAME in my opinion. I rented Rapala fishing and it was much better. hope this helps!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fishing...the real deal

posted by Slumber (SOUTH BELOIT, IL) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game gives you all the things you have wanted in a fishing game. the controls are great, the response is great, and the action is superb. i think this game is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skunked...

posted by DanMan187 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I decided to write this review after noticing a 10 from the previous review. I personally thought this game was simply shallow. It was one of those games that is so lacking and provides little entertainment value, I just had to at least let people know this isn't a 10...sorry.

Casting is done by simply swinging your wiimote in the direction you want and casting out...ok that sounds about right...This is where the game hits the wall. After pressing a button to slowly reel in your line, a fish may appear and bite the line. HOOK! Pull the wiimote back and you hopefully got it. The next portion of reeling in the fish is really the worst. You basically move the rod/wiimote in the direction that it prompts you on the screen. Left, right, up and down. Theres also an anoying woman screaming at you telling you to move in a different direction every 3 seconds. Its just not fun. If you get lucky and the line doesn't break, then you got yourself a fish. Well, thats the game. Rinse, wash, repeat. If doing that for a semi-long period of time sounds like fun, give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cool game.

posted by GPellet357 (Pawtucket, RI) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Tough at first but was taking in the big ones. I am a quadriplegic with limited grip in my hands and was playing this game like a pro. With in a day was landing big fish and climbing the up classes fast. Yup like in real fishing a few get away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth it

posted by DocsLadee (KENAI, AK) Dec 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was just plain boring. It was hard to understand the controls and how to get the fish to bite, more frustrating than fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nice graphics, but boring

posted by David774 (CORNING, CA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

It had very nice graphics but before long got boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The most epicly boring game ev-ar!

posted by twigward (MORRISTON, FL) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game was absolutely boring. I'm not saying this because I don't like to fish, because I do enjoy fishing, but, nothing really happened. It was bland. The graphics were pretty decent. You only had two choices in characters (male or female) at least make it to where you can personalize it even a wee bit... A total lack of creativity.... I caught zero(0) fish during a tournament rally thingy and won a new lure. Really? Make it pretty difficult to catch the fishes but ridiculously easy to get "better"
The game was one of the most boring I've ever played. If you hate enjoying life, this game is defiantly for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

absolutly horrible

posted by megreece (GAINESVILLE, TX) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

i had this game for liiterally 5 minutes and wanted to throw it away. first of all the controls are impossibly hard and if you actually catch a fish you cant keep it. it is very hard. dont even think about renting or buying this piece of trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Junk game

posted by liongamer (LAFAYETTE, IN) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is one of the games that people are screaming about on the tv commercials. I ordered this game with the belief that it was a 4 player game. Then I found out that it is actually a 1 player game. The only way to play more than single player mode is if you go online with it. The fishing portion is very poor. It is difficult if not impossible to catch enough fish in the time allowed. Even in free fishing practice mode, you are timed. You are even timed if you choose to do an untimed game. When I ordered this game, it was to play against my girlfriend at home with 2 controllers at the same time. Then I find out that is not possible. I played with it for about 30 minutes then put it back in the envelope and mailed it the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by Tkeller00 (CLAYTON, NC) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2003

Well lets just say I was hoping this was better then the 4.5 score it had, but sadly it was worse! Terrible mechanics, and even worse gmaeplay had me sealing the envelope on this game and chasing after the mailman within minutes of sticking it in my Wii. Save yourself the hassle of having to ship this one back, just don't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty fun game if you can figure it out

posted by OhioGamer (Heath, OH) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I am a little confused as to why people are finding it so hard to catch a fish, cast etc. I think the wii-reel for the game would add to the fun! I love fishing (I'm a girl too!!) and I know what lures do what and catch what, maybe that's why I didn't have many problems. I was fishing in the pro circuit when I sent it back. The underwater graphics are cool too. I own Rapala fishing and think that this one is way more fun! If you can't figure out the controls gamefly has online instructions for every game...might help some people figure out the casting faster. :) I will probably rent it again if not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

better rent before you buy,HOOKED

posted by 360fever (GRIFFIN, GA) Jun 1, 2008

Member since May 2008

HOOKED,is the worsed game on any system.the only thing can catch without breaking your line is a blu gill [brim,for us southern folk].all this game is gonna hook is your temper.I was gonna buy this game. good thing I rented it. thanks gamefly.or I would have made a big mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game sucked!

posted by searsdw (Marcus, WA) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

Weird graphical angles. Fish kept getting away (that's if I could find any and hook 'em to begin with. Played for a few hours and got totally frustrated and bored! Went back to "Fishing Master" - much more fun even if the graphics are lesser quality!
Completely do NOT recommend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hooked, Line & SINKER

posted by Daehoc (SPRING, TX) May 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This version of the fishing game is mildly amusing but got boring after 30-60 minutes at best.

Game is very limited in underwater graphics which for some reason this company tried their best to make this one of their selling points. Dare I say that Fishing Master was more entertaining even though they base their graphics off of Anime which is personally not my favorite game style.

Maybe you'll like it for a rental but for purchase... well....

p.s. Don't be fooled by the in-store controller that comes with the game. It becomes more of a hindrance than a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games ever recived from game fly

posted by aokiju (MOUNTAIN TOP, PA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this is by far out of all the fishing games the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no catchy fishy

posted by trick6 (ROBARDS, KY) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

you cant catch a fish ,must be old dry rotted fishing line ,even in real life i have never broke my fishing line so much .there is no difficulty setting in practice mode .playing this game is like fishing with your wife getting no bites with out any beer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Buy it then brake it

posted by 9thwonder (TAMPA, FL) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

I have never played anything this bad never rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »