Rent Homefront for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Homefront

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.0

16160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by RDCarnage (CAPE MAY COURT HOUSE, NJ) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

52 out of 62 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Homefront is a decent game but is little more than a COD knockoff with a twist. The twist is that the game takes place in the late 2020's, American society has crumbled due to economic woes and has receeded from the world as it sole super power. To takes its place steps in North Korea which essentially comes to usurp/control the majority of the world, including everything west of the Mississippi thanks to an EMP blast that plunges America back into the stone age. Your character lives in Korean occupied territory and is a Former US Airforce pilot, after a series of events you join the undeground resistance and the game begins.

Homefronts playstile is exactly like COD except its not done as well, the graphics arent particularly impressive and the game makes up for its lack of intelligent AI by throwing hordes of enemies at you. There are more weapons than you can shake a stick at in this game, basically every enemy you encounter has a diffrent gun, and to me thats a bad thing. After mopping up some 20 bad guys you hardly get any ammo because they all had diffrent caliber guns or the game makes them dissappear, besides your starting guns are usually sufficent for any task. The entire game is a form of follow the leader, you always have no less than 2 invincible friendly NPCS who guide you, give you orders and most frustratingly open all doors for you. This game is highly scripted and linear, which I see as another negative. The campaign is also extremely short, I don't think it took me more than 4-5 hours. Multiplayer dosent compare to COD so I wont even touch on it.

In the end however this is not a bad game, simply flawed. There are certainly enough eye candy moments to make the game enjoyable. Homefront is not a game to buy, but I certainly reccomend it as a Gamefly rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting Concept

posted by tmarshall619 (PARTHENON, AR) Jun 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Homefront has in intriguing story. They tie in the future history with current events. The story gave me a very chilling feeling during the opening credits. However the gameplay, voice acting, graphics, and music are all unremarkable. The gameplay just can't compete with the other huge titles like COD and Battlefield, but I don't think they were trying to. The voice acting is fairly terrible, and the voice's never match up with the lips. The dialog is pretty terrible aswell. I am probably being to harsh, however it was a game with high hopes that fell short in nearly every area. The campaign was only about 6 hours, and fell short or what i started as. It is still a fun game, it just could have been so much more, with a little more work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Dr_Lipschitz (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

272 out of 336 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Generic and very average. Campaign is a 3 hour affair on the hardest difficulty and that's just depressing in itself; it's not even meeting the general standards for other multiplayer focused FPS campaigns. But, quite frankly, nobody cares about that, in fact many players likely won't even touch the campaign.

I'm simply writing a review to warn you: If you're only planning on renting this game through Gamefly you won't be able to participate in the main attraction (multiplayer) past level 5 which effectively cuts you off of almost all of the content. The two gametypes you'll be able to play are Team Deathmatch and Ground Control (think "domination") with severely limited equipment and customization. As a result, many of the achievements will be unobtainable UNLESS you're willing to pay 800 MSP ($10) for a "battle code" which normally comes in the box with a new copy of the game. This DLC money grabbing tactic has effectively killed any enthusiasm or support I could possibly express.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Felt like a beta...

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jun 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

33 out of 41 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have to say that i thought the campaign was really fun and intensive. The missions are well thought through but i finished the campaign in 3 hours!!! Which is extremely short for a campaign.

You could feel that they spent much more time in the online though and when you kill enemy players or complete objectives u will recieve points too buy military vechicles, killstreaks or other things that will make the battle easier for u such as flak jackets and more. There is 6 different classes which you can upgrade and make better throughout the game. All vechicles you buy during a game do will only be able too be use one life and will be lost the next game. I thought the online had few weapons, few maps, few choices and pretty few game modes.

This game can be worth renting but, I feel extremely sorry for those who bought this game since it actually feels like a beta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Uninspired campaign with substandard gameplay

posted by badtz4 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2005

23 out of 30 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I feel duped. In the homefront previews, the graphics and gameplay looked amazing so I confidently purchased it on day 1. Big mistake! Let me break it down. The story grabs you emotionally at the beginning although it's a bit hokey. The in-game-engine storytelling (like half-life 2) is cool but better graphics and AI would have helped. Fighting a war on home turf is a novel idea but feels like a one trick pony as the story progresses. The final fight on a bridge was average at best leaving me unimpressed. Gameplay is much more refined in most other modern FPS. The guns have loose aiming, too much recoil, and are of the typical FPS variety (SMG, shotgun, assault rifle, sniper, RPG,...yawn). The enemies are homogenous soldier drones that visually remind me of the combine in Half-Life 2 or Hetlgeist in Killzone but not as cool. They are crackshots with all weapons, especially grenades, so get ready to spend a lot of time behind cover although it's often futile when an enemy unexpectadly spawns behind you! I also died many times running from grenades only to get caught frustatingly on something in the environment thus preventing my escape. Your AI teammates are little help, often stepping in your way leading to grenade bouncebacks, blocked doorways, and other frustratons. They are slow to do just about anything during the in-game storytelling ruining some of the pacing. "Open the gate already!" There are a variety of missions with some entertaining air and vehicle support gameplay. In contrast, sniper and stealth missions have a poor checkpoint system along with strict mission fail criteria which can be infuriating. Overall, The graphics are the biggest disappointment with unacceptably low resolution for a modern FPS. Sometimes the enemies would seem to blend into the environment making locating and aiming difficult. The sound is acceptable aside from some AI volume issues. Overall, the game is disappointing but maybe an okay rent or borrow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Homefront is awful!

posted by 11bangbang (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

43 out of 58 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

The game Homefront is based on a dark precipice where of course as it is explicitly elucidated in the title that America is defending its own borders in a "revolution" of sorts. The problem with the story? Other than how unrealistic it is? It just plays bad. You are always fighting the same type of enemy or you are on the same type of mission and it is considerably weak even when you do get to engage in some cool scenarios. Not to mention that there are really no epic battles in this game. I mean aren't you supposed to be the sharp edge of the sword in the revolution spearheading your way towards regaining America's independence? Instead it feels as if you are a bunch of vagrants looting and raiding the enemy for drug money. The Campaign has serious flaws and I wouldn't even make my worst enemy play it, even just to spite them...its that bad.
The bright side of this game is the competitive multiplayer. I absolutely loved the inclusion of a points system that permitted you to earn vehicles based solely on previous performance in its entirety rather than always having to ascertain a kill streak in order to be rewarded. The bad part of the multiplayer? Well...if your'e like me and you rented this from gamefly, then you will have to pay to advance past level 5 because gamefly does not issue you "battle codes". I don't know who to blame for this embarrassment to gaming...no wait, yes I do...how about the developers of this awful game! Heres a tip Homefront people, next time you want to make an awful game...try not nickel and diming people for the only good part of it. I would not recommend buying this game. :( sad...looked promising too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good idea. Poor Execution.

posted by TheGamingGuru (REDLANDS, CA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It seemed like this game was rushed. They didn't give it the "debugging" time they should have. I was excited watching the first cut scene to this game. It seemed like it was going to have a great story. From the main menu you have no option of what difficulty to put it on without searching for it. It's not like Halo or COD where after you start the game they give you the option. So that is a little annoying. The game is pretty good aside from the multiple glitches that are just ridiculous. You cant poke your head out and shoot from cover. No. It does this weird thing where even though the enemy is dead in front of you, and your down hiding behind a truck, and your crosshairs are distinctly on that enemy, your bullet hits the truck. So you have to move from the truck to shoot them. But while that's happening you get blown up with bullets. The story is extremely short. I beat it in less than 5 hours. I'm pretty sure it can be beaten shorter especially on the lower difficulties. I did like the newspaper articles you could collect. It gave more insight on the story. The story itself left you hanging. Like there was no resolution. Just an end. Where it seemed that the developers were like "Ok we gave them a story that lasts more than 2 hours now time to focus on multiplayer." It upset me. Especially since the multiplayer wasn't the greatest in the world. It was new I'll give it that much. But to a new comer of the game it's very confusing to start. They throw out so many menus and items that you don't know where to start. A brief text of tutorial would be nice to get us started. But other than that it was a decent game. It wasn't the worst game in the world but it wasn't no Halo either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very good. Just your average shooter...

posted by will_i_am23 (PORTLAND, OR) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Just to let you know, I only played this game for the story, which means I am not familiar with the online play.

I agree that the story is ridiculously short (3-4 hours), but what really disappointed me was its content. From the commercials, I thought this game was going to be awesome. But when I rented it, I felt like I wasted my money on it. The game had inadequate graphics, no exciting weapons or vehicles (sure there was the Goliath, but the weapons were pretty much the same as today), and it felt like the story ended too quickly and unexplanatory.

Like I said, just your average shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Homefront, Not as bad as everyone says.

posted by Floofy (WINTER PARK, CO) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

85 out of 120 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm an avid gamer, and I like to think I play shooters fairly well, and a lot. I got Homefront under the suspicion that it really wouldn't be the best shooter on the market, thanks to a heavily dominated playing field with Call of Duty and Battlefield. I have heard a lot of complaints that the game is "too much following" and "looks like crud" and while that may be the case, it doesn't make it a bad game. Sure, you have to follow people, and the storyline is really short, but when's the last time everyone rejoiced in how great a Call of Duty Storyline was?

The last Call of Duty storyline I really enjoyed was World at War. Let's be honest in saying that we all play these shooters competitively on Multiplayer. Some people mentioned that Homefront was a "hybrid" between Call of Duty and Battlefield, and I don't really see that as such of a bad thing. Complaining that it isn't as good as CoD or Battlefield, makes it seem like they're being fanboys and girls. That, is simply used an an analogy to express what the game most likely resembles. Since there are not any other shooters on the market, aside from those two, that closely resemble its playstyle.

I'm not saying Homefront deserves a 9, or a 10, and I would probably give it a 7.5 or an 8, but all of the nay-saying about it being the worst of the worst when it comes to shooters is BS in my opinion.

I'm going to put it this way. We all have our own opinions and some of us will not enjoy this title as much as others. Some of you have a special place in your heart for CoD and some a special place for Battlefield and no one here would expect you to choose this game over that one.

If you like Battlefield, but hated the speed, Homefront might give you a great balance. If you enjoyed the speed of CoD but hated the lack of vehicles, or clever toys to play with, Homefront might fix that hole for you too. In few words, to me, Homefront most likely resembles the speed of CoD, with the tactics and vehicles of Battlefield.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Homefront, at the front of the line for worst FPS.

posted by DCfromPG (MILLVALE, PA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

65 out of 95 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I had high expectations for Homefront. I read previews & reviews that described Homefront as quote "A hybrid between call of duty, and battlefield". Well... I will be the first to tell you, Homefront does not hold a candle to either one of the mentioned titles. Any reviewer who states this claim disrespects both the creators of call of duty and battlefield.

Homefront has some of the shotiest controls I have seen in a modern FPS, second only to Alien Vs. Predator in my opinion.

The lag between when you press the stick to move, to when you actually move is too obvious a setback to be ignored. The gun play is totally generic, offering nothing new at all. The tossing of grenades feels so fake and out of your control that a lot of the time while playing, I was tossing the grenade far off from where I wanted it to go.

The story which has been touted more than any other trait of this game is a complete joke. There is almost no more depth to the story than, "Uhh the Koreans have invaded, and its really lame. Lets shoot some dudes."

Homefront blatantly attempts to steal attributes from it's most successful peers, and worst of all, it can't even do that right. Also, the team behind Homefront requires that you actually pay them $60 to play there terrible, under-developed, generic, rip off of a game's multiplayer. That's right! If you want to enjoy what could be the ONLY semi-enjoyable feature of Homefront, you've got to purchase a new copy of the game or pay 800 Microsoft points for a verification code!

Homefront gets a 2 out of 10 in my book. Due to bad, un-fun, choppy, generic game play. As Well as a mediocre story that brags about plot that isn't there. I would never recommend this game, and will discourage all from renting or buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what you'd expect...

posted by ViciousArt (BINGHAMTON, NY) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I recently rented Homefront and had pretty good expectations. The campaign looked decent and the multiplayer looked like it would be fun, however, I was extremely disappointed.

The campaign:
The campaign was ridiculously short and easy. I beat it on the hardest difficulty in 3 and a half hours. The story and plot was pretty creative, however it lacked seriously in the surprise and plot department. It's not your typical, some country took over the US and you defeat them kind of story. There are parts in the game where you have to walk through with no weapon, but movement is just ridiculously slow. Also when another NPC character climbs a ladder, you must wait until they are completely off the ladder before you can climb it yourself. Action and firefights were actually pretty fun in the campaign. It wasn't drastically over powering but at times it was way too easy. Ammo is another problem. You find yourself running out and having to look for a new gun or ammo a lot. More realistic, however pretty annoying.

Multiplayer:
The multiplayer is terrible. First, you need an access code to even go past rank 5. Comes with new game or it's 800 MP. The servers constantly lag so bad you end up sprinting and spinning all over the place. The only real fun thing on the multiplayer was the vehicles and drones. The downside is that to get one you need battle points, and the only way to get BP is to get kills, and if you aren't very good with shooters, well you won't be using a lot of vehicles or drones. Also, there is only 13 weapons. Very limited customizations as well. Sights and camouflage are the only customizable options for guns.

All in all the game started out promising, and right about after the loading screen, it started to tumble down hill from there. Poor quality graphics and clunky gameplay, combines with boring stories and even worse multiplayer. I highly recommend steering clear of this game and not wasting your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Opinion

posted by avo333 (ROSCOE, IL) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

When I got this game I had heard something about it from my friends. One friend said it sucked another said it was awesome. But in my mind this game looked AMAZING! the graphic quality was just awesome. The campaign was a little short for my likeing but it was a good orginal story. I beat it the same day I got it in the mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Homefront multiplayer is pretty good.

posted by Jimbei (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

115 out of 177 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Ok guys the single player of this game is ok not great but ok. On Gurilla difficulty it can be done in 4hrs. If your like a cod veteran like myself. The multiplayer is quiet fun once you understand how the perks work and load outs etc... The maps are well designed and fun to play on. Straight away you get used to the maps and know where you are and were you got shot from. You can't team kill on this game and theres no hardcore mode. The pace of the game is good and the guns feel good but some might have to alter the sensitivity up abit as I found the default one is abit sluggish. The whole battle points thing is a good idea and it forces you to decide weather you want to continue buying small upgrades like RPG, flak jacket, your own personal UAV or kill more people and save up for a massive tank or helicopter. I have played Black ops till my eyes bleed and now I'm tired of it. I have been sceptical about this game since I've heard about it and yes it's a cod wannabe and a battlefield buttmuncher but.......and it's a big butt (and my wife has one) ......its fun!! For me it sits comfortable between Battlefield and cod in the shooters poll. So far I haven't experienced any lag and that's with a full room of 24 players but it's early days yet. Will I still be playing this after two weeks???.............yes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Gameplay

posted by JoeMama10 (GRANGER, IA) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Game took me literally 4 hours to beat. Graphics aren't bad, but the gameplay is way to short and way to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs a 101 lesson on... Just about every thing.

posted by DEitachi (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to go into detail on how the story is almost impossible and that I don't care about it being written by the Red Dawn guy, but that it's really not that convincing in both it's drive and reasons. Next.
The most note worthy thing was the realization that I could walk in on the middle of this game and ask "Where was this level in CoD AW 1?" until I would notice the under powered weapons in both hit detection and lack of proper sound while seing the enemy AI take a bullet to the heart and not even flinch while they try to find cover behind piles of thier own dead alies.
Second off, I hated just about every one of the teammates. The guy in the lead who is always yelling at you and doesn't stop while pushing you to pull nearly all the teams wieght, keeping the poor AI from straining it's self. Half the time the girl on the team is very poorly voice acted. The others are usually baffling idiots. Not to mention that they thought it was a great idea to make a hideout right OUTSIDE in the MIDDLE of a city. Gee... Never knew that was gonna be found. The only team worthy thing I liked was the remote tank, Goliath, wich was the only thing worth mild entertainment.
Every thing else is just... Awkward. The CQC the teammates try, the invisible walls, the sneaking missions where the leader thinks its a 'great idea' to just stride a little fast, and the other MANY poor choices in battle tactics. A real military tactition obviously had no word in it's build. The resulting work on more than half this game actually seemed to lack a propper thinking through. But... Because of it's almost exact game play rip of CoD, (Controls and all) it was still somewhat playable. But with it's lack of quality and originality, it gets tiring and annoying rather fast. I also wasn't willing to play online not only because of the brain drained single player, but the whole money charge for furthering your lvl. Not even gonna start on that subject.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is ehh

posted by tatertots321 (GENESEO, NY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

The multiplayer to this game is dynamic enough to deserve a looking at however the online what makes it not worth renting is the fact that you need a code to play on xbox live which comes with purchase. For those who rent it cost $10 to which i say NOT WORTH IT. The story is short, not really that graphically pleasing and most of all extremely linear. There are points where you can only do something after the game has told you too (such as once i was penalized for shooting a sniper and had to restart at the checkpoint when 5 seconds later the cpu told me to shoot the sniper. This game is trash as far as single player is concerned its only redeeming feature is its multiplayer which the fine people at THQ feel the need to charge those who rent the game to play it. Save yourself the time and play some COD instead or halo, or gears, or go bash yourself on the head with a hammer because it would be more enjoyable then this game

-Best of luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't get into the game

posted by gerbopyl (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

28 out of 45 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The one word I would use to describe this game is lacking. I dont ever expect much from the story from any game and after all the hype from how great this story was I found myself incredibly disappointed and more than annoyed by it. It starts slow and is over before you know it. I didn't connect with any of the characters and found them to all be way over acting. What irritated me most was the constant interruption in action where you had to walk slower than a turtle and listen to a conversation that you didn't understand and had no reason to really listen to. I felt constantly lost when I didn't have my bumbling teammates with me. When they were around they constantly moved to my side causing me to get stuck on them when I would retreat for cover and end up getting me killed. When engaged in a fire fight they would say the same 4 lines over and over and over again almost forcing you to play the game muted. So overall the single player wasnt for me.

Multiplayer wasnt as bad but still felt like it was lacking a lot. It has some good ideas but doesnt really execute them all that well. The maps weren't terrible but I found myself getting stuck on lots of unseen objects and corners that I should have cleared.

If you want a break from cod, halo, or bf I guess go with this but I think you will find yourself going back rather quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

limited online

posted by simpleman1 (EASTERN, KY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

34 out of 55 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

They expect us to pay 10 bucks to play this online if we dont buy it new and yet they don't do anything about the modders nor does xbox live, we already have to pay to play on xbox, so why should be have to pay agian just because we didn't buy it new. The first day i played it i got into a modded room where i had an upside down zombie hand and no guns and people where flying around in the air. I bet they didn't buy the game or the online pass. Also the campain is glitche and i had to hold a grenade and start over because it glitched on me and wouldn't let me progress. This pass stuff they have is stupid and sucks. They are all taking advantage of this rough economy buy screwing us over and locking out parts of the game that should be there to begin with. If they did something about the moddders and actually fully tested the games before shipping them and we didn't have to deal with all the glitches, then i could see maybe paying for a pass to play it online. Other wise its bull and stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of money

posted by Havec (SUMNER, WA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

graphics dated. Campaign buggy able to beat within 5 hrs. online play is horrific. takes long time to get into a match almost always laggy. want to bring in multiple friends goodluck getting them all into the same match. you would think that they would have made some fixes but its still garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by SlickTide1 (HOOVER, AL) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game shouldn't have been release is such a raw state. Its nothing but a lag fest. Can't even get a party in a room. Not to mention if you rent from Gamefly you can't rank up past a level 5 without shelling out 800 microsoft points. DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ewwww.....

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Aug 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very short campaign, bad graphics, and online pass required for online multi player. This game was doomed from release day. What looked like a promising game ended up being rubbish. Shame on you THQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

shotest/worst campaign every

posted by totten11 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never played a campaign that was that short and horrible. I started playing the game last night around 1am and had it beat by around 4am. When i finished the game I was very disapointed about the ending. There was alot of action at the end then its like you turned your system off, you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by Longenhagensco (CATASAUQUA, PA) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you haven't been playing this game, you will be punished for being a first timer. The controls are a tad laggy for me, and the lack of button lay outs is an instant turn off. The game mechanics are fun, but because I did not have it at release and do not have the unlocked equipment to deal with what other people have; not fun at all.

Do not get this game. Like other games that don't stay in public eye, it is only inhabited by elitists who know every pixel of the maps and the poor soles who just got this game. I truly believe the only ranks you will see are either Max out players or rank 1-7 newbies. Huge learning curve for this game but if you want to take the time to learn the maps, weapons, and overwhelming customization go for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Requires Online Pass ($$$$$$) to play past level 5

posted by pipsz2007 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

55 out of 93 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game requires an online pass to be purchased seperately per gamertag to play online (past level 5).

You can only play 1 player per system and the need the pass for online play.

I got this game expecting to play with my brother and sons online (on a single system like every other xbox game! and the point of owning a four player xbox), but found when I tried that not only does the game only allow 1 player at a time to play, but if you do want to let another player play (using their gamertag they have to purchase their own online pass to play, so it's not even an online pass per system!? that's rediculous!

This was a waste of my money and it's not playable for me as it's only 1 player no matter what, I was under the impression by the box info it was similar to COD where you do do multiplayer split screen online.

I understand the need to pay for servers, but isn't that why I pay for xbox live!? And I shouldn't have to pay for each player, is should be per system.

If all THQ games are going this way then my family will not be buying any THQ games as they will not really be enjoyable for us...a family of 4 where only 1 player can play at a time - this is an XBOX, not PC!

The Gameplay is great, but returning without finishing as without multiplayer it's not worth keeping.

If Halo can do it why can't HomeFront?
Halo uses 4 split screen online (using xbox live like it should)
COD uses 2 split screen online (using xbox live)
HomeFront uses 1 player online, after purchasing a online pass (and using xbox live)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game is terrible

posted by tR3KZz (MONTCLAIR, CA) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game had a great story but everything else was awful. Really short campaign, about 5 hours of gameplay. The graphics reminded me of terminator salvation game. I found myself getting stuck on invisible walls throughout the game. The shooting was annoying it seemed that the ai never missed even behind cover the bullets would hit me. Multiplayer not even close to anything being played right now. Again the graphics look like paper. Game looks like it came from the pass and was tweak to play on modern consoles. I highly don't recommend this game just a waste of time to play.

Can't wait for battlefield 3 to come out.Now that's a game worth pre ordering....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse