Rent Hollywood Squares for Wii
view large frontback

Hollywood Squares

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.1

223 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!

posted by htka77 (JANESVILLE, WI) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was actually looking forward to this game seeing it was going to have actual video footage from the real show, which is something I enjoyed about the first Price is Right game and what had been missing from the game show video games that followed that game. Unfortunately this game falls way short of being any good.

Over the years there have been many real versions of this game show and they focused on the worst one.

First issue with this game is that the board is supposed to be filled with celebrities, I mean it is Hollywood Squares isn't it? The only celebrities you'll find are in the center square and you have to play and win 5 games to unlock the next celebrity. A major disappointment having to play the game with a bunch of one name fake characters instead of using real celebrity based characters.

Secondly, when the computer picks a square, you don't see what question they get, either it becomes an X or O and then it's your turn again, which is very boring. Although their response is either going to be Agree or Disagree, it still would be better seeing the questions and answers the fake celebrities would give.

The video clips are really the only thing this game has going for it, but they still don't make it worth buying or renting. After playing it a couple times, you'll be bored just like I was and regret wasting your time playing it.

Avoid this game unless you are a die hard fan of the used center square celebrities and can't live without watching their video clip appearances on the real show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

YAWN!

posted by jlw830 (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was okay at first but became extremely boring, extremely fast! Most of the answers were too easy for an adult level and there is not enough going on to hold a child's interested. We played it 2 or 3 times and questions were already starting to repeat. We received it and sent it back within the same week. I almost bought it as a gift for Christmas, I am glad I didn't waste my money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not hip to be square

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The actual gameplay comprised of questions and answers is okay, and it would probably be genuinely fun to play with a friend, but the execution of the entire concept is sorely lacking. There's only four real celebrities featured in the game (Jeffery Tambor, Martin Mull, Kathy Griffin, and Brad Garett). They take turns filling the role of center square, while all the other squares are filled up with anonymous, Mii-like cartoon characters. Now, I understand that obtaining the permission to use the likenesses of a dozen or more real celebrities might have been difficult, but if it couldn't be done, then perhaps they shouldn't have bothered to make a "Hollywood Squares" game in the first place.

As trivia games go, it's fair enough. As a "Hollywood Squares" game, however, it misses the mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hollywoods Squares

posted by stinger515 (IOWA FALLS, IA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the borring games I have ever played.Had it for less five minutes and back in the mail it went.Bad game to not rent it and don't ever!!!!!! buy it!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hollywood nos

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received this game and was excited to play cause I love the show. I was very disappointed by the lack of celebrities in the squares. It takes five rounds just to gain a new celebrity in the center square. The questions in this game are to easy, I had won all but two bonus rounds that I had played. The prizes are a new waredrobe item when you do win a bonus round. The only thing this game as going for it is it has the original host and video clips of the celebrity questions. I would highly recommend avoiding this as a rental or a purchase. There are definetly better WII games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but limitted.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) May 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2005

I liked the game but it was almost too easy to win. I won the 1rst 3 bonus games in about a half hour. The unlockable content is limitted and so there is very little reason to keep playing it once everything is unlocked. Only the center square has a real celebrity with clips for the real show so you have to pick that square if you want to see the content. I never played the multiplayer game, maybe that is more interesting. The computer opponent's profiles are slightly amusing and the overall game is fun just short. If you are motivated to bother, you can probably unlock all of the content in a weekend(at most a week).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hollywood Squares

posted by bebe44 (KERRVILLE, TX) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was boring and the questions were too easy. Also it only has one celebrity. So that wasn't really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring game

posted by Kelly7997 (GRAFTON, MA) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

I liked the show and should have know what this game would be like. It is so boring - I played it for about 5 minutes or less and then immediately send it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hollywood Squares

posted by Raidercat (PAWTUCKET, RI) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Great game, just like the game show on TV, features live videos for realism play as well. Very fun and an easy way to gain knowledge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hollywood Squares

posted by casmit (FLEMING ISLAND, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Game is way to easy for an adult. May be challenging for the 12 and under group.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i sent back game next day

posted by huskerdave (SOUTH SIOUX CITY, NE) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

got bored after 3 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »