Rent Hitman Contracts for Xbox
view large frontback

Hitman Contracts

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.9

917 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweetness

posted by Rammstein (SUN PRAIRIE, WI) May 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Games like Splinter Cell and Manhunt require you to not be seen. This game series is overall, in my opinion, better than both of those titles. Why?

Donning disguises takes time, sure; you still have to kill / subdue your subject to get their clothes. But this game REQUIRES you to walk right past enemies and hope to God you're not suspected.

The adreneline will pump vigourously through your vains as you once again must sneak right past enemy faces in order to kill one or two marked men.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome to the life of a Hitman

posted by Rob911 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

good ole hitman, let me start this review by saying this game is one of the greatest and most innovative in the stealth action genre, a sequel to one of 2002-2003's hit of the year. However contracts doesn't quite live up to Hitman 2: Silent Assassin it is still a wonderful piece of work. let me break this down into pros and cons :)..

pros: The ability to take the disguise of your enemy is very exciting, see a bellboy? why not strangle him with fiber wire and take his costume?. the wonderful thing about hitman is the choices, lets say for instance i want to pull out dual sawed off shotguns and blow away everything in sight...do it, or shall i place poison in the milk of my target so that when he drinks it he slumps over dead, its all in your power...play through with stealth or run and gun it doesn't matter.
the weapons in hitman contracts are amazing there is so many to chose from, dual ballers, desert eagles, magnums, sniper rifles, assault rifles, sub machine guns, fiber wire, knives, pillows, poisons, meat hooks....you name it...its all here. The level design is absolutely perfect with so many ways to get to your target and so many areas to explore.

the cons: Agent 47 runs kind of awkward but it never took away from the experience, the ragdoll physics are a little fishy at times, i've encountered instances where i shot an enemy and he flew just a little bit to far. the graphics aren't doom 3 quality but they are certainly good. thankfully as you can see the cons in this game are nothing compares to the pros.

Final Thoughts: If you have ever wondered what its like to be a hitman, don't miss out on this great title, be sure however to also play hitman 2...both the hitman games have such high replayability, i come back to play them ALOT just because of the possible ways to finish each mission. this game never gets old....i give it a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A flashback to the old days.

posted by JMeyer (DALTON, GA) May 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In Hitman: Contracts you take the roll of Agent 47, a contract killer who is the best at what he does. The game starts out with Agent 47 coming into an apartment, shot in the belly. And through out the patching up that gets done to him, he flashes back to old contracts that he has had, that were significant to him.

The first thing that should be praised is the wealth of opportunities that are put before Agent 47 to complete his tasks. In any given contract, there are about 4 ways to kill the target(s). These range anywhere from straight up killing them and everyone in your path, to finding the way to sneak through, kill your targets, and get out without firing a single shot. There are many other ways in between too and you are usually given some creative and stylish ways to do it. I don't want to spoil anything, but suffice it to say, on one contract, you have the ability to hide a shotgun in a flower box that when taken out, comes out in a slow motion and very cool way.

Of course, a hidden weapon is nothing without a good disguise, because who is going to believe you want to deliver flowers when you are in a suit and tie. I am running out of space, but I will tell you that you can take any outfit from anybody, save the targets themselves, in the game.

There are a few things I didn't like about the game, like for one, I was really hoping to advance the current plot of the story that was left off in Hitman 2. Going through a bunch of flashback missions, as fun as they were, was a little disappointing. Probably the only other noteworthy drawback to the game was that is was incredibly short. Unless you intend on perfecting each level to get the Silent Assassin rating, this game will take you about a day to beat. Aside from those few things, which aren't small matters to me, there are no other drawbacks to the game.

This is a very fun game that mixes stealth and shooter action and is one of the most unique ideas for a game ever. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

IDK

posted by xboxgamer6 (CALHOUN, KY) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

When I booked this game, i thought that I would be able to play it on the 360. Guess what? NOPE!!! I gave it a five because i didn't get to play it, but im sure that its good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible controls ruin the experience

posted by Fryl0ck (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I couldn't even get past the tutorial with the horrible controls. Perhaps the story would make this game more fun for some, but with controls this bad, it wasn't worth my time to play. Gameplay always comes first. Not even worth my rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hit man

posted by hitman1 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Hit man was awesome. It was the best. It rocked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Contracts is still the best Hitman game to date

posted by 47Hitman (KEIZER, OR) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Contracts boasts far better light shading graphics than any of the other installments. The guns are also better than Blood Money and Silent Assasin.

Likewise, the cheat code to have God mode, all guns, Infin-ammo, teleport, level complete, invisibility, etc., are amazing additions (although they do require a modded Xbox to acquire).

Also, the mod-cheat to get away from fixed view, which allows you to go anywhere in a level, including placing 47 anywhere, is awesome!!! You can place him, for example, on roof tops, or other places you would otherwise not have access to.

Overall, like with Silent Assasin, the cheats are what make this game so amazing and fun to play, making this one of the most awesome games! The cheats let you do whatever you want. If only Edios would acquire the rights to GoldenEye 64!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Within the cold shadows of death

posted by Sillysmurf (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I started this game on the normal difficulty. On the easy level you can shoot your intended victim and anyone who witnesses it and clean it up later, you can beat the game without being stealthy or using your brain. I beat the game in 12 hours of game play. It was too easy. Recently after playing other games I blew off the dust that had gathered on Hitman and put it in. I changed the difficulty to one level harder, three saves only and much more sensitive A.I. I had already beaten the game and learned a few tricks to kill silently. Now I had to be even more inventive and more silent. It was like playing a brand new game that was somewhat familiar. It is amazing sometimes when something that first seems so easy becomes interesting and challenging when you up the difficulty. I claim this game as two different games. One as a easy run through and brutally kill anyone you want sort of game. Or a thinking man's first person shooter where you have to think one step ahead of your victim, watch the patterns they follow and then pick the perfect time to strike. At times it can give you the chills, you in a sense become an actual hitman for a second. The opera being the most cinematic level, you create diversions and distractions and get someone else to accidentally take out your target for you. That's why the eight rating. That's why you should play this game, if you like thinking while you play you will love this game. I don't rep the movie though, the movie may suck although the preview is pretty hot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by 305skatin (KEY LARGO, FL) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

i have played one and two and just added Blood and Money to my game Q. i have to say this series is probably one of the best i have played in a while. everything you do affects what happens in the rest of the game, you can either silently do your contract or just blow down the doors and leave no one alive. I love your choice of weapons and disguises picked up from ur surroundings. i have to give this game a high score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eeehhhhh.....

posted by HITMAN93 (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

well i played contracts ok first wen i played it onda 360 the graphics were perfect, the guns r cool, alright the bad stuff ON ALL THE LEVELS ITS EATHER RAINING OR ITS NIGHT! can there at least be a level inda daytime? wen u change into a costume the guards meter goes red really fast & u die so fast, da levels r short and boring, i guess blood money is da only good hitman game ever in my opinion, every time u run hitman slides its really annoying & wen u get shot he ducks which is a really bad affect, in bloodmoney he just stands still and walks normaly not sliding & da ending is dumb, he just talks 2da lady & says u hav 2kill some1 else, wow!!! if ur a hitman fan dont rent it its embarrising

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the first is not the best, but it started the best

posted by Hitboy (WHITESBURG, KY) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

The first Hitman started the best money paying killing game ever made. When I seen the rating I could not believe my eyes, I know the first is not the greatest but still I thought it could get 7.2 rating. Why i love the Hitman games is well the name says it all "Hitman" just plan and simple, money paying killer game. Whats really cool about the Hitman games is that on every HM game has a level that is at a party or club and you got to kill the targets behide people's backs. Like on the new "Hitman Blood Money" the level thats at the Mardi Gras party where you kill the targets dress in bird outfits "ha ha" it's so funny when you shot them, fethers and blood fly every where ha! But ok I'm getting off track, The main thing is that this game will "hopefuly" bring us more great killing Hitman games.....because there ain't no other like it man!

long live Mr. 47 or "Hitman"

written by Hitboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but to dark and scary

posted by zninja (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

Ok I love this game and all but I really think thiers to many dark levels and Kind of scary...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as previous hitman games.

posted by Tricked (DAYTON, OH) Jun 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game is fun, but is not as grand as the previous Hitman games. It is darker, moody, and just bland compared to the other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »