Rent Hitman: Blood Money for Xbox
view large frontback

Hitman: Blood Money

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.0

937 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blood Money worth your money (and time)? Check!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jun 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I won't bore with details you already know. The core game is essentially the same which is (for any new or inquiring 47's out there), cooking up different and perhaps creative ways to erase bad people because you are paid to. So what sets it apart from "Contracts" or "Silent Assassin"? Well...

-"24" show style spilt-screen when an important event is occurring in real time. Neato!
-Hiding bodies in containers makes "getting away with murder" a literal statement.
-He can climb and jump (only in certain contexts though)
-47 can disarm enemies instead of running away helpless
-Rank and performance results in amount of money issued. Just like corporate America!
-Upgradeable weapons (custom ammo, silencers, stocks, etc.) which are shown in real-time as well.
-"Notoriety" system. If 47 does "overkill" activities, witnesses must be bribed and police chiefs must be bought. "Bought" is key here since you'll be paying for it. I thought it was a bit forgiving on normal mode. Which leads to...
-Newspaper summary. Your work will make headlines and detail your performance in a narrative rather than spreadsheet "number of shots fired" format. Nice touch and gives a more immersive feel.
-Details! I left my suit behind and was charged $5,000 for it (must be Armani). I bumped into a couple who had broken away from a tour group and was making out in a wine cellar!

Here's how they should have improved it

-Pre-operation intel could've been better, like blueprints, personal dossiers, etc. This would help prepare 47 better, ala Rainbow Six. He IS a professional after all
-A.I. sometimes STILL knows either too much or not enough about what you're doing (or what you did)
-Save system won't allow "spot" saves for reloading later (ala Silent Assassin). Once you finish a level, it's overwritten. Since this is a game of trail and error, it can get repetitive.
-Collision... 47 would sometimes get caught on the corner of a little graphic and spin 360 degrees

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Agent 47 has been rebuilt stronger and faster.

posted by Kamahl08 (TAMPA, FL) May 31, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

32 out of 34 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

For those of you who are a fan of the Hitman series you should know this is Eidos' fourth try at the series. They have steadily improved upon this series and look to keep it up with Hitman: Blood Money. Most of the problems with the series have been fixed. Movement animations E.I. jumping has been repaired. It is now simple to jump from a balcony to a pipe. Also with scattered complaints of the combat system Eidos' felt it necessary to upgrade Agent 47's moves while I was playing I accidentally snapped a guy's neck while taking his gun and shooting his associate with ease. But as the title suggests this game is about assassinating people, and this is were Eidos' passes with flying colors. You can choose to just shoot someone cut and dry, or be more creative. On a particular mission I had to kill someone at their house. I killed the FBI agents outside and proceeded to the garage and killed the wife. Then set up some explosives inside and made the whole look like an accident. Now to the out of game aspect in Hitman. The blood money. With completion of every mission you accumulate money that you can spend on upgrades or if your messy with your work you can instead use it to buy new identities or bribes in-game. All in all Eidos' has started the renaissance of the Hitman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellently executed title

posted by Rob911 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Jun 9, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Hitman Blood Money is a game i've kept my eye on for quite some time, after seeing the videos and screenshots i began to get my hopes up. And i was not let down at all!. let me break this game down for you into pros and cons :)

pros: The level design in hitman is absolutely incredible, there are literally hundreds of ways to complete each mission and even more ways to execute your target within these missions, whether it be hiding a knife behind your back and slowly creeping up to your target and then driving the knife straight into his throat or going with the more rambo approach and giving him a friendly headbutt and then blasting him in the face with the good ole baller, there are so many ways to kill in the hitman series it constantly keeps the game fresh. Lets talk about some new features shall we? the notoriety system is very unique in that if your super sloppy throughout the mission then you will be more recognizable in the next (unless you pay a hefty fee), this is probably one of the features i had the most fun with, i can remember thinking in hitman contracts "why isn't there news coverage of my murders", i think its safe to say this feature is much appreciated. the graphics look superb even for an outdated system and the weapons and sounds are excellent aswell. the disguises and the new putting people in dumpsters etc feature are perfect, there are tons of different disguises to dress as and plenty of ways to hide the body's.

cons: well the only real con i can think of is, if your not a stealth action fan...this game isn't for you, hitman gives the option of running and gunning but once you have done it it feels as if you have missed out on a MAJOR part of the game.

overall: Hitman fans will be 100 percent satisfied with this new perfect installation. this game will be staying in my xbox for quite some time....hitman is like a fine wine, it requires specific taste, i encourage all of you however to rent it and appreciate this masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Slow or Fast Pace?

posted by millerm (LOLO, MT) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never been fond of the Hitman series. But this game really delivered. I would have to say that the best feature in the game was the many ways you could complete a objective. I was much more fond of just going in and killing everything and hopefully hitting the target, which i was impressed that that was even an option. In most stealth based games your character doesn't have any life at all and dies in a few shots. I thought that the mix between stealth and shooting was excellent. This is a great game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perhaps The Best Hitman In The Series.

posted by AirUpThere (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 13, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was absolutely amazed by this game when I began playing it. Upon playing all of the other Hitman titles, this is by far, the best addition to the Hitman series. This game keeps you sucked in from the beginning up until the very end.

Don't sleep on this one !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game on xbox

posted by taekwondo (YORK, AL) Jun 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this has to be the best game on xbox I love it such awsome graphics and story line it is unbelievable I love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best one yet!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hope they make another one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Am I going into shock

posted by Bostonfan (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is amazing i got jitters from this Hitman i keep looking over my shoulder making sure he's not behind me. This game play is awesome the graphics are awesome, everything is good about this game. A little death here a little massacre here whats wrong with that?? NOTHING! i like how your rated for each mission like a real assassin. You can a terrorist or a ghost it up to. personally i like killing everybody in sight but that's me.lol. I give this a perfect 10 out of 10.

-Bostonfan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My first try at HITMAN series

posted by Crash46 (BEAUMONT, TX) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I tried this game on a whim. I thought it was going to be a little weird. I usually try not to play games that might have ANYTHING to do with killing police officers, IE: "gang games".
You all know what I'm talking about.

This game was great. At least I had a choice to "put them asleep".
The twists and turns, the inventive ways to accomplish certain missions and the characters were fantastic. Expect to keep this game for a week or TWO. It's long, which I LOVE. Too many xbox developers are shortening "original" xbox games because the want you to go to 360.
WHEN AND IF I go to 360 I hope this game goes to.
I hope the writers keep finding ways to keep up the great stories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by joshua7 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

pretty good game but hard from the get go. pretty good storylines and good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love this game

posted by THEbigJ (AUGUSTA, GA) Jun 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is the best out of the series so far, i love the way that there is many ways to do the mission, but there is one thing puzzling me were is the mark 3?(the gun inbetwen the shotgun and m14) if uve found it hit me up on yahoo messenger (usmc845)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hitman Ever

posted by TheRaptor (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am absolutely impressed by how Eidos can continue to improve this series. I own every Hitman and I have been an avid fan. Each game is consistently better than the previous. In this chapter Agent 47 is back with all of his garrotte wire, silenced Pistol, Poison Syringe glory. You can now hide bodies with ease by using Dumpsters or laundry bins (Great addition). Plus, depending on how you accomplish the mission you get a really cool newspaper add that describes the slaying from the publics eyes. Anyway, this game is the best of the hitman series to date. Keep em coming guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a Game!?!?!?!

posted by CarlaGirl (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jun 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I played from beginning to end. The game has good cinematic, and that is about it. It's awkward too control if you haven't played it before. I found it to be to easy, and very Repetitive. It's a renter and not a Buyer. This was a rush Job by the producers of this game. I'm Just being Honest in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hitman? or Silent Assassin

posted by shadowking (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

In Hitman Blood Money you will be equipped with weapons and equipment that helps you get through the level(hopefully silent). They however have made it to where if u get in a jam with a lot of men shooting at you, you cant fight back. If you do then you will end up surely losing unless you plan a trap. The game is set up to where you have to plan out your route and/or explore 3 or 4 times before you find your correct and best route. But once you take your route you find that the guards are very unpredictable and totally unrealistic. One might find you and NO MATTER what other guards will come. Whether you silence him very quietly or you do it loud, no matter how far the other guards are they will find you. You cant make a mistake and you cant engage in battle. Also your "costumes" or disguises hardly work. the guards SOMEHOW see through it. I will never play or recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

YAWN!!

posted by jaybobca (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

no variaity. i was bored...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Blood Money

posted by susieqboston (BROCKTON, MA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

It was just.... ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its great

posted by rob213 (HESPERIA, CA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

ever level was awsome but i did not get the last level at all someone tell me what its about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hitman:Blood Money End Guied

posted by korn24 (DES MOINES, IA) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

If you like the other Hitmen games, then you really, really got to play this one. The game gets better and better till... well, you find out yourself. I'll just let you know now that the ending is a stunner. Personaly, I love the game, but you should play it yourself! But... WARNING: DO NOT READ ANY MORE OF THIS, REST IS SPOILER!

At the very end you have kill the vice president and some other dude to stop them from assassinating the president because they don't want him to get re-elected. Once you beat that mission, the very last mission comes on. Diana, drugged you. As you lay in your coffin, she give you your double ballers. You know what that means! Every one thinks your dead. Don't be fooled. even though the credits are rolling, doesn't mean the game is over, move your thumbsticks up and down and 47 will get out of the coffin and thats when you take over. Fight off the rest of them and you compleate the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hit man blood money

posted by excess (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 18, 2007

Member since May 2006

I played the other hit man games but blood money is the best one i think. the controls are pretty good too. i like how you sneak around and kill your mark in all kinds of creative ways. its awesome i highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hitman blood money

posted by squadops (LINWOOD, NJ) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Great game and good graphics the only reason I wouldn't reccomend is if you are squeamish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hitman rocks !!

posted by Mausaeus (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

Great game as usual !!

~ gameplay is better

~ AI is better

~ interesting storyline

~ very interesting ending.....hmmmm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPER AMAZING GAME!!

posted by Maverik707 (NEW BERLIN, WI) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This is the best shooter, stealthy game yet!! 2 Thumbs Up!!
If u are a fan of splinter cell, i suggest u buy this game right away!
Weapons are amazing, controls are easy, and bots actually interact!!

This is a must-have game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

chinese buffet

posted by hazaq1324 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

this game makes me want to go and kill people. but not just 'kill' people, like in gta. but kill people like a silent assassin. today i went to lunch at a chinese buffet, the whole time i was at lunch i was figuring out ways to take out certain employees without getting caught. who says video game doesn't influnce today's youth. i liked the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best in the series

posted by NyteWulf (SALEM, VA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Excellent game for those that like to use stealth. There is a wide variety of ways in which to finish each level, the way you make your hit is up to you. There's a wide variety of weapons and tools, and a very deep storyline. It's interesting to play the levels more than once to experience other ways to go about finishing them. Computer AI is excellent and provides a good challenge at higher levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hitman's back, and here to kill.

posted by agent48 (ORO VALLEY, AZ) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game is very sweet. Agent 47 is back and is ready to erase. All through the power of guns and strategy. Agent 47, a myth, a legend... or is he. He comes with all his toys and ready to anialate all who stand in his way! His weapon's vary from the silver ballers, to the SP shotgun, all the way to the SMG tactical. The AI has increased a little bit, but still a little slow. the game comes with ragdoll physics and great graphics. Although I thought they could of worked on the ragdoll, that's one of the reasons i rated it a 9 out of 10, yeah sure the enemy twisted in the air but when they lay down, they all look the same, flat on their backs, not twisting in any direction, just flat, boring! And the other and final reason I gave this a 9/10 is the annoying PIP camera, in the middle of a fire fight it pops up showing a guard standing over a dead body, it hogs up half the screen!, i suggest taking the PIP camera off. One other minor problem is the glitches, for example: bodys falling from the ceiling, you're alert meter all the way up, guards killing you behind a wall, and a lot more. The scenery was very nicely done. Over all, this game is a must rent, but if I were you I would buy it. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse