Rent Hitman: Absolution for PS3
view large frontback

Hitman: Absolution

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

3009 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Losing It's Edge

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Aug 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed with this game, while it's not a bad game, it fails to reach the innovative heights of it's predecessors. This title felt more linear than previous iterations, and all of the signature kills seemed unimaginative. On the bright side, I did have a jolly good time throwing tanto blades into the cranium's of evildoers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Phenomenal

posted by punkbenRN (SANBORNTON, NH) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of the Hitman series, and Absolution doesn't disappoint. The story line is epic. The levels are vast and creative, and are meant to be replayed. Weapons are awesome, controls are awesome, this game is awesome.

I could care less about the multiplayer; essentially, you replay levels and assign different targets for other people to play through. Doesn't add much to the game, but I know some people really get into it.

You have to rent this game, you don't come across a game this good very often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Purely Amazing

posted by Jaws1400 (STATESVILLE, NC) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is an amazingly fun game with epic replay value. If you're a fan of the other Hitman games you will thoroughly enjoy this game even though it is very limited in gun customization and not allowing you to use them in the story, but only in the contract missions. This game proved you don't need a online matchplay to be successful as creating and doing the contract missions can be fun (not all but some). Not much you can say about this game other than brilliant. Story is amazing, graphics are great, and the online play is awesome without a cliche typical online matchplay arena. If you're new to the series or if you're a fan you will enjoy this title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hitman Absolution and the Hitman Series

posted by whatup5656 (DOVER, DE) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have played this series from the ground up with Hitman Blood Money being my favorite. All that put aside, this game does stand up to par from the other games. Maybe not Contracts but if you are a fan of Blood Money, this game is great. The story is interesting, gameplay is fluid, David Bates is the voice of 47, new ways to assassinate targets, and the game includes a little bit of action. So, the game just isn't silent and deadly. You may go the first part of the mission silently, but towards the end, you may be gunning it out. The graphics are great as well.

There is a few bad things. The game is definitely more story driven than the last games. So, at times, it feels like a movie than a game. Nothing wrong with that at all. This is the first time this game has felt like a hitman with the new assassination mechanics. The other thing that bothers me a little, is the shortness of some of the missions. Don't let those little things get to you though. This game is great, even as a stand alone game. I played the game on purist mode and for a hardcore fan, this is the way to go because it allows you to become a hitman. The other modes are great as well. The new instincts for 47 are great tools to give the game some variety. I have not been able to try the online contracts mode because the developers haven't opened it.

They have definitely stepped it up past Blood Money and this game is definitely worth a buy. I wish you all good luck in your assassinations on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent, not 60$

posted by george06 (OOLTEWAH, TN) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

So I've been a Hitman player for a while now, I loved the original games to death! From the start this game didn't sit right with me. The writing was horrid and the cut scenes boring. The graphics turned rain water into oil as you will see when the characters are drenched in rain and bath water. Hitman has been turned into a cover shooter with option to be stealthy or avoid firefights. I waited so long for this game and what i got was a huge disappointment. The voice acting is amateurish, not to mention the dialog seems to be written by a 5 year old who cusses like a sailor. Overall this game does merit a rent. Thats all though, wasting 60$ on this is just giving Square Enix free money for something that doesn't deserve it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, with a few flaws.

posted by ExaltedDarkness (EUGENE, OR) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm going to try and be honestly fair with this
In Absolution, a good quarter of my game time was spent replaying most of the levels and checkpoint. The sense of still wanting to get a perfect, well achieved hit is still in this game, but it just doesn't feel the same. The Instinct ability is rather handy in my opinion, though in other gamer's opinions it is not. It helps you determine what you can use throughout the environment which was a huge help in getting a perfect kill. The story is...okay I would say. The other games have been better. The game play is nice and fluid however. Sound is great, graphics are good. But what frustrated me is that in Absolution, it rates you on how you play throughout the level. Now while that's all fine and dandy, it can be a bit frustrating. It makes you think "Should I kill this guy, or distract him so my score won't go down?". It can be frustrating at times making you want to replay a BUNCH. The thing that depressed me is that, in Absolution, a lot of 47's gear is not in it. You have your signature silverballers, and your fiber wire, and that's it. I miss the feature in Blood Money where you could pick out the weapons in specific that you wanted.

I guess what I wanted was a very slightly revamped Hitman: Blood Money. From the reviews, I assume a lot of other people did too. Overall, good game, worth a rent. Have fun, guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Never played Hitman? Good. You'll prob like it.

posted by Toast4Twenty (PARK CITY, KS) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have followed the Hitman franchise from the beginning and after playing this I think they should have stopped at Blood Money. You can tell Square had a hand in this because the long cutscenes THAT YOU CAN'T PAUSE XO. They have changed the way the game is played. In this game you have to wear a disguise different than the guard you are trying to slip past to succeed, if you are wearing the same disguise then you have to use some special power boost which is hard to get back. The aiming is very sensitive and jumpy I spent the first hour just trying to calibrate it. I bought the game shortly after it was released and I had to force myself to finish it t just because it was Hitman, after I beat it once I sold it. They added a point system for online leaderboards and that was cool. They have a mode called contracts so you can make your own mission and challenge your friends. That was really fun, nothing like creating a mission your friend can not win and rage quits :D. However, that was not enough to look past this game's obvious sell out. If you love the Hitman franchise you will probably be very disappointed in this game, if you are just now starting to play and don't care about the story timeline, PLAY HITMAN: Bloody Money. I promise you'll see the difference.

Also, I'd like to add there is WAY to MUCH COP KILLING in this game. Every other level I feel like I was trying to evade and killing police officers, after awhile it just felt old and wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Love this Game!!!

posted by RabidChimp805 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So I finished the campaign. It took me 4 days to complete. It's amazing. So cool that it takes longer to finish then most recent games. The graphics, sound, gameplay are great. I'm not in to most 3rd person games, but this one tops them all. I'd like to see any new game top this. The side missions are a blast as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Frustrating fun...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 24, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Hitman has finally returned. The well driven plot is what made the game shine, for me. This game has been in production for a while and could have done far better had it released a few years back.
If you liked Alpha Protocol or the past Hitman titles you would favor this one.

Playing as the Legendary Hitman Agent47.
The Agency is back in operation from having been media exploited. Agent 47 starts to take contracts, as a personal vendetta emerges to him.

The plot is a lot more in dept than that, but to be more elaborate would give out spoilers for this title and past titles. The conspiracy, crime-syndicate title is great.

The graphics on the other hand are what kept me from giving a 10. There is many neat graphic elements of the game--Such as reflective surfaces, Gradient rain accumulation on Agent 47's dome, Great particle effects, and light rendering techniques. BUT you will see a lot of textures often get cut out or randomly snip off. The polygon count on characters is rather low -- There is blocky appearances, smudge textures in cut scenes and gameplay. Indoor textures and objects look better than the outdoor, significantly.

The sound--Yikes--some of the guns sound nice and solid. Some ambient sounds, have a very snap-routine to them -- Do not feel like part of the gameworld at all. There was one Helicopter sound that seemed like heavy static just being played in my speakers.

Clunky game elements. This is a game that should had more free-form animation and less motion capture, because of how snappy-animation sequences are.

In all the game seemed like, they got tired of running into barriers during development and just went ahead releasing what they had.

The game is alright though... You still have in dept problem solving tactics and the storyline makes you challenge the gameworld differently. It is a Hitman title but rough cut.

I love challenging games. If you are a old fan... Check this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stealth is boring ...

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

... and especially tedious because it is so well done in this game. Sneak, subdue, hide body; lather, rinse, repeat. If you want a stealth game with many options on how to perform the same actions over and over and over, this game is excellent. If not, it's very boring. Graphically excellent and probably a great storyline for Hitman fans. Although it is not for me, it met any expectations I had because it is so true to its genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Honestly, it's a disappointment

posted by Bones311 (EASTCHESTER, NY) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I'm going to try and be brief and generally unbiased in my review of this game. I've been a Hitman fan since Silent Assassin came out for PS2, I've always enjoyed it casually, not really paying attention to the story line in all its convoluted glory. You don't need to follow the story to fall in love with Hitman. The fun is in all the different ways to take out your target, and the often frustrating task of figuring out how to do it properly.

In Absolution you follow a path and by doing that they took away the that aspect of trial and error. Your options to choose from, when it comes to how to kill a target, are mostly laid out for you. When in past games, you would find random objects and have to figure out how they worked into your hit... now you're spoon fed what to do and how.

You surely already know about the instinct ability, or whatever they call it for sure. It would feel like cheating to use if they didn't practically force you to. For instance, there are many cases where you must cross paths with characters who will see through your disguise, so you hit instinct and you hide your face to get by.
The killed off maps too. So you use instinct to see through walls (because all genetically modified hitmen can do that, didn't you know?). Which basically replaces the action of looking at your map and checking what patterns the little enemy blips moved in.

Now to be a bit biased. It sucks. What they did is took out the best parts of hitman and replaced it with a hollywood-esk cinematic monstrosity. The story line has nothing to do with past hitmans, you basically dont need to know a thing about hitman to follow this game.
All I wanted was a more expansive, graphically updated, Hitman: Blood Money. I imagine mostly everyone else did too... that's not at all what we got. It's very disappointing, and a little saddening.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Variety is the Spice of Absolution

posted by Patrick_Regan (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Between choosing what weapon to use, costume to wear, what people to take out and when; this games gives you more options every mission it will make your head spin. There are literally a few dozen ways to complete each mission and the paths to get there too.

I do a lot of research before starting my games because I go for trophies. I read a trophy guide that detailed this game would take 20 hours. That could not be more wrong. The amount of time you will find yourself dying (or manually restarting) trying to find out how to take out your targets (stealth) makes for a very lengthy play time. Of course if you run and gun you won't have to restart as much.

The game is polished and well scripted. Every enemy / npc has a line or two or more of dialog. Each level is different from the last so you won't find yourself being bored with your environment.

Having said all of this I highly recommend playing on nothing short of hard mode. There are three professional diffiulity levels. I choose Hard and that is a great level to play this game on. Anything easier and you might just get through the game quicker but find yourself with less challenges and options or at least exploring those options. Hard mode forces you to explore your environment in order to discover more ways of doing this. I am proud to say I've made it through the game WITHOUT a walkthrough and I highly recommend that style to anyone else. The game is much more enjoyable that way.

It was a great surprise to find that the deaths / restarts do not frustrate me nearly as much as they do in other games. Here they serve to make me take a different tactic through. Which is simply the beauty of this game because there are plenty of paths to discover, though it tends to get harder to discover them the later in the game you get.

There are plenty of geek references to movies and tongue and cheek humor moments you'll stumble across too.

Overall I think this game is one of the best games I've played this y

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

older gamer....love it

posted by daddyed (PETALUMA, CA) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the kind of game I really like. The truth is this game takes thought and reflexes but you set your own pace.I like the fact that in order to achieve a higher score you need patience and stealth. I got into major fire fights for fun and was able to go back and replay for higher score but enjoyed repeating a level without any regret.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Stealth Game, but can get a bit frustrating.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good at what its supposed to be, A stealth game. I wont go into every detail of whats good and whats bad. Play it for your self if you are a fan of hitman or newbie. The checkpoint system can make it rather frustrating to complete, especially when you trigger an alarm or get caught. Its a very slow paced game, so it can become rather tedious and repetitive at times...but it never gets old when your re trying to figure out new ways to kill someone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hitman Absolution

posted by audyrankin (ROGERS, AR) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game kinda short but really there are no long games now adays. Other reviews say its frustrating and is a dissapointment but I thought it was a great game. It takes roughly 9 to 12 hours depending on if you rush through or not. Its defininently one a hitman fan would want to pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but not Great

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Nov 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over all it is a good game . I just hate when you start a mission you have no cool gadgets. They just toss you in a mission and most of the time the alarm would go off then you are in gun battles. If only they would of worked on the game longer could of been a Great Game. Worth a Rent are 24.99 buy at best good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hitman: Absoluti-it

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I've played every Hitman game to date. I pretty happy to have the game finally come to the PS3/360, and was even more excited that it was actually getting such great reviews. Despite a multitude of changes in development.

Unfortunately... it's really not too great.

Lets' start with the good stuff. Contracts is AWESOME, couldn't think of a better, more original and unique way to have Multiplayer in Hitman. Although, more options would be nice. It's a bit limited.
There are some brief moments in the campaign where Absolution does Hitman right. Perfect layout, kill a target, here's a bunch of ways to go about it, so many options.

But the MAJORITY of the game is this linear path where it's just some cookie-cutter TPS that can't hold a candle to most on the market, let alone a leader like Uncharted.
What ever happened to each level being it's own self contained contract? That's what Hitman is, that's why Hitman is great. This is not Hitman.
There's this AWFUL overarcing story that is THE WORST STORY. EVER.

And, in all honesty, the TRUEST, PURIST way to actually ENJOY this game, is to play it on Easy. Because so much of the game is flawed, especially disguises, Easy is the only way to actually feel like Agent 47 is as good as he's supposed to be. Any other difficulty and the game is just miserable and intolerable. Especially with that story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A step down from greatness

posted by d4ed4lus (OAKDALE, LA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

They had a good thing going with blood money with the weapon customizations and very unique and flexible levels. The story has always been custard, but this one greatly improves on the graphics and story. I think it plays a bit more like manhunt and batman arkham city then the other hitman series. It bummed me out how this turned out, I was actually going to buy this game but the missions are short, not really nice exploitable levels with alot of ways to kill your target. The whole game you spend pretty much on the run, the feeling of the game is that you are a wanted man, yes you come into the world with low radar but never the less your like, get a disguise and blend in.they add this batman/assassins creed eagle view thing that really killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by MrFloydAFA (MCKINNEY, TX) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a serious fan of the series, you will love this release.

If you are not, you will likely become quickly frustrated as I did, which is why this is a solid RENT.

It is clear from the beginning that the developers attempted to take out the linearity of previous titles by adding various methods to eliminating your foes. This however is only partially evident as the game progresses, as you soon feel there are only certain means to accomplish the ends, and the linearity of the series soon returns.

I was most frustrated at the fact that masked disguises were discovered by the enemy as quickly as non masked disguises. I feel this makes the game more frustrating than necessary, and takes out any sense of realism from the start.

Targets throughout the campaign are on a timed path, which is fun at first but can make the game very simple to master as each target is vulnerable at different times.

On a positive note, the new point system brings out the competitive side in any gamer, as "47" type moves and actions lead to huge point bonuses, while recklessness quickly chips away at the total. Each mission is prompted by a local country and world average score, driving you to say "anything you can do, I can do better" before Agent 47 even takes his first step into the mission.

The true challenge of proving it is brought to the forefront through the 'contracts' mode where players may create contracts with specific restrictions. This is fun at first, but due to the game's design this typically only allows one path like the campaign.

Overall this is a very solid RENT, and should only be bought by diehard fans of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SSDD

posted by cman409 (ALHAMBRA, CA) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game felt like I was playing the same missions or patterns over and over again, like a maze where little piece of cheese were rewards. I may have been out of my confront zone but games like this I tend to steer far away. This game set that in stone. Hey the movie was okay...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by Deadpun (TAYLOR, MI) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I am towards the end of the story but there is so many different ways to play each level, I will probably be keeping this game for awhile, it is truly a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

47 needs to be returned to his former glory

posted by shovelfighter (REDDING, CA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This was not the game I was hopeing for. I got a ps2 recentely just to play hitman bloodmoney. and i will be playing my favorite missions over and over. this game just had to many fallow me paths. not that many targets to take out. the ones you did have really dident have a grate back ground story. you cant supe up your wepons in story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

almost

posted by 380 (LITHONIA, GA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

good game.. but i think you guys may wanna change the name to fugitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hitman

posted by ecb2565 (ACTON, MA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is the best Hitman game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by che4ever (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

it hitman reborn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse