Rent History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions for Xbox 360
view large frontback

History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
5.2

1959 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

With much hestitancy...

posted by Cletus (CANTON, GA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

58 out of 64 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

...I rented this game, mainly due to the fact that its predecessor (quite frankly) sucked. I was pleasantly surprised, though, to find that "Secret Missions" game was a marked improvement over the first game. For one thing, you actually have regenerating health rather than hitpoints, which is something that the first game really screwed up (a health bar in an fps? how 1990's...). Also, the game's difficulty has been more evenly distributed; players who played the first game most likely know that the levels switch between easy and difficult without much of a discernable pattern. "Secret Missions" also includes an uprgrade feature. You earn points which you can spend on increased health, faster regeneration, etc.
The action in the game is fast and frantic; I guarantee that it won't bore you (And may I add parenthetically that the grenades KICKS REAR). I only have three problems with this game, and they are as follows:

1. Length: "Secret Missions" is very short...only ten missions. And that wouldn't even be to bad in itself; the main problem is that some of the missions won't take you more than 5 minutes to complete.

2. In-game physics: there are some graphical errors that some people would ignore, but people like me just can't. The worst one happened on a level where you man a gatling gun on a moving train. Whenever you fire the gun, there is a bright muzzle blast. During the level, the train enters a pitch dark tunnel and your screen goes black. If you fire the gun in the tunnel, you'd expect the room to be lit by the muzzle blast, but its not. the room remains pitch black when you fire, and the muzzle blast is not visible. Not a major problem, of course, but I can't ignore it.

3. Boring gunner levels: occasionally you man cannons or gatling guns on trains or boats. These sequences are normaly frustratin (on the former) or boring (on the latter) .

All things considered, this game makes for a good weekend play; but don't expect much more from it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun game

posted by TheButcher (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very good for a budget game I wasn't expecting much at all really. but the achievements were easy, which i wanted from this game, and also the AI isn't too bad expect for the fact they are like wall hackers in MW2, but this game is a very good game to rent if your just looking for some easy achievements and a fun time playing

9/10

graphics: 6/10
story: 5/10
achievements: 10/10
gameplay: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by delcodude10 (LYNCHBURG, VA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome and really fun rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very much a 5

posted by Kaptanbo (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 11, 2008

Member since May 2006

34 out of 42 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Just like the first civil war game from the History channel it's fun to play. Tack on some interesting history pieces and you've got a few hours to kill.

If you expect more than 2 - 4 hours of game time don't bother, but if you're waiting for 'big' games or just want a little fun go ahead and rent it.

Something to be said for the change in shooting styles (even if the gameplay itself is rather 2003). You definitley can't run and gun with a muzzle loader.

Final word:

Not more than a 5 not less than a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

call of duty:educational

posted by styers (LITCHFIELD, CT) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this game is the best pre-WWII shooter ever. PERIOD! get it NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dissapointing

posted by xmasterx (GARRISON, TX) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I expected to have a cool C.W. game. But this is what I got

graphics: This game was made in 2008, close to the air date of HALO 3,
you would expect it to have better graphics. graphics get a very bad 3.0

Gameplay: Pretty good. Better than Battlefield 2 that's for sure. But it says that its playable over xbox live and playstaiton network. but it's not.
it would be nice to play as the yanks because I'm a yank and I'm proud to be one. Gameplay gets a decent 6.5

Sound: The sound was hard to rate. The explosion sound is spot on but some times it sounds very bad to have 4 explosions, 12 people talking, 17 guns are being fired at the same time. Sound gets a good 7.3

overall: C.W. gets an average 5.6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Rental for a Civil War FPS.

posted by SPARTAN000 (STAFFORD, VA) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For a Civil War FPS (expect Medal of Honor meets "Gettysburg" the movie), this is actually a pretty good game. Much better that the History Channel's last attempt at the Civial War, but nothing ground breaking. Support AI is worthless but the period weapons handle fairly well and the level design and graphics look nice but the character design and graphics are weak. There are two segments of rail shooting, one firing a cannon from a ship and another shooting a Gatlin Gun from a train, both were pretty pathetic. Otherwise, I thought it was a great rental and I may buy used when it goes for under $25.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EASY GAME EASY POINTS

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Just like all the other History Channel titles, this game is VERY EASY ! You can walk through the game on easy in about 90 minutes, then go back through it on hard and it takes about 2 1/2 hours. The graphics are horrible just like the others, the missions are very , very short just like the others. But if your looking to get that gamer score up, its about 650 points in less than 3 hours total.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by lilreb (CLARKSVILLE, AR) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Was a great game- really enjoyed it. The only problem was after playing for awhile it keeps throwing you back in the same checkpoint and would not proceed to the next mission. Not sure if I was a complete idiot or if there was a glitch in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

To cheesy

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) May 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok this is the first History Channel game i played and i thought it might be fun. well i was wrong, the lack of storyline and automtic route upset me, not to mention the graphics. The guns were the only good part of the game but other than that i would never rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Basically a Knockoff

posted by CameraKid (ASHBURN, VA) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is basically a knockoff of the Call of Duty series. Yeah, there is some "history" in it but the game is so bad its not worth it.

TV channels shouldn't make video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

History Channel Civil War:Secret Missions

posted by texshooter (NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thought it would be fun playing a civil war first person shooter.Well when it comes to this game.Its not far from being fun.Gotten part way through and for whatever reason I kept getting kill after setting off explosives and I was far enough away where it shouldn't be doing it.Since there wasn't a walkthrough to give me an idea as to why it kept doing it I gave up on the game.I found it stupid I can set off the first explosives and be 5 feet from the building and came out fine and the second set of explosives I can be 60 feet from the building with buildings in between us and died every time.Bullcrap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is someting i wouldn't buy

posted by ihadley (SHERWOOD, OR) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i got this game it came two days earlier than i normally get games which told me this is not popular. i opened up the game and started playing imediatley. I was very impressed by the graphics, but the thing that really grinds my gears about this game it that the campaign was ten missions long and way to easy. i started the game on easy but when i realized that i never died i moved up to hard. but even on the hardest skill level i only died once and that was when i walked past a guy i thought i had killed earlier in a small firefight that ended up shooting me at point blank in the head. i really think anyone who see's the screen shots and thinks this game is great just read my review
DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please don't it is a waste of my time and it will be a waste of yours. If you want a good shooter try Halo 3 odst i just played at a friends house i will never regret playing that game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Almost an ok Game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Feb 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I don't see how you can Enjoy this game because your fighting 1 million to 1 and unless you have an HD TV You can barely see the Enemies when your right on top of them. I Have one thing ti say to game makers Not very many People have HD tvs so make the Graphics Good on a Regular Tv FIRST not the other way Around because the Fancy Graphics Look Really bad On a Regular TV which I am Guessing 95 out of 100 people that have an XBox360 are Playing on. This game had alot of Promise but because you can't see the Enemies even when your standing 2 ft from them on a Regular TV the Game falls way short of being Good Rent it if your a Civil war Buff or are looking for a Game that will Make you Mad after you Die for the 1000th time or you have an HD Tv Might be fun to play then but for me it wasen't that fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

History

posted by lakerd24 (OAKLEY, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The gameplay was nice but the graphics and guns were terrible a good game for history nerds but not for a teenager

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's alright I gues

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Pros: easy gameplay achievements and actually playable campaign good if your bored

Cons: bad story to short game 10 levels some levels take you 5 minutes to complete lots of glitches and freezing

Overall it's pretty cool worth only a 1 day long rent (cause that's how long it'll take you to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent shooter

posted by clippers1624 (CUMBERLAND, RI) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If you love FPS games and want a change of pace, then try this out. Its tough to get use to because there are no automatic guns during this time frame, but its not all bad. Graphics are average at best but its a decent game about the civil war, which there arent any to begin with. Its a step up over the 1st game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Civil War:Secret Missions

posted by ultra (CHANDLER, TX) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This is a very good game.There aren't many civil war games out there and this one is very similar to Call Of Duty 2 and 3.........so if you liked COD, then u will like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

maybe ive been spoiled but....

posted by ChuckNorris897 (BYRAM TOWNSHIP, NJ) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

ok so i didn't expect this game to be anything special or anywhere near as good as call of duty. but after playing games like call of duty, battlefield, and gears of war, you get spoiled and then these games just lose all of thier appeal. the game isn't bad it just does not stand up to the other games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

5 out of 10

posted by SubaruMan10 (BROWNSVILLE, VT) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It wasnt that this game was a bad game.... It just wasnt really a good game either. I played the original when it first came out and it was a pretty good game, I think this one is not nearly as good. The graphics are terrible and the story is so pre-set and you cant move around too much within the map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Bille192 (WALDO, FL) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

this game is not good at all i would rather play mw2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

history channel secret missions

posted by crustyb (EUTAW, AL) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

CW: Secret Missions

posted by masterCaleb7 (COVINGTON, VA) Feb 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Overall the game was adequate, gameplay was fun. The game however I would not consider buying, but hey that's what you have gamefly for anyways right? The game is something I would add to my GameQue

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for history buff's

posted by roachclip (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If your a teen looking for real action then this game is not for you. I loved it cause it was pretty accurate to the period. The guns was the same. The game play was not hard to learn. The graphics was a little generic but the History channel is not known for making video games. I think they did a good job. There is plenty of action in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

complacated

posted by Bison12 (NEW BUFFALO, MI) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I didn't like History Channle Civil War Secret Missions because the graphics where pretty bad for a 2008 game,also it was pretty hard on normal I did'nt even beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse