Rent History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions for PS3
view large frontback

History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.5

1122 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

different stage, same act, but still fun if...

posted by yoyoyoo (SANTA MONICA, CA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

you don't knitpick too much. it's a bit repetitive but not too much so, it's also a bit predictable but still acceptable, the story and dialogue is a bit corny but the stage, the civil war, is interesting. if realism in game mechanics is important, this game probably won't earn high marks. if simply playing an easy to play, straight-forward shooter game is your thing (you don't even get any button layout choices), it might be fairly fun. i usually play shooters in easy mode so my interest is in gameplay. it played well, moved along at a good pace, and mixed in history with fiction which was interesting. a fair mix of targets and settings made it engaging all the way through with only a few moments of feeling repititive play due to limited target variety. you got soldiers and more soldiers. moving targets besides those running and ducking such as on horse, train, etc would have been good and so with engagement in a large scale battle, but both we're lacking.

in any given stage, i only needed a few restarts, if any, which was great as i like to finish games in a few days worth of playing. this game's easy mode was easier than some others which i appreciated. still, after finishing, i was ready to move on. i tried a couple "missions" in normal mode which wasn't any more fun and the hard mode was a bit annoying. the end was anti-climatic as a bonus stage was available, which wasn't all that great, and when i finished the bonus stage, it seemed like you'd next join the final "seige", but nada, it just took me back to the beginning of the bonus stage.

overall, a light game, both in play and substance (weapon choice was very limited and no weapon stats were available), but a decent game to mindlessly unwind with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been a much better game...

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) May 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Civil War has always been one of my favorite historical periods to read about and study. So I decided to give this one a whirl and see how it stacks up on the PS3. I was a bit upset at how short this game is. Seriously, it took me less than 2.5 hours to play through on the hard setting. No multiplayer, online, or additional bonus options save for one extra mission. You start of the game as Confederate soliders who take on espionage type missions to gather intel and get the upper hand. A few missions into the game and you get to play as the Union soldiers. The gameplay is straight first person shooter. You get to carry tw weapons and a small handful of grenades. Your objectives are very simple and the game follows a very linear path. Just follow your compass. For those who don't mind playing with Civil War era weapons, will find the guns to be pretty accurate and easy to shoot. The only drawback of course is that each gun reloads very slowly. The control scheme works well and the effects sound great. The graphics are very last generation as this game looks like your playing on a PS2. The opening narration is a good history lesson and I liked the use of old photos to give it a documentary feel. What prompts me to give this game such a low score is that the game is way to short, your allies can't effectively shoot, the enemy A.I. is dumb and the game is not strategic enough. I would have preferred a more open ended environment where you are allowed to create your own paths and use more strategic maneauvers like flanking. It seems that not much time was put into making this game. For what its worth, I did like the idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than expected

posted by erockny (CANTON, MI) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I usually don't rent games with a below five rating I figured i would give it a shot. (It was the 14th game on my Q) This game is fairly entertaining. Not as bad as some of the other reviews make it out to be. Graphics are decent. Game play in good and the story is ok. If you like history the story will teach some things. The game only takes about 5 hours to beat. If you need something to do for and afternoon this game will keep you mildly entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Painfully Easy

posted by sumyunguy (PAWTUCKET, RI) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Educational I guess. Fun game play, but it was over way to fast. Unless you're very inexperienced with this type of game, the only way to be remotely challenged is to play the "Difficult" setting. Glad it was a rental and not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring, but not the worst game I have ever played.

posted by NlGHTWOLF7 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Games like this are the reason I love Gamefly. I rented this game because I am a history buff and because I also enjoy war games. If I had purchased this game I would have been very upset. The game is way too short and way too easy, even on hard. The graphics are poor and the game play is extremely repetitive and gets boring very quickly. The ending was so anticlimactic that it almost made it not worth it. I would only recommend this game if you would like to see a war from the civil war perspective, although this may turn you off to the idea of future civil war based games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

History Channel Civil War: Secret Misions

posted by deano63 (BELTON, SC) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This was a basic war game. Although i liked it, it lacked more missions and was pretty easy to go through. It would be good for the players first starting out in playing shooting games. Also it was not a lengthy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great not terrible

posted by McLinAtL (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Cool game, needs to be online, way to easy and way to short. not worth buying but fun none the less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DONT RENT IT

posted by Dynasty123 (NEWARK, NJ) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

it verry boring
while shooting you miss atleast 4 or 5 times up close in range and they dont die...
The story is good but playing is verrry bad
but its my taste of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions

posted by kain3030 (PORT HURON, MI) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Semi good game but there really isnt much interaction with the surroundings as well as only faceing 5 or 6 enemies at a time. i would have liked a game were they had big battles like gettysburg or antietem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

another terrible game

posted by UncleRico (ISLIP, NY) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

ok, here is the long and short of yet another disappointing game from history channel.

the enemy AI= non-existent. enemies will stand in 1 spot and allow you to just pick them off with no reaction. then, 5 or 6 more enemies will spawn to that exact location, and you can just wait and kill them too, you don't even have to adjust your aim.

the game play/mission objectives= a five year old could follow these missions and objectives, there is nothing creative or challenging about any of them.

cut scenes= are just terrible, and and nothing to the game or story line.

your squad AI= if you can call them a squad, will serve no purpose in this game, they will most times be pointed in he wrong direction, or running up against a wall or simply doing nothing. the only thing they will do is repeat corny phrases over and over with no connection to the action on the scene.

the ONLY positive i can say about this game is that the scenery/locations for the game are actually pretty good.

other than that this game is just a waste, avoid it..i am just re-playing other better games waiting for FEAR to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth buying

posted by motoman08 (FRANKLIN, WI) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I was very unimpressed with the game .. it was very hard to shoot and it takes like 4 shots to kill one guy .. after the first level its pretty repetitive the same thing just another mission . the other thing is there is no onlin game play which really sucks . The game itself wasnt bad it had nice graphics. it was nice to see a game other then ww2 and modern day but I would not recomend this game for purchase , thats why game fly is so nice now im not out 50 bucks . it was fun for about 20 min then I was done and it was hard to go back to it to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok...

posted by JJJJJJJJJJ (MILLERSBURG, IN) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

the game is not online which takes alot of the greatness in a game away from it and the game is AWSOME at first but gets boring DEFINITLY a game just to get for a few days all the game you just run around in different areas and shoot guys there is somtimes a little object but mostly run in theis road and shoot these guys kinda borig

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions

posted by NEBulldog (GERING, NE) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a bad game to pass some time! However it is slow paced and different than the fast paced 1st person shooter games.

The historical background is pretty accurate (what else to expect from the History Channel). They could have done a little better job on the graphics in my opinion.

I did not like the way the aiming is set up but I learned to live with it after a few levels.

Overall it was ok but nothing I would buy. It did kill my boredom for a few hours and kept me awake on the couch!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun for an afternoon

posted by thevinstro (PASO ROBLES, CA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is really short and you can complete everything easily in a single afternoon. the missions arent very involved and you dont have to think about anything to much. its short simple and i thought it was fun, i wont be playing it everyday but it was a fun experience. what people need to keep in mind about this game is its a civil war game; guns back then werent very accurate and didnt hold a lot of ammo so if you like shooters where you can run around blasting off hundreds of rounds this isnt your game. the combat is mostly picking a spot to hide and carefully picking your shots and you have to reload constantly.i think that was what i liked best about the game was being able to use period weapons, its a nice change from machine guns and lasers. one thing i didnt like is they give you too much ammo; you could probably beat the game with grenades alone as long as you can find all the ammo refills in each level. rent it,kill an afternoon, kill some confederates its not worth purchasing or playing through more than a few times at most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD HISTORY GAME

posted by nikolillie (TUOLUMNE, CA) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought it would be cool but it wasnt that great. I had it for 3 days and i only got to level 3. kinda hard at some points. It looked very very very very cool on the overview. But sad to say it wasnt that great. Dont buy it. it isnt worth it.
NOT THAT GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

History Channel Civil War: Secret Missions

posted by 7B1555 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can review this game in one word: terrible. Upon receiving this game in the mail, after 45 minutes of game play it was in the return envelope.

Although, the graphics were impressive, the weapons selection and repetitive ramblings by the background characters made this game terrible.

This game is a waste of time, effort, and money to all those who made it, bought it, or played it. Pick something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Last gen

posted by Fergie (SPRINGBROOK, WI) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had a lot to go on i mean it is the civil war and people love history but now to get straight to the point

This game as simple misions that I beat in 5 mins a mission on hard

but even worse are the grafics it look like a game that you should beeen playing on ps1 / maybe 2 the game is hopeless so a overall score is 1

End of story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by MCharlieG (DICKINSON, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow was this boring. Zero story, blah graphics, terrible weapon accuracy, mindless AI...

...dont waste your time. Just watch the history channel instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time

posted by RyyGuyy (AIKEN, SC) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought It was very boring. It repeats every level basically with just different enviroments.I dont reccomend even renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ouch

posted by Bumbleguy (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Awful, Awful, Awful, I don't know where to begin, so I'm not going to. This game should have those Police barriers around it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cilver war seket missins

posted by gamer17 (JACKSON, GA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was ferly ok.Just what I can,t understand is thers why are thers not many canins inth game.I mena come on ther was more canins than gatlin guns.The botom line is it,s somthing you mite want to play to have a littlo fun soting pipole wail lerning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

History Channel Civil War:Secret Missions

posted by brandonlah (BATAVIA, IL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game totally sucks. I would not recommend it to anyone who likes first person shooters. It's very hard, the aiming is so unreliable, and the graphics are not even that good. I was also really surprised that the storyline was not that great either. This game could have had alot of potential.

Good try though.
Cheers.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT THE HECK!!!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What the heck was history channel thinking!!!??? This game is so short, the game play sucks, the story line sucks, and last but not least, even the graphics suck. Long story short, THIS GAME SUCKS #$$!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow version of COD

posted by gamerguys150 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

It's call of duty, except shorter and slower gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

civil war

posted by lambert420 (TOLONO, IL) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

game dont play its not fair i pay a lot for things not to work im almost ready to stop my acount

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse