Rent History Channel: Battle for the Pacific for PS2
view large frontback

History Channel: Battle for the Pacific

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.5

417 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game, lots of shooting action

posted by djlovesps2 (DAYTON, OH) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i enjoyed playing this game. each level had many, many enemies to take out. several levels had pockets of enemies that made the game challenging, even in the easy setting. i only have a few complaints about the game. one is that bullets never run out when firing machine guns or anti-aircraft guns. another complaint is that i shot down a japanese plane and it crashed only feet away from me, yet i didn't get injured! the only other complaint is that on a few levels, a sniper rifle with a scope is needed. sometimes when i looked through the scope, i thought i saw movement of an enemy, but it was just the graphics of the background, so i blew my cover by shooting at nothing. all in all, however, this is a great look into what life might have been like in world war in the pacific. i enjoyed the clips of actual footage too! this is a great action game with actual history thrown in for good measure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great but not satisfying

posted by greatbut (TAYLOR, TX) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

the game was ok but i personaly think that they can do better with the graffix good game for a childs mind but adult to easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

history channel games are not very good

posted by gutman (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the second history channel game I played and it was about the same. Very uneventful. Once again don't play this game its not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by ambris (GLENWOOD, AR) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst first shooter I have ever played. This game is slow and is hard to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

history kiks butt

posted by guny1295 (ODENVILLE, AL) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 31 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

we all know about the battle of the pacific but know we can reliv it!being able to know more about it is better than not knowing anything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SICK!

posted by Allan123 (HELIX, OR) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

GROSS!I SHOT HIM IN THE GRIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!STILL LAGHING!HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Challenging But Weak

posted by NightHawk8 (SPIRO, OK) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is challenging with loads of enemies to shoot. The graphics are at times choppy, lagging or grainy sometimes all three at once in some of the 12 levels. Also in this game you are a "1 man army" meaning you are the ONLY allied soldier fighting in each level. Some levels use a LOT of bullets and when they do i just pick up the enemies gun, then you technically get unlimited bullets because there are so many enemies in trees, huts, just around the bend and out of the wood work. In my opinion the Call Of Duty series is much much much better, one thing about this game i have never seen in any other war game is when you throw a grenade at the enemy they run and rarely get hit. I rate this game a 7 because it is challenging but the graphics are weak, levels last from 15 minutes to 40 minutes depending on how many enemies there are and if you get killed or not, there is no tutorial in the game just a controller configuration page that can't be changed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its history but not a good game

posted by crashwart (WATERBORO, ME) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

i stopped after the first mission. i have a lot of issues with this game. first you cant see who is shoting at you because to game does not show them grass is bad. second when you get shot hundreds of times and dont die what is the point and you dont need health just time to recover not real or even close. then the graphics for a play station game should be alot better. and then the long load times is terriable. i dont recomend unless you want to be sending it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

waste of time

posted by ananymous (SEMINOLE, FL) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

O.K. if you want to waste one hour of your life, get this game. i beat it in one hour. the graphics are horrible. they are worse than halo 1. the game is very unrealistic, i shot a full clip from a type 99 at someone's head and they didn't die. i walked in front of machine gun fire and lasted for a minute while being shot at. i highly recommend you DO NOT get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Graphics

posted by 12ase26 (GRASSTON, MN) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

My opinion on the game is that it has pretty good graphics. Graphics are something I look for in a game and out of 1-10 this game, to me, got a 8 for its rating in graphics. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointed

posted by jonjo12321 (FRESNO, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

After renting The Civil War, I expected this game to be good because of the advanced technology (compared to the civil war) and the fact that is was done by the History Channel. Instead, I was disapointed with it. Some parts weren't horrible, like the boat chase, but it was repetative and boring overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Historically Accurate

posted by accurate (LOMA LINDA, CA) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

If you are looking for a very accurate WWII pacific front game, this the one for you. Easy to play, and fun too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Does it get any worse

posted by geewiz94 (CLARK, NJ) Jun 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I am personally a WWII game freak. So when I heard of this game I wanted to try it. In about an hour and a half, I was through with it. It is easy to see that they just made it to make a quick buck. It is basically levels of running a race through jungles or trenches, and shooting Japanese soldiers along the way. The only thing remotely good about the game is the graphics, but that's about it. Trust me. If you want to play a game about the pacific battles of WWII, then try MOH Rising Sun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok game

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

The game was OK the graphics were awesome.There was some bad language.I think the levels are to long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Battle for the Pacific review

posted by armeguy19 (HEBRON, IL) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I liked this game a whole lot. It gave me more information on WW2. I really loved the aiming it was accurate and sufficient. I didn't like the way the enemy came out of no where and kept on coming and didn't stop, but other than that it was very fun. I give it 2 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »