Rent History Channel: Battle for the Pacific for Wii
view large frontback

History Channel: Battle for the Pacific

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.2

325 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by games4ever (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was the worst game of all time the graphics sux the weapons sux the the AI sux and dont even get me started on the story line. watever u do DO NOT RENT THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

serious doo doo

posted by cheez23 (Larchmont, NY) May 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

dont bother with this game i mean that the campaign is darn near impossible gawd even if you do complete it which i doubt you will there will be nothing

RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK

people who rent this shall have your soul harvested by this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage, plain and simple.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This is to be the worst game I've played on the Wii thus far. While the graphics look fine, the controls are so badly mapped and executed, that you'll wonder if the developer even bothered to look at the standard Wii FPS control scheme. Aiming is the first offender, the boundary box is jerky, and there is no way to adjust it, you're stuck with controls so broken that aiming at a moving target is impossible! I think that anyone who wrote bad review for any other Wii shooter, should be FORCED to play this game, then re-evaluate those other games. The time wasted just TRYING to play this game would have been better spent in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Graphics, Bad Controls, Bad AI

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm a Wii owner, so I don't expect the graphics to be anything spectacular, but this game looks like an N64 game. On top of that, being a Wii owner I expect the controls to be unique and intuitive. However, the controls in this game suck, and you can't customize them like you can in Medal of Honor: Heroes 2. When you move your shooting cursor on the screen your gun doesn't move until you're almost off the screen. You could use the classic control instead of the wii-mote, but then you might as well just get this game for your ps2, it probably has better graphics for that system. When you finally do get a shot off into the enemy, they are like Terminators and just keep coming at you and some people take 4 or 5 bullets before they die! Horrible!

Very bad game! Not worth a rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad, Bad, Bad

posted by Croniis (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game after playing and enjoying The History Channel Presents: The Civil War on another gaming system. But after loading up the Wii version of Battle for the Pacific and spending about 30min of game time with it, I returned the game as fast as I could to GameFly.

First thing I noticed when I took control of my onscreen character was how jerky the controls were and how impossible it was to aim my weapon with any accuracy at all. The slightest movement of the Wiimote caused my onscreen cursor to move about the screen in an almost uncontrollable fashion. I was becoming dizzy watching myself spin round and round as I attempted to get any amount of control of my character.

Realizing I couldn't play the game this way, I went into options menu to make adjustments. I was shocked to find NO option to adjust the sensitivity at all. In fact, there were NO control options at all.... nothing, nada, zero.

Shaking my head in bewilderment, I returned to the game and quickly depleted much of my ammo trying to figure out how to hit the stationary enemies. Then the moving enemies started approaching and all hope (and the war) was lost.

Unable to kill any of the moving enemy with the small amount of my remaining ammo, I armed myself with my knife, let out a roar, and removed the game as quickly as I could from the Wii.

The graphics aren't horrible and the background information of WWII is interesting. But the terrible controls and awful enemy AI ruined any chance of enjoyment I might have gotten from playing the game. The game actually felt like it was never actually completed, but instead rushed out the door to take advantage of the holiday shopping season.

Battle for the Pacific was a waste of my time and Activision should be ashamed for releasing this game in the manner they did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

History Channel, Battle for the Pacific

posted by dogeodave (DICKSON CITY, PA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a POOR attempt at, what could have been a quality game. I'm sorry to say it, but just about every thing about this game is done badly. The aiming is horrible. I could barely control my weapon. The AI is also horrible. At one point in the game an enemy was standing right in front of me with his gun aimed, but not shooting! The motion controls rarely work. About the only good thing about this game is that the weapons look realy good, although the rest of the graphics look like a PS2 game. Battle for the pacific is just not fun. If your looking for a good FPS then I recommend Medal of Honor Heros 2, Call of Duty 3, or Metroid Prime 3 Corruption.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK

posted by JiMBO18 (TOPSFIELD, MA) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my personal opinion, this game was not worth the rental. The graphics and characters are weakly designed and the controls are very difficult to maneuver.

If you would like to rent an excellent war first person shooter, buy a 360 and get Call of Duty 4, one of the best games of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

where to start?

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics are ok for this game along withthe sounds. but the controls are horrid! barely move the remote and your spinning around 360 degrees made movement and aiming impossible. if you want a good fps for the wii i would get medal of honor 2 so far the best one i have seen and played. stay away from this game / played less than 5 min and sent it back the same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

history channel

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

it's by the history channel. that's all you need to know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAttle for the pacific???

posted by SPARTAN265 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is good at first but in reality the game play is unrealistic and the graphics are horrible.If your a new gamer you might like it but its pretty hard to beat and it gets very annoying.I recommend CALL OF DUTY3 much higher over this. I hear its good for the XBOX360 but on the Wii it really SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by mememe (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game has huge potential but doesn't live up to it. The aiming is very difficult, and the gameplay just isn't realistic. I shot a guy 9 times with M-1 before he went down. No one could take 9 shots from a 30-06. Also the game is very dark, so dark that you can't realy see what you are doing. If you are looking for a good FPS, this is not it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of those games

posted by Csinclair (FELTON, DE) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I rented this game because I had not gotten a chance to play a FPS game on the Wii. Being able to aim with the Wii Remote was definitely a plus. It did make the game more enjoyable.

This game is O.K, but all in all its just one of those games. If you've ever played a FPS WW2 game, there is nothing about this game that makes it stand out from all the rest. Really, after playing the latest COD game, this game is like taking a step back in time.

I will say that if you've never played this type of game before, you will like it, but you would like any game in this genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hard to control

posted by top5955 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

I found that it was very difficult to aim the weapons and keep it on target with the WII controls. I didn't even make it through the first scenario before I just gave up and didn't even bother trying. I was frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I love history channel, not the games

posted by EmcSquare (Saint Petersburg, FL) May 18, 2008

Member since May 2008

I played this game roughly for 5 minutes, it was cool to see historical events in movie format on the wii. One positive feature of the game is that you can use the classic remote to play. This game has very very excellent potential, but the reason this reviewer rated it a 2 is the extremely horrible controls. I could only play this game for about 5 minutes, the wii remote doesnt do to good of a job aiming and sadly, moving with the classic remote just felt awkward. I love you History Channel, but find a better developer next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst FPS I ever played

posted by dunnagan (VALLEJO, CA) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I think this commentary from the online forum rrbgames sums it up best: "After playing through the first mission I ejected it from my Wii, placed it back it the sleeve, and promptly mailed it back...Simply put: Worst. FPS. Ever. It took me over 90 minutes to trudge through the first mission. I’ll tell you why. First controlling your soldier feels like controlling a busted tank and getting your bearings enough to shoot back at multiple enemies is near impossible. Up close enemies just stand there firing off lazy shots, while you clumsily aim the Wii remote to turn your aiming reticule red so you don’t miss like Greedo at point blank range. But get far away enough, like hundreds of yards away with your line of sight hidden by dense vegetation, and the Japanese soldiers gain godlike powers with impeccable aim and magic bullets that bend around corners and always find their mark. So I had to somehow retreat to safe place to wait for my health meter to refill (just like the real Marines interviewed on the History Channel recall doing) before trying to tackle that area again. Of course invisible walls force you into the bottleneck, so you just have to hope for the best. Use tactics such as flanking or finding higher ground? No, that would be cheating!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't be worse

posted by NeilkCA (YORBA LINDA, CA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

OK, read the other reviews, my tastes in games are usually less critical than others. Give it a try, maybe it could be fun despite what people said. Do yourself a favor, believe those other reviews. History Channel, you should be ashamed to have your name on this game. On an HDTV with component cables giving the 480p experience, usually crystal clear and beautiful colors on most other Wii games ... this one was block-like characters, hard to see at times, smeared out of focus when you could see them. Trying to aim your weapon was a horror. There was no way you could keep it from wandering around, and like others mentioned, you could only hope to shoot for the fraction of a second that the cross-hair turned red. That was your only indication that you were on target.

The physics did not exist at all. Try to throw a grenade and you end up looking at the sky and stuck in that position for a bit. Enemies appeared out of nowhere, but no fear ... it took a lot before your character died. Even a grenade blowing up in your face, left you standing and fighting. Trying to look down the sights of your weapon gave you a blurred constantly moving image.

Battle for the Pacific is without question the worst Wii game I have experienced to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I had trouble with the aiming on this game. Then,

posted by kevinj (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I had trouble with the aiming on this game. Then, I read some input on some of the game blogs and got the suggestion to use two hands. Actually, I used one finger from the hand I used for the nunchuk. That provided enough stability to overcome the frustration.

This is a fun and entertaining game. I'm not a diehard gamer looking for supreme challenges. That's the reason I hate Mario.

I like a moderate challenge and realistic chance of beating the game without having to invest hundreds of hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT BAD, COULD BE BETTER

posted by sharks416 (HAMILTON, NJ) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

The game isn't that bad. It is a little hard to control the aiming of your gun with the Wii controller and nunchuk. I found the missions to be fairly easy and completed them rather quickly. Graphics are OK, not the best, but certainly not the worst that I've seen.

If you like to run around and just shoot enemies this is not a game for you. I found very few enemies and most times they just stood in one place and let you shoot them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

stop crying

posted by str8moneyB (TROY, NY) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This game is not that bad.Everyone keeps crying about the controls. Its not a run and gun game. Its about moving slowly, secretively, and strategically. If you have problems with the aim, try holding yours hand together to steady your shot. The storyline is ok, graphics are above average, and the clip movies are cool. The only thing that sucked was the game was too short, I beat it with 7 and a half hours of recorded game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as some reviews make it out to be

posted by bauer32301 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Some of the reviews I've read of this game seem a little harsh and unwarranted. I found it to be fun and easy to use. If you are a hardcore gamer and want ultra-realism, then you're probably better off with something like Medal of Honor. But me, I didn't like Medal of Honor that much because it was too hard to use the wii remote to aim, and fire, and move all at once. In Medal of Honor I always found myself staring at a wall while someone somewhere was shooting at me. This game allows you to use the classic remote instead of the wii remote, which for this kind of game, is much easier to use IMO, but using the wii remote is still an option. All in all I gave it a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THe History Channel?

posted by zgamer92 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

There's a reason why you don't see any other History Channel games lined up on the shelves of your local game shop. From the controls to the graphics, this game is practically garbage. Just stay away from this game. Stick to TV History Channel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont play this game....

posted by GeekyGuy (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

it is just as boring as watching the history channal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »