Rent High Velocity Bowling for PS3
view large frontback

High Velocity Bowling

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

314 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

good bowling game

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

for those that like bowling games this really isn't that bad of a bowling game i bought this game off the PSN store for like 9 bucks or so along with some DLC and its pretty fun and awesome to play . but if your not all into the whole bowling at all then this game is by all means not for you . but since you have gamefly id say rent it and if you like it buy it flat out off PSN for 9 bucks or if you got PS+ get for 5 bucks or so if you like it that is . overall its got pretty good replay value to it you pretty much get your moneys worth and then some . but like i say rent it then if you like it get it for dirt cheap on PSN .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Poor bowling game, worst on PS3

posted by alin0s (PALATINE, IL) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

High Velocity Bowling, just your average bowling game for the PS3. The graphics are PS2 like and nothing spectacular. I think this game was made more to showcase PS3 Move support, definitely worth a play if you are a bowling fan like me, once you get used to throwing your SIXAXIS controller like a bowling ball you kind of can play, the L2 R2 spin control is abominable. The game is poorly coded, there is no replays for if you get a strike which is a sorely lacking feature from many bowling games but is present on Playstation Home bowling. Why not here? This game is just not very good. This one is actually winning my worst rating

Graphics 3
Gameplay 5
Frustration Level 6
Overall Rating: 4

All in all, I recommend you stay far away from this title unless you are a serious bowler who cannot wait for a lane in PS Home or want to use PS Move support

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is what it is

posted by Drparj (MANCHESTER, NH) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Its that simple its a bowling game. Works well tracks well. Does what it is suppose to do. Nothing too fancy though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

High Velocity Bowling Sucks

posted by shyammega (OMAHA, NE) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Did not work for me. The side view is horrible. I need to be looking at the pins when releasing. Bad controls and bad game. Wish there was a rock solid bowling game for the ps3. Now with the move and all, one wishes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

complicated

posted by aseb00g1 (REIDSVILLE, NC) May 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

way to complicated. the controls are all wrong. wanted for a family game but it fell well short of expectations. needs to be simplified

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

High Velocity Bowling -

posted by Tbleau17 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I like teken tag bowling ,& had "High hopes for this one - but was highly dtsapointed! I had no idea you had to go thru down-loading it 1st & had to delete it because I dint have the right equipment to play it & was mad cause it took so long & waisted a afternoon and it was my free trial games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Okay

posted by jmj1492 (PORTAGE, IN) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I got this because we don't have a bowling alley around us and I like to bowl. This isn't anywhere near the real thing, but it was okay. My husband got mad when I started winning! The characters were okay...but cheesy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a waste

posted by jawbreaker (BLAINE, WA) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I keep thinking that on the PS3, a game like this should be so much better than the basic Wii Bowling. It's not.

Thank goodness for Gamefly because I'd be seriously ticked off if I paid money for this.

This game is kind of frustrating in setting the shot and makes playing more of a chore than a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suck

posted by laser1 (MILLVILLE, NJ) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2003

i dont want to watch some one bowl i want to bowl myself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Jimmy69 (LEVITTOWN, NY) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is the worst bowling game made for mankind...they should use all these discs as drink coasters...Very Bad gameplay (nothing like wii bowling!!)save yourself a rental..heed my warning!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER

posted by chrispm (COATESVILLE, PA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME... This game was not in my ps3 for more than 10 minutes, most of which was to install the game data. Myself, and two others, managed to get through two frames each before I immediately removed it and sealed the envelope to send it back. The mechanics are horrible and it is nearly impossible to feel as if your actually throwing a bowling ball, let alone the camera is a third person point of view. This game would probably be better without the Move controller. Wii definitely did a better job with bowling. The only enjoyable part about having this game was so I could write a review and hope that no one else ever wastes their time waiting for this game to arrive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't bother...

posted by Hendrixius (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Pros: This is hard for me - I hated this game. But, to be fair, it looks pretty good and has some quirky characters (sort of like Hot Shots Golf).

Cons: The controls are absolutely atrocious and the game provides virtually no tutorial (other than a few words on the screen as you attempt to bowl in real time...). Its integration with the Move is minimal at best - the game is frustrating and annoying to play, and is a lot closer to a Wii control setup in that you sort of just randomly sling your arm and hit a button to bowl - it takes zero advantage of the fact that the Move system can be used for on screen placement, direction, etc. If it were even half as fun as Wii bowling it would at least have garnished a 4 or 5, but somehow it just misses on all cylinders. I was enormously disappointing with this rental. The only thing keeping me from giving it a "1" is the desperate hope that somewhere out there exists a worse game, though I have my doubts...

Summary: Awful game with a very poor integration of Move controls and absolutely nothing compelling about the gameplay. I would not even waste a "free-trial" rental on this game. It is literally not worth the effort it took to put it back into the return envelope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Motion Control???

posted by zeeer0 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

not sure why I need a motion controller for this game. There are 3 steps to this bowling action. position your self at the line; you move the cursor left and right at the line and push the move button. Aim your ball direction; point the arrow that appears on the line in the direction you want to release the ball, push the move button on the motion controller. Here come the motion part. Release the ball for speed and spin. Your player starts out for the line slowly. The over the shoulder off to the side camera view is far from a first person feel. The speed is determined on how fast and long you hold the ball, and the spin is determined by the angle of the controller at trigger release. The control function are similar to the wii, my son tells me. If your looking for a first person Move experience like Sports Champions, this is not it. There were a lot of fun characters with special moves and quotes they kept repeating. Rent for 1 day while your waiting for the other games in your Q-list to become available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it's a just okay game

posted by WhereRUF (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

It's a good sport simulated game who loves to play in the living room.
Matching up with someone online is fun thing to do and it's a good family gather around game. what else...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't get this...Wii resorts is better

posted by cdztoybox (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Game looks good but side note...you need the PS Move navigation controller to do more than the 1st level....cant use a regular controller...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by Woohoo1 (DAYTON, OH) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I couldn't get past the fact that this game seemed to take all racial stereotypes to the max. Blacks, Mexicans, Whites, everybody. That really bothered me. The game wasn't all that fun to me and wasn't as great as i thought it would be. But, to each their own. Before you buy, you should try...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »