Rent High School Musical: Sing It for Wii
view large frontback

High School Musical: Sing It

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
4.7

249 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Only for HSM fans

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Nov 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Puts all of the HSM and HSM2 songs together
- Includes bonus Disney Channel songs (i.e., Hannah Montana, etc.)
- Duets incorporate accurate and distinct melodies (not just the main melody)

Cons
- Pitch meter is a little more confusing than other similar karaoke games
- Would have been nice if the background was actual video instead of cel shaded CG
- Menu controls are a little bit finicky
- Not clear what needs to be done to unlock certain things

If you love the HSM and HSM2 songs, this is a must buy. If you hate all things HSM, well, then you know to stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kids like the songs, hate the game

posted by JimDScott (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've got 2 daughters who are huge High School Musical fans. I thought this would be fun for them. I was wrong.

There are two major problems with the game. First is the interface. It's hard to tell from screen to screen exactly what you can change. It takes a lot of trial and error to get started playing a game. We're used to the Karaoke Revolution presentation, where all the words and notes scroll by during a song. Disney's game has the words scroll up from the bottom. About two measures are displayed at any one time. When you get to the end of the second measure, the new notes appear. This means you can't look ahead to see what notes are coming up. Finally, the game is U-G-L-Y. Easily the ugliest game I've played on the Wii. I think the characters look better on Karaoke Revolution for the GameCube.

Second, you can't choose which part of a song to sing in single mode. Want to sing the Sharpay's part of "Bop Bop Bop"? Tough. You can only sing Ryan's. Want to sing Gabrielle's part from "Start of Something New"? Tough. You can only sing Troy's.

On the positive side, the game does feature plenty of songs for HSM fans. With 2 microphones and a good mix of kids, this could be a fun party game. With one microphone and two daughters, it's a major disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't play the game

posted by kat5972 (FORT PIERCE, FL) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Th microphone isn't included, which Gamefly states in the description. Seems silly to rent out a game without the proper equipment to play it. My children were very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Microphone -- No Play

posted by bmints (MATTHEWS, NC) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Why bother shipping this game without the microphone? You can't even "preview" the game without hooking up a mic. Total waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

High School Musical Sing It

posted by highschool (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Wii game was horrible. There were only a couple song, nothing even remotely good, and the whole thing just was not good. I would not recommend this to someone who is getting this to sing fun songs. Slightly worse than Boogie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Had a Blast

posted by jacie624 (GUM SPRING, VA) May 13, 2009

Member since May 2009

My friend and I are huge HSM fans and we had a blast playing this game. You do need a mic but luckly I already had one and we spent hours playing it. Any HSM fan should have fun no matter if your hitting the right note or not and no matter what age you are, my friend and I are in our twenties. FUN, FUN, FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

We Like it:)

posted by momoffour (O FALLON, IL) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

First off, you need a microphone to play the game- but we already owned one from buying boogie(which was a horrible game). This game is so much better than that. My kids Love high school musical, so I know the songs as well as they do. I find myself singing along while they play. You can do story mode which goes through some of the songs in the order of the movie. Once you get through a few- you win additional songs. You can also choose to play whichever songs you like from the main menu. My kids don't want to send it back, but I think hsm3 coming out soon will be one to buy since it will have songs from all of the movies on it. If you have a microphone, and you like this movie- it's a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Definitely NOT Idol or Singstar

posted by kimtastic (ADA, OK) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Okay, when I first heard there was a HSM game, like any former Disney Cast Member, I was super excited like the big nerd I am. But, when I first put this game in last night, I was disappointed. Story Mode is bogus, and you have to unlock the songs from HSM2. And, I was honestly expecting something along the lines of American Idol or RockBand, but what they don't tell you is that A)you can't choose which part you sing, and B) if you're singing a song that was originally a duet, you have to sing the character's part--the harmonies or the melodies depending on which song and who's singing. And this game was meant for kids? I don't know many kids who can pick out a melody from a sea of voices. You let me down, Disney. Please, if you're going to do a follow-up when HSM 3 comes out, listen to these reviews and FIX IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game is useless

posted by stilley (WOODWORTH, LA) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game was a waste of my trial and I'm thinking of not keeping the membership because of this. I guess I shouldn't assume something so simple, but I thought it wouldn't make sense to rent out a game that you can't play. You can't buy the microphone only, you just get it when you buy the game. What good does renting it do when you can't play it? It does state that the microphone does not come with it. But I assumed you could buy the microphone only. NOT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

high school musical

posted by awerr43 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 22, 2008

Member since May 2008

don't rent it.. no microphone.. too bad gamefly doesn't tell you this BEFORE you rent it.

horrible, just like gamefly customer support

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME ROCKS

posted by patel555 (KISSIMMEE, FL) May 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

WHEN I played this game it was so fun. ones i played it the whole family wanted to play it. ones i rented this i went and got one to keep to play with the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Great

posted by victorjw26 (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The game is fun to play but after a while it gets boring. I suggest buying it if you are in to music games and feel lie singing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not bad, could be better though

posted by bowlergirl (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

The Wii is not known for having games look good on them, but this game definitely doesn't. The graphics are not very good at all. (I'm not picky about graphics, but the characters just look weird.)

The game itself though is fun, if you like High School Musical. You basically start off with just the music from the original and then unlock some from 2 and even some bonus songs. I think it is going to be hard to get some of the things unlocked. I do like how they show you what you need to do to unlock the different characters, outfits, places and songs. Some of the songs are going to take a decent amount of time to unlock since you need to have 100 million career score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

High notes and high votes!

posted by magic2464 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

vmgbkvmbclkmblcvkmbvlkmcl- bmcv

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »