Rent Hidden Mysteries: Titanic Secrets of the Fateful Voyage for Wii
view large frontback

Hidden Mysteries: Titanic Secrets of the Fateful Voyage

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.3

294 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not so bad...

posted by Sellmore (MCCHORD AFB, WA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I have to disagree with some of the other reviews for this game. Before I elaborate, there's just two things to say 1) It's a puzzle game and 2) It's the Titanic, its supposed to sink at the end.

The point of this game is to immerse yourself in another world and to explore and discover things along the way. It's not about how quick your reflexes are, but about using your mind and wit to solve problems.

One nice thing about this game is that you have different choices of responses when conversing with other characters. It's kind of like the old choose your own adventure books. Make the wrong choice and you could end up finish the story right then.

Game flow is logical, graphics are decent and the cut scene animations are very well done. Hidden Mysteries: Titanic Secrets of the Fateful Voyage reminds me of the many PC puzzle/exploration adventures made famous years ago by a game called Myst. If your in to these type of games I'd suggest checking out the CSI mysteries as well as my favorite LOST: Via Domas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I enjoyed it.

posted by LexKat (CHARLOTTE, MI) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The puzzles were fun. Not too hard to figure out. The most trouble I had was with Georgie's ball game. And I needed a little help with mixing the husband's drink.

I liked the option to skip puzzles. But I think there should have been something to make players not want to skip them. Some kind of point system, or a better ending, depending on how many puzzles you solved.

The only flaw I found, was that it was too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't hold water

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Welcome on board the Titanic, where all your dream will come true - if your dreams consist of nothing more than finding out what it’s like to be on a sinking ship.
Hidden Mysteries: Titanic Secrets of the Fateful Voyage is a puzzle game where you play as one of the passengers on the doomed ship. This game is split up into levels where you have to solve puzzles. There are many types available. Some are the standard “put this item in this spot”, Some are find 10 of a certain item hidden on screen and others are much more complex like shifting water from one hold to two more in order to get to an item.
But this game’s not for the impatient; these puzzles can get hard and some don’t make much sense; the first puzzle has you going after a kid to find your pass to get onto the Titanic only to find out that he doesn’t have it; the puzzles felt like time wasters.
Many of the levels have this feeling. There’s a puzzle where you have to make a drink for a guy to get him to go with you. I just wanted to drag him out of the bar kicking and screaming.
And finding the 10 items can get very hard - the graphics are lacking in game (cut scenes on the other hand, has great visuals to it.)
It’s a good thing you can skip some puzzles and get easy solutions for the others. With that, the game will last about three hours.
But it's a bad thing the story lacks punch and suspense. It's just a woman, her husband and her mother running all around the ship doing ... something.
If you’re big into tough puzzles, then give Hidden Mysteries: Titanic Secrets of the Fateful Voyage a rent, but the rest of us can give this a pass. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Crumby

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Nov 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Hello - this is a point & click puzzle solver/adventure game. I've only played a few of these - but this was by far my least favorite. The characters are unlikeable & the story is uninteresting. I do love solving good puzzles in games - but these were just ridiculous. They made little (or in some cases no) sense & offered little challenge to boot. I lasted an hour or 2 & had enough. Not recommended. My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Mrpeck (WASHOUGAL, WA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

complete waste of time, terribly boring, i would not recommend this game to anybody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Titanic

posted by torch347 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

This CD had a lot of errors. I had to keep ejecting it and turning off my system. Then when it would start, it did not play right. Did not like this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Should Have Read The Reviews

posted by MrsDoherty (HURLEYVILLE, NY) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I guess the title says it all, I should have taken the time to read the reviews. I selected the game purely based on the subject - which I have a great interest in. I will also admit that I didn't even make it through the whole game, I was actually hoping that at any moment the ship would sink and I would be done. From the beginning, the whole thing makes no sense. I kept thinking, "What does it want me to do?" and "What is the point of this?" The characters are not at all pleasant or interesting, in fact I would label them as downright annoying and ridiculous. You really never have an idea of what you are supposed to be looking for and the few mini games that I played did not make much sense at all. My eyesight is not the best, but by no means am I blind (I love HOG's) but I really struggled to find the pieces that I was supposed to be looking for...a combination of them being ridiculously hard to see as well as not knowing really what I was supposed to be looking for in the first place. The way you move through the game by using the deck map was very basic and the screens were "fixed" as in you could not pan around. I'm all for casual, hidden object games with a mystery or historical theme, but this was just a total let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like a choose your own adventure book

posted by NinjaGato (RAINIER, WA) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

It's not that terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring...!

posted by nattonline (NORCROSS, GA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This should be a free online game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »