Rent Heroes of Ruin for 3DS
view large frontback

Heroes of Ruin

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

218 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Addictive

posted by SA_Knightmare (MADISON, WI) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Nice combat
Good graphics
Lot of loot
Lot of stats and skills to tune
Easy to hop into an online game
Daily/Weekly challenges, can link your character to HeroesOfRuin website
Voice chat

Cons:
Loot is shared, first to a chest usually takes all of it
Unusually long loading times for a cart game
Pretty short for an action RPG of this nature
Have no idea who your buddies are or if they're in your game unless they're voice-chatting
An idle player can pretty much stall your game at some points

Overall it's a pretty good game. If you think you'd have fun with it, you probably will. I don't know how much replayability there is, it's pretty short. The challenges help with replayability but the XP/valor bonuses for them are pretty tiny once you're leveled up a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Quite Diablo

posted by w1z4rd (CORDOVA, TN) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But it's awfully good. The loot system is something you're used to if you've played the likes of Diablo, Borderlands or even the old Champions games from PS2. The combat is straightforward as it can get but yet complex. You have 3 skills mappable. So picking and choosing a build for your situation is vital. The game isn't hard, but it isn't easy if you aren't prepared.

Another bonus I like is not having to go back to town to empty your inventory. The quick sell option instantly nets you a small amount of gold and clears inventory space. Even better is you can't ACCIDENTALLY quick sell anything equipped. Maybe I'm clumsy, but I was very pleased with that fact.

The built in Auction system pretty much through street pass is amazing. Especially if you're like me and don't play with my friends a whole lot but I see them regularly and we always Street Pass each other even if we're going out for drinks or what have you.

The only negative I've seen so far is the amount of time playing through the campaign. Let's be clear though; there's a reason Diablo has achievements for clearing each Act in under an hour. It isn't about clearing the campaign. It's a gear grind just like anything else. You have four save slots specifically so you can have one of each character and run dungeons over and over, complete the challenges and kill time with friends. It's super easy to just pick up and play and a wonderful game overall if you enjoy hack and slash loot fests. I bought 2 copies day one for both me and my wife to play so we can pass the time until Guild Wars 2 releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty but shallow hack and slash action rpg.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Sep 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is plenty of hours worth of content but after a while it all starts to feel monotonous. If you really like hack and slash/loot collecting games it's not bad. I just prefer more depth and a story that makes me want to keep playing it to see what happens next. It is one of the only 3ds games so far that actually makes me want to play it in 3d once in a while(the mario 3d land looked good standing still but was too disorienting for me to actually play it in 3d).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Heroes Of Ruin 3Ds

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A Game similiar to Dungeons and dragons,you got a few different classes to choose from not much but will do..you do quests,you level up,basically thats it...quest,leveling up,you can play with 4 others online including yourself,u can chat by holding the left trigger in to talk..but not exactly friendly,everyone seems to go there own way..im not sure but think u can only level up to level 30,thats it..anyway its ok game,for 3ds i guess its worth a try..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, But Lacks

posted by AgentLintZeal (MANCHESTER, NH) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Heroes of Ruin is great game all around. The music is great, and the gameplay. What brings the game down a notch, is the fact that the game is too easy I played it for 3 hours and am already on the final boss of Act III. That alone brings it down to a 9/10. But, the voice acting is awful. The characters say nothing beyond baby sentences. Like if you find a treasure room, he says "Treasure: I Love It" or "That's What I'm Here For". In the cutscene's, they do have fully voiced characters, but they mostly sound the same, and the quality is weak. Other than those 2 problems, the games is worth renting, but after you complete it, you should just mail it back to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A lot didn't work for me with this game. It's probably the best RPG/hack n slash game available on the 3DS right now, but that's because it's really the ONLY one available right now. It's fun for a little while, but gets repetitive really quick. I'm not really one to enjoy a game unless it has at least somewhat of an interesting story or characters, and Heroes of Ruin has neither. The story is mostly told through dialogue when characters give you your next quest. The characters are bland and uninteresting, and the lines your character repeats over and over during gameplay gets especially annoying. The graphics are decent. I don't look for very much when it comes to a handheld game, but this doesn't hold up to Resident Evil Revelation or what I've seen of Kingdom Hearts 3D from the demo. If you're going to play this, turn off the 3D all together. It looks like the game takes place underwater when the effect is on for some reason. It can be very disorientating.

The gameplay itself is good. I can see others liking it way more than I did if you're into Diablo and games like that. For soneone like me, whose more into action-oriented games, it's still a decent time for a rental. Definitely don't buy it unless you're a huge dungeon crawler fan though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by HaNdGuNHaVoC (WAIPAHU, HI) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i tried it on a friends 3ds. Its pretty awesome. I have yet to play a game like this on the 3ds. Ive been waiting for something like this for a long time. I cant wait to play it when i get it from GameFly. Awesome job Square Enix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really, Square Enix?

posted by cablenajun (ALVIN, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So many problems with this game... first of all, the content; while it's true that there are literally THOUSANDS of pieces of equipment all with their own unique stats to acquire, they really don't switch it up much. All of your armors will go something like this: Armor type of (insert obscure noun here). All of your accesories follow a similar pattern. Ring of (insert obscure noun here) or, Necklace of (insert obscure noun here). Also, considering that all characters in a party can be of the same class, there isn't a whole lot in the way of character customization to distinguish yourself from your comrades.

A minor inconvenience, but one I found to be a game breaker, was the fact that there was NO camera movement. You stay in the same 3/4 turn aerial view, much like you would a DS or DS lite title. Heroes of Ruin I think could have benefited greatly from the use of the Circle Pad Pro hardware upgrade for the 3DS.

The music is bland and generic, circumventing itself every 30 seconds, and only presenting itself during combat or while roaming the city. Granted, this can be expected of a Square title, considering this is what many Final Fantasy games did for generations until the more recent XII, XIII and XIII 2.

I can say with confidence, that the graphics are on level with the 3DS, and aren't reminicent of an original Gameboy or first gen DS title.

Unforunately, graphics and sub-par gameplay are about all the game has going for it, because the story is certainly disgraceful. They throw you into a whole new world with minimal knowledge of background, and immediately send you off on a quest without any rhyme or reason as to why.

In summary, a game for those who enjoy spacing out into the eternity of mindless combat that doesn't neccesarily require you to alternate between A, B, X, and Y. If you intend to buy, please wait until it hits the $20 and below price range.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by Edge153 (FORT MILL, SC) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is like ultimate alliance when playing online and can talk to your friends online. so I can give this a perfect 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Equiping what is that?

posted by blargplean (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

It took me 5 minutes to figure out how to equip a item! Plus im a mage and i only use my magic when im feeling bored!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple but Fun Hack and Slash

posted by GlassDarkly (STEVENSON RANCH, CA) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I played it to the end and had half a mind to go through it again with another character. In many ways it plays like a simple, introductory entry into the world of looting hack and slash games like Torchlight and Titan's Quest. That was fine with me. It never presented much of a challenge, was straightforward, told a cliched story, but it still charmed me. In fact, I didn't mind the lack of difficulty any more than I mind the difficulty of other games in the genre. It's just different.
The sidequests are nothing grand and easily executed, which I appreciated. It meant I could make quick progress and get XP and money to level up and get stronger, which is th eaddictive quality of these games.
Graphics are strong, worlds vary, and the central hub is nice. I played it in 3D and really liked the effect, especially when the spider boss came crawling at me.
If you like these games and don't mind one that is simple, you're get plenty of pleasure out of this title.
Online worked fine, too. I mostly played by myself (how I prefer it), but my few times with other players worked fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skyrim... for 3DS

posted by PhsycopathSnake (SAN JACINTO, CA) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is so awesome! The graphics are great for an action and adventure 3DS game. If you're a Skyrim fan, you may find a few similarities here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Cheap Diablo 2 rip-off..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Aug 9, 2012

Member since May 2010

Just think overly simplified Diablo 2 clone and you should get some ideas.. This game has 4 classes, but the problem is that there is only 4 weapon types in the game... Each Character specializes in one weapon type a piece...
There is apparent efforts to space out the classes through different skill trees, but they come up short overall. Characters seem like over-impulsive stereo-types... Well, you know the phrase: try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really wanted to like it

posted by poondaddy (CLEVELAND, TN) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Read all the reviews on here saying this game was amazing. Honestly, it never hooked me in the first hour and a half. I never got the feeling of being sucked in like I always do in a good game with a great story. I honestly only suggest getting this game if you are a die hard fan of the genre looking for an RPG to play on your 3ds. Rent before buying for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good sadly

posted by yoshinetzero (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

i'll admit the multiplayer features such as voice chat are nice but the game just gets boring really fast. It is a dungeon crawler so you'll be doing the same things over and over again. The monsters and areas are very bland and unexciting. I was really disappionted, i was looking forward to even buying this game. Give it a try if you really wanna try though, and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »