Rent Heroes of Mana for DS
view large frontback

Heroes of Mana

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

293 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice

posted by sheryl20 (OAKLAND, CA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

this game is a real time strategy game like command and conquer. In heroes of mana you can Command an army of heroes, creatures, and rabites. Heroes of Mana goes much farther than a traditional RTS with incredibly rich and detailed characters on the battlefied, each with histories and a relationship to the overall story of the Mana franchise that is deep and complex. In fact, there's a story recap feature to help you get to know everyone and their place in the story.
In Heroes of Mana, you have a airship that has factories on board capable of producing structures and units. Also The different types of troops each has strengths and weaknesses versus other troop types and in particular terrains, so you must be very strategic on picking the the right one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Heroes die too easily, pathfinding sucks.

posted by tchalvak (CANANDAIGUA, NY) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
It's one of the rare RTS games on the DS, and the touchscreen could be well suited to RTS play, and ignoring everything else, using the touchscreen/stylus in an RTS is pretty fluid.

Cons (i.e. everything else):

Pathfinding is a major obstacle, there is no ability to just move units as opposed to attacking, so if enemies get in the way, your units attack them instead of continuing onwards to where they're really needed.

Heroes die easily and there are many hero units that cause the battle to fail if they die (plus one-shot npc heros to keep alive), and nearby units do not help their allies that are being attacked, so your critical heroes are easily picked off by random groups of enemy units passing by some part of the map that you're not paying attention to at the time.
In the time that I played it (which wasn't to the end, by any means) I didn't come across any active abilities to use, only passive hero abilities, so gameplay in the battles consists only of directing units to move to a spot on the grid, and building structures inside your ship while your units are outside dying.

The storyline is full of cutscenes with messages that scroll slowly across the screen without any option to make the messages go faster, and the storyline isn't compelling enough for you to care what they're saying, so you just have to tap tap tap past the stuff.

I'm always searching for a worthwhile sequel to Secret of Mana, because I find that to be just about the most fun in an RPG that I've ever had, and Square/Squarenix continually manages to disappoint me with their sequels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-So

posted by Neodarksid (BRANDON, MN) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you are a true Real time strategy fan, you may like this one. I liked how they used the Secret of mana world, such as the holy city of Wendel, Laurent, etc, things I recall seeing in the other Mana games. Just the game play didn't sit well with me. Not a true RTS fan here, I picked it up because I wanted to try it out.

The pathing for characters can be way to extreme, Had a few of my soldiers walk all the way around a rock instead of taking the short side. Plus if an enemy is engaged in battle a ways away, you send your troops there, by the time they arrive, the battles over, meaning.... they walk way to slow and the action is to fast.

The game had a few interesting takes on the building aspects of the game, your soldiers are creatures from all the mana games. Your gatherers are Rabbits, archers are chobin, soldiers are mushblooms. You collect 2 things, berries and rocks to build the various houses needed to summon your troops, and you build them inside your ship.

If you like RTS, you might like Heroes of mana.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

so-so

posted by Maxman909 (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game overall is okay. It has a good story line as well as enough characters to give a good strategy as to which three to put on the field. However, your characters' paths can be unpredictable, and they make make unnecessary steps. Square has also left out the ability to walk through your allies to get from place to place. Also, your characters take a long time to walk from point a to point b. As well, the way to move your character is a good idea, but takes up too much time in a RTS. The game would be better turn based, or with the controls in the last game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing

posted by MightyKC (TULSA, OK) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I honestly didn't know much about this title when I rented it but I like the "Mana" series so I gave it a shot. First of all it being an RTS and not an RPG was a big surprise. I figure that's my fault for not reading up on it though so I gave it a fair shot.

The story is interesting and the familiar setting was nice, the artwork is beautiful as it is with all titles of this series, however the gameplay is incredibly awkward. Controlling the units is difficult, especially in groups, and trying to get from one part of the map to the next quickly and efficiently is almost impossible. Individual unit selection could also be difficult at times. In general the unit and movement AI needed a lot of work.

I wouldn't recommend this title unless you are simply determined to play every game in the series, and even then only if you are a masochist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AWFUL Game not a real rpg

posted by desktop (FORT WAYNE, IN) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

first off i wouldnt call this an rpg game. You will never level up and gain more hp. the only wayh to get more HP is by getting items .

game is boring. the speed is way too slow and the AI dont even follow the paths

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Blank of mana ever

posted by MegamanZX (EL CAJON, CA) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

see first review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it was fun with an action replay

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

the story was generic and the game was overbearingly hard but with some action replay codes the game managed to pass the time well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really just terrible.

posted by RugbyDan (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

For those expecting a traditional Mana series game, prepare yourself for disappointment. For those expecting a playable game, do the same.

How the mighty have fallen. For some reason, this game was made as a RTS. You get to summon classic Mana creatures to do your bidding, sending them off to kill your foes. At least that's what they are supposed to do. The control is so clumsy, you'll be spending most of your time trying to find and direct your party, while well directed CPU units wipe you out.

I could go on, but why? There is no redeeming value to this garbage. 1/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More difficult than necessary

posted by GirlGamer (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

The first part of this game is nothing but instructions on how to play the game. There are so many instructions and things you have to do that I found most of the fun sucked out of the game. There may be people who like this type of game, but I lost interest after about 20 minutes of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »