Rent Heroes Over Europe for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Heroes Over Europe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.8

646 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Threw my controller in rage.

posted by Zeplin (EL PASO, TX) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

48 out of 50 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This is my first review ever. But this game left me so angry, I felt compelled to help others avoid this.
Heroes Over Europe or HOE, is another WWII fighter Sim. What set this one apart from the others are the little things; like not being able to change your view. Yep you have two views the entire game, and that’s 3rd person., (Or 3rd plane, but whatever) and zoom. I don't really think that Zoom is a view but I’ll just put it in here. You can’t adjust the camera out or in to get it perfect. No, you are stuck in 3rd person. No cockpit or nose cam.
Another great feature that they added is what the call "Ace Kill". Basically when you keep the crosshairs on a plane for a few seconds a meter starts to fill up and when it does you have a chance to "Ace Kill" your enemy. It works alright but with the time and precision that is needed I just stopped using it because you can usually down the enemy fighter faster without it.
And to the best part of this game. In every single mission but one, there were enemy fighters on my tail shooting me to pieces. And since the game is so objective based if your mission is to kill the bombers and you have, there can still be fighter planes shooting you up. But they are not the mission so you can’t lock on to them to shoot them down. The game is so fast paced that you don’t have time to do aerial attacks correctly. Like attacking bombers from the bottom or the top to avoid their guns. There is not enough time. You will fail the overall mission and have to start over.
I know this was confusing to read. I hope you understood the overall rage that I felt playing this game. And if you like to cry and shake with anger when you play video games, well by all means this is your game. I won’t comment on the good portions of the game. Because I can’t remember them.
Thank you Gamefly, I would have lost hope in all that is good if I had bought this. But you saved me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hated this game!

posted by LinusMax (GLEN ROCK, PA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I tried flying the plane for 2o minutes. I couldn't get the thing to fly over the cities. I had very little control over the plane. After the 20 minutes I was so disgusted with this game I simply put it back in the package and mailed it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad...very bad...

posted by DrFunk (DERBY, NY) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game would be alright if not for the following major flaws
1. the friendly AI in single player mode are useless. There is no way to call for help, and they don't seem to do that much.
2. The missions are long and get boring quick. In the one mission, you are going after bombers and can't target the fighters chasing you or call for help from your AI squad.
3. This was the deal breaker for me, the worst xbox live set up for a game I have ever seen. There is no co-op, you can't bring a party into a ranked match, and trying to find a room with more than 3 people takes longer then playing the match. I do like the class groups for the different planes that keeps things even, and I don't mind having only 4 maps, but the "behind the scenes" make up for the xbox live multiplayer
holds this game way, way back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not what I was expecting

posted by Geoffrey (DERRY, NH) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

There are two WWII fighter planes coming out at the same time. Heroes over Europe is the first one I have tried and I am disappointed. The controller layout is terrible, Ace Kill is a useless feature, the best quality of the game is that there are no heat seeking missiles like in Blazing Angels. The missions are way to long and if you crash or are shot down you can expect to spend 30 minutes trying to get back to that point. Also the token mission of flying low so not to get hit by flak was terrible. The Heroes is nice that you do not have to keep changing speeds to track bombers, and you spend less time on ground targets and more time on fighters and bombers. Not enough for me to spend time trying to beat the game. I am 3/4 of the way threw the game and I will take my chances with bird of prey

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty dissapointing

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Wow, not much to say on this game. The graphics aren't that great, the plane controls are just sloppy, and the dialogue is pretty cheesy. Add in long levels that make you feel like you're doing nothing and well...you get this game. This game could've been a lot better, but I guess time just wasn't of the essence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

if you like IL2 Sturmovik don't rent this

posted by thedriver2 (CRAWFORDVILLE, FL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I might have liked this game if it had been released before IL2. The aircraft are too hard to control, you are constantly over-correcting when trying to hone in on a target. There is no mini map, altitude gauge, speed gauge or any view other than 3rd person chase plane. all of these are aggrivating but what ruins the gameplay is blowing through several easy missions then getting stuck on the last part of the same mission for several days knowing that if the controls didn't suck you would have beaten it on the second or third attempt. If you rent this game you will find yourself cramming it into the return envelope and putting it in the mailbox a 2am thinking that there is more to life than playing video games.

This game = FAIL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wings Over Europe for 360

posted by air911bear (MILTON, FL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game's graphics are very well done. The maps of the combat zones are highly detailed and accurate. The aircraft are excellent and the game starts out well enough with some training flights with a wingman. Then it progresses to combat flights which can be dificeult right off the bat. The "Ace Kill" feature allows you to be super accurate and take down enemy aircraft with a single shot. But doing so is challenging which adds to the fun of the game. For me however, many of the combat missions were extremely long and repetative. All in all a pretty good game. Just bneeds some flavor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Heros over Europe

posted by Pawneejim (FRESNO, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Not even a good Arcade game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Heroes Over Europe

posted by wollfm (SILVER CITY, NM) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

could of been a lot better and longer they should of put in bombing missons like in japan and more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is annoying

posted by hurricans527 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game was good especially for the graphics its just the campaign you have the computer friends that don't do anything if you were being attacked from behind you wont get any help and the checkpoints were annoying and if you were to go off from your main objective you would fail the mission

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HEROES OVER EUROPE GOT A BAD RATING/REVIEW

posted by consoleteller (MILNESVILLE, PA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

i dont know why people gave this game such a bad review compared to whats out and what i played i think this is the best world war 2 airplane game out there way better then combat wings,blazing angels or what ever other game i forget to mention seriously play this again and what you like and tell me the difference

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Of the biest Ive played

posted by manofaction444 (CARMEL, IN) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

I don't know why people don't like this game. IT is fun with good planes and missions. Although the misions are repetitive its always fun to blast someone out of the sky with rockets. The only thing bad with it is that the camera needs some tweeking. It is also hard to die. So for all of the inexperienced plane game players this is a good choice. Also some tof the stuff said in loading times is pretty funny. I would suggest this game to anyone who likes fighting in the sky and to those who like WWII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not THAT bad

posted by Explostevo (DENTON, TX) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game isn't as bad as these reviews mostly sound. I'd say its at least better than either two blazing angels games. If you like WWII airplane games this is pretty descent, not worth buying but ok to rent on gamefly. It takes sometime to get use to the way the planes fly and trying to stay on the enemy planes is difficult sometimes but if you play an hour or so you'll be pretty good at it. I suggest start on rookie then move up the difficulty level because rookie is hard enough and some players might get discouraged. By the way, no one is playing this on-line so if you were looking foward to playing multiplayer your out of luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

OK

posted by cayoung36 (REDMOND, OR) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is no better than ok. I do enjoy flying games and this rates right in the middle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it was bad!!!

posted by richmen19 (ORANGE, TX) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

the sucked!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WASTE!!!!!

posted by oraider18 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

?????????????????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

throw it out of my house

posted by bigandtall (SAUCIER, MS) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

some one mest up and thought he was puting a good game together and failed badly.very hard to beat the game and put u back at the start,i thought we where past that kind of thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »