Rent Heroes Over Europe for PS3
view large frontback

Heroes Over Europe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.1

598 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

So much Potential and it is thrown away...

posted by LastRonin (TACOMA, WA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of Heroes over the Pacific I had high expectations for the follow-up. With all the awesomeness that is the PS3 who could blame me? I popped in the game expecting a well textured aircombat game and instead got something almost akin to Snoopy vs. The Red Baron. Don't get me wrong, the Snoopy Game was awesome but it seemed the HOE seemed to have the same limited scale of missions. In fact Snoopy had more missions that seemed more exciting and less irritating. Both games seemed to have the same level of realism, which is to say, none. Here are a few examples:
Flying Night Missions over London in the Blitz with an ordinary Spitfire.

Sinking Battleships during the Channel Dash. (Brits did not know it was on until the ships had vacated the Channel.)

Another thing I found irritating was the lack of emphasis on marksmanship and more on the game's Ace Kill feature. The gunsight is freaking huge and is about half the size of your plane. Ace Kill is when you have your aircraft pointed at a target for a few seconds and then you go into Bullet Time where you pick a weakpoint and kill the target. There are several levels that require you to do this to most of your targets. Trust me, it gets old fast.

Lastly, there are not many missions so replay value is low. Aircraft that you do unlock can only be used in one or two missions sometimes. What really digs at me is the number of missions where you must escort targets that are considerable distances from one another. I myself would prefer more seek and destroy missions and less of the "Protect the weak and helpless." Protect them? Man, I would much rather bomb the snot out of the weak and helpless but they wont let me do that! If you want real aircombat then pick up IL-2 Sturmovik. You will not be disapointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty fun action game. However...

posted by secretcola (SATSUMA, FL) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was a fun game in my opinion. Graphics are good, sound effects are great, gameplay can be repitive but fun, and the choices of popular WW11 airplanes are excelent.

Story mode was very good, you play as an american at first, but then you get to be other people in the game. Missions on this game however, can be the same or taken place on the same map. So single player is pretty good, and I recommend giving this a try.

However, there are bad things in this game. First of all, the controls are not good in this game. If your given a adjective like shooting the ocean mines, you have to get close to the mine in order for you to shoot the mines so the boats can get to land. I ended up doing this adjective 35 TIMES due to crashing into the ocean or the mines. So if the controls are realy bad for you, chances are you would quit this game and send it back to your local Blockbuster or Gamefly.

Secondly, it would be multiplayer (for me). I never got around multiplayer because its impossible for me to get into a game sever. You need a good quality internet connection in order to play online. Like I said, I havent got into a game sever, but all the games there are are dogfight (deathmatch) team dogfight, survival (dunno about this one) and team survival. So if you dont have a good quality internet, dont bother with it.

FINNALY THOUGHT

If you can get pass all the flaws, this is a decent game thats worth playing if you got nothing in your game Q. But if your looking for a the best flying action game, stick with Tommy's HAWX or Ubisofts Blazing Angles. I recommend this for a rental, but not for a buy unless Ubisoft decides to drop the price to $20 or somthing.

Graphics:7.5/10
Sound:9.0/10
Gameplay:6.5
Controls:4.5
Multiplayer:1.5/10
Replay Value:7.0/10

Overall: 6.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It ruined my life :( & funny quote

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

It made me cry for how much i wanted to break this game like in everybody hates chris the show, the mom says " I do not need this my man has two jobs" Well said right love my reviews

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) May 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I don't know why this game has gotten such a bad rap. It wasn't the best game in the world, but it was decent. Worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very fun and entertaining Game

posted by JoDGo1981 (PICKENS, SC) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

first let me say my grandfather was a pilot in world war 2 and playing this game made me remember some of his stories and how this game felt so realistic to what he would talk about......If you like aircraft games...this one is for you....its very fun, not to difficult and not to easy either, pretty descent story listening to your character talk back and forth to his wing-men...love the archival footage they threw in between levels, the comic style cut scenes....I have played a lot of games on the ps3 and 360 and this one was very enjoyable......the only knock to it is for me anyways I would have like to see maybe a free-fly mode like in the ace combat games or add in after a mission complete you fly back to base and land the plane...just a little added detail in that way...otherwise....buy this game if you choose ...but definitely rent it and try it at least once...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Flight Simulator Game

posted by mablev (WENTZVILLE, MO) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I agree with everybody. You get mad ALOT. And in the game overview says you get to fly the B-17. I never got to fly it. Nor are you able to unlock it. Not unless I'm doing something wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that great

posted by rob465 (SANTA FE, NM) Dec 23, 2009

Member since May 2006

Very repetative game...Sometimes you cannot even see who is shooting at you...No real variety in the game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but shortt

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

This game was really good on graphics, but short on story probably due to the fact that the graphics were so good. The Audio in the story was a little choppy, like I couldn't hear what the narrator was saying since you can't hear him over the loud music playing.
The missions are quite fun and not to complicated even though targeting an opponet can get a little frustrating you learn to deal with it and get it done. Only problem i had was getting into huge dogfights and running into the enemy or in this case my own squadrons planes so this was quite frequent with collisions all over the place.
The game is fun but don't expect to much out of it since you will think its good in the begining but your attention to the game will start to diminish quickly after like twenty minutes making not want to play anymore. Average time to play this game took only about a day and a half to complete the stoy mode. So definetly use this game as a quick fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simple but frusterating

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Nov 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

Yes, the controls and action are very simple, in fact they are over simplified. The difficulty level is too much, even on rookie level. Something is wrong with that. The game looks and plays like it is meant for little kids but its frusterating to try to beat the levels in time. I gave up over London. Its not fun to repeat a several minutes long level over and over again. There is a better game out right now called IL-2 Sturmovik Birds of Prey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game

posted by killerb83 (EVANS, GA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

I had been looking forward to playing this one for a while. I enjoyed the first one alot. Who ever came up with the mine mission should not have been in game. Tried it at the different levels of difficulty. Could not beat it. Sending game back after 2 hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So-so

posted by jcgilmore1 (MANCHESTER, NJ) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Gameplay is pretty good and fairly realistic. But the missions get ridiculously challenging, even in rookie mode. Maybe I am missing something, but games like this I expect to play for fun; not get so ticked off I end up hating it. What ever happened to good old fashioned flight sim shoot'em ups?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heroes over Europe

posted by CPTRileyga (MICHIGAN CITY, IN) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

One of the worst flight sims I have ever played.I hate a flight sim,tank sim,or driving sim,that has a third person view and cannot shange the view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »