Rent Help Wanted for Wii
view large frontback

Help Wanted

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

442 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of my favorite Wii games, and I'm an adult!

posted by PaceAndKye (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first, I thought this was yet another collection of boring Wii mini-games. But then I played the story mode, and I was hooked. I loved the ridiculous over-the-top plot and the cute, silly atmosphere. I loved the well-paced advancement in the jobs as you increase your skill, your experience, and your cash. There are 50 different jobs. 1/3 of them I found dull, 1/3 of them I found fun to play once in a while but not really enaging, and 1/3 of them I enjoyed playing over and over. Achieving Master rank in each job was perfectly paced so that I was getting tired of that job anyway right about when I mastered it.

Since the game is aimed at kids, it's not very challenging unless you set your own goals. You can try to save the world in the shortest amount of time possible, you can aim for getting all the memorial items and mastering every job (or every job that you care about), or you can just enjoy the games and the sense of advancement that the game provides.

I was disappointed that I lost my entire collection of items when I finished the game the first time through. I would have continued playing if I had kept all my items.

I'm very glad I rented this game despite the low average rating. I'm very picky (I return most of the games I rent after trying them out for less than an hour) and I played this one for many, many hours. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Have to let credits play!!!! Awesome!!!

posted by futuremrst (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really cool. We left it on and the credits rolled. Then it gives a grade for how you did before and gives you the option to start over and try for a better grade. It is the same things you are fighting but you get to save the previous info so you get credit for that and then there are new people who are a little different that show up at the hall and at your jobs. We uped our rating when we found that out from a 8 to a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for everyone in the family

posted by shiachia (HOLLISTER, FL) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My daughter had fun playing this (she's 7), as did my sports addicted husband and myself (both 37). We all had different favorite jobs. We all played with different strategies, and we also ended up with different plot lines. You can play in story mode, or play against each other (more fun after you've bought different jobs) in any cleared jobs. Always nice to have another multiplayer game. It's simple yet fun and addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BOLDLY SUPRISING

posted by nyvonnia1 (WINONA, TX) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It took me awhile to get into it.. but now I'm hooked. I've spent hours playing this game. Although it does get tiresome after awhile, I can't put it down. Just to see what comes next...lol.. It has to much reading in it but thank goodness you can skip through it and I wish it would let you scroll through all the jobs you have opened instead of only choosing the ones that are available. This is a long game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kids love this game, I think it's cute!

posted by selahom (BRANDON, FL) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My two oldest age 7 and 11 are begging me to buy this game. They have been playing it for 3 days now. The game is definitely geared towards kids, but it's cute and not offensive in the least. A good G rated game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprising

posted by Disfam (NICEVILLE, FL) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We actually really, really liked this game. It's surprisingly fun. Some of the controls are a little awkward but other than that, it was a hit here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Help Wanted: Don't Answer this Ad

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Never thought the Home Shopping Network would be a place to find items that will save the Earth from total destruction.
But in Help Wanted, that's the place where our heroes - a family - gets items they need to stop things from smashing into Earth.
Things like meteors, gigantic wads of gum, huge bowls of noodles, disco (disco?) and other oddities.
But, unlike Congress, our heroes have to earn enough money through part time jobs before they can buy anything.
Each job is a mini game, and doing well in the mini game gets our heroes money.
They use the money to buy more different job openings, things to make the jobs easier, and trivial things to collect in a museum of sorts in the basement of their house (where nobody will actually see it.)
With each dollar spent, they get points. Get enough points and they can get things that will damage, destroy and/or increase the number of days until the object smashes into the Earth.
This is an interesting set up, and the game throws in a few nice twists along the way, but the real problem here is the job mini games are - for the most part - not any fun to me.
Some are very annoying (EMT, Farmer, Grill Cook), and some are boring (Body Builder, Haunted House Crew).
Of the eighteen jobs I've been through in this game, there were only two I liked: Aerial Photographer and Tailor.
Help Wanted has a nice idea (even if it's unrealistic), but the basic game mechanics and mini game designs let it down. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome

posted by nanatata (LADERA RANCH, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game is about saving a world before a rock crushes it. So you have to do jobs to get money and buy stuf.this is a awsome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lots of mini-games, but ...

posted by undedlok (RED LION, PA) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

...lacking the missing spark to make them FUN mini-games. The controls were unresponsive on certain jobs (mini-games) and others the unresponsiveness seemed to fit the job. The whole idea of meteor striking was original, but extremely uninteresting. Wii'd get bored and let the meteor hit, then Gramps would stop it again. The idea of buying enhancements is great, but the fact you only get one use from them is weak. The game could have been a 7 for just letting you keep the enhancements and upgrade them. Could have been an 8 without the meteor - maybe you have to earn money to pay rent, buy food, just something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

'Help Wanted': Bland, low-quality mini game mess.

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Help Wanted could have been much better. An interesting storyline about doing "jobs" through mini-games and allowing multiplayer features could actually make a good game. But this is a bad game because it fails to meet expectations, even for a simple mini-game Wii game. Why? The game is bland, simple, too easy, and far too short. There isn't much replayability, because after you play it once, you won't even care about playing it twice. And the price tag for sale is a bit steep ($40 at a local K-Mart). Even the kids probably won't like much about it, and the entire family may find themselves bored.
I'd advise you to skip this one. I hope this review is helpful, so please click on the buttons below saying whether this was helpful or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hard to even start playing???

posted by OurFamily2011 (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Maybe it is because we don't get booklets with Gamefly but our entire family could not figure out the point of this game and we returned it within days of receiving it. It seemed boringly pointless.

Maybe if we knew what the object was...we all did not care for the storyline and having to sit and wait on the game to go through a story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by cutie1221 (MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I liked it but it just kept going on and on and on. I just wanted to beat it because i was playing the same jobs over and over....but overall it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ADDICTIVE

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

When my mother finally got her own Wii and a copy if this game last year so I could have mine back, she had logged 98 hrs. playing Help Wanted. I was close behind with over 70!!

My goal was to become a master at EVERY job, get rich, and fill my hall with ALL of the things you can buy.

Mom just worked at the jobs she liked and ignored the rest.

You buy support items that help you do better and earn more $ while working. Sometimes you have a challenge to do better than the previous day to earn 3X you pay, sometimes your little cousins hide your support items. They also make juice for you that can make you work better without having to use your support item, or it can make you sick.

I love that even when you finish and want to start over, your expert ratings stay. (You save everything after the credits. I don't know if you keep you ratings if you don't do this)

Yes, every job is a mini game, and yes, some are strange. But they are all fun and challenging. So much Variety you just Can't get bored. You can also bypass the strange cut scenes, but some are entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST WII GAME EVER

posted by Weenie1802 (AUGUSTA, GA) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I cant say anything more!! But this is the BEST WII game ever. I cant get enough of it. My 4 year old son scratched my first copy and I love it so much I bought another one. Have been playing for almost a year and still not tired of it. You might start by only renting it...but I can promise you will want to keep it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE THIS GAME!!!

posted by TOOKIE (WINONA, TX) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game has everthing..all different mini games you can play over and over and it gives you some type of difficuty if you try to master them all. I can play alone or with the kids. I wish I could find more games like this. I was pleasantly suprised when I ordered it not knowing what it was. The controls and games are simple to play, the only thing I didn't like about it is all the talking but you can fast forward through that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hopefully Someone Really likes this game.

posted by autismdad (COHOES, NY) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

It's cute but very poorly done compared to recent games. Just read the list of reviews and see. I wouldn't recommend renting this game but seeing as we can send them back when we learn for ourselfs go for it i made it a hour in the game and gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Breakdown

posted by iCritique (ASHEVILLE, NC) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When I received this game, I was excited to play it. But as soon as I clicked the 'Play' button, my system crashed. We connected it again. I tried another game. Worked fine. But then when I tried Help Wanted again, the Wii crashed. To me the game sounded cool. But if your system is like mine, you might only get to hear the music before you have to unplug and re-plug your Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Award for Wost game Ever ?

posted by jay1313 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I like alot of games, i like alot of stupid games, i like some games that no one else likes - well this game SUCKS ! Possibly the worst game i've ever played..no point, no fun, no anything. Do not buy, do not rent, don't even look at it or you'll get bored. My GF wanted to try it and then almost threw it out the window after trying it. I stopped her because i had to return it or i would have been charged actual money for this pile of unplayable garbage.

have a nice day !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sooooooo Fun

posted by TheVecan (ROWLEY, MA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This is denfinently one of the best game for the wii
The graphic are great because they really fit, becuase a cute game deserves cute graphics
The music is well fitted.
The fact that instead of just taking the easy road and just putting a bunch of minigames together, they made a storyline and game out of it.

Now the only complaint I have is that there are many minigames where the controls just don't plain work.

But other than that, it .... is ....... epic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stress wanted

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

i think this game is weird funny looking characters and let me guess time limits didn't do much b/c i was getting stressed out right away stress is not good for me right now b/c it'll effect my head trouble.
help wanted get 1 hard working kid out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Please Don't Hire me!!

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

I played this for about an hour, but didn't enjoy it at all. Understand that I'm not a fan of mini-games and that is all this is, mini- games with a weird strange story behind it. And the min-games were strange!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sadly Disappointing

posted by Supallcomm (WHITTIER, CA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I had really good hopes for this game when I read the description a few months ago. However, after spending a whole day playing it, the delivery of the game is unfortunately very lacking.

The comic relief and silliness of the game, while being quite entertaining at first, will really start to wear you down by the time Hour 5 rolls along.

Some of the Jobs are easy, simple to control and fun to play. Some of them are exceptionally tricky and require amazingly adept handling of the Wiimote and Nunchuk, something that very, very, very few of the people in this game's natural young age range will have.

When you play these jobs, it takes a really long time to level up from Novice to Pro to Expert and then Master. The money you can potentially earn increases with each difficulty, but the really weak system of only being able to play ONE JOB at day (in game time) and having to choose from a random selection of 9 jobs each time makes it a slow grind to get to the big bucks.

The worst part is that the pacing of the game is frustratingly slow. If anyone has played any of the WarioWare games, where you literally JUST play minigames very quickly, then you'll see what I mean very early in the game. The flow of doing your jobs and earning money is completely shredded and molested by the constant interruptions of having to deal with either the Meteor that's going to crash into you, your moronic, annoying, inbred, stupid family members and all of the Random Events that happen once or twice a day that sometimes give you a benefit but really just punish you for doing nothing wrong.

This game held such promise to be a fun minigame game, but ended up just being an unfortunate waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »