Rent Hellboy: Science of Evil for PS3
view large frontback

Hellboy: Science of Evil

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.3

592 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Just another movie game

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Hellboy:Science of Evil is pretty much just another movie game. Rushed production to meet deadline, sloppy controls, and can be beaten in less than 5 hours. Your attack options are limited and it really does not seem to change much throughout the course of the game. You have your basic melee attacks, quick kills, a pistol with 6 different kinds of bullets, and some charge up power which really makes no difference at all that I can tell. If your a Hellboy fan you probably will enjoy this game. Rent it if you so choose but don't expect anything special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, laid back gaming

posted by compsci78 (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was very surprised at the entertainment level I received from this game. So often movie games are quite cheesy and put together quickly without much thought. This game was very stand alone and actually I didn't think of the movies at all when I played it. The visuals are not state of the art but they are fitting to the roots of the Hellboy being a graphic novel/comic. It doesn't take the skill of a Call of Duty master to play this game and it is a very casual play in my mind. Once I started playing I was extremely entertained by the game and played it almost the whole way through in one sitting. In all I think I might have spent 8 hours on it. The bosses are exceptionally harder than the regular characters you encounter throughout the game and it does require you to strategize a bit. There are minor puzzles and the only frustrating part for me was falling down from an area and having to walk all the way around the lower level just to get back to where you were and sometimes it was a little tough getting the action to activate.. you have to be standing in the right spot for the action(i.e. elevator) to work. The game spans different areas so it isn't all underground or in the woods.. it also spans different cultures and the environments are all vivid and well representations of the time period and the associated culture. I was impressed with the visual aspect of the game and felt as if I was playing a graphic novel come to life. I suggest anyone that is a fan of Hellboy to play his game and also anyone that is looking for a fun laid back play that has comedic aspects to it and is just fun to look at. It is as entertaining or more as watching an animated movie. My son really enjoyed watching me play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is awful

posted by belltawaun (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not the type to not like games but i played this for about 10 minutes and i was ready to ship it back ..this game is so awful i would not even give it as a gift to an enemy it is so bad...whatever you do don't but buy this game ..if you do ..you just wasted money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Played it for an hour and sent it back

posted by olpdog (FOUR LAKES, WA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this is a very boring game. The controls are terrible. If you love the movies, stick to those as this game makes it look bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great HellBoy addition!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game very much...

If you are a big fan of the HellBoy movies then you would really love this game. HellBoy: The Science of Evil, has nothing to do with past movies HellBoy, and Hellboy and The Golden Army.

In HellBoy: The Science of Evil, You play as HellBoy with his trusty custom pistol revolver 'Ol Faithful'. With different bullet to unload on to monsters or just using brute strength with hilarious remarks as HellBoy demolishes.. Literally, demolishes anything in his way, from monsters, demons, doors, walls, or objects that you can also pick up an smack any monsters upside the head with, as well..

The Gameplay interface resembles to games like Ratchet and Clank, comical remarks and violence with nothing over PG language; there is multiplayer also in this game, with the ability to play threw the entire game Co-operatively online or just using split screen on one console. The graphics also are astonishing with scenarios that take you into very dark, and gloomy nights, too scenarios, that are very tropical with lush plant life.

The only real draw back in this game is the camera. The overhead camera doesn't allow you to position it, but moves along with you as you progress threw locations on a stage, giving it a very movie-like experience.

Awesome game with an excellent story to it. Anyone who likes HellBoy, would enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DONT BUY!!

posted by DomRem (ELK GROVE, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I am a fan of hellboy but this game is not near as entertaining as the movies. it can be fun for a rental but do not buy! Just doesn't belong on a system as advanced as the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Excel is more fun

posted by Sandow (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The gameplay and camera behavior is so bad that I gave up on the game after 10 minutes. This is by far the worst PS3 game I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected playing an all powerful Demon

posted by DarkDove (BRONX, NY) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I rather enjoyed the Hellboy movies(funny with action) though they don't follow the Hellboy comic story it's good for what it is but this game is a downer. I mean first it has very little to do with either movie other then the fact that it's about Hellboy so it can't even be considered a "Movie Game". The graphics are just ok, the gameplay is weak, and the story just bounced around. I didn't even finish the game before I sent it back, mainly because of a glich that prevented me from moving on in the game but I probably wouldn't have finished it either way because the story just dragged on. There was much action in parts of the game but then in others there was an overwhelming amount of emeries. I usually finish a game right to the very end but sometimes a game just takes and doesn't give back. I really don't remend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

bleah...

posted by realmwiz (Livonia, MI) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Standard movie to video game port. Not much depth, boring controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mundane fun

posted by shelbyjbar (Rosalia, WA) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

This wasn't a bad game. Many aspects of it where well done, and it's probably a good game for kids. I found it a bit redundent. The levels never really seemed to change from one to the next. It was however fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its a decent title

posted by jaeger2 (DENTON, TX) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

While many may view this title as a simple movie based tack on, it stands as a testament to how Krome Studios (the developers) stayed so true to the Hellboy formula, that it holds true all the things that made so many people fall in love with the original comics. And while the gameplay is nothing more than a simple beat-em up, it manages to hold a great aesthetic appeal in terms of depth and the seemingly lack of repetition. Although I don't see this as a solid buy, it is great for a service such as a Gamefly since this title warrants a solid rent simply because it lets people know what makes Hellboy so great. I mean, as a fan of the original comics, I may be biased but it holds up as great introduction to the Hellboy universe and its amazing cast of characters and many of the new villains that the game introduces. In all the sums, its an amazing introduction with completely bearable gameplay that never really gets repetitive. I would recommend it to so many people that it may seem like I am a over flamboyant fan, but trust me when I say that it is a decent good game that warrants a super solid rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

OMG, This game is so horrible!

posted by Skydiv4500 (MINE HILL, NJ) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I would be hard pressed to fine another game as bad as Hellboy...oh wait, I just thought of one. Hello Kitty Island Adventure. Other than that, this might be the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kinda but not really

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This was a fun game, but not all that great. There was not really any good story, the split screen co-op was cool, b ut really, it was a mediocre game. Not even worth playing all the way through. I really want a good Hellboy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Below average

posted by Gaminfiend (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

It's nothing close to great but is not that far from bad either. The graphics are good, even though you will still experience some glitches from times to time, but the save point is so frequent that it makes up for having to restart a couple of times. From start to finish the game is very linear and repetitive( too much actually). The AI offers no real challenge at all, plus from start to finish hellboy's power or moves remain stable. All in all the lack of a real story and boring linear path and lame AI, make this game fall under average at best. If you want to take this game out for a night, it's all up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »