Rent Hell's Kitchen for Wii
view large frontback

Hell's Kitchen

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.9

995 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A "Kitchen" suitable for certain tastes

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Don't like cute, culinary choices? Looking for a more hardcore cooking experience? Tired of Mama (from Cooking Mama) talking to you like a good little boy/girl? Then step into this game.
Here, Chef Ramsey will yell at you in order to get you to serve your customers as fast as you can.
You control both the waiter and the cook here. As the waiter, you seat your customers, take their order, serve the prepared meals and clean up afterward. Just like Diner Dash.
As the cook, you have to prepare up to six ingredients with a single button push (depends on level of difficulty.)
Then, you put the right combination of ingredients in a pan or oven. When that happens the resulting dish will cook for a set time, indicated by a number next to that dish. After that, you drag it to the serving area.
Every time you use an ingredient, you have to prepare it in order to use it again. Also, different dishes require different cooking times.
Strategy and timing are everything here. You have to plan which ingredient goes where and also have to put in the last ingredient in each dish so that all the dishes will finish cooking at about the same time so you can serve them all at about the same time. This is how you get a great rating.
If you're slow, or if you slip up, a gauge on screen will rise, and Ramsey will scream at you. It falls if you give fast service and you prepare meals and serve them properly.
If the gauge fills up, you fail the level and must start over again.
You pass the level if you serve a set number of customers properly. You get a rating from one star (terrible) to five stars (perfect) and move to the next level.
The game looks good and I had little trouble with the controls, but the gameplay can get stale very quickly.
If you don't mind being verbally assaulted by Ramsey and are looking for a hardened mix of Diner Dash and Cooking Mama, rent the game and give it a try.
Otherwise, steer clear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Computer game

posted by Irish79 (APOPKA, FL) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was okay. At first it was nerve racking to get through level with Gordon constantly yelling at you. It only took me a total of 4 hours to beat the whole game. If you are looking at something to pass the time late at night then this is the game for you. If you are looking for something that has longer game play or more complex game play, skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Wii version was better than the PC version

posted by ninjakx (BILLERICA, MA) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would say that this raised my expectations mainly because they added an multiplayer element to this game making a little more difficult and added more to the depth of the game as opposed to the PC version. The only issue is that I breezed to the game pretty quickly mainly because I played the PC version first. This is defn worth the rental but there is no reason to really keep it because once you get all 5 stars for each day what is the point of playing it? You have gone as far as you can go in the game. That is the only real drawback for this game. Once you beat it there really is not very much replayability even when you are playing with friends it starts to get tedious after a few hours. But it is a great Brain Challenge type of game and Gordan Ramsay would be proud. I just wish they did a career mode thing in which you were a contestant and you had to pick your team just like the show and compete with the other team. Oh well maybe in the sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

..Doesn't take much to beat this game..

posted by Mycejetta (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree with most of the other reviews.. I had this game for an entire 3 days and I've beat the game with around 5 hours of playtime.. I was hoping for more recipes, more challenges, this game is to repetitive.. Sorry but this game will be returned just as quick as it came. Oh yeah.. Chef Ramsey.. Yells at you even when you are doing good... go figure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ughhh

posted by Dani3ll3 (TROY, NY) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's kind of like diner dash, only with a angry British man on your case all the time. WAY to repetitive and flat out boring. Love the show. Hate the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hells Kitchen

posted by shooter17 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its fun.. Very addicting. if you like games like Diner Dash and Cake Mania, you'll like this. Hand starts to hurt after playing awhile though. Wish they made it for xbox 360 as well so i can play with the regular controller. But Im enjoying myself with this game as we speak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a little boring

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I laughed at times during the game over what Gordon said to you. It's a lot milder language than the actual show. Each level gets harder and harder. I was able to do each challenge perfectly but when it came to service I wasn't so great. You have to seat customers, take their orders, serve it, clear their dishes, etc. I got frustrated as I wanted the guy to move faster to do something but there was only so fast he'd move. I'd be clicking on the blue light on a table a while before he finally responded. Therefore due to this I was slow with my service all the way around. I played with it for 90 minutes to 2 hours before growing tired of playing it. It wasn't that much fun and you could easily complete this game in a day if you had time to devote to it and how many times you failed to complete a day's service. They did offer you some real recipes and how to prepare them which I thought was cool but overall the game was very repetitive and each level it added another ingredient or two. You had to make sure that you cooked all the dishes so they were ready at the same time. You'd have to prepare some food ingredients twice as you had a couple of different customers at the same table wanting different combos. of the food which just added to the complication of the game as you advanced in it. While the food was preparing you have to check you dining room as new customers arrived, take their orders, get the first order out plus clean tables, get new customers, take their orders plus cook the orders too. It can get pretty complicated as time went by. I prefer the real show to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hells Kitchen a disappointment

posted by epellman (HARDINSBURG, IN) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

As a huge fan of Hells Kitchen I was very excited when this game came out. Unfortunately the most exciting thing about the game is the packaging. It is weak at best. My guess is that Chef Ramsay never played it as I have a hard time believing this would have met his seemingly strict standards. I would love to see this game revamped and brought back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW- WWWWW!

posted by Gman2006 (DEER PARK, TX) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

now I know why it is called Hells' Kitchen!
the game is outstanding! Just play it and you will not be down or want to stop you will want to cook something afterwards

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring

posted by edward7994 (GADSDEN, AL) Dec 1, 2008

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Rented it for my wife to her 30 min to master then she was bored. i counldnt have took 10 min with this waste of time. Gordon really should find these ppl and kick their ace (gamefly friendly).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip it

posted by willra (Baton Rouge, LA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the show, so I was pretty intrigued when I saw the game available. The wretched animated version of Ramsay was the first nail in the coffin for this game. It was so poorly done, it was almost uncomfortable to look at.
As far as the game play itself, it was really very one-dimensional, and certainly didn't have the variety of tasks/motions that I was hoping for. I think the Iron Chef game was probably a bit better in that respect.
All in all, I was really pleased to have the opportunity to rent it at a good price rather than buying it. Very little harm done, and my disappointment was cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Where's the HE double hocky sticks?

posted by joeluk123 (Jeffersonville, NY) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Other than chef Ramsey yelling a few profound things at you there really is no hells kitchen to this hells kitchen. I was looking to have to create the food as well as do challenges like in the show and yet I got lame Sims version of a restaurant. I have to say the I have a lot of respect as a fellow chef for Gordon and that is the only reason I give this game a 6 out of 10! It really deserves a 4.5-5 at the most!!!

Very truly yours,
Joseph L.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Intriguing, for the first hour.

posted by Noirling (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a little addictive. Timing everything just right so it goes out on time can be nerve-racking and actually a little fun. There are problems with this game, however. Voice acting is terribly repetitive, and the game is way too short. Me and my girlfriend beat the game in two sittings (roughly 3 hours). There are only so many sayings that Gordon Ramsey repeats and they grow annoying after a while. They should have given him about 100 more statements and made the game several hours longer.

Here is a game that would benefit from some RPG elements. For such a simple game, with limited graphics, I would expect it to be a lot more complex and to have a ton of more gameplay. As such, I returned it after about 6 hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I love Chef Ramsey!!!

posted by rljani1 (SUISUN CITY, CA) Sep 19, 2008

Member since May 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is so funny!!! Chef Ramsey really knows how to keep the laughs going. He yells and curses just like he does on both of his shows. I love the concept but the waiter moves really slow which throws your timing off a bit. I'm debating on whether or not to purchase it because I'm afraid I might get bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A different type of game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I watch Hells Kitchen and Kitchen Nightmares which are Chef Ramsey's shows. And i love how he's always cursing and yelling at everybody. And this game is just like having your own kitchen and Chef Ramsey is yelling at you. When you start out a day you greet the customers, take their order, prepare the meal, and then take their food to them. It is kind of small by the way so if you have a very small tv, you might not want to rent this because you wont be able to see anything. Chef Ramsey is yelling at you when you are too slow or you prepare the meals sloppy. Which by the way when you prepare the meals, you chop up the food and then you cook it and there is a clock above the food and you need to keep the clocks somewhat close. This game is pretty easy if you only have 2 or 3 tables, but once you hit 4 or 5 it gets a bit hectic. This game is not a big hit but its not that bad if you like this kind of game. And ive seen some pretty bad games for the wii so i know how good they should be. If you have a large enough tv rent this game. If you dont either find a bigger tv or another game to rent. I would prouble not suggest you buy this game though since you would prouble get bored of it pretty soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I was not impressed

posted by DHtheCamel (DULUTH, GA) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that ubisoft owes everyone who ever paid money to play this game an apology. The gameplay was mechanical and repetitious and was more akin to a low end arcade game like diner dash than to anything resembling the TV show. At no point did the game provide anything resembling an adequate story line or any reason to want to finish the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rip-off.

posted by RENCAMO (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2004

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

If anyone here has played the online game "Diner Dash" you would recognize everything about it the

second you played the first real level.

Onto what's wrong with the game.

1. It can't make a game due to it ripping off Diner Dash.

2. First time I played this game, I was having wrist pains in the first 20 minutes.

3. The whole game is about timing and dropping some things into pots or oven, seating people, brining them there food, writing down there orders and repeating that... the entire game.

4. Nothing is really fun or new through-out the entire game.

So if your thinking of renting this game, wait till' the PC version comes out and try the demo or try it at a friends house first. Until' then. Don't buy or rent this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WROST

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth it...

posted by Lchandler2010 (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game isn't worth waiting for. Honestly, if you want a game like this just do that diner game online. The only differance is you have a guy cursing at you if your not fast enough. The graphics were terrible as well. i played it for only half an hour, and had to stop because of how repetitive and boring it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

H.K.

posted by candktoo (WINTERVILLE, NC) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Not a bad game, but not much more than Diner Dash meets Gordon Ramsey. It's fun for several hours, but that's it. Beat the entire game in around 4 hours or so. Nothing dramatic happens when you beat it, but it's not the worst thing I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother..

posted by Kitana79 (KENILWORTH, NJ) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

what a waste of 4 days waiting for the mail. I am a huge fan of the T.V show and couldn't wait to play this over the Memorial day holiday, popped it in and wow! what a disappointment. Your better off going online and playing Diner dash for free. It's not like you get to prep (chop blend ect.) or use any of the cooking methods, all you do is click the dining room, seat people and 3 clicks to serve them.
Now I have to wait for a new game.

Sorry Gordan, your game sucks you donkey!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by nikikate (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was fun for about 46 minutes. It was quick and easy to learn, and really worked out time management skills. But, after a hard day of working, the last thing I want to do is come home and be yelled at by my computer game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by msdiva (MADISON HEIGHTS, MI) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was really boring. I was expecting this game to be really fun but its not at all. I sent back the same day i received it in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring...Lots of clicking

posted by Ngetal (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

If you are looking for a facebook type game on a console, this is it. Sadly, some of the facebook ones are better. I was able to play the first three levels in under and hour and a half. It was mostly just clicking with the Wii Remote. The good thing about this is that there are recipes from Gordon Ramsay.

Another bad thing is that you can't tell if you are doing well or not until the end of service. It seems like you are doing poorly, then you get 4 or 5 stars. It's very confusing.

This isn't even worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHAT!

posted by lilsperk (NEWBURY, OH) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

TOTAL waste of time. DONT DO IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse