Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25798 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant

posted by Skysaw (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2005

I've been renting from Gamefly for many years. This is one of only two games I've ever opted to keep.

Graphics are great, story is great, acting is great. But the real reason the GAME is great is that it puts pressure on you to make big decisions, and the decisions you make change the course of the story and the game. There are 18 different endings!

What I really like is that you can just keep playing from beginning to end, all without having to go back to a save because you died. You've got four characters and if one of them dies, you can just go right on playing. You haven't lost -- you've just changed the course of events! I suggest you approach the game the same way. It really makes everything you do seem all the more consequential. It also makes the whole thing much more replayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Rain

posted by DaBailey (DALLAS, TX) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This was a very good game,the graphics were good and the story line was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good game!

posted by Byrin_X (BARSTOW, CA) Jul 23, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game was really good. Had a very interesting story and makes you think on your feet. Only downside was choppy or slow character movement when you are in control of them. I played Beyond and it seemed like they fixed all the problems this game had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The French should research a bit more..

posted by Blasterizer (BRENHAM, TX) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

While I really want to give this game a decent review, I can't bring myself to do it. Between the horrible french accents that are trying to sound american and the overly dramatized law enforcement found, it was terrible. I found myself struggling to even want to finish it. The French should really consider maybe doing a bit more research into US law. Administration condoning police brutality? Really? Even just the hint of brutality would cause any confession to be overturned in court? Cops that are gun happy that "shoot to kill"? Complete and utter bullcrud. Really makes law enforcement look terrible, with horrible accents, and a terrible plot. I can't recommend whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really dragged me in

posted by Badgers (GOODYEAR, AZ) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is probably one of the few games in which has been able to keep my attention for an extended period of time. It is a story based game, so if you like tons of action and a fast paced environment it isn't the game for you.

The story really gets you on edge and you eventually start to identify with some of the characters. What you do, affects the game further on and you have freedom to pick your path. You also have around four characters you play as, and each has a different goal. At the risk of spoilers I will leave it at that.

I only had one problem with the game and that was with Camera Angles. Every now and again the camera does make things hard for you to maneuver and I found myself stumbling every now and again. Though, it doesn't really affect game play to negatively.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

10 out of 10

posted by xMIAMIBOIx9 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is amazing !! you will like it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Heavy Rain

posted by 47boogers (HOPEWELL, VA) May 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

This game is good, if you do not get one of the infamous "defective copies", like I apparently did. I originally played it back in early 2010, and I liked it. Wanted another go at it, but received a copy that wont even make it past the initial get out of bed action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Nadex (BROOKLYN, NY) May 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I loved this game. It look a little while for me to get into it, plus the controls take some time getting used to. This is different from your average game, so it's not for everyone. I loved the cinematic quality, the dialogue, and the story as well.

The controls can be annoying for those who are used to traditional games. The most challenging for me was the action sequences, and it took some time for me to get the hang of hitting controls right as they come on screen. You also can't run in the game, which to me was the most frustrating, especially when trying to get something done quickly. Everything you do affects the story and how the game ends. I got the best ending, so I wouldn't play it again just to see the alternatives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It has potential

posted by wllnt (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Heavy Rain has potential to be a good interactive game, but it just didn't do it for me. This would have made a better movie than a game. The game controls, in my opinion, were less than satisfactory. I probably should have chosen "I don't play video games much and don't know the controls" option. One false move and the story changes and you miss out on the story line. If I could use the controller better, perhaps I would have liked this game more than I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crashes

posted by moc804 (RICHMOND, VA) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

sad to say i never got to play the game it kept crashing before the menu. When it crash the 8th time i looked to see if it was common, and yes it is. ultimately i still want to play it, hopefully sooner than later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Uhh

posted by aierc235 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

We'll the first two mims of the game the sound cuts out and I can't interact with anything? Also it's pretty dumb u gotta hold r2 to walk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by dawks2098 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I thought this game was very boring....slow action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Heavy Rain

posted by Bluedevildude (CRAMERTON, NC) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is not a game! In my opinion! It's an interactive dialog and even that is booring.. slow... boring! It's annoying! I can't believe the good marks this"game" is getting! This is Not for a true gamer! Don't waste your time as I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant game.

posted by tranquilturnip (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Wow, I loved this game, great plot and story writing. Very creepy and dark, reminds me of the movie, "Seven'. Highly recommended if you like games to be a little more intellegent than just mindless shooter games or hack and slashers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Cinematic Title

posted by gamer1997 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Heavy Rain is one of those few games that can really take you into its world and make you feel like you're actually in the shoes of each of the four characters. The graphics are a little dated and there are a few technical hiccups here and there, such as slow downs, pop in, and even total game crashes, but the crashes are very rare and you probably wont notice the texture pop ins much. This is seriously a great story driven game and if you haven't played it, now is the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You should try it

posted by HyeEsDo (GLENDALE, CA) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I like this better than Beyond two souls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Original

posted by TheDogTako (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is a game unlike any other, where every choice you make affects the outcome and everything you do involves a sequence of buttons you must press in the right way. The story kept me glued to my seat. As for gameplay I wouldn't say that it's stronghold, but it is very original in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really worth renting and if you like movie-style, thriller games, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was alright

posted by rockoscum (WAYNESBORO, VA) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

great graphics great story but this would have been better off as a movie rather than a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Rain doesn't get any Heavier then it does here

posted by Gamingcurse (KELSO, WA) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I try to not "Review" games because I feel that they should be experienced by everyone. This is my experience and thoughts playing the game.

Hey guys, it's kind of weird I'm doing this "Review" right now because where I live it's pouring rain right now.

With that said, lets get on with the show I remember when I first played this game and to this date with the exception of Beyond: Two Souls which I think is the GOTY for 2013 this game has to be the most beautiful only second to Beyond: Two Souls.

When someone makes a claim that their game is beautiful and their story is superb they have a lot to prove in my eyes and this game is nothing short of total perfection. When I say that I mean it. I don't give perfect scores at all because to me a Perfect score of 10 out of 10 or a %100 means there is nothing wrong at all with the game.

This game would have been perfect however this game does have one flaw which I personally feel is the controls. Which I understand for a game as detailed as this game and well written something has to give and in this case it's the controls. It's nothing to the point I feel crippled but there are times I had to redo a sequence because I thought I was suppose to go one way when in fact I was suppose to go another. Nothing bad but still a tad annoying.

Overall, I've played a lot of games in my life and with the exception of Beyond: Two Souls this game has to be one of the most graphically detailed and beautiful games I've seen of the previous console generation.

I have to pick a score for this review and that score is a Solid 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a really good game

posted by TimeElite12 (DEFIANCE, OH) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

this is a game that gets in down to the bone and wire this is game where you have to make choices hard choices to find your son its just a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by idontcare1234 (UNION, SC) Oct 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is amazing. GREAT plotline, really good graphics. I love games where you can choose kind of your own ending type deal, and this game is my all time favorite game. It's amazing. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by cOKEBOY_cOLON (NAUGATUCK, CT) Oct 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

This game was absolutely perfect. so much detail and a great story. I could not stop playing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Press X to Jason

posted by tehpwnerer1918 (DEER CREEK, MN) Aug 14, 2013

Member since May 2011

First things first, I only played about 4 hours of the game before giving up and sending it back.

For the most part you are tasked with doing tedious tasks like going to the bathroom, putting your head into your hands, talking to children, thinking out loud, taking a shower, etc. The most memorable/ridiculous moment is having to press X to yell "Jason!" at a mall many, many times. It felt like 3rd person "The Sims", but much more monotonous.

I gave it a solid shot, and it was never gripping enough to keep me interested so I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

heavy rain

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

bad control hurt hands super bad out this game sholudnot have made this game no map irritating the dark to in the suck mash button thecamera the weak the boring annoying not perfect all the voiceover not good bad acting tap button game not climb up hill rent buy or not play this at alllaoding time take the funny the tuo tior smack do not waster you time this game all game maker should do better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse