Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25676 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Uhh

posted by aierc235 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

We'll the first two mims of the game the sound cuts out and I can't interact with anything? Also it's pretty dumb u gotta hold r2 to walk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by dawks2098 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I thought this game was very boring....slow action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Heavy Rain

posted by Bluedevildude (CRAMERTON, NC) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is not a game! In my opinion! It's an interactive dialog and even that is booring.. slow... boring! It's annoying! I can't believe the good marks this"game" is getting! This is Not for a true gamer! Don't waste your time as I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant game.

posted by tranquilturnip (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Wow, I loved this game, great plot and story writing. Very creepy and dark, reminds me of the movie, "Seven'. Highly recommended if you like games to be a little more intellegent than just mindless shooter games or hack and slashers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Cinematic Title

posted by gamer1997 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Heavy Rain is one of those few games that can really take you into its world and make you feel like you're actually in the shoes of each of the four characters. The graphics are a little dated and there are a few technical hiccups here and there, such as slow downs, pop in, and even total game crashes, but the crashes are very rare and you probably wont notice the texture pop ins much. This is seriously a great story driven game and if you haven't played it, now is the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You should try it

posted by HyeEsDo (GLENDALE, CA) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I like this better than Beyond two souls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Original

posted by TheDogTako (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is a game unlike any other, where every choice you make affects the outcome and everything you do involves a sequence of buttons you must press in the right way. The story kept me glued to my seat. As for gameplay I wouldn't say that it's stronghold, but it is very original in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really worth renting and if you like movie-style, thriller games, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was alright

posted by rockoscum (WAYNESBORO, VA) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

great graphics great story but this would have been better off as a movie rather than a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Rain doesn't get any Heavier then it does here

posted by Gamingcurse (KELSO, WA) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I try to not "Review" games because I feel that they should be experienced by everyone. This is my experience and thoughts playing the game.

Hey guys, it's kind of weird I'm doing this "Review" right now because where I live it's pouring rain right now.

With that said, lets get on with the show I remember when I first played this game and to this date with the exception of Beyond: Two Souls which I think is the GOTY for 2013 this game has to be the most beautiful only second to Beyond: Two Souls.

When someone makes a claim that their game is beautiful and their story is superb they have a lot to prove in my eyes and this game is nothing short of total perfection. When I say that I mean it. I don't give perfect scores at all because to me a Perfect score of 10 out of 10 or a %100 means there is nothing wrong at all with the game.

This game would have been perfect however this game does have one flaw which I personally feel is the controls. Which I understand for a game as detailed as this game and well written something has to give and in this case it's the controls. It's nothing to the point I feel crippled but there are times I had to redo a sequence because I thought I was suppose to go one way when in fact I was suppose to go another. Nothing bad but still a tad annoying.

Overall, I've played a lot of games in my life and with the exception of Beyond: Two Souls this game has to be one of the most graphically detailed and beautiful games I've seen of the previous console generation.

I have to pick a score for this review and that score is a Solid 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a really good game

posted by TimeElite12 (DEFIANCE, OH) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

this is a game that gets in down to the bone and wire this is game where you have to make choices hard choices to find your son its just a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by idontcare1234 (UNION, SC) Oct 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is amazing. GREAT plotline, really good graphics. I love games where you can choose kind of your own ending type deal, and this game is my all time favorite game. It's amazing. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by cOKEBOY_cOLON (NAUGATUCK, CT) Oct 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

This game was absolutely perfect. so much detail and a great story. I could not stop playing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Press X to Jason

posted by tehpwnerer1918 (DEER CREEK, MN) Aug 14, 2013

Member since May 2011

First things first, I only played about 4 hours of the game before giving up and sending it back.

For the most part you are tasked with doing tedious tasks like going to the bathroom, putting your head into your hands, talking to children, thinking out loud, taking a shower, etc. The most memorable/ridiculous moment is having to press X to yell "Jason!" at a mall many, many times. It felt like 3rd person "The Sims", but much more monotonous.

I gave it a solid shot, and it was never gripping enough to keep me interested so I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

heavy rain

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

bad control hurt hands super bad out this game sholudnot have made this game no map irritating the dark to in the suck mash button thecamera the weak the boring annoying not perfect all the voiceover not good bad acting tap button game not climb up hill rent buy or not play this at alllaoding time take the funny the tuo tior smack do not waster you time this game all game maker should do better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THRILLING MOVIE-LIKE EXPERIENCE

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Heavy Rain plays out like a great drama movie, keeping you on the edge of your seat.

At the time of release, the graphics were very good and the facial animations were innovating. The environments fit the tone of the game, but there is a European-esque touch to everything (considering the devs hail from Europe). The controls serve well except for the player movement; sometimes it does not match with the direction you are pointing your thumbsticks. The storyline is outstanding and is sure to keep you glued to your seat.

For only 6-8 hours, this is time well spent for a must-play exclusive. Don't miss out before this game gets too old to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is amazing

posted by captaincrusade (ATTAPULGUS, GA) Jul 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

it's starts off slow but once you give it the chance to pick up. You will NOT want to stop playing. Unlike most games if you fail or a character dies the game will still continue the story line will change and the ending maybe different. This game is simply amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Slow Start, Excellent Story

posted by cerealkeller (EMPORIUM, PA) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I should point out that the game takes forever to get to anything interesting. It took probably two hours of solid gameplay before I got to anything remotely interesting. Unless you enjoy a virtual shower and playing with a couple of virtual kids. I can think of better things to do with my time. I guess they had to set up the story. Heavy Rain is like a good movie. Actually it probably would have made an epic movie. So it starts off slow, they introduce the characters and give you a little bit of a background on everyone. I was actually about ready to give up, but I figured it had to get good eventually so I stuck it out and I'm glad I did. The controls are a bit clunky for walking around. I got irritated a few times because I couldn't get the character to go where I wanted them to. And it's no regular third person game, you only really interact with the game, you don't really control everything. You're pretty much just along for the ride. For instance, in any given scene you would hit a series of buttons or use the motion controller or the controllers built in accelerometer by waiving it around to complete various actions. It can be a bit annoying at times, waiving the controller around, but it does allow you to get immersed in the action in a way you normally don't get to. The story is excellent, I gave it an 8 instead of a 9 because I spent 2 hours just going through the motinos. This game will make you believe something, then challenge that assumption and give you something new to think about. It's really very interesting and you're in control of the what happens in the story. Either by way of choice, precision controlling or if you fail. If you don't have a grasp of the layout of the controller, or if you have poor reflexes I would suggest playing on easy. Medium was challenging at times. Great game, definitely one of the PS3 exclusives that everyone needs ot check out at some points. Poor fanboys and their one favorite console. Get em all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by crandall1010 (LARAMIE, WY) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game will keep you entertained from beginning to end. If you love an in depth game where you can almost put yourself inside it, this is definitely a game for you. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by wolverine0895 (MECHANICVILLE, NY) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

by far the best game i've ever played. Really set the standards for ps3 exclusives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

heavy rain

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of Kind

posted by Xridikule (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) May 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Hasn't aged a bit since it's release -- to those complaining of sluggishness.... either they're not familiar with how to adapt to control schemes or do not take optimum care of their PS3. My 500GB Crystal White Limited Edition PS3 playes this perfectly in perfect High Def -- This is def. not a run and gunner ... Nor is it a Silent Hill. This game stands alone, and stands above many games made over the years since it's introduction. I keep asking myself why aren't there more games like this ?? My guess is it costs too much to have a real cinematic team working side by side with game developers. Thought the final product is totally worth it.

Graphics : 10

Storyline : 10

Controls : 9

Difficulty : 6

Replay Value : 8

Critical Mass : 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Heavy rain

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) May 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

This game below average, sluggish, repetitive & stupid with the mechanics the only thing good is the story line & the graphics. This game moves entirely too slow & too much button bushing sequences. Not at all on the level of LA Noir

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wont work in my play station 3

posted by acekinghigh (GRANITE CITY, IL) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

was looking forward to playing this game. this was the second time that I have had this game and had to send it back because it would not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game can't be played on a SDTV

posted by Johnwooninja (STONY CREEK, NY) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was really looking forward to playing this title but when I popped it in I soon realized it would not be playable on my tv so now I have to send it back and wait a week or so to get my next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse