Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25763 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

heavy rain

posted by fernandope (SYLMAR, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

its a awsome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ever wanted a movie to go your way?

posted by Hansolo (SAINT MATTHEWS, SC) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

I have never felt so drawn into a game as this one.The closest thing I can compare it to is an old Dreamcast title called Shenmue.If you played that then believe me when I say Heavy Rain is the perfect evolution of that idea.The game centers around 4 main characters that you will take on as the game progresses.Its being called an"Interactive Drama"and that's exactly what it is.The first of many imitations I'd bet.You are in complete control of every aspect.You can interact with nearly everything.Even mundane things like taking a shower somehow keep you involved enough not to put it down.You will be given choices to make throughout the game,and the decisions you make will shape the story,and for the most part whats done is done. If you made a mistake..better luck next replay.The controls of the game are very simple.Even someone who has never played a game can get into this one thanks to yet another unique way of selecting difficulty.Pressing the right button when prompted or mimicking an arrow movement with the R3 is all it takes.One thing I want to note is that finally there is a game that makes the sixaxis useful and responsive.You'd almost think it was a Wii game at times.Once the story begins to take off clear your schedule cause you're not gonna wanna stop.The intriguing mystery will keep you guessing just like a good plot should.The graphics are just astounding and so realistic at times you may forget its just a game.The only real complaint I've had was that some of the voices sound robotic and unemotional,but the story is so good you will look past that. Keep in my mind that this isn't a shoot everything you can,or a hack and slash.Its a story driven Drama that you are in complete control of,but there are sequences of intense action.If you wanna break the plates go ahead.(you'll see what I mean)Its just all done in a very unique way.PARENTS BEWARE the content is very adult.Heavy Rain is going to be a classic,and most likely not the last of its kind. PLAY IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain= Your very own suspense thriller!

posted by Grenkuts (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

Now, mind you, I am going by this on experience of the demo, but Heavy Rain is the most exciting (and most different) game this year for the PS3. Its enough to make Xbox 360 only owners mad with rage.

This game is sure to attract the avid & hardcore gamer with pure interest, as well as any fan of a suspense thriller (movie, novel, etc.). The game revolves around four officers and investigators searching for clues and whereabouts to the origami killer. But enough with the story right now, lets get to the bulk of it: graphics & controls!

NOTE: YOU MUST HAVE A HDTV TO REALLY, REALLY APPRECIATE THE GRAPHICS, BUT IF YOU HAVE A REGULAR TV, ITS OK.

The graphics are truly life-like. Sharp, elegant, and perfect. Along with the game's music score, it brings a true feel to that of playing out a game like a real life movie!

The controls are definitely a true first: everything, and I do mean everything, is based on your decision! from opening the car door, to taking a puff of antihistamine for asthma, to leaving some money on the table, to taking a part in ducking, weaving, and attacking someone in a fight, its one of the first games since god of war where your analog stick and every button is utilized throughout every movement of the game.

If you enjoy a game that allows you to think on your toes, and helps you use your brain a lot more than a average shooter or sim would, I definitely consider this a Buy! If you rent it, wait for it to go down in the keep price and buy it! Oh, did I mention I read that there's no game over at all in this game? That's right: NO GAME OVER WHATSOEVER! If you get knocked down, you just get knocked down and the game continues (a la GTA titles, somewhat).

My rate: 10 out of 10 chicken wings!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it !!!!

posted by Squint1329 (INGLEWOOD, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

Heavy Rain is great, The one thing that I don't care too much for is that you can not run, So getting around can be slow. The story and gameplay easily make up for it though, I couldn't get away from my tv yesterday, I almost called in sick for work just to keep playing. The whole game is just so interesting and at the end of each chapter you just want more ! If you like mystery adventure then do yourself a favor and pick this game up ! It's insane, I got to stop writing this to so I can fire it up right now ! Mystery....Murders....Love,,,,Action.... OMG I CAN'T STOP !!! I GOT TO GO BYE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Perfect.

posted by Aliciacobb (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game is perfect. JUST perfect. get this game. This game is very slow paced and I do not recommend this game to people to constantly want action and shooting, hack and slash kind of stuff.

There was a game content problem last night where things were freezing. It probably will be updated soon, but has nothing to do with how the game was made.

SUCCESS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by scottace86 (ORRINGTON, ME) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

Heavy Rain is a good game if you a have ps3 you need to buy it i am buy it off game fly 10 out of 10 good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sick

posted by Charles102 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

One word....awsome. A must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game is awesome

posted by Gam3masta (SPRING, TX) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The Best PS3 game to come out yet still more to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse