Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25835 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

heavy Rain

posted by Nairobi (FREMONT, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Very good game grapichs are great and the story is fun try to catch the murder. It starts of slow but after that you cant but the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AN ADULT VERSION OF THE SIMS....

posted by hakizi (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The only reason why i'm comparing it to The Sims (and other games of that sort) is because of the tedious "actions" you control over the characters. Who would've ever thought that,for example, cooking eggs in a video game would be fun??? Though it may seem mundane to actually have to partake in such activities, it does go along with the story fittingly. I mean, you are INVOLVED in this game/movie. You're never really sure when to put the controller down for a second. What first appears to be a cut scene, often turns out to be a continued part of the game play. There were times when i screamed out "Oh (beep).... i'm still playing!" Then quickly had realized that i missed out on whatever option that just popped up on the screen. So...if you need to take a break from playing....PAUSE THE GAME!!! DO NOT WALK AWAY FOR A FEW SECONDS THINKING YOU HAVE TIME!!! I just finished the game (great ending btw) and i'm looking forward to playing it again. Just to see what differences there are based on the decisions that are made throughout the game. As everyone pretty much has already stated, it's really not for everyone. It's like The Sims got together with C.S.I. and had a baby named Heavy Rain : ) This is my first review for any game, so obviously i liked it enough to write this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is indeed a movie feel type game

posted by berserk84 (NEW HYDE PARK, NY) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Lets just start off by saying wow,woah and omg!Heavy Rain is one heck of a game.Its non stop adrenaline pumping game,mystery,suspense and drama,It also show how far one can go to save dear love one.

I have PS3 and Xbox 360.I put Heavy Rain right up there with Mass Effect 2 and Uncharted 2,but even better.Note that this game is for a more mature crowd due to the violence and sexuality.Heavy Rain is and was so good that i played from sun rise to sun set non-stop,it so amazingly i just couldn't let go of the controller.

If you choose to buy,this game will totally not let you down and its also a great rental,i myself would love to hold on to the longer but in the end i got to knock games of my gameQ list.

10 out 10 in my personal opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game.

posted by mhaxhiaj (WORCESTER, MA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

First of all let me start off by saying that this game is not for everybody, and that's okay because those that don't like it, probably will never play it. The game has a very interesting concept and is very storyline driven. The story pulls you in and you begin to care about the characters, which makes it really intense when a character is staring death in the eyes in the game, and if you mess up there is a chance that your character might be dead for good in the story. As for the sound, the music really goes with the moods of the game. The graphics are top notch, even though there might be some slight blemishes. The way the faces of people are portrayed and expressions and everything, I must say is the best I've ever seen in a videogam; the absolute closest we have gotten to real life. The gameplay and controls are really nice and intuitive and everything works just fine. The use of the SIXAXIS remote is also nicely incorporated. My only major complaint about the game is the camera. There are some parts where the camera just doesn't cooperate, but it still works out in the end, because it's worth getting through the camera troubles to play this amazing game. Once you get hooked on the story, there's no way you'll put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNBELIEVABLE

posted by eedobaba (MEMPHIS, TN) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

This game was AMAZING. I was ecstatic to see that the story surpasses the gorgeous graphics, and the gameplay is very engaging as well. Every room is absolutely beautiful in visuals and design (the bonus's include 10 galleries of concept art) and you grow to know and both suspect the very characters you play as.
Near the end (this game is in no way short, keep in mind. I was playing religiously, glued to the TV) there were a bunch of absolutely jawdrop moments (including scenes written better than most movies I've seen) that took me completely by surprise, and yet made perfect sense with what I'd seen so far. There's also a bunch of moments in the game where I had to sit with the game paused and think about what I should do in very moral decisions.
This game ranks in my top 5 games ever played, no doubt. It exceeds my expectations both graphically and in substance, and I'm definitely giving it another couple plays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good

posted by Playdoe101 (HERCULES, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True adult drama in virtual form.

posted by MrPipkins (South Sioux City, NE) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

Simply a mature games for mature people who dont need Halo twitch gameplay or giant zombies to have a great gaming experience. Story is top notch and graphics are the reason you purchased a PS3 hopefully we will see more of these types of titles in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Rain

posted by surfer7 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since May 2006

Well, I woke up this morning, brushed my teeth, shaved, had a shower, dressed, made breakfast, ate breakfast and decided to pop in Heavy Rain as everyone is raving about it. Once the game started I woke up, brushed my teeth, shaved, and shot myself in the head out of sheer boredom! Sorry, I am just not that patient.
Graphics were the bomb though and for one WITH patience probably a cool adventure thus the high rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome to the Future

posted by profficy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Simply amazing. In the grand tradition of psychological thrillers Heavy Rain is a masterpiece. Engaging story told in a truly original style. No game has ever made a life or death struggle feel important. Knowing in Heavy Rain that if you lose your life the world moves on without you, rather than a game over/continue, causes a much deeper connection with the situation at hand. You want to stay alive because you want that characters point of view to continue.

The characters are subtle and deep. Video games don't often accomplish this. the nuances of character are a result of the fact the user gets to shape them any way they choose. Reminiscent of a choose your own adventure book(can't stick your finger in the previous page however) the multitude of choices to be made, sometimes with very little time to think, create a deeper engagement with a video game character than I have ever felt before.

Game froze a couple of times but the auto save frequency made this nothing but a mild inconvenience. Controls, particularly walking, feel wooden at the beginning but this quickly becomes a nonissue once the story begins to roll.

I believe this could be the future of gaming. Not that I think all games will or should take this new route. A lot of them will. There will be good ones, great ones and maybe even a dog or two. It's nice to see a developers risk pay off so large. Who can be upset with another genre on the game shelf?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

another instant classic by quantic dream

posted by bacdafucup (ALLENTOWN, PA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

this is not for the button mashers this game is very story driven, luckily the story is very engaging 2 thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let it rain

posted by CallMeEnvy (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

this is just what i thought it would be, a movie made for every one. people who love movies, people who love suspence, people who love game. the level of difficulty you play under can really change the game and its worth atleast two play througth get it inless you just love to run and gun, it may be a little slow for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interactive Dramatic Thriller.... not just a movie

posted by dewwy578 (BRISTOL, CT) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

Heavy Rain is a great game. For people who think it is just like a movie and there is no point in getting this game, you're wrong. The game's length for one is different. The game is about 20 times the length of a movie (depending on how you play it) which is around 40 hours. So you go find a movie that is that in-depth like Heavy Rain. Also, you basically are the director for the game. When has there ever been a movie that went exactly the way you wanted it to. That's right, never. You are engaged in it the whole time. There were some parts where I didn't think anything was going to happen but it turned out there was something. One flaw is that the writing is sometimes hard to read when you have to pick something to say but I might just not have a big enough tv. And the controls are wierd but the thing that stands out the most is the walking. Literally walking. You can't run, and you have to use R2. There is one more thing. You can count this as really bad or really good. It makes you feel way more attached than a movie ever could. Overall, I would give it a 9.3/10. Oh and just a warning. If you get a piece of paper inside besides the manual, don't fold it up. Wait for the prompting on-screen once you put it in unless you don't want the origami figure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely The Best Game Experience Ever!

posted by asoria85 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I played it a straight 9 hours. Could not put it down. Me and my wife played it, she controlled the female and I did the guy roles. Awesome Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Impressive looking game

posted by lownbreezy (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

I am very impressed with this game overall. It LOOKS great! It plays like controlling a tank though. When walking around the character sometimes reminds me of Skate 2 when you jump of your board. A run button should have been in this one thats for sure!

The gameplay of this game is what will turn a lot of people off I think. This game isnt much on gameplay as it is reaction. Remember Dragons Lair the old arcade game? Well if you liked that game you will love this game! Its just watching a movie and pressing the requested button within the time given. For me this type of game quickly turns it into a "I want to keep playing to see the ending" and not "I want to keep playing because I am enjoying playing"

But the graphics and story and originality of this game set it apart and dont get me wrong it is a definate play for any PS3 owner! Just be aware of what this game is all about beforehand and you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you have a PS3 and don't play you wasted $300!!

posted by DParagon (Uniontown, OH) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

"What an amazing play!" That's exactly what I said upon finishing this game. Not since Mario 64 has something seemed so new, fresh and exciting in the world of videogames. Imagine a cross between the films "Seven" and "Saw" combined with games like Myst and Shenmue and you have an idea of what to expect. This is gaming at the top of it's game (no pun intended) It's like directing your own movie on the fly and watching the results of your decicion making play out on screen. The graphics, sound, controls, and story will grab you in a way that will make you forget your playing a game. Make no mistake, when you pull the trigger in this game you will feel something. If you choose to make love in this game you may feel guilty for your actions. In twenty years of game-play I have never played anything that felt this "adult" and "mature"-something other games-(cough GTA) attempt but never quite succeed at. This is the intellectual's paradise as far as games are concerned. That's not to say it's absolutely perfect. The plot has some holes depending on your outcome, there are a few glitches here and there, and the voice acting isn't perfect, but as a whole the product is an amazing step forward for the medium of videogames. Anyone who has played games since Super Mario World or the origional Sonic will simply be blown away. For everyone else your jaw will drop at least once throughout the experience, and for those who choose to skip out on this one, please don't call yourself a hardcore gamer! Bottom line if you have access to a PS3 and don't play this you wasted $300

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Rain... WOW!!!

posted by RockBand (NOVATO, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since May 2007

This game was everything I expected and MORE!
PROS (...and only pros)
1.) Choices! Even though you would probably play this game no more than 3 times, it's still plenty, because of all the various choices. And I feel that each character has it's own unique choices (even though some are the same characters for each - they've programmed it in a way to make each choice feel unique) This game highly reminds me of those books were you could choose what to do next - "If you want to go outside, turn to page 11, if you want to stay in your room go to page 18 - classics!!!)
2.) Graphics! Even though most in-game graphics are noticeably "in-game" it's still pretty decent looking... NexGen quality. The stuff that really shines though, are the pre-rendered scenes. They look amazing...and then when they really do the "close-up" shots, they look outstanding!
3.) Characters! The characters are ALL unigue! They way they look, act, and sound are truly amazing! Probably some of the best Motion Capture for a game having to deal with a TON of dialogue and scenes! You will DEFINITELY start having feelings for YOUR main characters.
4.) Story Story Story! If you ever watched TV shows like 24, then you will enjoy Heavy Rain's story. I played for 7 hours straight, because I always wanted to know what would happen next!! That's all I'm going to say, no spoiling here!
5.) Music! They have a real-life orchestra and professionally scored! It really enhances those high-peak and intense moments as well as the nice, soft, heart-felt scenes too! Really does the job!
6.) Gameplay! If you're like me, then you'll love the QTE button pressing ala God of War style. But here it's done pretty nice where you feel rewarded for each pressing button you hit correctly, and definitely feel the pain for pressing a wrong button. There are times where you have to press & hold various buttons and as though it may feel awkward, it's perfect because you're performing awkward task
Cons: Walking sucks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by Maynard573 (BAY CITY, MI) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was fantastic. One of the most original and well designed stories in a long time. It don't take very long to beat but the replay value is extremely high. One choice can greatly change your story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wait for It....

posted by Mikewarren (KAYSVILLE, UT) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

This game is a lot like first playing Sims or Shenmue in that you don't expect what you are about to love. Keep at the monotony and soon you'll be eagerly smashing the buttons, jerking the control around like you're bouncing in your seat, and moving that right stick ever so softly because you can't wait to see what's next. It's a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game for csi and book readers

posted by jewels (MARATHON, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game puts you in great drama,putting you in positions where you need to make choices that will effect the outcome of this game.
its great to have friends or family members watch you play the game, cause when things start coming together everone starts wondering why certain things in the game occur. My friends will yell "Dont do it!" or KIll him Kill him!"

This game can really put everyone watching in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HEAVY RAIN

posted by HOEZAY28 (WEST HARRISON, NY) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

I think this could be a good start for new story telling gameplay, feels like I'm part of a movie controlling my destiny. Its for gamer that are really in to story plots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by DaShawn (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is one of the best games of 2010, the graphics are the best I seen so far besides (uncharted 2) the storyline is great keeps you playing the game, wondering what will happen next. Forget what the HATERS SAY, this is a great game. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome movie

posted by Simba8585 (SPANAWAY, WA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Great storyline and long to for playin thru at one time took me about 10 hours to go all the way thru.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by Robert1080 (STANWOOD, MI) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I played this game for one night, I was on the edge of my couch almost the whole time and my wife wont stop watching me. I cant wait to go home and play it for another whole night and half the next day :) I highly recommend this game, but I'm not sending it back. Sorry guys, gotta buy this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissapointed

posted by Jeff2525 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

After reading many positive reviews I was a bit let down by the game. The first couple of hours were extremely slow and boring. Stand up sit down what is my character thinking grab a drink take a shower draw a picture play with kids. After the initial boring character development the story began to pick up a bit. Sadly it never grabbed much of my attention. I was beginning to ask myself why keep playing i'd rather just watch a dramatic movie. About 5 hours into the game and what I figured to be a predictable ending which I didn't care much about I hit eject from My PS3 and never looked back. Worth the rental if you buy into the hype and expect a very slow dreary plot. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jschultz (BEACH CITY, OH) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

This Game is AWESOME!!!! the story, the characters...evreything is just a good all around game. However i feel it does not deserve a 10 the game is kinda buggy, the music will skip a little bit during the game nothing too major. The controls are kind of weird but you should get use to them right away, and sometimes the camera angle can be a bit of a pain as well.

Now on to the good, great story line i like how you can choose to have all or none of your characters die, there is no GAME OVER or anything like that

This game reminds me of one of those "Choose Your Adventure" books and i highly recomend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse