Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25677 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very unexpected yet pleasant surprise

posted by LazyLozer (FORT COLLINS, CO) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I remained a huge skeptic of Heavy Rain all the way up until launch. The game looked more like a movie than anything else, and all the action sequences are pretty much just one giant quick time event. There isn't even actualy dificulty in this game, as no matter how poorly quick time events are done, people will always reach the end of the game. All my doubts and suspicions have been confirmed, and I enjoyed the heck out of this game.

Obviously, the biggest draw of Heavy Rain is the story. But what makes Heavy Rain so incredible is that your choices truly do determine how the story unfolds and who lives and who dies. The choices players must make carry such weight that it gives games like Mass Effect a run for their money, and sometimes Heavy Rain even surpasses tites of that caliber. Even though action sequences may be just one giant quick time events, it does not mean they were any less intense. If an on screen command is missed, players will not be forced to start over from the beginning like in other games. Instead, it causes a "misstep" from their character. Long story short, a player canbe either victorious, or suffer defeatin an intense fight. Regardless of what happens, the story continues and along the path prior events have forged.

This game is most certainly not for everyone. Anyone who considers playing Heavy Rain should realize that it is a movie first, a game second. Literally. No, Im not talking about 30 minute plus cut scenes like Metal Gear Solid. But this is one game not meant for fast-paced action-genre lovers. Quantic Dream should be proud of what they accomplished, and Heavy Rain should not be missed by any PS3 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The end sequences are AMAZING

posted by lswanson1 (CORVALLIS, MT) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This game obviously is very immersive with a compelling story but where I literally was blown away with the game was finding all the different end sequences that can happen in the game. The cinematography and story wraps are amazing. Nearly every one had me right on the edge of my seat as it was unfolding. Very cool game. A must for your Gamefly List and within a certain audience, a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grabs you like none other

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

I think this game is very solid if you are a mature gamer. If you only like very fast paced, wham-bam thank you mam Unreal Tourney games, skip this one. Also skip it if you are 15 or below.

This game plays like a great book. While I agree with some who said that the beginning is a bit boring and stretched out, it does familiarize you with the controls and how the game works. I do have to admit that I got worried for a bit there thinking it may be a grown up version of Sims. It's certainly not.

After you get past that first 'tutorial' part, it picks up very quickly and draws you in without letting go. The story line is great and there are plenty of twists to keep you on the edge of your seat. Length of the game is also perfect, not too long and not too short.

I suppose the reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is due to some things becoming mundane like cooking, cleaning, getting dressed, which all require multiple button presses. These actions do not come up very often, but nonetheless it would be great if there was an option where you could skip these and move on with the story. I also wish there was a way to skip cutscenes if you are replaying them.

All in all, I highly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a thoughtful, intelligent thriller-type game where you have to deduce your next move and weigh your options carefully as you only get 1 chance to perform them. This is all coming from a gamer who plays FPS 90% of the time. I have been wanting to play a game like this for a long time and I wish there were more of this genre available.

This is a must rental. I personally would not buy it since there is really no replay value. You get the gist of the story from the first get-go and there is no multi player or anything. That's just my opinion though, and I almost never buy games. Thanks to Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW do they give academy awards for video games?

posted by gameboy80 (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I cant believe what i just played this is one of the most unique games i have ever played in my life and I loved every moment of it well at least all most.The begining started a litle slow but wow did it get better.Basically your looking for a killer who leaves origame figures behind with his victims and he always does does this in the rain.You play as four different charecters and if one dies the games just keeps going but the charecter dos not come back every charecter has onelife which is awsome. I encourage anyone who is a fan of games to give this a shot and i also encourage u that when u do play it do not start the game over if someone dies just keep going bcause the game changes depending on the choices u make making every play thru different i bet if u get 3 people in a room everyone will have something different.Man this was an awsome experience i only played thru once but im about to start my second and this time im gonna do things different. Awsome Awsome Awsome game 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not the first of its kind but definitely the best

posted by toxicbox (COLONIA, NJ) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

Many people are thinking this is the first time this kind of game has been developed. Quantic Dream had developed the style of movie/game before with games like Fahrenheit in the ps2. (awesome game by the way.

Yes It is slow at first but interested to play, because like any movie it takes a while to introduce the plot. Once you start playing it you will not want to put it aside. You are always left with the curiosity of what will happen next. You can replay this game many times, as it has many different ending.

I, for example got the best and happiest ending. It's a game you will not be disappointed on as the twist is very hard to see coming. I had a clue of what was gonna happen, but i was wrong. You cant go wrong with this game it will leave your eyes wide open as you get close to each of the 4 characters of the story.

Hopefully Quantic Dream will not stop there and will countinue to make games like this. You decide the fate of this amazing storyline. Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST

posted by josh5703 (FRESNO, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since May 2007

I've been looking through the lower reviews and some of you do not know what you are talking about. Heavy rain is one of the best games out there. It was meant to be an interactive movie. All of the things you do tie into the plot. Like the beginning, it shows what a happy life Ethan has. But later his life is terrible. Everything fits together perfectly. And for the person who played for 20 min you have to get farther for more action. So in my conclusion, Better than MW2, L4D2, and Uncharted 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get Ready To Get Soaked

posted by 1394TRIP (PLANO, TX) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Heavy Rain is a nail-biting, edge of your seat thriller. Fans of the movies Saw, and Se7en will surely have a great time playing / watching this story unfold. Everyone will play the game a little different than the person before you, with the chance of different out-comes, of situations, and endings. The possibilties are endless. I give this game a solid 9 and the only reason I didn't give it a ten would be for the fact, that 2 play throughs is about all it's good for. If I would of dropped 60 on this game and finished the first night like I did. I would of wanted my money back. But this is a great rental and I would recommend it to all my freinds. Enjoy, and get ready to get soaked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth renting not buying

posted by NightBoss (WANTAGH, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The storyline is awesome and it keeps you on your toes. If your characters dies the story continues! But once you figure out who the killer is the only option you have is to redo past scenarios to get the other different endings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow, this was suprising

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

heavy rain is a great "game" i say "game" because its a movie you can play. the graphics are great for the most part (few small issues but nothing that breaks the game), the controls are clunky at first but you will quickly adjust and the controller will just seem to fade away. in this game you control 4 different character at different times. i won't tell you much about the story but its full of twists and turns. or maybe in your case it won't be. this game you are in control, there a multiple paths and choices to make, at anytime you could get your character killed and the game will continue with out you. i could tell you exactly how the story unfolded for me and you could have a completely different expierence from me, and to me, this is just AWESOME. a solid game for adults, this game has nudity and swearing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truley Amazing

posted by killdill14 (COCHRANVILLE, PA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When i started to play the game it seemed a bit boreing, then it starts getting good as it progresses.

This is one of the best games i ever played, mainly because the story is so great and the more your progress in the game the more sereous your choices are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by Avatarxl (Dallas, TX) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When I first played the demo, I thought that this was going to be somewhat like Indigo Prophecy like. Boy was I wrong. Great graphics, soundtrack, compelling storyline, just a perfect game all around. I think I just may buy this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEAVY RAIN AT ITS BEST

posted by huttonbbb (MATTESON, IL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Now i have never played a game like this. Well if you knew me you would be like why are you playing that game its so out of element. I like games like uncharted 2 and killzone 2. so yea thats a huge transition. But for this game it was so easy to do. Like melting ice cream in 100 degree weather. It keeps you on the edge all the time. It kept making me wonder whats going to happen next. You would love this game rent/buy it. To all the people thats giving this game 1's and 5's YOU ARE NOT GAMERS OR 360 LOVERS. go out stop being lazy go find the origami killer oh and at the end theres a huge twist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year by far!!!!

posted by JoDGo1981 (PICKENS, SC) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

Heavy Rain.....what things can be said...Greatness...this game doesn't have a dull moment in it at all....i have played through it twice now and working on my third and I can tell you that its just as interesting each time...finally a game that is aimed at adults...i for one am tired of games aimed at 10 and 12 year olds Heavy rain is a mature game with mature content that doesn't censor anything what you see is what you get unlike games like dragon age origins that censor everything and take down the value and really treat the older audience like children....with heavy rain you get a fantastic plot line with some futuristic gadgets in it which make the game that much more interesting.....the level of graphics in this game is second to know vehicles,people, environment,...all of it looks like your watching a real movie on TV at times unless you didn't know it you'd swear it was real...the facial details for the characters is fantastic...if you rent heavy rain and don't like it at all your not a true gaming fan...no way this game is a BUY in every sense of the word.....try it...you wont regret it at all......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

heavy Rain

posted by Nairobi (FREMONT, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Very good game grapichs are great and the story is fun try to catch the murder. It starts of slow but after that you cant but the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AN ADULT VERSION OF THE SIMS....

posted by hakizi (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The only reason why i'm comparing it to The Sims (and other games of that sort) is because of the tedious "actions" you control over the characters. Who would've ever thought that,for example, cooking eggs in a video game would be fun??? Though it may seem mundane to actually have to partake in such activities, it does go along with the story fittingly. I mean, you are INVOLVED in this game/movie. You're never really sure when to put the controller down for a second. What first appears to be a cut scene, often turns out to be a continued part of the game play. There were times when i screamed out "Oh (beep).... i'm still playing!" Then quickly had realized that i missed out on whatever option that just popped up on the screen. So...if you need to take a break from playing....PAUSE THE GAME!!! DO NOT WALK AWAY FOR A FEW SECONDS THINKING YOU HAVE TIME!!! I just finished the game (great ending btw) and i'm looking forward to playing it again. Just to see what differences there are based on the decisions that are made throughout the game. As everyone pretty much has already stated, it's really not for everyone. It's like The Sims got together with C.S.I. and had a baby named Heavy Rain : ) This is my first review for any game, so obviously i liked it enough to write this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is indeed a movie feel type game

posted by berserk84 (NEW HYDE PARK, NY) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Lets just start off by saying wow,woah and omg!Heavy Rain is one heck of a game.Its non stop adrenaline pumping game,mystery,suspense and drama,It also show how far one can go to save dear love one.

I have PS3 and Xbox 360.I put Heavy Rain right up there with Mass Effect 2 and Uncharted 2,but even better.Note that this game is for a more mature crowd due to the violence and sexuality.Heavy Rain is and was so good that i played from sun rise to sun set non-stop,it so amazingly i just couldn't let go of the controller.

If you choose to buy,this game will totally not let you down and its also a great rental,i myself would love to hold on to the longer but in the end i got to knock games of my gameQ list.

10 out 10 in my personal opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game.

posted by mhaxhiaj (WORCESTER, MA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

First of all let me start off by saying that this game is not for everybody, and that's okay because those that don't like it, probably will never play it. The game has a very interesting concept and is very storyline driven. The story pulls you in and you begin to care about the characters, which makes it really intense when a character is staring death in the eyes in the game, and if you mess up there is a chance that your character might be dead for good in the story. As for the sound, the music really goes with the moods of the game. The graphics are top notch, even though there might be some slight blemishes. The way the faces of people are portrayed and expressions and everything, I must say is the best I've ever seen in a videogam; the absolute closest we have gotten to real life. The gameplay and controls are really nice and intuitive and everything works just fine. The use of the SIXAXIS remote is also nicely incorporated. My only major complaint about the game is the camera. There are some parts where the camera just doesn't cooperate, but it still works out in the end, because it's worth getting through the camera troubles to play this amazing game. Once you get hooked on the story, there's no way you'll put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNBELIEVABLE

posted by eedobaba (MEMPHIS, TN) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

This game was AMAZING. I was ecstatic to see that the story surpasses the gorgeous graphics, and the gameplay is very engaging as well. Every room is absolutely beautiful in visuals and design (the bonus's include 10 galleries of concept art) and you grow to know and both suspect the very characters you play as.
Near the end (this game is in no way short, keep in mind. I was playing religiously, glued to the TV) there were a bunch of absolutely jawdrop moments (including scenes written better than most movies I've seen) that took me completely by surprise, and yet made perfect sense with what I'd seen so far. There's also a bunch of moments in the game where I had to sit with the game paused and think about what I should do in very moral decisions.
This game ranks in my top 5 games ever played, no doubt. It exceeds my expectations both graphically and in substance, and I'm definitely giving it another couple plays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good

posted by Playdoe101 (HERCULES, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True adult drama in virtual form.

posted by MrPipkins (South Sioux City, NE) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

Simply a mature games for mature people who dont need Halo twitch gameplay or giant zombies to have a great gaming experience. Story is top notch and graphics are the reason you purchased a PS3 hopefully we will see more of these types of titles in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Rain

posted by surfer7 (LAIE, HI) Feb 25, 2010

Member since May 2006

Well, I woke up this morning, brushed my teeth, shaved, had a shower, dressed, made breakfast, ate breakfast and decided to pop in Heavy Rain as everyone is raving about it. Once the game started I woke up, brushed my teeth, shaved, and shot myself in the head out of sheer boredom! Sorry, I am just not that patient.
Graphics were the bomb though and for one WITH patience probably a cool adventure thus the high rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome to the Future

posted by profficy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Simply amazing. In the grand tradition of psychological thrillers Heavy Rain is a masterpiece. Engaging story told in a truly original style. No game has ever made a life or death struggle feel important. Knowing in Heavy Rain that if you lose your life the world moves on without you, rather than a game over/continue, causes a much deeper connection with the situation at hand. You want to stay alive because you want that characters point of view to continue.

The characters are subtle and deep. Video games don't often accomplish this. the nuances of character are a result of the fact the user gets to shape them any way they choose. Reminiscent of a choose your own adventure book(can't stick your finger in the previous page however) the multitude of choices to be made, sometimes with very little time to think, create a deeper engagement with a video game character than I have ever felt before.

Game froze a couple of times but the auto save frequency made this nothing but a mild inconvenience. Controls, particularly walking, feel wooden at the beginning but this quickly becomes a nonissue once the story begins to roll.

I believe this could be the future of gaming. Not that I think all games will or should take this new route. A lot of them will. There will be good ones, great ones and maybe even a dog or two. It's nice to see a developers risk pay off so large. Who can be upset with another genre on the game shelf?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

another instant classic by quantic dream

posted by bacdafucup (ALLENTOWN, PA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

this is not for the button mashers this game is very story driven, luckily the story is very engaging 2 thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let it rain

posted by CallMeEnvy (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

this is just what i thought it would be, a movie made for every one. people who love movies, people who love suspence, people who love game. the level of difficulty you play under can really change the game and its worth atleast two play througth get it inless you just love to run and gun, it may be a little slow for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interactive Dramatic Thriller.... not just a movie

posted by dewwy578 (BRISTOL, CT) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

Heavy Rain is a great game. For people who think it is just like a movie and there is no point in getting this game, you're wrong. The game's length for one is different. The game is about 20 times the length of a movie (depending on how you play it) which is around 40 hours. So you go find a movie that is that in-depth like Heavy Rain. Also, you basically are the director for the game. When has there ever been a movie that went exactly the way you wanted it to. That's right, never. You are engaged in it the whole time. There were some parts where I didn't think anything was going to happen but it turned out there was something. One flaw is that the writing is sometimes hard to read when you have to pick something to say but I might just not have a big enough tv. And the controls are wierd but the thing that stands out the most is the walking. Literally walking. You can't run, and you have to use R2. There is one more thing. You can count this as really bad or really good. It makes you feel way more attached than a movie ever could. Overall, I would give it a 9.3/10. Oh and just a warning. If you get a piece of paper inside besides the manual, don't fold it up. Wait for the prompting on-screen once you put it in unless you don't want the origami figure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse