Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25838 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Heavy Rain

posted by alexkidd (LOMBARD, IL) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game has a pretty solid serial killer story presented from multiple people's perpectives. From the standpoint of story, Heavy Rain has it down and is a very memorable ride. There are multiple endings, which helps replay, but it is a fairly depressing tale, so you may not want to start right back up. There are almost too many mundane tasks that need to be done as well. It is extremely well told and the different perspectives of the characters you play keep the story interesting and moving along.
The quick time events are well handled (for the most part, more on bugs later). The button, sticks and trigger QTE's make sense with respect to the action you are performing. You can walk your character around the static environments, but the movement is not very well implemented. You will find yourself turning around quite a bit.
The graphics are frankly a mixed bag. Sometimes they look amazing, sometimes they look unfinished. The voice acting was obviously done by some actors where english was their second language (but I got used to it).
The music and sound was AAA level. Atmospheric, great ambient sounds, great environmental music (there is a club scene that was particularly good).
As for bugs or whatever you want to call them, there is quite a bit of screen tear throughout the game. It stands out with the static environments. There was one section I had to replay because icons weren't coming up to interact with objects so the story wouldn't continue on. That only happened once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games ever!

posted by COD4FANBOY (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Some people say that this game is an interactive movie, but its not. A movie is just watching, this is a game. lets start with the cons

CONS- Camera angles are sometimes off, holding R2 sucks and turning while walking sucks. when the suggestions are floating areound your head its hard to see them unless your playing on an HD tv. My second time playing this I noticed that some of the movements are glitchy. Some of the trophies are bugged right now.

PROS- FREAKKING AWSOME STORY!, graphics are outstanding, easy platinum trophy if u have the time, reasonable controls, great sound, it has boobs...big plus in my book, and its not for the stupid 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Heavy Rain Great Concept Slow Pace

posted by oscaromar (CHULA VISTA, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I was exited to play this game read great reviews about it on Playstation Magazine and screenshots looked pretty good plus I never played a game in witch your decisions change the outcome of the game. If you want to try something new and have the patience for it great try it out! For me this game was too slow and the controls are a bit lame (hard to walk). Furthermore, the story is really good hope to see as movie perhaps. Bottom line if you are used to fast pace RPG style games and games like MW2 you may want to put this game way below on your GameQ, if you like The SIMS type of games this one is for you my friends!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very well put togerher

posted by rotekk (League City , TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed this game and it had me pretty engrossed by a very well put together story line. It still had some hiccups as games do but there was alot of time and effort put into this title.

My one and only gripe is the duality in some of the characters storyline not matching up. Really the duality of the player not matching the storyline. All in all this reminded me very much of a movie you would pay and go see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story

posted by Disconude (SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

If there's one thing I can take from Heavy Rain it's "GREAT STORY". Loved the mystery and I have to admit I didn't see the ending coming! The controls didn't take long to get used to and soon I was hitting every button on cue. It may seem lame to make an entire game of button sequences, but if you like Indigo Prophecy, this game runs smoother than that!

The game easily sucks you in. And when you finish it once, you HAVE to play it again just to see everything you missed. I love the multiple endings, so of course you definitely must play it at least 2 separate ways! Course I loved going through the shower and stripping scenes again :)

In short I give this game a solid 9. I don't need to buy it, but definitely worth a rent.

graphics - enjoyable but not stunning
gameplay - button sequences in tune with character motions. good advancement on a boring concept
story - best element of the game. GREAT
characters - believable and worthy of your interest
overall - 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

finally something like shenmue !!!

posted by BLiNdPaNdO (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game is just perfect i used to play shenmue 2 and i loved and i don't know why they took too long for making another like this but ohh well finally its out if like suspense rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW (no spoilers)

posted by mirvinn200 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

I have to say I was really looking forward to this game. All the hype, the video's, previews; all pointed to a good game. None of the previews or articles really could explain the game. Vague details were mentioned, but nothing that really gave you a pinpoint idea as to what it was truly about.

MY TAKE: The controls take a short learning curve but once you get them down they aren't a big deal. The first hour or so is slow and almost annoying. You spend time doing everyday stuff; drinking juice, helping your wife put things away in the kitchen, set the table, and play with the kids. But soon after that the game takes off and you feel compelled to keep going.

The characters you play as become a part of you. Or do you become a part of them? Either way there is a closeness to the people and faces you control like no other game floating around the console world.

The game itself is like watching an amazingly animated movie, but being able to alter the story and outcome every five minutes or so. This game is one of the most unique gaming experiences ever. Your decisions alter aspects of the game, the characters, and the story. Kill the antagonist character or let he or she live? Your choice, whether it be based on your own real life moral compass, or on a gaming whim, can change what happens in the shape-able movie gaming experience.

If are looking for a run and gun, guzzling Red Bull all night game; steer away. If you are looking for the most unique experience where you feel real everyday emotions without the stress of real life cops, killers, and moral decisions; rent this game. If you are looking to not be able to put down your controller even though your significant other is yelling at you; get this game.

Heavy Rain: Like nothing you have ever played; you can take that to the bank.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant and one of a kind

posted by Sokuro (PORT NECHES, TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

All I've played thus far was the demo released via the Playstation Network and I'm already so excited to get the real deal in the palm of my hands. While I agree the controls are a little funky at first- one thing I will say is that the sheer depth of interaction is simply amazing. As forementioned in other reviews, walking is awkward but there doesn't initially seem to be a reason for incredibly accurate direction.

One other downside I've found is camera control, with the camera more or less locked to different view angles, it's become apparent that thorough examining of an area is much more necessary than other investigative genres.

With excellent graphics, beautiful interactive controls and(from the brief introduction I received) a positively entrancing storyline- this game is definitely a must-play for anyone who enjoys having a well-detailed movie in their control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the year

posted by newgod33 (Ardsley, NY) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

love this game, real life action. i recomend this game to everyone who loves RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain, Game of the year!!!

posted by Pucknutt (MARANA, AZ) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Heavy rain is the most inovative game I have played yet. The game play and story line are awesome. Graphics are the best I've seen so far. Moving your player around is weird at first, but you get used to it rather quickly. All in all, this is the best game I've played on PS3 for this genre. I feel it will be game of the year! Definately but this game, and from GameFly you can't beat the deal!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A beautiful accomplishment

posted by ETAzero (FRASER, MI) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Heavy Rain is spectacular. It’s a totally different way of playing a video game so different that if you are no open minded you might find yourself shaking your head mumbling “this is not a video game”.

We are so wound up in cookie cutter platforms and gaming that when something truly different comes along its bashed and banged up.

For graphic lovers it’s amazing. The world may need more attention design wise but why? When the character design is second to none.

The story is remarkable (I am about half way through it I think) and it has been awhile for me to get almost emotional while playing a game.

This is a definite RENT and for gamer who are into good stories, suspense, and mysteries this is a MUST BUY.

A solid ‘A’ in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What more can I ask for?

posted by Whichone (PORTER RANCH, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This is by far the BEST game I have yet to encounter on PS3. It kept me on the edge of my seat for hours. I was glued to the screen and every moment of the game made me feel like I was actually there. I still gave this game a 10 even though there was a certain problem I encountered. As I was 10 hours into the game with over 47 chapters completed my screen turned black after it was loading or finished loading. My select and start button was fully functional so it wasn't a crash or a freeze. I thought it was a part of the game until 5 mins went by and still BLACK. I quickly went online and checked to see if others were having the problem as well and sure enough everyone was basically reporting the same exact thing. So I was pretty disappointed with the game having troubles and it was only 4 days since the release. So I just quit the game and hoped that my last mission got saved and sure enough it was, however the same problem occurred again. So I reset my system and loaded the game and WHAA BAM!! it was back to normal. Hey I am not a sensitive gamer to the point where if there was one fixable problem I wouldn't be cursing at the world and at the creator. Because this game EXCEEDS that minor/not so minor problem. I would recommend RENTING this game due to the fact that I bought it and I finished it in less than 20 hours. However if you are like me and feel like this INSTANT Classic of a game deserves to be on your gaming shelf by all means BUY it. The Platinum in this game shouldn't be to hard even though I have yet to plat this. But since you get to have chapter select after you beat it go back for the trophies are at a ease. I have yet to figure out if the See All Endings trophy is hard or not. Hopefully it is super hard lol only because I want to be playing this game for another 10 hours minimum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very unexpected yet pleasant surprise

posted by LazyLozer (FORT COLLINS, CO) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I remained a huge skeptic of Heavy Rain all the way up until launch. The game looked more like a movie than anything else, and all the action sequences are pretty much just one giant quick time event. There isn't even actualy dificulty in this game, as no matter how poorly quick time events are done, people will always reach the end of the game. All my doubts and suspicions have been confirmed, and I enjoyed the heck out of this game.

Obviously, the biggest draw of Heavy Rain is the story. But what makes Heavy Rain so incredible is that your choices truly do determine how the story unfolds and who lives and who dies. The choices players must make carry such weight that it gives games like Mass Effect a run for their money, and sometimes Heavy Rain even surpasses tites of that caliber. Even though action sequences may be just one giant quick time events, it does not mean they were any less intense. If an on screen command is missed, players will not be forced to start over from the beginning like in other games. Instead, it causes a "misstep" from their character. Long story short, a player canbe either victorious, or suffer defeatin an intense fight. Regardless of what happens, the story continues and along the path prior events have forged.

This game is most certainly not for everyone. Anyone who considers playing Heavy Rain should realize that it is a movie first, a game second. Literally. No, Im not talking about 30 minute plus cut scenes like Metal Gear Solid. But this is one game not meant for fast-paced action-genre lovers. Quantic Dream should be proud of what they accomplished, and Heavy Rain should not be missed by any PS3 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The end sequences are AMAZING

posted by lswanson1 (CORVALLIS, MT) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This game obviously is very immersive with a compelling story but where I literally was blown away with the game was finding all the different end sequences that can happen in the game. The cinematography and story wraps are amazing. Nearly every one had me right on the edge of my seat as it was unfolding. Very cool game. A must for your Gamefly List and within a certain audience, a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grabs you like none other

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

I think this game is very solid if you are a mature gamer. If you only like very fast paced, wham-bam thank you mam Unreal Tourney games, skip this one. Also skip it if you are 15 or below.

This game plays like a great book. While I agree with some who said that the beginning is a bit boring and stretched out, it does familiarize you with the controls and how the game works. I do have to admit that I got worried for a bit there thinking it may be a grown up version of Sims. It's certainly not.

After you get past that first 'tutorial' part, it picks up very quickly and draws you in without letting go. The story line is great and there are plenty of twists to keep you on the edge of your seat. Length of the game is also perfect, not too long and not too short.

I suppose the reason I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is due to some things becoming mundane like cooking, cleaning, getting dressed, which all require multiple button presses. These actions do not come up very often, but nonetheless it would be great if there was an option where you could skip these and move on with the story. I also wish there was a way to skip cutscenes if you are replaying them.

All in all, I highly recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a thoughtful, intelligent thriller-type game where you have to deduce your next move and weigh your options carefully as you only get 1 chance to perform them. This is all coming from a gamer who plays FPS 90% of the time. I have been wanting to play a game like this for a long time and I wish there were more of this genre available.

This is a must rental. I personally would not buy it since there is really no replay value. You get the gist of the story from the first get-go and there is no multi player or anything. That's just my opinion though, and I almost never buy games. Thanks to Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW do they give academy awards for video games?

posted by gameboy80 (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I cant believe what i just played this is one of the most unique games i have ever played in my life and I loved every moment of it well at least all most.The begining started a litle slow but wow did it get better.Basically your looking for a killer who leaves origame figures behind with his victims and he always does does this in the rain.You play as four different charecters and if one dies the games just keeps going but the charecter dos not come back every charecter has onelife which is awsome. I encourage anyone who is a fan of games to give this a shot and i also encourage u that when u do play it do not start the game over if someone dies just keep going bcause the game changes depending on the choices u make making every play thru different i bet if u get 3 people in a room everyone will have something different.Man this was an awsome experience i only played thru once but im about to start my second and this time im gonna do things different. Awsome Awsome Awsome game 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not the first of its kind but definitely the best

posted by toxicbox (COLONIA, NJ) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

Many people are thinking this is the first time this kind of game has been developed. Quantic Dream had developed the style of movie/game before with games like Fahrenheit in the ps2. (awesome game by the way.

Yes It is slow at first but interested to play, because like any movie it takes a while to introduce the plot. Once you start playing it you will not want to put it aside. You are always left with the curiosity of what will happen next. You can replay this game many times, as it has many different ending.

I, for example got the best and happiest ending. It's a game you will not be disappointed on as the twist is very hard to see coming. I had a clue of what was gonna happen, but i was wrong. You cant go wrong with this game it will leave your eyes wide open as you get close to each of the 4 characters of the story.

Hopefully Quantic Dream will not stop there and will countinue to make games like this. You decide the fate of this amazing storyline. Enjoy !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST

posted by josh5703 (FRESNO, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since May 2007

I've been looking through the lower reviews and some of you do not know what you are talking about. Heavy rain is one of the best games out there. It was meant to be an interactive movie. All of the things you do tie into the plot. Like the beginning, it shows what a happy life Ethan has. But later his life is terrible. Everything fits together perfectly. And for the person who played for 20 min you have to get farther for more action. So in my conclusion, Better than MW2, L4D2, and Uncharted 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get Ready To Get Soaked

posted by 1394TRIP (PLANO, TX) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Heavy Rain is a nail-biting, edge of your seat thriller. Fans of the movies Saw, and Se7en will surely have a great time playing / watching this story unfold. Everyone will play the game a little different than the person before you, with the chance of different out-comes, of situations, and endings. The possibilties are endless. I give this game a solid 9 and the only reason I didn't give it a ten would be for the fact, that 2 play throughs is about all it's good for. If I would of dropped 60 on this game and finished the first night like I did. I would of wanted my money back. But this is a great rental and I would recommend it to all my freinds. Enjoy, and get ready to get soaked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth renting not buying

posted by NightBoss (WANTAGH, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The storyline is awesome and it keeps you on your toes. If your characters dies the story continues! But once you figure out who the killer is the only option you have is to redo past scenarios to get the other different endings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow, this was suprising

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

heavy rain is a great "game" i say "game" because its a movie you can play. the graphics are great for the most part (few small issues but nothing that breaks the game), the controls are clunky at first but you will quickly adjust and the controller will just seem to fade away. in this game you control 4 different character at different times. i won't tell you much about the story but its full of twists and turns. or maybe in your case it won't be. this game you are in control, there a multiple paths and choices to make, at anytime you could get your character killed and the game will continue with out you. i could tell you exactly how the story unfolded for me and you could have a completely different expierence from me, and to me, this is just AWESOME. a solid game for adults, this game has nudity and swearing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truley Amazing

posted by killdill14 (COCHRANVILLE, PA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When i started to play the game it seemed a bit boreing, then it starts getting good as it progresses.

This is one of the best games i ever played, mainly because the story is so great and the more your progress in the game the more sereous your choices are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by Avatarxl (Dallas, TX) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When I first played the demo, I thought that this was going to be somewhat like Indigo Prophecy like. Boy was I wrong. Great graphics, soundtrack, compelling storyline, just a perfect game all around. I think I just may buy this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEAVY RAIN AT ITS BEST

posted by huttonbbb (MATTESON, IL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Now i have never played a game like this. Well if you knew me you would be like why are you playing that game its so out of element. I like games like uncharted 2 and killzone 2. so yea thats a huge transition. But for this game it was so easy to do. Like melting ice cream in 100 degree weather. It keeps you on the edge all the time. It kept making me wonder whats going to happen next. You would love this game rent/buy it. To all the people thats giving this game 1's and 5's YOU ARE NOT GAMERS OR 360 LOVERS. go out stop being lazy go find the origami killer oh and at the end theres a huge twist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year by far!!!!

posted by JoDGo1981 (PICKENS, SC) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

Heavy Rain.....what things can be said...Greatness...this game doesn't have a dull moment in it at all....i have played through it twice now and working on my third and I can tell you that its just as interesting each time...finally a game that is aimed at adults...i for one am tired of games aimed at 10 and 12 year olds Heavy rain is a mature game with mature content that doesn't censor anything what you see is what you get unlike games like dragon age origins that censor everything and take down the value and really treat the older audience like children....with heavy rain you get a fantastic plot line with some futuristic gadgets in it which make the game that much more interesting.....the level of graphics in this game is second to know vehicles,people, environment,...all of it looks like your watching a real movie on TV at times unless you didn't know it you'd swear it was real...the facial details for the characters is fantastic...if you rent heavy rain and don't like it at all your not a true gaming fan...no way this game is a BUY in every sense of the word.....try it...you wont regret it at all......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse