Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25674 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

movie like

posted by slayereric (SEMINOLE, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game is pretty much like an interactive movie. the controls are horrible but you should not care so much due to gorgeous graffics and a gripping story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

virtual mystery

posted by jimmy00011 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

great game honestly at first i was feeling out the controls and was losing my interest but the story had me hooked,the game has this Seven/saw feel and i kept my self playing, sure it has some plot holes and i was like "ok i didnt see that happen" but i guess its what you do that affects the story.

graphics are top-notch

story is suspensful

a little vulgar ( i played this with my friend and his kids,they still loved it)

all in all this is a sure ps3 classic, i had this game would be misunderstood because of its gameplay and i saw one reviewer complain about it already,its understandable but give this game a chance its opening huge doors for gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About time another game of this type was made

posted by 4U2NVme (PAULS VALLEY, OK) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I thought that Indigo Prophecy was an excellant game. And this game did not fail my exspectation. I have, not got all the way through it yet but so far, an awesome game. It looks like Heavy Rain will take a while. to get through. FYI if you like Indigo Prophecy. you will love this game. And if you haven't played Indigo Prophecy. Try Heavy Rain out, or heck rent Indigo Phophey, to understand the controls for Heavy Rain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good while it worked

posted by Cronnos (LAWRENCE, KS) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

The game was very entertaining and different from any other game available on any of the current consoles. Unfortunately, the game is so buggy in some consoles, that it ruins the experience.
In some cases the video and audio stutters, but in the most extreme cases (as mine) the game is completely unplayable. The game froze two hours into it, and it will not load the save file. The same thing happened on a second save file that was made after the first one was lost.
It's a shame the game was released without proper QA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Basically a movie, but still worth playing.

posted by TigerD (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

Heavy rain is more DVD than game. The only real "gameplay" comes in the form of quicktime events.
That said, the story is fun to watch, even if it is much more linear than David Cage would like us to believe.
Your decisions will NOT affect the identity of the origami killer. You can change details in the plot, but it's fundamentally the same no matter what you do.
Details will change depending on what you do, but ultimately it's always the same plot, and the alternate endings are actually "failure" endings where you cause a character to get killed.
It's still a very fun story, well worth renting, but there's not enough here to keep you going for long. And this story isn't "epic", it's a subpar murder mystery that makes up for it by being interactive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEAVY RAIN: VERY FUN

posted by yisithard (FORT MOHAVE, AZ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

The game is not what you would expect. It's not like Uncharted or Call of Duty where they say climb this, shoot that, blow that up. It's a slow paced thriller, and an interactive drama. The controls are kinda "weird." Having to hold one button and move with an analog stick is clunky, but it works. The beginning was where you get familiar with the controls and the stick movements. Like, brushing your teeth, shaving, and showering. It's like playing the life of a suburban dude. The characters can die without being game over. The game actually does a good job of making you attached to the characters, making you want to be careful with them dying. Depending on who lives and who dies, the ending will always be different. I'm not gonna ruin the ending for anyone, so you'll have to play it and find out. If you get don't play it for and hour or so then quit and send it back cuz' "the story was to slow." Just keep playing through cuz' it does get better.
Gameplay:9.5
Story:10
Design:8
Overall Value:9.9
Replay Value: Very High

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Slow but good

posted by kindafair (STUART, FL) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This was a very good game. Graphics are amazing and I cannot even begin to stress how engaging and amazing the story was. Be warned though it starts off VERY slow, that isn't to say it is not good but it starts very slowly. Not a shooting hack and slash game and not super action oriented. If you want an extremely engaging game with a phenomenal story then go a head, please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

INTERACTIVE DRAMA is not just for your momma !!!!!

posted by GamerFL (OLYMPIA, WA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Definitely not a game for everyone but it is truly like playing out your own movie, all your actions and reactions mold the story to your own path. It is one of those games you will either love or hate, my wife and I did enjoy this game very much once the story started unfolding but it does have a very slow start maybe the first 1 1/2 to 2 hours but after that it is a fun ride to the end, we played through twice and it was completely different story each time, im curious how many combination's of endings there are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's cool,but not THAT great

posted by Demonology (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

i was super pumped to finally play this game and it totally didnt meet expectations. dont get me wrong,its a decent game with great graphics,i guess its just the button pushing made me a little sleepy after awhile.definitely glad i didnt buy this game cuz its only worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A benchmark in interactive entertainment

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

In Heavy Rain, you will play as four unique characters who are trying to catch a serial killer before he can claim his final victim.
Using the Dualshock 3 controller, you will need to complete specific actions that mimic the movements of the character on the screen. Depending on how successful you are at completing the actions will determine the outcome of the situation and thus the progression of the game.
The graphics in Heavy Rain are beautifully rendered and the environments and characters look wonderful. Each animation was painstakingly motion captured and it certainly shows in the final game.
However, the main problem this game currently has is the game breaking glitches. In one section of the game a character will get stuck inside of a couch stopping the story from progressing until you reload from the last check point and make different choices. Also in several sections of the game the sound would stop all together while the game continued on. These are serious problems in a game like this that breaks the one thing the game does best and that’s total immersion in the story.
Overall, Heavy Rain sets a benchmark for interactive entertainment and story telling that other developers will surely attempt to incorporate into their games in the future. Hopefully the glitches will be addressed with future updates making this game near perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my god!!!!

posted by lilwilly69 (OAKDALE, NY) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

best game I ever played in my life!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revolutionary,epic,perfect

posted by Samfly (ALBANY, NY) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was amazing. The story was great and the fact that there was no game over must bring forth a new era in gaming. This game was fantastic. It was like a movie and the graphics were so real I couldve been watching tv. I wouldnt recommend this game if you dont like pressing the buttons that appear on the screen but if you do and your into action adventure 24 drama then get this game. You can even keep replaying this game because you can make different decisions that lead to 16 different endings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is incredible!

posted by jayteew (NEWTON, NJ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

Right from the beginning you know you are playing something special. It sucks you right in. I didn't want to put down my controller. I have played through it only once and all I can say is wow. Never have I played a game that has evoked so much emotion from within me. I've gotten angry,worried,frantic,upset and even teared up in the end.Ask yourself how many games can you make you tear up like a serious film can? If you care at all about video games then play it. I'm a little ashamed that I didn't buy it and instead rented it. I want this game to sell well. I want to play more interactive drama games similar to Heavy Rain in the future. I know it's early but Heavy Rain is seriously worthy of Game of the Year. Also one thing else I would like to mention is the delayed trophies. That is genius and it works so well. Hopefully we see more of that in the future as well. Not all games but ones with really strong stories and cut scenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Heavy Rain

posted by alexkidd (LOMBARD, IL) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game has a pretty solid serial killer story presented from multiple people's perpectives. From the standpoint of story, Heavy Rain has it down and is a very memorable ride. There are multiple endings, which helps replay, but it is a fairly depressing tale, so you may not want to start right back up. There are almost too many mundane tasks that need to be done as well. It is extremely well told and the different perspectives of the characters you play keep the story interesting and moving along.
The quick time events are well handled (for the most part, more on bugs later). The button, sticks and trigger QTE's make sense with respect to the action you are performing. You can walk your character around the static environments, but the movement is not very well implemented. You will find yourself turning around quite a bit.
The graphics are frankly a mixed bag. Sometimes they look amazing, sometimes they look unfinished. The voice acting was obviously done by some actors where english was their second language (but I got used to it).
The music and sound was AAA level. Atmospheric, great ambient sounds, great environmental music (there is a club scene that was particularly good).
As for bugs or whatever you want to call them, there is quite a bit of screen tear throughout the game. It stands out with the static environments. There was one section I had to replay because icons weren't coming up to interact with objects so the story wouldn't continue on. That only happened once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games ever!

posted by COD4FANBOY (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Some people say that this game is an interactive movie, but its not. A movie is just watching, this is a game. lets start with the cons

CONS- Camera angles are sometimes off, holding R2 sucks and turning while walking sucks. when the suggestions are floating areound your head its hard to see them unless your playing on an HD tv. My second time playing this I noticed that some of the movements are glitchy. Some of the trophies are bugged right now.

PROS- FREAKKING AWSOME STORY!, graphics are outstanding, easy platinum trophy if u have the time, reasonable controls, great sound, it has boobs...big plus in my book, and its not for the stupid 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Heavy Rain Great Concept Slow Pace

posted by oscaromar (CHULA VISTA, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I was exited to play this game read great reviews about it on Playstation Magazine and screenshots looked pretty good plus I never played a game in witch your decisions change the outcome of the game. If you want to try something new and have the patience for it great try it out! For me this game was too slow and the controls are a bit lame (hard to walk). Furthermore, the story is really good hope to see as movie perhaps. Bottom line if you are used to fast pace RPG style games and games like MW2 you may want to put this game way below on your GameQ, if you like The SIMS type of games this one is for you my friends!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very well put togerher

posted by rotekk (DICKINSON, TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed this game and it had me pretty engrossed by a very well put together story line. It still had some hiccups as games do but there was alot of time and effort put into this title.

My one and only gripe is the duality in some of the characters storyline not matching up. Really the duality of the player not matching the storyline. All in all this reminded me very much of a movie you would pay and go see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story

posted by Disconude (SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

If there's one thing I can take from Heavy Rain it's "GREAT STORY". Loved the mystery and I have to admit I didn't see the ending coming! The controls didn't take long to get used to and soon I was hitting every button on cue. It may seem lame to make an entire game of button sequences, but if you like Indigo Prophecy, this game runs smoother than that!

The game easily sucks you in. And when you finish it once, you HAVE to play it again just to see everything you missed. I love the multiple endings, so of course you definitely must play it at least 2 separate ways! Course I loved going through the shower and stripping scenes again :)

In short I give this game a solid 9. I don't need to buy it, but definitely worth a rent.

graphics - enjoyable but not stunning
gameplay - button sequences in tune with character motions. good advancement on a boring concept
story - best element of the game. GREAT
characters - believable and worthy of your interest
overall - 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

finally something like shenmue !!!

posted by BLiNdPaNdO (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game is just perfect i used to play shenmue 2 and i loved and i don't know why they took too long for making another like this but ohh well finally its out if like suspense rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW (no spoilers)

posted by mirvinn200 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

I have to say I was really looking forward to this game. All the hype, the video's, previews; all pointed to a good game. None of the previews or articles really could explain the game. Vague details were mentioned, but nothing that really gave you a pinpoint idea as to what it was truly about.

MY TAKE: The controls take a short learning curve but once you get them down they aren't a big deal. The first hour or so is slow and almost annoying. You spend time doing everyday stuff; drinking juice, helping your wife put things away in the kitchen, set the table, and play with the kids. But soon after that the game takes off and you feel compelled to keep going.

The characters you play as become a part of you. Or do you become a part of them? Either way there is a closeness to the people and faces you control like no other game floating around the console world.

The game itself is like watching an amazingly animated movie, but being able to alter the story and outcome every five minutes or so. This game is one of the most unique gaming experiences ever. Your decisions alter aspects of the game, the characters, and the story. Kill the antagonist character or let he or she live? Your choice, whether it be based on your own real life moral compass, or on a gaming whim, can change what happens in the shape-able movie gaming experience.

If are looking for a run and gun, guzzling Red Bull all night game; steer away. If you are looking for the most unique experience where you feel real everyday emotions without the stress of real life cops, killers, and moral decisions; rent this game. If you are looking to not be able to put down your controller even though your significant other is yelling at you; get this game.

Heavy Rain: Like nothing you have ever played; you can take that to the bank.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant and one of a kind

posted by Sokuro (PORT NECHES, TX) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

All I've played thus far was the demo released via the Playstation Network and I'm already so excited to get the real deal in the palm of my hands. While I agree the controls are a little funky at first- one thing I will say is that the sheer depth of interaction is simply amazing. As forementioned in other reviews, walking is awkward but there doesn't initially seem to be a reason for incredibly accurate direction.

One other downside I've found is camera control, with the camera more or less locked to different view angles, it's become apparent that thorough examining of an area is much more necessary than other investigative genres.

With excellent graphics, beautiful interactive controls and(from the brief introduction I received) a positively entrancing storyline- this game is definitely a must-play for anyone who enjoys having a well-detailed movie in their control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the year

posted by newgod33 (Ardsley, NY) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

love this game, real life action. i recomend this game to everyone who loves RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain, Game of the year!!!

posted by Pucknutt (MARANA, AZ) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Heavy rain is the most inovative game I have played yet. The game play and story line are awesome. Graphics are the best I've seen so far. Moving your player around is weird at first, but you get used to it rather quickly. All in all, this is the best game I've played on PS3 for this genre. I feel it will be game of the year! Definately but this game, and from GameFly you can't beat the deal!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A beautiful accomplishment

posted by ETAzero (FRASER, MI) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Heavy Rain is spectacular. It’s a totally different way of playing a video game so different that if you are no open minded you might find yourself shaking your head mumbling “this is not a video game”.

We are so wound up in cookie cutter platforms and gaming that when something truly different comes along its bashed and banged up.

For graphic lovers it’s amazing. The world may need more attention design wise but why? When the character design is second to none.

The story is remarkable (I am about half way through it I think) and it has been awhile for me to get almost emotional while playing a game.

This is a definite RENT and for gamer who are into good stories, suspense, and mysteries this is a MUST BUY.

A solid ‘A’ in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What more can I ask for?

posted by Whichone (PORTER RANCH, CA) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

This is by far the BEST game I have yet to encounter on PS3. It kept me on the edge of my seat for hours. I was glued to the screen and every moment of the game made me feel like I was actually there. I still gave this game a 10 even though there was a certain problem I encountered. As I was 10 hours into the game with over 47 chapters completed my screen turned black after it was loading or finished loading. My select and start button was fully functional so it wasn't a crash or a freeze. I thought it was a part of the game until 5 mins went by and still BLACK. I quickly went online and checked to see if others were having the problem as well and sure enough everyone was basically reporting the same exact thing. So I was pretty disappointed with the game having troubles and it was only 4 days since the release. So I just quit the game and hoped that my last mission got saved and sure enough it was, however the same problem occurred again. So I reset my system and loaded the game and WHAA BAM!! it was back to normal. Hey I am not a sensitive gamer to the point where if there was one fixable problem I wouldn't be cursing at the world and at the creator. Because this game EXCEEDS that minor/not so minor problem. I would recommend RENTING this game due to the fact that I bought it and I finished it in less than 20 hours. However if you are like me and feel like this INSTANT Classic of a game deserves to be on your gaming shelf by all means BUY it. The Platinum in this game shouldn't be to hard even though I have yet to plat this. But since you get to have chapter select after you beat it go back for the trophies are at a ease. I have yet to figure out if the See All Endings trophy is hard or not. Hopefully it is super hard lol only because I want to be playing this game for another 10 hours minimum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse