Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25785 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth renting

posted by death1309 (EARLVILLE, IL) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

This game is pretty fun it has it story problems and a few video bugs but other then that its good stuff. I have been waiting for this game to come out for quite some time and i would have to say it was allot better then i thought it would be.

If you like games with a good story, characters that have depth and enjoy the motion controls you might wanna look into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everyone needs to play this!

posted by LEthalxbox (REEDSVILLE, PA) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

I dont even know how to begin this. Heavy Rain is barely a game. It is a Cinematic Masterpiece where you control the outcome or fate of 4 characters: A single, divorced dad living with the guilt of a accident that was out of his control, A Private Detective on the trail of a Serial Killer With a Mysterious Past, A drug addicted FBI agent who is tasked with finding the serial killer using advanced crime solving technology, and a Insomniac Journalist on the trail of the serial killer with her own agenda. What sets this game apart from any other game is its story. The story is a dark, disturbing at times and is not recommended for kids. I dont want to spoil the story but i just want to say that i dont even think Hollywood would try and make a movie as dark as this. My only complaints are: 1. Movement: Sometimes when you are walking your character will get stuck on a object, turn away from a character mid conversation, or start walking in circles. it can be frustrating sometimes and hurt the mood the game is trying to provoke in certain scenes. 2. Plot Holes: Okay im not going to ruin a key part of the story for people so i am just going to say this: In the game there is a part of the story that is talked about for 3/4 the game and then suddenly they never speak of it again and everyone forgets about it. this was a key part to the story for meand i was dissapointed by not finding out what caused these things to happen to a certain character. This is a game everone needs to try. I ask everyone no matter what you think of the way it starts out or how you feel about the controls.....Play it to the end. everyone needs to experience at least 1 of the 22 endings. I give this a 10/10 for excelling where no game has gone before and defying that whole set up for a seaqul.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by qupidmox (MOORPARK, CA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Anyone who gave rating under 10 is crazy.. this game is awesome, best I ever played.. the story is very addictive..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Graphics innovative fun but way too short

posted by midnightm (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

Warning slight spoilers- This game is great in the beginning. It has almost flawless graphics the gameplay is innovative. Some scenes are intense and well thought out. However the choices you make do change the storyline someit would have been nice for the changes to be more than subtle in a few instances.The most difficult question comes in the form of wow it's over already glad I didn't spend $60 bucks on this (cool but leaves you hungry for more too soon)It took about 5 hours to complete for me. I don't know if the addon content will be worth it.Rent this then decide on purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you only like shooting games then don't play

posted by toadster27 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is meant for gamers that don't always want too shoot someone in head instead your given the option to let them live or beat the person to the point when their out cold or kill them and the reason this game is worth buying is because it's like a movie and let's face it there's not any games like this one and if you don't like heavy rain "you don't like games"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Awesome

posted by Dagger (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

This game is freakin' awesome. I love the story. I love the gameplay. I love the details in the graphics. The game is simply awesome! Did I mention this game is freakin' awesome?!?!?!

Con: Sometimes walking around can be a bit difficult; especially in tight corners. But it is a minor things to adjust to the longer you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Game in PS3 Yet...

posted by SKmRashid (BRONX, NY) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

This game Takes this Game in new Direction. There are 5 people lives you play with. All of their objective to five the Orogami Killer.
I don't want to spoil the game, so play and have fun with it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally Different Experience

posted by sethwvu (ABINGDON, VA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I have to say I was very impressed with the whole visual experience of this game. While the controls are a little awkward in the beginning, you do come to grips with them as the games progresses and it becomes more natural. However, sometimes when attempting to manuever corners or turn your attention back over your shoulder you do get some of the strange jerky response. Altogether though, the controls were put together nicely in a game unlike any other I have seen before. The graphics were amazing. There are times in some envorimental shots where you cannot even tell it's animation you are looking and the character designs are worthy of some animated films. All and all I really enjoyed the game and the story as the characters lives and dramas all seemed to unfold among one another. This game truly provides a breath of fresh air for those looking to try something different.

The only shortcoming I found in the game is that it allows you to kind choose your own fate within the plot line. This allows for some very intriguing gameglay. However, when you take into account that for me to complete the story in the first round took up around 6.5 to 7 hours. That much time involved to experience alternate endings when the plot, which is what seemed to keep me glued, has already been solved left me feeling drained once I even considered a second go around.

Ultimately, this is a game worthy of anyones attention. I personally would not purchase the game, but the experience is well worth your time. Perhaps even if for no more than just a glimpse of what graphics can be when a developer wishes to put the time into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unlike Any Other Game!

posted by Jones1 (LEXINGTON, NC) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

Heavy Rain .. a masterpiece great graphics, smooth gameplay, stunning storyline. Also its not like an action run around bang bang game but more of a movie being played out of your controller. One of the best games ive played on ps3..

add me mr 336

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glad i have gamefly

posted by sonyfboy (OREGON CITY, OR) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game does nothing great. Its slow and never pulled me in. Shenmue II Dreamcast Game is a better game.

A game like this can be fun more like Dragon Lair !!!

Forget all the dialog keep the pace up. Well i've got to help my wife cook oh wait just did that in the game :)



THE GOOD

ZZZZZZZZZZZZ Oh WHAT! CAN'T BE DONE ON ANY OTHER SYSTEM



THE BAD

Time I can't get back time wasted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

movie like

posted by slayereric (SEMINOLE, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this game is pretty much like an interactive movie. the controls are horrible but you should not care so much due to gorgeous graffics and a gripping story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

virtual mystery

posted by jimmy00011 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

great game honestly at first i was feeling out the controls and was losing my interest but the story had me hooked,the game has this Seven/saw feel and i kept my self playing, sure it has some plot holes and i was like "ok i didnt see that happen" but i guess its what you do that affects the story.

graphics are top-notch

story is suspensful

a little vulgar ( i played this with my friend and his kids,they still loved it)

all in all this is a sure ps3 classic, i had this game would be misunderstood because of its gameplay and i saw one reviewer complain about it already,its understandable but give this game a chance its opening huge doors for gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

About time another game of this type was made

posted by 4U2NVme (PAULS VALLEY, OK) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I thought that Indigo Prophecy was an excellant game. And this game did not fail my exspectation. I have, not got all the way through it yet but so far, an awesome game. It looks like Heavy Rain will take a while. to get through. FYI if you like Indigo Prophecy. you will love this game. And if you haven't played Indigo Prophecy. Try Heavy Rain out, or heck rent Indigo Phophey, to understand the controls for Heavy Rain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good while it worked

posted by Cronnos (LAWRENCE, KS) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

The game was very entertaining and different from any other game available on any of the current consoles. Unfortunately, the game is so buggy in some consoles, that it ruins the experience.
In some cases the video and audio stutters, but in the most extreme cases (as mine) the game is completely unplayable. The game froze two hours into it, and it will not load the save file. The same thing happened on a second save file that was made after the first one was lost.
It's a shame the game was released without proper QA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Basically a movie, but still worth playing.

posted by TigerD (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

Heavy rain is more DVD than game. The only real "gameplay" comes in the form of quicktime events.
That said, the story is fun to watch, even if it is much more linear than David Cage would like us to believe.
Your decisions will NOT affect the identity of the origami killer. You can change details in the plot, but it's fundamentally the same no matter what you do.
Details will change depending on what you do, but ultimately it's always the same plot, and the alternate endings are actually "failure" endings where you cause a character to get killed.
It's still a very fun story, well worth renting, but there's not enough here to keep you going for long. And this story isn't "epic", it's a subpar murder mystery that makes up for it by being interactive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HEAVY RAIN: VERY FUN

posted by yisithard (FORT MOHAVE, AZ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

The game is not what you would expect. It's not like Uncharted or Call of Duty where they say climb this, shoot that, blow that up. It's a slow paced thriller, and an interactive drama. The controls are kinda "weird." Having to hold one button and move with an analog stick is clunky, but it works. The beginning was where you get familiar with the controls and the stick movements. Like, brushing your teeth, shaving, and showering. It's like playing the life of a suburban dude. The characters can die without being game over. The game actually does a good job of making you attached to the characters, making you want to be careful with them dying. Depending on who lives and who dies, the ending will always be different. I'm not gonna ruin the ending for anyone, so you'll have to play it and find out. If you get don't play it for and hour or so then quit and send it back cuz' "the story was to slow." Just keep playing through cuz' it does get better.
Gameplay:9.5
Story:10
Design:8
Overall Value:9.9
Replay Value: Very High

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Slow but good

posted by kindafair (STUART, FL) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This was a very good game. Graphics are amazing and I cannot even begin to stress how engaging and amazing the story was. Be warned though it starts off VERY slow, that isn't to say it is not good but it starts very slowly. Not a shooting hack and slash game and not super action oriented. If you want an extremely engaging game with a phenomenal story then go a head, please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

INTERACTIVE DRAMA is not just for your momma !!!!!

posted by GamerFL (OLYMPIA, WA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Definitely not a game for everyone but it is truly like playing out your own movie, all your actions and reactions mold the story to your own path. It is one of those games you will either love or hate, my wife and I did enjoy this game very much once the story started unfolding but it does have a very slow start maybe the first 1 1/2 to 2 hours but after that it is a fun ride to the end, we played through twice and it was completely different story each time, im curious how many combination's of endings there are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's cool,but not THAT great

posted by Demonology (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

i was super pumped to finally play this game and it totally didnt meet expectations. dont get me wrong,its a decent game with great graphics,i guess its just the button pushing made me a little sleepy after awhile.definitely glad i didnt buy this game cuz its only worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A benchmark in interactive entertainment

posted by zombieorc (MEADOW VISTA, CA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

In Heavy Rain, you will play as four unique characters who are trying to catch a serial killer before he can claim his final victim.
Using the Dualshock 3 controller, you will need to complete specific actions that mimic the movements of the character on the screen. Depending on how successful you are at completing the actions will determine the outcome of the situation and thus the progression of the game.
The graphics in Heavy Rain are beautifully rendered and the environments and characters look wonderful. Each animation was painstakingly motion captured and it certainly shows in the final game.
However, the main problem this game currently has is the game breaking glitches. In one section of the game a character will get stuck inside of a couch stopping the story from progressing until you reload from the last check point and make different choices. Also in several sections of the game the sound would stop all together while the game continued on. These are serious problems in a game like this that breaks the one thing the game does best and that’s total immersion in the story.
Overall, Heavy Rain sets a benchmark for interactive entertainment and story telling that other developers will surely attempt to incorporate into their games in the future. Hopefully the glitches will be addressed with future updates making this game near perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my god!!!!

posted by lilwilly69 (OAKDALE, NY) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

best game I ever played in my life!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revolutionary,epic,perfect

posted by Samfly (ALBANY, NY) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was amazing. The story was great and the fact that there was no game over must bring forth a new era in gaming. This game was fantastic. It was like a movie and the graphics were so real I couldve been watching tv. I wouldnt recommend this game if you dont like pressing the buttons that appear on the screen but if you do and your into action adventure 24 drama then get this game. You can even keep replaying this game because you can make different decisions that lead to 16 different endings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is incredible!

posted by jayteew (NEWTON, NJ) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

Right from the beginning you know you are playing something special. It sucks you right in. I didn't want to put down my controller. I have played through it only once and all I can say is wow. Never have I played a game that has evoked so much emotion from within me. I've gotten angry,worried,frantic,upset and even teared up in the end.Ask yourself how many games can you make you tear up like a serious film can? If you care at all about video games then play it. I'm a little ashamed that I didn't buy it and instead rented it. I want this game to sell well. I want to play more interactive drama games similar to Heavy Rain in the future. I know it's early but Heavy Rain is seriously worthy of Game of the Year. Also one thing else I would like to mention is the delayed trophies. That is genius and it works so well. Hopefully we see more of that in the future as well. Not all games but ones with really strong stories and cut scenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Heavy Rain

posted by alexkidd (LOMBARD, IL) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game has a pretty solid serial killer story presented from multiple people's perpectives. From the standpoint of story, Heavy Rain has it down and is a very memorable ride. There are multiple endings, which helps replay, but it is a fairly depressing tale, so you may not want to start right back up. There are almost too many mundane tasks that need to be done as well. It is extremely well told and the different perspectives of the characters you play keep the story interesting and moving along.
The quick time events are well handled (for the most part, more on bugs later). The button, sticks and trigger QTE's make sense with respect to the action you are performing. You can walk your character around the static environments, but the movement is not very well implemented. You will find yourself turning around quite a bit.
The graphics are frankly a mixed bag. Sometimes they look amazing, sometimes they look unfinished. The voice acting was obviously done by some actors where english was their second language (but I got used to it).
The music and sound was AAA level. Atmospheric, great ambient sounds, great environmental music (there is a club scene that was particularly good).
As for bugs or whatever you want to call them, there is quite a bit of screen tear throughout the game. It stands out with the static environments. There was one section I had to replay because icons weren't coming up to interact with objects so the story wouldn't continue on. That only happened once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games ever!

posted by COD4FANBOY (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Some people say that this game is an interactive movie, but its not. A movie is just watching, this is a game. lets start with the cons

CONS- Camera angles are sometimes off, holding R2 sucks and turning while walking sucks. when the suggestions are floating areound your head its hard to see them unless your playing on an HD tv. My second time playing this I noticed that some of the movements are glitchy. Some of the trophies are bugged right now.

PROS- FREAKKING AWSOME STORY!, graphics are outstanding, easy platinum trophy if u have the time, reasonable controls, great sound, it has boobs...big plus in my book, and its not for the stupid 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse