Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25672 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty? Yes. Pretty Monotonous? HECK YES!

posted by keeler (KATY, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

9 out of 27 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This one of those games that pays great attention to the details. The environment is really well done and facial features are fantastic. But, the game itself falls flat based solely on the fact that it's downright monotonous. The scenes can seem like they're never going to end.

Additionally, while the idea of giving a character choices that lead it down different paths is good on paper, it's not implemented that well. At first glance, you think you have three or four choices, only to find out that you have to choose all of them in order to get through the scene. Also, since you have choices, the other characters responses may seem out of place.

In a year or so, I think the gameplay on games like this will catch up to the graphics, but I just don't think this hits the mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terribly Boring and Annoying

posted by alifestyle (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This was the most annoying game I have EVER played. I wish I could erase all the trophies from Heavy Rain from my PSN account, I hate this game that much.

There is absolutely nothing fun or challenging about shaking my controller and mashing whatever button sequence the decide fitting to continue with the story. It is so glitchy that even on easy mode "mistakes" can be made to keep from getting the stupid trophy. And yes, many of the trophies/achievements or just that; stupid, and not challenging at all for an experienced gamer.

The story could have been good, but I would have rather just watched it as an animated film, than watch it and mindlessly press buttons that have nothing to do with the story or your progress.

Just the fact that the developers give you 2 free trophies just for playing their lame game tells you a lot about it. Even they know people will hate it, you get rewarded for simply playing this load of bull!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Glitches, subpar acting, inconsistent endings

posted by DarkoHCP (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Motion capture was really done well and looks good. However, it's a shame that the capture was wasted on such mediocre actors. It's funny how this is supposed to be an "East Coast" American city and everyone's accent keeps slipping back to European.

I finished the game pretty quick and the ending was not my favorite. Lot of plot holes and the killer really came out of left field (in a bad way).

Now, I'm trying to go back to see a decent ending but the save file keeps corrupting and loading improperly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've ever played. Overrated.

posted by Fatbum (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off this game is not a "new" style of gameplay, Indigo Prophecies set that bar long ago. That game (Indigo Prophecies aka Fahrenheit) was unique, clever and albeit over zealous at times, all around amazing and a breath of fresh air that I loved.

Heavy Rain is NOT Indigo Prophecies. The one positive I can hand the creators of this game is that the plot itself could have actually turned into a great movie. Turning it into a game did not produce the desired effects however.

Now onto the bad...which is everything else.

The controls: The controls were clumsy to say the least. Movement was awkward, leaving you wondering how in the world a follow up game by a company could have got worst at something as simple as game mechanics. The camera angles didn't match up with the intended movement and most of all, the button holding and tapping was one of the most horrendous experiences ever in dealing with a controller. The promps would come up so fast and blend in with brighter backgrounds it was virtually impossible to tell what was going on at very important times. The holding down of 5 buttons at the same time progressively left so much to be desired because if you happen to select "O" with your thumb to begin it, it could totally "F" you.

The voice acting: "Jason!!!" ....enough said.

Replay factor: 0.

Graphics: Nothing ground shattering.

It has never been so hard for me to get past the first hour of a game. I wanted to turn it off so bad but there were so many "rave" reviews by fans of Heavy Rain...I had to push on. It is clear to me now that all those fans are either the creators of Heavy Rain, blind & ignorant PS3 fanboys or have 50 gallons of her0in pulsing through their veins, whether they are getting that her0in from the nipple of hype is beyond me. I enjoy any console game as long as it's good, and this game does not fit the bill.

This game is worthless and not worth renting, buying, thinking about renting or thinking about buying. It's garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one word "sucked"

posted by pain11906 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unless you like games like final fantasy STAY AWAY!!!! You couldn't give this game to someone else without them trying to give it back within three days!! Sorry it was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Choose your own adventure

posted by ZedNaught (SANTA MONICA, CA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

With terrible acting and even worse story.

I was really wanting to like this game. I do give them points for at least trying to create a real game for grown ups. Unfortunately, the characters are thinly written and poorly directed. I don't blame the actors who gave it a game try, but with hackneyed material like this there wasn't much of a chance.

The story is cheap and utterly cliched. Worst of all, the writers felt compelled to not only litter the story with weak red herrings, but they also out right lie in the storytelling in there efforts to keep the mystery going. Not to spoil anything, but at one point it is revealed that actions which you participated it early in the game, actually occurred in a totally different manner. Very weak. Very cheap. VERY sloppy.

Finally, the game play is at best annoying and at worst outright intrusive.

If you want a good mystery, read a book. If you want a good game, play anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

takes sucking to a new level

posted by dawsonnl (GAINESVILLE, VA) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The ONLY thing I can say is a plus about this game are the graphics. The faces and scenes look fantastic.

But this game boils down to 3 things. You walk around in houses and hotel rooms to find random items. And the action scenes are the timed button mashing like the worst parts of resident evil. Only they happen OVER AND OVER. And long cut scenes. That do look great, but it's not really a video game! This game could have VERY easily been made in 2000 with worse graphics.

On top of that, its SUPER depressing. The story is about a man whos idiot 10 year old who acts more like a 3 year old and dies a freak death. This throws this mans life into the toilet and he gets divorced. His other son hates him now. He is suicidal. His other son gets kidnaped so he decides to track down the killer. You also play as an FBI agent who 1- has a terrible disease and 2- is having a break down from killing someone for the first time. One of the other guys you play as is an old private I who saves a prostitute from getting killed and has to fish a woman out of her tub that tries to kill herself. Also, he is a drunk because his entire family either is dead or left him.

Sound like fun? or like a super depressing button mashing movie?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is boring

posted by RVDillon (FORNEY, TX) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Slow and mundane. After 2 hours couldn't take it anymore. Returned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad

posted by NobleOne (MOBILE, AL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

They tried doing something new and it came out pretty good, nothing to special. That read mind thingy is quite useless, not something you need to use. This game is only good for a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, terrible game

posted by VendettaNola (NEW ORLEANS, LA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It pains me to give this game a really bad review, because it is very clear that the designers of Heavy Rain put a maximum amount of effort into their project. But this game is HORRIBLE. I will be delighted when games stop trying to be movies and stick to what they are, specifically GAMES. Heavy Rain is an extraordinarily long and tedious quick time event with deep pretensions of artistic merit. The characters are flat and unlikeable and I can not emphasize ENOUGH how much I do not want to use my game controlled to brush my characters teeth, play with his kids or wander around in the rain looking for clues to catch a killer I do not care about. I suppose the major problem is that, at least in the first few hours of the game, the story relies on certain presents, such as 'having your kids die is tragic' and 'serial killers are bad', but this is lazy story telling. As the viewer, or player, I need to be made to care and to actually believe these things. Heavy Rain did not do this. I have been told that this game gets better later, but I wouldn't know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quantic Dream Games Are Not Revolutionary

posted by danhampton (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was first intro first introduced to Quantic Dream games when I played Indigo Prophecy a.k.a Fahrenheit. At first I thought the game was really cool and innovative. The story was dark and engaging and the consequences of your actions during game play were very well integrated into the story. It was like an interactive movie, cool concept.... HORRIBLE execution. Within an hour of game play I was bored and frustrated and as the game play didn't improve I quit playing the game and looked up the endings on youtube. This is not a review of Indigo Prophecy but for Heavy Rain, however I could say the same exact thing about this game.

First of all the Pros:
1. Graphics are top notch (as they should be on the PS3). The facial
expressions were especially good.

2.The voice acting was very good.

3.Cool story. Kinda a mix of detective noir drama, with some cyber sci-fi
and a love story topped off with a Father has to rescue/reconnect with
his estranged family story.

The Con:
1 .GAMEPLAY!!! First, I hate having to hold down a button to move. It's clumsy and distracting. The first resident evils had this flaw and it was consequently removed from the series resulting in stellar reviews. Second, if I wanted to play DDR I would. Gameplay consists of long "Free roam" interactions with the environment (i.e. opening the fridge to get your son dinner or talking to people) and short "action events" (i.e. fistfight) where you either press the right button at the right time or move the controller to match the onscreen prompt. Worst of all is the controller shaking to mix up juice (featuring the gimicky sixaxis functionality). I could go on but I'm running out of space.

In short games have to be fun to play and this game is not fun to play. Gameplay is the core of GAMING, it's in the name. If you want to simulate the gameplay experience of Heavy Rain, go watch your favorite action movie and hold the PS3 controller in your hand whilst pressing random buttons. Same thing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Graphics!

posted by supergnmo (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics for this game were excellent. I enjoyed the game up until the moment the killer was revealed. If they would have had the "ah ha" moment occuring outside of the game play I would have been ok with that. But it wasn't and when/if this point is reached, you'll see what I mean. It brings down the game quite a bit in my eyes and if I go into detail, it would spoil it. See for yourself. It's an ok rental but I would be mad if I plopped down $60 bucks for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremelly entertaining... A must rent

posted by edwardo711 (KINGSTON, NY) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game was awesome from start to finish. Just like a movie except you control the action. Simply put you have to play this game. Its pretty short so i wouldnt recommend the buy, but a rent is a must. Not like any game youve played. You control the characters through button sequences. At times controls can be a little annoying but any complaints about this game are completely overshadowed by its ground breaking concepts and features. Id give it a 9.75/10. If your looking to break up the monotany of FPS and RPG games this is a totally fresh breath of air. Rent and enjoy the ride.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!!

posted by bejohn2 (ANNAPOLIS JUNCTION, MD) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 26 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Although the graphics were excellent, I never made it past the first 2 hours of game play. If you enjoy shaking the controller left/right and then up/down to brush your teeth, then slowly move the stick to shave yourself, hey, this may be the game for you. It did make me feel like I was watching a movie, unfortunately, it also made me feel like I wanted to change the channel to see what else was on. I returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bugs/Freezing inexcusable for a PS3 exclusive

posted by ZoSoWizard (SAN MARCOS, TX) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Ran into several bugs in the first 5 minutes of gameplay, where it would randomly whip me back to the drawing pad in the office. Then continually freezes every few seconds making the game unplayable. I'm not sure how this happens on a standardized platform like the PS3.

I never got to play the game because of these bugs, and I'm really disappointed gamefly gave no indication of how prevalent this issue was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Different but a cheap ending, is disappointing

posted by DarkRandom (CIRCLE PINES, MN) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is getting many very high and very low reviews and I would say this is just not very realistic. Many low review say it shouldn't be called a game and even looking into the game at all you will find it is not called a game by the developers but an interactive drama. This is reasonably accurate so don't expect a game like you are normally used to.

Pro

The graphics pretty good and characters are interesting.
The story is interesting until near the end.
The way to involve you in the story is unique and as an idea makes for a different game.

Con

The way the controls are prompted is frustrating. I have a 55 inch tv and many times I could not make out the symbols as they floated and jiggled around, often behind the characters. There was no consistency to even simple prompts to help here either. For example saying no would change buttons based within the same scene at two different points.

I assume it is trying to make it more intense or dramatic but the way the prompts moved all over just made it that more frustrating since you didn't know where to look for them and being always gray didn't allow any way to identify them without "reading' them.

The story died a horrible death before any of my characters when the twist was revealed to be involve something that couldn't have happened since you would have done it as the character. Also there was never good explanation as to why the character suddenly decided to perform these acts as well as a few other parts that made little sense once you know the killer.

The controls for movement can be quite frustrating as you often find the character heading one direction while wanting to go another and the camera often doesn't help matters.

Overall I like the idea someone is trying to do something different and entertaining but the implementation leaves much to be desired. Up to the last 4th of the game I would have given it a 7 but after the ending I can only justify a 5 due to the cheap twist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game but

posted by gamer4evva (FAIRMONT, MN) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

great game,but... love the concept, story was cool, twist was cool, having me play the twist was cool, the fact that i take longer to brush my teeth than it took to beat the game was... well not cool. the game makes sure you pay attention to the attention to detail in their graphics.. sure it's cool ish but the lack of attention in quantity isn't. i rated it low because of it. rate on the games engine, graphics, thought provoking as well as feeling provoking (baby sequence for instance) story, all that gets a 9 ish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awful graphics

posted by alicegotmy (FORT BRAGG, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

c'mon history is oH!! so dramatic graphics mmmm they could do better diferent way to play but still a chicks game it's like lifetime channel jajaaja

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Heavy Bore

posted by Dukblowz (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For one enduring emotionally long weekend I chose to delve into the horrible world of this epic (wannabe) torturous voyage within a deeply weighted downpour. Clawing for reprieve, I take solace in knowing my game experience was shared by many swept up in the drama. Even checking into a seedy hotel, PS3 and new HDMI cable in hand, with a growing rainstorm in actuality outside the crummy windows of our room, fully immersed in a most real of moment.

A true marriage between nature and technology, the pixels flickering on my HD tv. I awoke in some dream it felt, wandering a spit level home sprinkled with touches of family life. Although clumsy in hand, the controls I found at least interactive at first as I made my way through the mental and physical anguish of my hearty protagonist. And then, I had to find dishes.

Much has been written about this dastardly excursion that now I, only meekly renting and pouring through its meager 8 hours of film... err... game play, may attempt to popularize many of my thoughts while ensconced. The only constant in this game was the feeling of dread, the sensation of endless shift in focus. As I often found myself staring back at the character's faces while we endlessly waited for things to load, each chapter bringing about new frustrations with my environments and configuration.

This seemed an attempt to combine elements of film and game, however I found the entire affair markedly bereft of either, instead plodding along in some confused state of denial. The movie elements, the plot twists, the creeping along scenes merely dulled my senses diluting the experience it was so strongly trying to generate. The game elements were even worse, a classic example being multiple button clicks to get into a car and start it, then watching a cut scene of actually driving away.
This seems counter to every game ever designed, but perhaps that was the point. In summation I found even additional dispair upon conclusion and eagerly re-packaged to mail

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bottom line: It's not fun to play

posted by cue138 (LONG ISLAND CITY, NY) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'd like to start by saying they did a great job with the graphics and the utilizing the controller in a unique way. That being said I can see how some people are leaving great reviews. Unfortunately, taking a shower, shaving, laying out dishes and partaking in other household chores is not something I want to do in a video game. The game takes much to long to get started and to be honest I didn't have the patience to continue playing past the first few scenes. It simply wasn't interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

heavy rain

posted by davehoffa (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all, the walking in this game almost drove me insane. Once I finished the game, I had no desire whatsoever to go back and try to do certain chapters better, etc.

Very little replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maybe if i had the patience

posted by thevinster (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Before renting Heavy Rain i was aware that it took some time to get into so i was prepared for a few hours of boredom if it resulted in an exciting experience later on. Unfortunately that enjoyment did not come soon enough for me. I played for about 7 or 8 hours before I finally said enough is enough gave up. So if you like games that throw you into the action right away, or even in a timely manner this game is not for you.

As far as the actual gameplay there isn't too much to talk about since it rarely felt like i was playing at all. The negatives are that the controls were not great and it sometimes got a little confusing trying to figure out what i was supposed to do. The positives are that there were some parts that did have my heart beating pretty quickly. Knowing that every action i made influenced how the game ended was the main purpose i continued playing for as long as I did. In the few moments of action i got to that did create a great sense of fear that if you fail it could make huge impact on how the rest of the game went. No retries, no game overs, only pass or fail and live with the consequences.

Im sure if i had the patience to go on this may have been one of the more rewarding games I have played, but only if i could have just sucked me in a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

still updating.........

posted by Brandyn (FRANKLINVILLE, NJ) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game took so long to update that I never played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game....Ever

posted by KingMattRa (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is like being stuck in a movie that you participate in....but it's longer than 2 hours. Voice acting is horrible & walking is a chore. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time!

posted by jidetion (SIOUX CITY, IA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I would love to rate this, but I can't judge what I can't play! The stupid thing freezes more ofter than winter! Unacceptable...
J

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse