Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25794 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain A Perfect 10

posted by ABigMike (SOLANA BEACH, CA) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

now before i start, let me say that this game is not for someone who is new to gaming. What you will find in Heavy Rain is a mystery movie that you control, and as weird as it sound it actually works. theres a lot of games out there that say "the choices you make in game effect how it will end". but in reality it really dose not. for Heavy Rain the choices you make truly make a difference be tween a good or bad ending. i have played the game 5 times (and thats saying something for i hardly ever play a game twice) and not one ending was the same. what gets me about this game is, the whole game is cut-scenes walking and button commands any other game i would grow sick of it. yet with Heavy Rain its the story that keeps you playing in to the night. a story that asks you how far will you go for the ones you love. Heavy Rain is refreshing new look for what games should feel like now days. now this is just one guys look on this game. there are people who have vary different feelings toward this game then i do, and they have valid reasons. i say give the game a try and see if you like it.

A Big Mike gives Heavy Rain PS3 a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Heavy Rain, more like heavily disappointing.

posted by DudeManGuy (CARPENTERSVILLE, IL) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

When i got Heavy Rain, i was pretty stoked. It is exactly what it seems, pretty much just an interactive movie, which is cool. So i played the game right, and i was loving it, like, LOVING it. To the point where i was telling all the people i knew about it. So i'm loving it right, and all of a sudden i'm at the end of the game and there's this suprise twist ending, which i expected (I expected a twist ending, didnt expect the actual twist.), and i was not pleased. While i wont ruin anything for the people who want this game, i will tell you now, that no game i've played, has ever put me off as much as the ending to Heavy Rain. Somehow, within the last hour of the game, my entire perception of the game was drastically altered, for the worse. I was just so disappointed, its hard to describe. Its kinda like... when your a kid, you have a hero right? Well then you grow up, and you meet that hero, and he (or she) turns out to be a drunk, or a sham-somethin like that. Well thats how this game was for me. Its like i had a puppy, and instead of watching it grow and turn into a noble, majestic dog-it got hit by a semi. This game died to me when the ending came. Long story short, this game started off awesome, and concluded with a bang similar to that of a cherry bomb in a portapotty. Complete and utter disappointment...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow as molasses

posted by basskitten (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

19 out of 45 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

The game takes forever to get going, while you do uninteresting things like get dressed, brush your teeth, drink a carton of orange juice, all in incredibly tedious lifelike detail. If I want to walk slowly around a room, I'll just get up and walk slowly around my real room.

Eventually the terrible controls, glacial pace, and shockingly horrible writing/voice acting just put me off the game entirely. I returned it without finishing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game your willl get addicted~(:{

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

anyone who said this is a bad gamne is ethier incompetent are a fanboy they did a pole for this game with some higher iq students and lower iq students at cambridge univeristy can you guess which group favored the game and which group did not b the lower iq wanted to shoot things and have a set path game aka where the developers want you to go they didnt say this persay but the games they have rather wanted to play were sum what simplfyed also most people that cant sit there and enjoy a great thing cause there is no fighting with weapons like swords axes you know blun t weapons with lots of blood is called a.d.d. people this game has amazing graphics way better then what ive seen out of the ps3 so far you have your own path you can choice and depending if your savy are not depends if you help get the killer are you your self fall victim to the origami killer also fan boys grow up dont rate the game if A.you cant afford 2 systems and o here is big one now lisen up... B.if you dont have the fu cing game! dont be simple minded and rate cause you think its cool to mess up rateing for a ps3 game what are you thinking microsoft is going to pay you for it lol look at there trackrecord buddy L8ter enjoy heavy rain..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Well Made Absorbing Thriller

posted by rthursdayx (OGDENSBURG, NY) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is the best change of pace I've experienced in video games in quite some time the game starts out very slow like others have mentioned so you get to know all your characters and become involved in their stories but as long as you have the patience and keep playing this game gets very intense and I found myself standing up in the middle of some scenes yelling at the TV because I actually cared about the story which is very rare these days but almost every decision you make in this game changes your story in the game so you can finish the game in a variety of ways which I won't get into because finding these out for yourself is the best part about this game and as far as graphics go the people look insanely realistic some objects in the enviroment look a little blocky but nothing too serious. Some final words, a few chapters wouldn't load right and a few glitches here and there but not enough to make me put the controller down I found myself playing hour after hour wanting to see what happens next and because I was in control of the characters it made it that much greater this game will sink it's hooks in you and it never lets go until the very end and even then you will find yourself wanting to revisit this great interactive game to see how you can play it differently. I cannot recommend this game enough to any PS3 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Extremely Short with Control Problems

posted by crashx9 (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying the graphics, sound elements, score and most game elements are excellent. There is a good story here, but not great. Over before you know it. Leaving you feeling melancholy, not by the story but by the game elements itself. A good hot mess of a time. I did not like the fact that for a game based primarily on character driven dialogue. The developers chose a cast of non-native english speaking actors. ALL trying too hard to sound, well, American. Simply put, its cheesy. Escpecially the FBI agents bad Boston accent. For me this just kills a game so focused on this as there primary driver for a story driven game. Also let me add, I know for certain a large part of the US population pronounce origami, as "OrigOGHmi". Yet, practically everytime you hear it spoken in the game its pronounced, "OrigAHmi". It JUST sounds WIERD! Too much dialogue sounded odd in this game. Controls, im betting the developers wanted to give it a, " Lurking, slow on-the-edge-of-your-seat" approach. Which im split on. I loved the unique way to control your character through action scenes. But moving from a desk to a kitchen, should not lead your character into the bathroom, having you yelling back at the screen saying, "What?! Im aiming you into the Kitchen, why is this happening?! ..and Why are you looking off into the other direction!?" Moving a character to a simple low key, obvious area of the environment and having it move like a robot, being controlled by another PS3 is broken controls 101. Again, it takes away from a good story. As the story is concerned, you will have quisi-fun getting involved. Very Se7en'isque and Saw'isque. Enough to wish everyone to experience. My only playthrough, I maintained all of the main characters without anyone dieing. My realization that I knew who the "Origahmi" killer was came way to sudden. I felt cheated when I thought the game was just preparing me for a good twist. I felt it was solved, & over far to quick. Withen 8-10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by gameerdad (NESQUEHONING, PA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I was blown away and still can't get this out of my head. Years from now when I look back at this game I'll remeber it as a milestone that changed gaming forever. It's different somehow from everything that came before it and it will add to the lexicon of how games can communicate with players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest games of this generation...

posted by Nohman (SOUTH JORDAN, UT) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

AND one of the greatest games ever. Period. Buy it. Either just hit the "Keep it" button, or if you haven't got it yet, just hit the red "Buy New" button and cut out the middle man. Support interactive drama like this, or it will be another 6 years until you get another chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not much more than watching a movie.

posted by Dazart (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 26 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

While the graphics were great, I don't think you had much in the way of determining the outcome of the story. Basically it was a movie that paused every now and then waiting for you to use the controller in some fashion.

Horrible concept.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Difficult to play if you're a father.

posted by manchicken (MAHOMET, IL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

While this is one of the better PS3 exclusives I've seen in the last year, it is extremely difficult to play if you are a father of a small boy. I couldn't help but identify and sympathize with the main character. This didn't detract from the story, but I did actually have a hard time with some of the cutscenes.

The story was compelling, but there were two main problems that kept annoying me throughout the game. First, I understand the development company is French, and I speak French, so I went back-and-forth on the voice acting language. Both English and French voice acting was sub-par. It's nice they didn't make me go back to reading the dialog, though. The English subtitles exhibited a weakness in the translation, and all of the actors seemed to have either a strong Canadian or French accent. The French voice acting was just boring. I understand it is normal for French voice acting to be more monotone than English voice-acting, but still, if a guy is remembering the horror of losing his son I expect to hear some freaking emotion.

The second thing that bothered me was the control scheme. I understand they were trying to do something neat, but the controls were considerably frustrating. Camera angles were horrid in areas, and controlling the direction in which your character is walking is frustrating.

It's still a good game, I just can't see myself playing it through more than once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Voice Acting Blows

posted by mikehawk73 (SEATTLE, WA) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Innovative, pretty, good story, all that stuff the others said. But the voice acting......just a step above really bad anime. If you watch the behind the scenes clips, you'll notice that most of the actors are Ozzies or Brits, even tho the setting is obviously E. Coast. But even the inconsistent accents overshadowed the WAY they spoke. They places they emphasized certain words and failed to emphasize others was not realistic at all, and just made me feel like I was watching a bad movie. It seriously messed up the immersion factor. Still, I played it thru twice, just to see the different options, and Madison's strip tease, of course. Can we get more hot topless girls in video games, please??!!

Definitely rent, don't buy. I can't see anyone playing this game for more than a couple weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Innovative

posted by Vohnkar (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I absolutely enjoyed every minute of this game. The most stand-out characteristics of this game are the story, the fluid and beautifully sequenced action scenes, and the movie-like cinematography. Really, for myself, this game was a completely new type of experience that can best be described as an interactive movie. Although some parts of the game seem completely linear and almost like tasks, they are shadowed by the scenes where skill has a great effect on the outcome of that certain branch in the story. How the action scenes unfold during play is where I was impressed the most. I haven't played a game of this type that was so thought out, smooth, and creative as Heavy Rain. If you plan on renting this, don't expect a non-stop action game, but expect to experience an interactive drama flick, with a deep story and innovative gameplay.

Also, I'd recommend playing around with the difficulty settings. I started with hard and moved to an easier level after I messed up a couple scenes... all of which had permanent results on the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This (Game) is great!!!

posted by me399unot (LANCASTER, CA) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am only two hours into this game but I am hooked. Game is a weird thing to call this beast.... it is a game but it is also a movie that you control. I know that these games used to be all the rage but this is my first go-around with a game like this; I LOVE THIS GAME!!

Don't get me wrong... this is not entirely perfect but if you are new to this kind of game you really need to try it just to have this experience. The game starts off completely slow. Please....Don't give up. About 40 minutes in something happens that completely hooked me. I don't know if I know where this story is going or not but I am in for the long haul.

I have heard from the guys over at the "Totally Rad Show" that this game is only about 10-12 hours long and that it really does not kick into overdrive until about half way through. There are supposed to be countless endings for allot of replay value.

The only thing that I did not like was that the game only supports 720p, my TV only supports 480i,p and 1080i. If your TV does this the PlayStation downscales the game to 480p. I hate Sony for doing this and I tend to shy away from any games that only support 720p, the only reason why I still got this one for the PS3 is because its the only system this game is available on. It does still look really good but Sony really needs to start publishing all there games in all available resolutions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A new era of entertainment

posted by samostud8 (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a shining example of how computer entertainment is becoming more than just a bunch of "Games". This title is not a game. The closest thing to describe it is an "interactive story". While all titles have this fundamental quality of storytelling, none other goes so far as to distill the essential qualities of good story telling, and present them in an environment that is uniquely immersive for adults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just a different way to play a game

posted by marjval (COMMERCE, CA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Yea well this game is heavy if you let yourself get into the actual story. Once u get passed the demo parts of the game that was released on the psn thats where it starts to get interesting.
Gameplay is like a refreshing light making u feel the joy of playing a different style of gaming. There r too much of the same games getting released with different names just with a little hint of diversity.
Heavy Rain gives the players there over way of going about in this dark detective like story. During this whole game you are searching out a kill known as the Origami KillerDuring the beginning-mid point you start having to choose whether you'd want a certain character to go about a situation a certain way whether its cowardly fleeing becuz u just want that character to be a sissy little girl has an effect on the way the story ends.
The Controls on this game feel kinda clumsy at times but it just kinda takes time to get used to it. Utilizing the motion controls just kinda makes it more for both hardcore and casual gamers.You can get hints as to what your suppose to do or how to kill time while waiting for something to happen which u can do by hearing your characters thoughts.
Graphic wise this game looks stunning but if it was just ordinary graphics nothing great this game would do just fine. I say too much people talk about the graphics well i say ok great i could do with ordinary graphics as long as the game is fun theres no need to brag about it. Basic thing is that you'll be able to see everything just fine.
Sound is amazing the music score is great. Music really brings out certain parts of the game whether its a wild chase or dramatic scenes in the game.
Best part that i love about this game is that u can go back to parts of the game and redo scenes without saving over your game.
I would give this game a 8.8 cause seriously no game is perfect in the eyes of the people in this world as a whole.
Its definitely a great rental every ps3 owner should try out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Engaging, Interesting, Action-Packed.

posted by slifox (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Just a few words to describe this amazing game. I'd give it between a 9.2 and a 9.5. Never have I been drawn into a game so much as I have been with Heavy Rain. Each Action, although they look rigorous, like brushing your teeth or tightening your tie, it really helps you connect with the character.

The Graphics are amazing, plain and simple. There is some screen tearing, which im a little disappointed about, but it's not a big deal.

Presentation is mind-blowing. Everything from the shaky options/thoughts that give the vibe of uneasyness (if thats a word), to the way the characters walk (especially madison, idk about you but the character model looks almost realistic when it comes to walking). The game is filled with joy, and on the other end of the spectrum, some very tense moments.

Gameplay is essentially deciding which action to take, or a button sequence to press while you are in a fight or frantic situation. Or taking a shower in your apartment ;). Although I found the walking to be somewhat annoying at times, like when you have to turn your character around in a small area, he/she seems to talk the other way you want them to walk. It gets some taking used to.

Audio is superb, the music fits very nicely into each event/situation. Nothing bad here.

Overall, I'm glad I bought this game. I was playing through most of it at a friends house, they were sucked in immediately, and they weren't even playing! The fact that the story can change so many different ways is amazing. One choice can have a different effect immediately. This is a beautifully crafted game that takes a break from the norm, and brightly shines on its own as a unique and memorable game.

I'm gonna go play through it again, and see where it takes me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well honestly

posted by Chriz704 (BRONX, NY) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

The game is very great I love the way the developers made it, it just has a feel to it that I can't really explain and I won't go into detail because I don't really want to mess it up for others. But I must say this game is just interesting at times you might get a little bit bored or to put it in another way it just sometimes slow down but you should expect this from any game.

I can't really put a very descriptive review since I myself haven't finish the game but I did in fact got it earlier thanks to some friends and now I am renting it for my brother so we both can enjoy it. I recommend people to go out there and buy/rent this game it is an experience like no other games out there, like many people have said there are very few games like these and its rare for a developer to make a game like this. I am chriz704 and i am a fan-boy and approve this message.

A bit about the controls and game.

Wow at first its kinda weird because with no other game you walk like if you were playing a racing game but after a while you will get the hang of it and i must say the controls are awesome. (They could be better but hey there Not!) This is not a game you will replay again and again i would say maybe two times? but you will get board of it. It is a nice experience so go out there and buy it/rent it, Sorry for repeating myself. Have a nice day! Rate me and ty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Is this a game?

posted by IRONBROTHA (HONOLULU, HI) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2003

8 out of 22 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

It's all "quick-time events". I fell asleep and the game played itself. Unfortunately, this "game" is very, very overrated. I recommend renting before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is..Brilliant.

posted by SORAROX10 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The minute I started the game, I could feel its amazingness. This game should be nominated for game of the year for 2010. AMAZING VIDEO GAME! PERIOD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Heavy Rain

posted by wolf721 (OTTUMWA, IA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game was among the most highly ranked games to come out on the PS3 in a long time and I was really looking forward to playing it, but I would have to say that it was over rated. Lets start with the good things about the game. The graphics are amazing; in fact they are so good its almost like watching a movie. This game also incorporated the six axis in ways that no other game ever has. With that said lets get to the rest of the game. The story line is slow going with very little action, and what little action there is is set up in a Guitar Hero - Dance Dance Revolution kind of platform that really makes the game way too easy. Also, once you find out who the killer is this game offers very little replay value; I would really recommend you to rent this game before you buy it, trust me you will be glad that you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Aweful

posted by Face1987 (ANDOVER, MA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I dont understand why this game is getting such good ratings it is so slow. The character walks so slowly and the multiple commands seem very delayed it just drags on and on. I put in a good 4 hours of patience hoping it would get better and then I just couldnt take it anymore. It's pretty freaky the way the characteers face appears on the screen for a really long time while something is loading. You dont know this because there is no spinning circle or anything to let you know it is loading. Then it kept freezing and I had to reboot over and over. Maybe I had a bad game or something or maybe I just dont have the patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hated It

posted by Natalie999 (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Absolutely boring. Besides the fact that there was no real gameplay, neither the storyline nor the characters were particularly engaging or interesting. Definitely would NOT recommend. I am astonished that this game has received so many positive reviews

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I fell asleep

posted by kws123 (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is a horrible game, if you can even call it a game. You just push buttons on the controller when a picture of the button appears on the screen. Sounds like fun huh? It isn't. The exciting action includes scrambling eggs, changing a diaper, tying a tie, microwaving a pizza, making coffee, I could go on. I don't know what the gamemakers were thinking, and I don't see why this game is rated so high. The story is decent, but the gameplay is so boring that I honestly had a hard time staying awake. Press the square and X at the same time and presto you've changed a diaper! Fun!! Apparently the story can have alternate endings, but I really can't see anyone wanting to play through this more than once, so what's the point?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not f a game for everyone

posted by sagthrwr (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

This is literally like watching a long movie with minimum interaction. I personally did not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MOST BORING GAME EVER

posted by beazevil (NAPLES, FL) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I had a hard time getting in to this game. the visuals were good but the game play sucked. nothing worse than playing a game that starts out with my daily routine. I can see where the developers were trying to think "outside the box", but it made for a horrible game. I play games to do things that i normaly would'nt be able to do, fighting aliens, running people over with cars, firefights with terrorists, ect. . . But making a cup of coffee,taking a shower and brushing my teeth, i can do that in real life just fine. but if the highlight of your day is putting on your shoes, then you will think this game is awesome. but if you want to have an exciting gaming experience DON'T RENT OR BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse