Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25797 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant, Risk Taken & Rewarded

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

269 out of 309 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I got this game early, and.. Wow!

This game is brilliant, and the risk was taken well and I truly believe it has landed well. Please do note that this game is intended for adults, and has scenes of nudity. This isn't an action game, but rather a movie in game form, where you the player decides what happens. If you get this, understand what you are playing. Don't hate to fast, this game is a first of its kinda and I don't hope it's the last.

Lets start off with the bad. Review sites have been saying that the game starts slow and is boring. While this is actually true to an extent. I don't think it was that boring, I was still interested and having a fun experience messing around with the props in the environment. But yes, if you're impatient of a person, you might hate it (the beginning). After a few hours the ride truly begins. You have to understand, like most movies, it sets up the characters and the issue (plot). The second bad thing, is that the controllers are awkward to use at first. I mean it's easy to do combinations to climb things, and do other activities in game. But it's just strange and annoying to walk around. It's a fixed walk, but after hour or so you will get used to it (before the story picks up). Also, no running & weird accents, are also small annoyances.

The GREAT, first and foremost, this game is original. You will not want to put it down, once the buildup's over and the story begins you feel like you're in the game. You are submerged in a world trying to catch the Origami Killer, due to certain events. He is a Serial Killer whom prays on children You play in this game, and you never hit a game over screen. You never have to worry about what to do. You can skip, or go into as much detail as you want. You can choose who dies, and survives. I guarantee you will play it 2+ times (so many endings)! It's awesome choosing your own path, and see your choices effect the story.

Score: 9.4/10 (Brilliant, if you have a PS3, this is a MUST buy/play)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Original

posted by TheDogTako (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is a game unlike any other, where every choice you make affects the outcome and everything you do involves a sequence of buttons you must press in the right way. The story kept me glued to my seat. As for gameplay I wouldn't say that it's stronghold, but it is very original in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really worth renting and if you like movie-style, thriller games, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Choose Your Own Adventure

posted by Lazarus028 (MINERAL, VA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

102 out of 134 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game reminds me of the old choose your own adventure books I read in Jr. High school. Very good story that is quite entertaining. I enjoy this game for the fact that it is a nice change of pace from all the heavy action games that have been coming out recently.

The pace is slower but engrossing. Once you get used to the controls things are a bit more fluid for you.

I give this game props for daring to be different. With it's unique playstyle, great story, and memorable characters this is definately a different style of game then what is flooding the videogame market right now.

I was a fan of Indigo Prophecy and am also a fan of Heavy Rain. I hope to see more games that are like this.

So all you gamers out there Choose your own adventure.... and choose Heavy Rain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME.....IF

posted by Rieumont (MIAMI, FL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

43 out of 56 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I would say that this is one of the funnest games I have in a long time. It is basically like watching a movie, the game keeps you on your feet and guessing to who the killer might be. If you are looking for a fast paced shooting game then do not get this game since all the action will be pretty much you pressing buttons at the right time. I loved the game and only reason I do not give it a 10 is for the terrible movement mechanics. I recommend the game if you want something different and like mystery movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Different

posted by MohaviMoon (HUTTO, TX) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

46 out of 65 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As has been said before, this game is a very different style from most other games. The level of detail involved that you use to interact with your environment is fantastic. I would say the gameplay is absolutely challenging for the average player, but not in the line of some games I have tried that seem simply impossible.

This game is truly all about the story, and it will appeal most to those players who enjoy the movie experience of games. Do you usually sit back and watch other people play? You can handle this game. The controls may be a bit clunky, but the game tells you which buttons to push when, and you definately get used to how things work.

Having finished the game, I believe you will probably enjoy your second (and perhaps subsequent) times even more than the first. By the time you finish once, you're much more confident in how to control the characters and what you want to do to progress the story.

This game is definately worth buying. Beware that it has a reputation for glitches and long load times, which I suspect will be fixed with patches. I had freezing issues on a couple of occasions, but was able to reset and did fine. This game saves extremely often. Both times I had to reset my save file picked up less than a minute from where it froze and I was able to continue on as normal.

Absolutely phenomenal experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good story, so-so control scheme.

posted by pavakah (ROELAND PARK, KS) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

18 out of 26 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The story in Heavy Rain is a mixture of crime drama and mystery thriller that is feature film quality. The plot is interesting, and the writing is solid. There are a handful of unpolished areas, but those mostly stand out because everything else is so well done.

The control scheme is... different. I will not to attempt to describe it in detail here because there is a demo available for download. The unique system of analog stick movements and timed button presses was what attracted me to the game initially, but I soon grew to hate it. The biggest complaint I have is that the control scheme never became natural feeling -- by its very design, interacting with the game never becomes unconscious. Consequently, every time the story starts sucking you in, the next round of control prompts pull you back into your living room where you will either have to frantically (not fun-frantic - this is more like avoiding-a-car-wreck-in-the-intersection-frantic) press buttons to keep one of the characters from dieing, or go through a mind numbing series of inputs to prepare a meal, etc.

I started off playing on normal difficulty, but eventually switched to the easiest setting in the hope of minimizing how much I would have to deal with the controls (the easiest setting does not appear to lessen the amount of prompts, nor does it seem give you more time to press the correct button when prompted). The most unfortunate aspect of the controls is not that they aren't fun, but that they are constantly pulling the player's focus away from the story, and thus end up making the experience less engaging.

In conclusion, Heavy Rain's serious and intense drama will make you want to play it to the end, but I can't promise you won't feel like throwing your controller at the wall before you get there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fahrenheit II

posted by Geneve (VAN NUYS, CA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

31 out of 51 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This is the second child of the company who made famous Indigo Prophecy. If you are fan of games like this, you will love it. Actually any PS3 owner will love to have this game.
Pros:Great story, awesome graphics, freedom of speech and actions (which i love)
Cons:somehow controlling is a bit hush in the beginning, but you'll get use to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Heavy Reign

posted by Keviathan (FLINT, MI) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

15 out of 25 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

You are on the hunt for the Origami Killer! Will he/she take more lives or will you put an end to this evil? Use your investigation skills correctly and you will slowly unfold the tale of this murderous monster.

Say what you will but I have never played a game that truly makes you feel an emotional connection with the characters. Heavy Rain breaks all video game barriers with wonderful voice acting, life-like graphics, and a story with almost endless twists & turns.

The idea to this game is completely fresh and new, you control everything your character does. From taking a breath on your inhaler to all out brawls with disgruntled villains. The outcome to this game is all within your hands. You control multiple characters and if one of them dies, the story continues on without them. Thus leaving multiple possibilities for endings!

The only downfall to this game is it's not much of a huge challenge but that's not the point, I think we're supposed to take our time and appreciate this beautiful game and connect with the characters. Although sometimes I will admit it can be a tricky game if you don't stay alert, so be ready for anything!

My final conclusion is buy this game, it has great replay value and it's going to be a timeless classic for the PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great the first time around

posted by cactusaz (PRESCOTT, AZ) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have to say this game is different from your average game. It is very enjoyable the first time around, but once you're done with it the impact that it created is no longer there. I would still have to say this is a must play game but it is more of a rental rather than a must buy. Thanks to gamefly we can all save some cash and still get to play some of the highly talked games and choose to keep it afterward or return it and continue our journey. The game would get a 8 rating but trying to go for all the endings just started to seem like a bothersome chore. If you're deciding whether to play this game or not I would say give it a shot, it is a great game worth playing once, maybe even twice...but not worth buying or keeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Entirely New Genre

posted by Josh11 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is not without its faults, and I'd rather get those out of the way first. Controlling the characters feels sloppy at times, facial expressions occasionally appear deadpan destroying the immersion, and the build up in the story is slow at first.

That being said, Heavy Rain is a game you definitely should rent. Essentially, it's like an interactive choose your own adventure novel with really good graphics. The story is interesting, and once you get rid of the annoying kids, the characters are well crafted.

+: New Style of Gameplay, Graphics, Story, Atmosphere
-: Controls, Pacing, the Kids, Limited Replay Value

Overall: Definitely Rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

must buy for anyone that likes any kind of mystery

posted by StoryJudge (FLORENCE, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

after i finished the game i was left speechless. that is hard to do. the game has many ways to end the game. you might find out who it is and have all the characters alive, or you might not figure out who is the killer and wont save the boy. but remember this, if you die, that character is dead. but thats the fun in it, there are consiquences. if that happens, you just have to keep playing. thats all im writing about this. the final report basicly sums it up.
FR: just like the title says, must buy. if you like to see how the story unfolds this is still fun. if you dont like playing and like watching, this is for you. it is like any cop drama show thats on tv

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fresh-n-Easy

posted by xPoWPoWx (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game as you already know is purely cinematics. Cant stress that enough. if you are the type of gamer that cuts to the chase and skips passed the cut scenes of a game, this is definately not for you. As for the rest of you this game offers a very deep, methodical story, that keeps you interested and wanting to see what happens next. The game play starts out dull then becomes natural after the first few chapters. As you reach the ending the controls are just repetitive, useless and dull once again. The game was fun and worth the rent but when I was near the end I was just wanting it to be finished. Its a nice new genre, but I doubt it will catch on to well. I recomend the rent, but personally after I had finished I am glad i hadn't purchsed it, as it offers re-play to only the biggest of fans. I rate this game a 8.5 since it is a step in a new directiion... -P.S. PARENTS DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS RENT THIS GAME. IT CONTAINS VERY VULGAR LANGUAGE. FULL ON NUDITY AND A PLAYABLE INTENSE LOVE SCENE.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brilliant... but boring

posted by DoubleGulp (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

17 out of 33 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

I'll hand it to Quantic Dream, they've created a fascinating and unique game. Unfortunately at times the game can be somewhat irritating and dull too.

First off the positives. Heavy Rain is beautiful. The characters and settings look realistic and highly detailed. It's very easy to find yourself staring at the surroundings and ignoring the actual gameplay. The facial animation and texturing I thought was done exceptionally well for the characters. The graphics on this game were very polished.

The story in heavy rain was also engrossing, the characters were unique and evoked emotion from the player. I enjoyed the way they handled storytelling by jumping from one character's vignette to the next but still keeping them tied in to the underlying story.

The big weakness in heavy rain was also it's greatest strength. That is it's attention to detail. We all take for granted are daily tasks and our movements in general. When those things are replicated in game via quicktime actions, it tends to get tedious. Movements like taking your walled out of your pocket, brushing your teeth, turning the car ignition and putting it into drive. Each one has a set movement during the game and it can really make the game monotonous at points.

The controls for moving the character could also be very irritating, I often found it hard to get maneuvered around the simplest of objects as moving the stick slightly to the left would often times have me walk into a completely opposite direction down a hall I did not wish to go.

Overall though, complaints aside, Heavy Rain is a game that really should be played by anyone who enjoys a well told story. Like any good book or movie, there will often times be lulls, but it the long run it really doesn't take from the experience as a whole.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unlock like any other !

posted by ctrain831 (DAVIE, FL) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game is unlike anything that I've played before. The graphics are gorgeous. Faces and character details are great, especially in cut scenes, however some of the environmental details are sacrificed to get these beautiful faces.

The story is AMAZING! It's very interactive with a number of different endings and pathways to the endings. I have never been so engulfed in the story of a video game. Some things are slow at times, but these times are important because they draw the player into the characters lives in the game. This makes you feel much more connected to the story. It's enjoyable to play through a couple of times to see the alternative stories and endings.

My only complaint about Heavy Rain is the controls. There are dozens of times when the camera placement is irritating and in the way. You can move the camera, but only between a couple of preselected angles. This game doesn't require any precision with movement so it doesn't ruin the game. It does distract you from the incredible story at times especially in some of the quick escape type scenes.

I won't spoil the story, but I will say that this game is definitely an adult game. There is nudity, sexual assault, gruesome violence, and lots of drugs and alcohol. All of this is necessary for the story. I couldn't believe how far they went with some parts of the story. I was constantly being wowed by the in your face brutal gruesome content. It was amazing.

By far the most original game that I've played EVER! Completely fresh approach done nearly perfectly, other than the camera placement issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Feb 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

24 out of 48 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is Incredible. This game syoryline of these four characters is overwhelming. The game is real good all I can say. These types of game are very rare to find. Quantic Dream and other developers need more game than just shooters. This can getrid of shooters any day. Game of the year contender. 10/10. P.s> Graphics out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interactive movie

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 24, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As so-to-say, Heavy Rain isn't like many other games out there. There isn't any fast-paced action in strategy with the game, but a lot of drama. Heavy Rain is really its own genre.

You conduct several different characters.
A serial killer is on the loose killing people; the only thing that is left behind is a origami figurine on the killer's murder victims. The "Origami Killer" is what the horrendous murder is called. You conduct several people who all play part inside a dramatic, cinematic orientated game.

Controlling a movie, is the prime idea of the game. There isn't maps to explore, but only high detailed areas that you interact with. You determine the way you approach people: how to ask someone, look around crime scenes for clues, and even study clues you find. The control scheme is unlike any other.

Heavy Rain reminded me of that old board game called, Clue. You will be wondering the entire time if you already have met the killer and you will be wanting to restart the game on the first level- Poor birdy.

Once you get use to flipping the analog sticks around to do every action from, brushing your teeth to scratching your butt. The game moves along pretty quickly. That is, if you just so happen to stumble upon the needed actions to finish that frame of the story. I liked how they made time a element in the game; when time elapses settings change, not just from day to night, but characters actions.

The game is open ended: your actions judge a reaction, sometimes better then others. However, if you ever to play a interactive movie, you would enjoy the game. The game wont be for everyone. You don't run around an area with guns blazing. It is a very modest slow paced game. Amazing graphics, amazing story. I just wished there was quicker paced action that leaves you to be quick in thinking. Not only quick to pushing a button on its' que.

You should try the demo before you rent Heavy Rain. Playing the demo, will give you a better idea of Heavy Rain's gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nominee for Game of the Year

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved this game in almost every aspect. The story is engaging as it is complex. The acting for the most part is done very well. The gameplay is something new and fun. Some people just call it a "quick-time event" game, but if you actually play it you will see that it is so much more than that.

The only part of this game that keeps it from being a perfect "10" is that the game can have some problems running in terms of freezing and sound cutoff. These do come back every once in a while, but nothing that destroys the game.

Overall this is game that everyone should play just to see a new style of game and how interactive drama can be made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by Joseph007 (SUMMERVILLE, GA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is one of the best games that I have ever played. The storyline is amazing and really pulls you in to a point where you are emotionally attached to the characters. The controls are very different from most games (Heavy Rain is a very different game itself) but the first few levels provide a very good learning curve to help you and it becomes seem less very quick. The game offers three different difficulties but they only affect the controls where people who are not very familiar with the wireless controller can still easily enjoy the game. There have been some people who have had technical issues with this game (freezing, no audio, etc) I did not have any problems with the game but I also never downloaded the patch for the same since it is an offline game. This is a game that offers extremely high replay value for the many different routes you can take with the story and its characters. This game is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by cagney101 (DAYTON, OH) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not a game its a whole new way of telling a story. I was literally stupified by some of the things I saw. I love movies and I love videogames and this is a child of both of those things. Before this moment I had questioned whether or not videogames could ever really compete with the print, film, and television industries when it came to telling truly captivating tales, but no longer. It represents a completly new form of entertainment that truly pushes the boundaries of both video games and movies. My dad remembers seeing Star Wars when it was in theaters, I will remember this moment. And of course it has BOOBIES!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a game for meat heads

posted by Drumrguy (TUALATIN, OR) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

By the title of this review I mean this game is not for gamers that only want action, action, action, kill, kill, kill. Ergo the term "Meat head."

This game is for REAL gamers. People that like to use their brains when playing and care about a story driven game not racking up kills in a deathmatch. Anyway, Heavy Rain is like playing the movie Seven but you control every action of the character. Things like waking up, taking a shower, brushing your teeth, and getting dressed in the morning. It sounds boring but its actually fun and engaging. But the pace does pick up and eventually you get into fist fights and go investigating crime scenes.

In a nutshell the story is there's a serial killer in town and you gotta find him or at least try. During the game you play the rolls of 4 different characters.
This game is awesome. A true dramatic gaming experience. I went out and bought this game after reading all the glowing reviews and seeing all the high scores. You should do the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You and your girl,shal play together....

posted by Hooride23 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Simply put,if you're on the fence about this one,get it and play "WITH" your girl,anything you dont like about the game will melt away as she connects with you and your gaming hobby like never before...And its not that long anyway,great story....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yoga for your fingers

posted by Tsunade (RENO, NV) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the story is amazing and you never see what's comeing it's easy to get hooked and you grow attached to each of the four characters the only thing that kept me from giveing this game a 10 is the fact that load time are extaordinarly long but the graphics are amazing my dad thoght I was watching a tv show when he saw it. Also a word of warning if your fingers aren't quick and flexible your hand will be killing you in 10 minutes if your double jointed then you're fine other wise the game is great and you get an adrenline rush while you play if you like story based games it's definetly worth a shot but it's short so unless you want to play it several times it's a definite rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow......

posted by vadgemonta (Williamsport, PA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Heavy Rain is a great game. It is unlike any game I have ever played. This game blew me away after just a few minutes, and then it got even better. This is by no means a shooter game of any sort. It's kind of sad that people will drill this with bad reviews because of the kind of game it is. Here is a why I love and recommend this game:

The graphics are amazing.Great acting makes the graphics almost life like.

The controls are a different from any other game. They take a little time to get used to, and sometimes the camera angles make it more of a challenge. The only thing I would change about the game is moving the camera. I would have a way to control it to your liking but it rarely creates an issue.

The story is very intriguing. It keep you wanting to play and wanting to know what happens next.

The gameplay is awesome. They really make you feel like you are the character you are playing. You make basically every decision in the game and based on your decision is how the game will play out. You can get your character killed if you are not careful and there is no restarting and retrying like other games, once they are dead they are dead and out of the game/story.

The action scenes are very intense. The controls help keep you highly entertained during every fight. Almost as if you were there.

They even throw in a neat origami tutorial to put together while the game is installing. They include the paper. Awesome idea for the wait.

I gave this game a 10 because it is very deserving. Game of the Year is definitely a high possibility. It is a very unique game and a great change of pace from other games.

This game is not for children. Language, violence, and nudity so beware.

I recommend downloading the demo to see if you like the game before renting or buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by theice19 (MODESTO, CA) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game keeps you on the edge of your seat pretty much the whole game. It somehow finds a way to not be just full of ridiculous action, it really makes you think you're part of a movie, a great movie to boot. The story is free form and you feel like you have such control over what this guy does and acts. As you creep towards the end of the game, you're so immersed that you think "wow, there's no way this game could be any different" When in reality it could end tons of different ways. Just a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse