Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25835 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

crashes

posted by moc804 (RICHMOND, VA) May 8, 2014

Member since May 2014

sad to say i never got to play the game it kept crashing before the menu. When it crash the 8th time i looked to see if it was common, and yes it is. ultimately i still want to play it, hopefully sooner than later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Uhh

posted by aierc235 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

We'll the first two mims of the game the sound cuts out and I can't interact with anything? Also it's pretty dumb u gotta hold r2 to walk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by dawks2098 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I thought this game was very boring....slow action

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wont work in my play station 3

posted by acekinghigh (GRANITE CITY, IL) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

was looking forward to playing this game. this was the second time that I have had this game and had to send it back because it would not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game can't be played on a SDTV

posted by Johnwooninja (STONY CREEK, NY) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was really looking forward to playing this title but when I popped it in I soon realized it would not be playable on my tv so now I have to send it back and wait a week or so to get my next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cannot review what does not load!!

posted by bluedogzero (IMPERIAL, MO) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This is the first game I recieved during the 30 day free trial. Took 20 minutes for an update?? then another 8 or so to load and then would not complete the installation (with the oragami thingy). Yes tried redo from restart of PS3 3 times. So, hope the next game lets me play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sleep Mode -- The Game

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

Congratulations to the developer of this exercise. You have definitely conquered many of the skills necessary to make a beautiful and possibly interesting game whenever you decide to change your occupation from software engineer to game designer. Oh, this was supposed to be a game? Never mind. You failed. (Would the folks at Gamefly please upgrade everything I have rated as a 1 to a 5, please, so that this abomination gains its rightful place?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wasn't even playable

posted by BadKarma63851 (HAYTI, MO) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I might have liked this game if it would have bothered to have installed on my console. But as it froze up at the 25% mark (and the install isn't optional), I never got past that screen. Googling the issue leads me to believe that this is a common problem. You'd think that as long as this game has been out, the devs would have fixed such an issue, but apparently not. So I'm giving it one-star for being a coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Froze.

posted by aradia_ryuu (FORT BRAGG, NC) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I've heard great thing about this game, and was truly excited when it arrived. As soon as the game started it kept freezing and would not continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very disappointed

posted by klynds (Raleigh, NC) Mar 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

i only really played the game for 1 day and just put it back in the mail, it was showing a lot of promise but at the lever "sleepless night" when she went to get off the couch she was stuck in place by a major glitch and couldn't move her upper body just turned on itself and twisted all over the place. being as its a rental I couldn't follow the advice they gave of wait as we're working on a patch. really too bad because the game seemed to show a lot of promise and I was starting to get involved with the storyline but the glitches killed it for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of a rental

posted by JoeDaCabbie (MIDDLETOWN, NY) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If you are truly BLEEP-retentive, this is the game for you. You get to start out with plenty of practice at brushing the character's teeth and drying himself after his shower. After that, I spent 45 minutes wandering around the house and the only thing the game would let me do is juggle some balls in the kids room. The walkthroughs at IGN said there are other activities to do, and that the game should progress even if you don't do them, but after almost an hour I got tired of waiting. Goodbye, and good riddance!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!!

posted by Thunderga (ANTELOPE, CA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game was not fun at all. I cannot believe that the developers even wasted their time creating this godawfull game. Poor fools who actually thought this game was good...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Baddddd!

posted by mysticlady1221 (MUKILTEO, WA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

It had great graphics, but the game was slooooow. It took over an hour to even get through the tutorial. I finally stopped playing and am sending the game back. I didn't like this at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Rain is no game

posted by Dr_Pepper (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This horrible excuse for a video game should have been left on the drawing board.

The only decent thing about this game is the graphics, aside from that I wouldn't recommend this so called game to anyone.

The controls horrendous and the story line is irritating to say the least.

Bottom line it's lucky I couldn't rate it in the negatives, this game is a pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Excellent storyline up to a point.

posted by jeeep4fun (FORT GEORGE G MEADE, MD) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely cutting edge in both graphics and gameplay. The storyline is fascinating and the characters are incredibly deep. The reason I gave it a one is that it violates its own character development. About midway through the game, FBI agent Norman Jayden fails to either protect Ethan Mars when Police Detective Blake beats a confession out of him, or videotape the session in order to bring Blake up on future charges. Jayden is also an apparent addict of Tripto, a fictitious drug in the game. When given the choice to either take or not take the Tripto, I pressed the "Don't Take" button, and Jayden took it anyway. So I guess my main gripe is, if you're giving us the video game equivalent of a choose-your-own-adventure, what's the point if the choices we make bear no impact on the characters' actions?

At this point in the game, I became rather angry at the lack of ability to instill basic law enforcement instincts in Jayden (being a law enforcement officer myself), and shut the game off and sent it back to Gamefly, unfinished.

My other gripe with this is that I could have used less tediuous controller action, such as changing a baby's diaper, feeding her, and rocking her to sleep. Really? Yes, really. I had to perform all of these actions using controller moves, and they added nothing to the storyline.

Better luck next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for the Old School Gamer

posted by YupISaidIt (PINE HILL, NJ) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Let me start with the positives. The graphics on this game are remarkable, particularly the scenes that feature rain. I did say positives, as in plural, but really, I can't think of anything else. I am not one for the gaming in which you live out the day-to-day moves of a character unless of course that action is pivotal to the plot. The long, outdrawn opening of Heavy Rain is filled with pointless activities that serve to aggravate me not motivate me to play. The whole family life story didn't interest me at all. I was geared up for a good mystery game and I was hit with a painfully slow yawner. Perhaps I need to stick to the spy thrillers (i.e. Splinter Cell series) for my mystery and action games. Heavy Rain is already in its return slip.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not sure what to think..

posted by roori (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

do not even know what to say about this game. i TRIED playing for a week, but game glitched in the prologue every time. i researched online for SOME kind of fix, nothing. everything i read was about where people basically got stop in the storyline because of this magical glitch. horrible game as far as i know. DO NOT RECOMMEND

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Rain Problems

posted by l8rdaze (GOLDEN VALLEY, AZ) May 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

To anyone who rents this game HEAVY RAIN...be ready for heavy problems.
1st, make sure you uncheck DTS audio in the PS3 dash as you'll get NO sound if it is left checked.
2nd, the freeze ups were atrocious, worst I've ever seen in a game yet.
There have been problems with this game since its release and Quantum Dreams hasn't resolved them yet.
3rd, I would have liked to have seen how the story ended, I made it to about the 40th sequence, 'Sexy Girl'...and tried every trick that I could find in the forums to get past this...Sexy Girl is where many, many gamers have had to stop as it just won't load, probably pending the choices you made earlier in the game.
4th...while the story was good, playing the game itself was more of a chore than fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, terrible game

posted by VendettaNola (NEW ORLEANS, LA) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It pains me to give this game a really bad review, because it is very clear that the designers of Heavy Rain put a maximum amount of effort into their project. But this game is HORRIBLE. I will be delighted when games stop trying to be movies and stick to what they are, specifically GAMES. Heavy Rain is an extraordinarily long and tedious quick time event with deep pretensions of artistic merit. The characters are flat and unlikeable and I can not emphasize ENOUGH how much I do not want to use my game controlled to brush my characters teeth, play with his kids or wander around in the rain looking for clues to catch a killer I do not care about. I suppose the major problem is that, at least in the first few hours of the game, the story relies on certain presents, such as 'having your kids die is tragic' and 'serial killers are bad', but this is lazy story telling. As the viewer, or player, I need to be made to care and to actually believe these things. Heavy Rain did not do this. I have been told that this game gets better later, but I wouldn't know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy rain Review

posted by Redcrayonnn (LEESBURG, VA) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game made me so angery, the story line pulled my all the way in. but the controls were so Horrible that i gave up and sent if back. if you cant have the new motion controler this game will anger you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quantic Dream Games Are Not Revolutionary

posted by danhampton (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was first intro first introduced to Quantic Dream games when I played Indigo Prophecy a.k.a Fahrenheit. At first I thought the game was really cool and innovative. The story was dark and engaging and the consequences of your actions during game play were very well integrated into the story. It was like an interactive movie, cool concept.... HORRIBLE execution. Within an hour of game play I was bored and frustrated and as the game play didn't improve I quit playing the game and looked up the endings on youtube. This is not a review of Indigo Prophecy but for Heavy Rain, however I could say the same exact thing about this game.

First of all the Pros:
1. Graphics are top notch (as they should be on the PS3). The facial
expressions were especially good.

2.The voice acting was very good.

3.Cool story. Kinda a mix of detective noir drama, with some cyber sci-fi
and a love story topped off with a Father has to rescue/reconnect with
his estranged family story.

The Con:
1 .GAMEPLAY!!! First, I hate having to hold down a button to move. It's clumsy and distracting. The first resident evils had this flaw and it was consequently removed from the series resulting in stellar reviews. Second, if I wanted to play DDR I would. Gameplay consists of long "Free roam" interactions with the environment (i.e. opening the fridge to get your son dinner or talking to people) and short "action events" (i.e. fistfight) where you either press the right button at the right time or move the controller to match the onscreen prompt. Worst of all is the controller shaking to mix up juice (featuring the gimicky sixaxis functionality). I could go on but I'm running out of space.

In short games have to be fun to play and this game is not fun to play. Gameplay is the core of GAMING, it's in the name. If you want to simulate the gameplay experience of Heavy Rain, go watch your favorite action movie and hold the PS3 controller in your hand whilst pressing random buttons. Same thing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gamekilling bug destroyed innovative title

posted by GrendelsRevenge (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Other than a few minor glitches, Heavy Rain was very playable and incredibly interesting. Then, some sort of glitch stopped the game from loading the next level, all I got was the load screen (yes I patiently waited, went back to an earlier level, etc nothing worked). A quick visit to the official Heavy Rain forums was all I needed to find out that not only had this and similar bugs been reported before, but that after being out for over a year now, Quantic Dream has done nothing to fix them, nor have they replied to the reports of the glitches on their own website, essentially ignoring their own customers.

Avoid at all costs. Heavy Rain is far too addictive to hit a wall like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!!!!

posted by mongoman07 (TEMPLE, TX) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The most pointless video game ive ever played. MY real life is more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Rain Problems

posted by rhinomp86 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

After I received the game I attempted to play it and couldn't even get past the install screen. It kept freezing, I googled the problem and found numerous and I mean numerous people who had the same or different problems. I heard the game was awesome, just would have been nice to be able to play it. Major fail on the QA people who screened this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've ever played. Overrated.

posted by Fatbum (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off this game is not a "new" style of gameplay, Indigo Prophecies set that bar long ago. That game (Indigo Prophecies aka Fahrenheit) was unique, clever and albeit over zealous at times, all around amazing and a breath of fresh air that I loved.

Heavy Rain is NOT Indigo Prophecies. The one positive I can hand the creators of this game is that the plot itself could have actually turned into a great movie. Turning it into a game did not produce the desired effects however.

Now onto the bad...which is everything else.

The controls: The controls were clumsy to say the least. Movement was awkward, leaving you wondering how in the world a follow up game by a company could have got worst at something as simple as game mechanics. The camera angles didn't match up with the intended movement and most of all, the button holding and tapping was one of the most horrendous experiences ever in dealing with a controller. The promps would come up so fast and blend in with brighter backgrounds it was virtually impossible to tell what was going on at very important times. The holding down of 5 buttons at the same time progressively left so much to be desired because if you happen to select "O" with your thumb to begin it, it could totally "F" you.

The voice acting: "Jason!!!" ....enough said.

Replay factor: 0.

Graphics: Nothing ground shattering.

It has never been so hard for me to get past the first hour of a game. I wanted to turn it off so bad but there were so many "rave" reviews by fans of Heavy Rain...I had to push on. It is clear to me now that all those fans are either the creators of Heavy Rain, blind & ignorant PS3 fanboys or have 50 gallons of her0in pulsing through their veins, whether they are getting that her0in from the nipple of hype is beyond me. I enjoy any console game as long as it's good, and this game does not fit the bill.

This game is worthless and not worth renting, buying, thinking about renting or thinking about buying. It's garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse