Rent Heavy Rain for PS3
view large frontback

Heavy Rain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

25893 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

JUST AMAZING!!!

posted by chatterx (FREDERICKTOWN, MO) Oct 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There comes a time when a game comes out and is so unique and so well put together that it just screams must play. This is one of those games.

Heavy rain is different from most games. It's not the typical action game but it rather plays out like a movie. You get to decide the path the movie goes. The graphics are top notch in this game and the voice over and sound effects are pretty much spot on.

The controls are a bit awkward at first and the storyline is a bit slow in the beginning but give it time and you will soon be hooked as what really draws you into Heavy Rain. That is the storyline.

I rarely buy games; however, this is one I had to have in my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by Kevstergamefly (BOONEVILLE, MS) Oct 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This is the greatest game I ever seen.
This game will have you hooked til the end.
It's a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant

posted by Skysaw (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2005

I've been renting from Gamefly for many years. This is one of only two games I've ever opted to keep.

Graphics are great, story is great, acting is great. But the real reason the GAME is great is that it puts pressure on you to make big decisions, and the decisions you make change the course of the story and the game. There are 18 different endings!

What I really like is that you can just keep playing from beginning to end, all without having to go back to a save because you died. You've got four characters and if one of them dies, you can just go right on playing. You haven't lost -- you've just changed the course of events! I suggest you approach the game the same way. It really makes everything you do seem all the more consequential. It also makes the whole thing much more replayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant game.

posted by tranquilturnip (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Wow, I loved this game, great plot and story writing. Very creepy and dark, reminds me of the movie, "Seven'. Highly recommended if you like games to be a little more intellegent than just mindless shooter games or hack and slashers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Cinematic Title

posted by gamer1997 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Heavy Rain is one of those few games that can really take you into its world and make you feel like you're actually in the shoes of each of the four characters. The graphics are a little dated and there are a few technical hiccups here and there, such as slow downs, pop in, and even total game crashes, but the crashes are very rare and you probably wont notice the texture pop ins much. This is seriously a great story driven game and if you haven't played it, now is the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by zanderps3 (POMONA, CA) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really worth renting and if you like movie-style, thriller games, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a really good game

posted by TimeElite12 (DEFIANCE, OH) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

this is a game that gets in down to the bone and wire this is game where you have to make choices hard choices to find your son its just a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by idontcare1234 (UNION, SC) Oct 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This game is amazing. GREAT plotline, really good graphics. I love games where you can choose kind of your own ending type deal, and this game is my all time favorite game. It's amazing. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by cOKEBOY_cOLON (NAUGATUCK, CT) Oct 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

This game was absolutely perfect. so much detail and a great story. I could not stop playing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game Is amazing

posted by captaincrusade (ATTAPULGUS, GA) Jul 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

it's starts off slow but once you give it the chance to pick up. You will NOT want to stop playing. Unlike most games if you fail or a character dies the game will still continue the story line will change and the ending maybe different. This game is simply amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by wolverine0895 (MECHANICVILLE, NY) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

by far the best game i've ever played. Really set the standards for ps3 exclusives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of Kind

posted by Xridikule (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) May 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Hasn't aged a bit since it's release -- to those complaining of sluggishness.... either they're not familiar with how to adapt to control schemes or do not take optimum care of their PS3. My 500GB Crystal White Limited Edition PS3 playes this perfectly in perfect High Def -- This is def. not a run and gunner ... Nor is it a Silent Hill. This game stands alone, and stands above many games made over the years since it's introduction. I keep asking myself why aren't there more games like this ?? My guess is it costs too much to have a real cinematic team working side by side with game developers. Thought the final product is totally worth it.

Graphics : 10

Storyline : 10

Controls : 9

Difficulty : 6

Replay Value : 8

Critical Mass : 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing storyline

posted by Incogitant (OREGON, OH) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

really games today are all about their story rather than their innovative gameplay, and this game really throws a good story out there with numerous outcomes. recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Just amazing can wait for a game like this to come out again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely LOVE it

posted by pharaohcj (GAINESVILLE, GA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Wonderful story keeps you guessing the whole way win or lose the story goes on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Story Ever

posted by Kevin8872 (KNIGHTSTOWN, IN) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game may start out a bit slow, but once it picks up it is easily the greatest storyline ever in a video game. It is like you are playing through an award winning movie. It grips you, makes you care about the characters, and doesn't let you down. I have played through several great story games, and to me Heavy Rain stands head and shoulders above them all. The gameplay is interactive and fun, and while it may not take as much skill to play through with its mechanics, it doesn't take anything away from the game, you honestly don't notice its easy until after you've played through. So in my opinion, Heavy Rain is one if the greatest story driven video games ever created.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SPECTACULAR GRAPHICZ

posted by IKNOWHOW2PICKEM (BOLINGBROOK, IL) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I GIVE IT A 10 JUST CAUSE PS3 IS THE BEST GAME CONSOLE JACK. BUT THE GAME IT SELF GRAPHICS IS A 10, STORY LINE IS SO REAL ALL AROUND THE BOARD IT'S A HIT....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant

posted by EBoz (DAVENPORT, FL) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Heavy Rain delivers an experience that no game has delivered to me. The controls of the game were completely different from the classic joystick movement. The fact that the scenes are triggered by pressing a sequence of buttons allowed me to relive the first time I ever held a control. Moving around in the environments is similar to an actual thought process, where a certain amount of steps must be taken in order to actually move. The availability of the inner psyche of the characters allows for an amazing sense of realism, as well as the characterization of each character, containing their own stories and their own personalities. No one is truly evil, and no one is truly innocent. The characterization and the controls also allow for a more emotional connection with the characters, which renders the gamer emotionally invested. The story of the game is also suspensful, playful, and serious. The darkness of the game is clear and the ambience never lets you forget the reason for the struggles within the game. This game is purely genious. The only issues with this game is the minor issues with actually moving in the spaces provided, control over the camera, and the complexity of some of the button sequences.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heavy Rain

posted by ssgohan81 (MIAMI, FL) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

On of the fewest games I consider classic among God Of War, Metal Gear Solid, and Resident Evil 2 in a long time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grab Your Rain Gear & Enjoy This Game

posted by brothergameguy (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I'm going to be honest with you...I first was a little leery about this game and actually had some hesitation to add it to my game que. However, I went on and added it. Boy! am I glad i did...The graphics in this game is out of this world. Honestly, I think this game is setting a trend for future video games. I love how your pretty much control the character (almost gave me a feeling of playing the computer game THE SIMS). I heard that the developers are in the middle of creating another game much similar to Heavy Rain, believe its called "Beyond" or something of that nature. I hope the next game pushes the concept a little more. The only downside to this game is that you have to understand the controls with flawless accuracy. Other than that, beautifully developed game and very entertaining. Dear Heavy Rain, you won over a new fan!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Thus Far

posted by JLowe (EAST LIVERPOOL, OH) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I downloaded the demo on PS3 and what I was allowed to play of it is simply awesome. The graphics are very detailed and the speack aspect is great as well, not your typical the mouth moves and the words come out. I would suggect this game to anyone who digs thillers!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome.

posted by coolbeans2009 (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

The game mechanics are awesome.
The aspect of the game is just perfect.
If only lolxbox could have the specs to have this amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW AMAZING

posted by YaTUSabe (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game kept me on my toes at all times. The story was brilliant, my favorite character was the one who ended up being the killer wow was i surprised i was left in awe. Beautiful would love to see a sequel or something else like this game, I really felt like i was part of the story I didn't want to let these characters go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i have ever played

posted by Grant86 (OSHKOSH, WI) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i love this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks virus

posted by crackergamer (FRANKLIN, VA) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

heavy rain is a must rent and a must type but its not made for lil kiDS AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! once u start playing u wont want to stop xbox360 ant got nothing on ps3 if u dont own a ps3 buy one just to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse